Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

val..
haha, no choice. only left weekends mostly to go over to new place to see see look look so will plan a bit ahead lor.

my place has nothing yet, except false ceiling and kitchen bases! this week gonna paint, change toilet doors.. that's all lor.

shawn..
my three neighbours all en-bloc! although haven move in yet, but when we're there, they usually are quite quiet. if noisy would be they blast those chinese/hokkien ktv songs over the system lor..

haha!

$1450 for baby folio is still ex. I think the depth is also very shallow. Might have problem fitting in a whole cake or something that had more depth. Need my fridge to last >=5 yrs so must take note of expansion in the family, dun want to spend money on upgrading next time. I think I rather spend on a miele washer. haha

Mitsubishi models with tempered glass. already checked them out. the doors are hollow. U can try knock on the side of the door facing the interior when u open the door. Also the top ice twister & tray to put ice has a gap below, waste space coz cannot store much things. don't like wastage of space.

LG models got flaw in their ice at door. so far all the ice trays were found to be broken at the corners at the electrical store display sets, implying that during opening of the door, the ice box will fall down quite easily coz there is no proper catch.

Xesthir
Hmm, been using my LG fridge since Feb
Not a single time did the tray drop leh
In fact, like the fact that the ice cube maker is installed on the door (interior) and not in the freezer compartment, hence free up more space for storage

xesthir
u are like performing an appliances audit leh
scrutinising almost every single specs, haha
careful of atelophobia orh

I am from the April balloting batch, and I have been informed of my second appointment date le. Still quite unsure about the policy of the marriage cert. Can anyone enlighten me regarding that? Many thanks.

Hi Guys, my hubby just attended the Residential Commitee (RC) Meeting for our block cluster today. As there is no existing RC in our block cluster, the People Association is looking for people who are interested to volunteer.

I think that it is easier to get things done when you are in the RC. We can for example look into the issue of covered walkways, road blockage at the entrance of our cluster, etc.

The next meeting is at the 3rd week of July. Generally the commitment for a RC member is just a meeting once a month. It would be fun to have more young people in the RC and also a good way to know the neighbours... he he

Let me know if anyone of you is interested.
You can PM me...

Kevin, LG fridge the ice tray never drop before? I go to all the stores, found all the ice tray broken leh. So I marked that out though I had actually like the ice making at the door!

Henry, u no reply how much is ur panasonic fridge and from where? Best Denki now selling at $1099 with a free foldable bike worth over $200+! Think the Panasonic invertor fridge with 3 ticks should be the winner after I walked around best denki & HN countless times!

Fridge door hollow means the quality is not that good lor. Is like just pasting over a flimsy white plastic. It means the door is thinner, there is less insulation so fridge also has to work harder, energy consumption also increase.

haha, actualy is quite find doing market research on white goods. lol!

angie.. ryan is our appointed RC member liao ma.. hehe..

whyme.. wad do u intend to do with ur toilet doors? mine still duno where to sell. throw like quite wasted.

xesthir
it'd be quite silly of LG engineers to design a fridge that has a easy-to-drop ice cube tray, haha

actually the tray slots fittingly into the depression of the fridge compartment. perhaps the salesman at the dept stores did not place the tray properly, resulting it to drop when the door is swung wide opened.

I'm staying in the area too. Just wanna to check with those who have moved in to stay. Do you guys encounter problems like your house is vy humid and the humidity causes your wooden furniture such as partition walls, tv racks, bed-side table to have moulds?

Joelle,

didn't notice that so far. everywhere in singapore is humid lor, where can escape? LOL... maybe go buy a humidifier in the house lor.

i just found out that if we were to sell our house in 5 years time, resale flat are subject to tax of 22.5% based on selling price. That is to say if we sold our house for $400,000 in 2013, we have to pay the govt. about $100,000 of tax. Hiaz, in that case unless really bobian want to move, i think i will stay lor.

kevin, we are slowly 'moving in'. from weekend, till from Friday onwards.

Tried staying over weekday. with #502, my hubby can go to work at town within 45 minutes. I still taking cab to work. Haha

Need to slowly adjust for me lah, although hubby very eager to move in liao.

open a bit of the window loh, maybe won't be so humid. I not fear of mould, more of cracks ah. Hang something on the wall and it drop off. The item very light only and i am using those 3M tape. Dont know why also

btw, we got rid of the wooden door le.

My ID contractor help us to dispose it off. Both side parents say no point keeping it and it is very heavy when i try lifting it. So, just dump

My ID, my uncle who used to be a contractor & my cousin's dad (cousin actually got a unit here) all say that the wooden door is GOOD quality and is far better than a flimsy folding or bifold door which in time will make opening, closing & locking the door problematic.

Is just a matter of gettting used to it, I was told. Anyway we will try to live with wooden door in the WC first. if really cannot tahan, we will see if we should replace.

kevin, I tried taking in and out the ice tray and think that the catch is not really there. Unlike a ice tray which u drag out from the ice twister type, there is a firm catch lor. We are afraid of that ice tray falling & breaking on the ground when we open the door with some strength & future ice tray replacement cost. I think I am very rough 'chu1 lu3' person, so better not. Initially we really like the ice at door feature.

Any co may hit design/manufacture fault & improve from mistakes, just take a look at our own HDB estate's slated living room floor plan. Maybe they were trying to be creative!

Ryan, u are not talking abt resale levvy right?

If sell the HDB and buy a condo or resale (not new) hdb also need to pay that tax?

HHAH I doubt our unit will reach $400K leh! so dun worry, the tax amt will be proportionally lower as well.

Xesthir,

I think our 5rm units are worth about $320-330k in the resale market now. who knows in 5 years time it will reach 400k or not? 6 months ago it is only $280k, depends on the property market lor. go up or not also no different, in the end you will also pay more for your new units. LOL

I kept the spare wooden door in my store room after which i replaced my toilet door with bi-fold door.My mother who was very blur blur even suggested why not used it for the home shelter door because she find it ugly!! lol..

Just recieved a letter from HDB telling me that to submit my marriage cert within 2 weeks!! NB !!i had already done that in March and now tell me that it didn;t process at all!!

lucky i can submit it at the pioneer mall service centre..no need to go toa payoh!

I kept the redundant door at the bomb shelter, guess i will just keep it there unless i really need the space

So have anyone else contacted that uncle to install the shelving at the bomb shelter? Still undecided whether to do it, who had done it? May want to go over and take a look before deciding.

Hi xesthir,

Bought my fridge at $950. Well if you really need the bike, then go ahead with the purchase at Best. (Don't really see the point of getting the bike for me anyway). Well anyway for us, we just keep the door at one one of the rooms. Well throw away also very wasted.. so don't really know what to do with the doors for the moment.

Henry, is that the best price at $950 after u have done ur neighbourhood research? Only $149 cheaper. Where did u get it from?

mine also still in the bomb shelter. wan do the shelvings le but hb was saying the door is inside, cant do with it ard. duno how now. throw like quite wasted cos its quite gd quality.

ryan.. kevin done the shelving by tat uncle.. u may wan go take a look.

Hi all, thanks for the reply ya. My partition walls and featured wall for the LCD have been having moulds since I moved in to stay. Vy tired of the problem. Contractor now coming back to resolve the problem again, hence wanna find out if some of you also get affected by this.
By the way, I'm looking for someone to do the shelving at the bomb shelter too. Anyone has contact?

Ya, we're supposed to pay the levy if we're selling our house and buy a 1st-hand flat. If I'm not wrong, when we buy a resale or condo, we don't need to pay the levy.

Think my reno will be done by end of June or early July. Then will clean the house and arrange delivery of furniture and electrical stuff, probably end July or early Aug can start staying there over the weekend. Is it advisable to move in during lunar 7 month?

we gave the doors to our ID... actually, 4 doors in all... since we hack down the bedrooms... no point keeping it leh... difficult to find a buyer also... he he..

Hi joelle, we have been living here since January.. we did have such problems... things do get dusty very easily... but so far, no moulds. We do put those mould remover deodorizer in the shoe cabinets and wardrobes..but other than that we did not do anything else

Hi Angie, thanks for the reply. Juz wanna c if its the environment that causes the problem or my contractor material cause the prob. Thanks.
Which block do you stay? By the way, any contact for doing the shelving in the bomb shelter?

ya lor angie.. i thot of throwing also leh.. but feel v wasted. so been keeping it. haha.

joelle.. i hv the contact at home, can give it to u tonite

joelle.. which block do u stay? is ur unit veri hot, as in no wind comes in and u hardly open the windows ? so far i've been staying for a month already but no such problem. maybe u can try opening ur windows more if u didn not, it might help.

hi joelle, we stay in 677a... my contact seems more expensive than the one Val has... so better if Val give you... but if you prefer another one contact to compare, can PM me..

o ya... like what val suggest, we have our windows slightly open the whole day, the rain does not come in...

what a morning
woke up and realised a big piece of bird's dropping clued to my mbr window. with the window wide-opened last night, the bird must had done the biz while resting on the ledge above
*cursing*

Hi Val, I stay in 676B. I do leave the top hung windows open. Have been staying there since end Feb and the moulds prob happens 3 times already. Really did tot of bying a humidifier but dunno if the cause is really due to humid weather.

resale levy, wow, u guys plan a bit far leh
from what i understand, resale levy is not based on a % rate, in fact it's a fixed amt depending on your flat type ie. 2-5 room.

the reasons behind the resale levy is simple -
we had all enjoyed enjoy a housing subsidy when we bought this new flat from HDB (or a resale flat in the open market) = our flats are cheaper (and for resale flats, they have 30-40k subsidies)

so with resale levy, it reduces subsidy on the 2nd subsidised flat to maintain a fair allocation of subsidies between 1st and 2nd-timer citizen families.

interestingly, if u dont buy a 2nd subsidised flat from HDB, then u need not pay the resale levy. for instance u go and buy a condo or directly from resale open mkt with no subsidies

joelle
thought a dehumidifier should do the job by extracting excessive humidity in our rooms. a humidifier will increase water vapour in the room leh, more humid, more moulds ...

humidifiers should be placed in a/c rooms where the air might be too dry and our throats/skins are uncomfortable *have 1 as hse-warming gift, heehee*

xesthir
understand ur concern, but if have the chance to check out those LG fridges, u can notice that the ice-cubes trays have 2 'legs' which slot fittingly into the 2 depressions in the door compartment. no chance it will slip, drop and crack. only way for that to happen is carelessness

it didnt slip and drop a single time on my side as i'm aware of the catch. the only time did i drop it was washing it at the sink *soapy and slippery* haha.