Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Thanks Kevin and Ryan, we were checking out WII in the shops in JP, they are all selling above $500, some $600... but it comes with 2 or 3 games, depending on the package... one game is selling for over $50, I think...

angie
that's the mkt price, but should be able to find cheaper packages in neighbourhood shops rather than JP. muz get the wii fit leh, heard that it's fun

Hi Ryan,

Great deal for your TV! I guess they throw in alot of vouchers to offset the price since they are controlled...

The specs for the 4 series is similar to the previous model..hubby want to have better home system so just want cheap price for the TV...
Spoilt liao..just throw and buy new one also won't heart pain!

Today, sharp also have good deal...the 40 inch FULL HD was going at 1999...hourly special...
In the end, we bot the 32 inch one for our master room at 838 at hourly special....
Wanted to get a 32 inch samsung at 688 but lower specs...
but hubby want to compare which brand is better....So bot something different from living room...

Anyway, settle everything so now looking forward to July!

Hi Ryan,

Great deal for your TV! I guess they throw in alot of vouchers to offset the price since they are controlled...

The specs for the 4 series is similar to the previous model..hubby want to have better home system so just want cheap price for the TV...
Spoilt liao..just throw and buy new one also won't heart pain!

Today, sharp also have good deal...the 40 inch FULL HD was going at 1999...hourly special...
In the end, we bot the 32 inch one for our master room at 838 at hourly special....
Wanted to get a 32 inch samsung at 688 but lower specs...
but hubby want to compare which brand is better....So bot something different from living room...

Anyway, settle everything so now looking forward to July!

Hi Christine,

A 32in for your bedroom, wah very nice. I decided to skip the PC show and wait for the Comex 2008 on 30Aug. It kind of too early for me to get anything now
where do you stay? PM me?

Valerie,

I got my plates and bowl liao, but not from Tagore Lane, got it from Robinson. Don't even know how to get to Tagore Lane. LOL

relax xesthir
whether it's gas or electric dryer, believe the energy consumption doesnt deviate much, we are talking about perhaps a dollar or two difference per week. u'll be a heavy user?

i use it twice weekly

hi xesthir, i agree with kevin... shouldn't make much of diff.... the reason we got the electric dryer cos we wanted only a single machine, i.e., washer cum dryer... so that we would not take up anymore of the precious kitchen space... *sigh* kitchen too small!!!

angie
ur kitchen is ok la, esp with the wall pulled down, appears much spacious. val's is smaller, heehee

need my kitchen to be bigger as we cook often
as the saying goes, "bigger mbr and kitchen for those who eat and sleep a lot ..."

kevin,
aven will hand over in mid july...
so mostly after i settle down everything by end of july...can ask u guys to come over....
both of them havent been to my new flat to see the raw stage now...hahahaha~
i was tinking whether 32 inch was too big...but saw the 26 inch..indeed very small!
so i guess we go ahead with the 32....

ryan, u got PM!

christine
when u plan to move in then?

26" is fine for us in old hse, till we got a 40" for LR, then feel the 26" seems to have shrunk, haha

ryan

ya tagore lane need car to go.. if not hv to take cab le. bus veri hard n far for us staying in the west. haven go see ur completed hse yet hor.. see when u go over tell me.

angie/kevin

ya lor my hse not complete yet but ard 90% le la. stuffs not unpacked yet (juz like wad kevin say lor.. duno 2 yrs enough time to unpack not haha) and coffee table. shoe cabinet not bought yet. the rest can stay in le hehe. sure angie.. juz sms me, we arrange for u to come over

Valerie,

My renovation is completed, but short of many things so it still looks bare right now. You can come up anytime you want, i'll be at home tomo evening because my dining table is being delivered.

Xesthir,

You think too much lor. If you carry on thinking so much about buying each items, wah at the end of the shopping i think you will lose half of your hairs.. ha ha..

Christine,

You probably find 26" too small because you went to the exhibition with lots of 40" and 46" around being display, so it makes 26" looks comparably small. However, when it gets installed at the bedroom and as the bedroom not very big, the tv appears quite prominent in the room. With a 32", i think you will be quite happy with the size. I would had got a 32" because the price is not difference by a lot, but because the tv had to be placed strategically at a feature wall, so i can only go for a 26".

You will know what i mean when you come up and see

Angie,

Val's place looks so much better with all the things in now, compared when the renovation was just completed. I think with 100%, it would be quite an envy to stay in
I just went up a week ago with the plumber. Lovely!

kevin,
we intend to move in by end July before the chinese 7th mth kicks in for the whole of August...
See how well we can finish furnishing for the house...can open house for viewing earlier...
After 7th mth is over, will plan the actual house warming...

Ryan,
I do not have any feature wall in the bedroom so not resticted by the size....hubby want to enjoy in the bedroom as well so 32 inch just nice...
Hehehe!

We got a 32" for the masterbedroom and 40 for the living room.

the distance from the bed where we rest our head till the TV console is even longer than from sofa to the TV in the living room.

no problem with straining the eye.

ryan.. mon i'll be back at mom's place for dinner thus cant go over. tues to fri they're overseas thus i'll be at home haha. let me know when u go up tat few days. thurs my coffee table'll be coming from courts.. finally. left the shoe cabinet duno where to get from. wkend search quite futile. tks for the compliments by the way. sure urs will be veri nice too. cant wait to go see

There was an accident at the bus stop after the new bus stop yesterday. Lucky it's not at the new bus stop, or else it would be quite a unlucky start cos yesterday was the first day of operation.

today 1st time taking bus at the new bus stop.. much more convenient compared to walking over to the other one. realised buses are more full n didn stop at the next estate's bus stop, the ppl there must be grumbling tat we occupy their 'space' liao..

Hi Ryan,

Yeah, accident between a bus, motorbike and a pedestrian.

Did not managed to visit you on Sat n Sun, was busy re-doing the grouting for the whole house.

Finally a successful experiment with new white grouts =)

Basically the hard way... Dig out the old grouts and apply new ones, after that use sealer to seal up.

Took 2 days and only managed to finish the storeroom and < 1/4 of the living room...

Going down this evening to continus the big project...

hi val, thanks.. would you be home this friday? maybe we can pop by during evening or so... ;p

yes, yes... have been utilising my oven a bit more
perhaps if I have time, will bake something to bring over on Friday ;p

Justin,

I'm also going down this evening, maybe i will drop you a visit. Can you PM your number to me? Actually the fastest way to remove the grout is to use a penknife, it's quite easy, i tried before.

Did you use a float to press the grout into the hole? I can't find the float selling anywhere so i didn't manage to start my grouting work. And which type of sealer did you use?

Valerie,

Is there many people at the new bus stop? I saw quite a few bus stopping without anyone alight on Sunday, i think most commuter still don't know that bus stop is in operation already so they press the alight button too early. Hee

Yesterday when i went back, i saw my neighbour house door already had the white tape on it marking the defects. That unit was selected about 4 weeks ago only, so fast the owner got the keys liao? If true, very soon we will have more crowds at the new place liao and more RENOVATIONS and more dust and more noise!!

justin, where u get the grout n sealer? let me know. tks

angie.. so nice of u! no need to bake this few days.. when u free then bake. wkdays i tink not much time for baking one hor. i check with hb n let u know

ryan.. todae morn only saw 3-4 ppl at the bus stop if not i tink all cannot squeeze up.

Valerie,

The grout can be bought at any DIY shop, even sengsiong, ntuc, carrefour sells it. Very cheap, around $3 per pack. The sealer can try the DIY shop at Jurong Point basement. Not very cheap.. hehe. But you need a float to do the grouting, i cannot find it anywhere.. Hope justin can tell me where he bought his, unless he uses a normal plank to press it down. heh

I also want to ask you if you had tried your teka hob already? Apparently, when i tried to put the wok on top of the wok stand, the four claws holding the wok is not well balance so the wok kind of wobble left and right ... even the left grid of the 3 grid piece, i try to put my saucepan it is not balance with a little bit wobbling. It is defective or i didn't place the grid well? LOL, maybe i should go back today and try again.

Justin,

Just a word of advice. Try to dig as deeper for the old grout, if not the new grout will come out quite easily aagin. You should also get a slow drying agent to slow down the drying time ... as the longer the grout takes to dry, the stronger it will be. A quick way is to close all the windows and doors, this way no wind goes into the house and will slow down the drying time.

Then wait about 3 hours later, when it's half dry and uses those green rough piece which we uses for washing dishes, and try to rub on the grout, this wiill even the surface of the grout and make it smoother.

Wahh. u all dig out the grouting and DIY yoruself even after the contractor did the egrouting to whiten the grout?

My LR is very big leh /faint... Very onz leh u all. but does it really work? How to dig out and refill in the grout with sealing without spilling all over?

Can I get someone to do it with sealing?

ryan.. got la.. of cos got try my hob. we need to boil water ma. so far only use for tat purpose whahah. hmm its stable for us leh. maybe u didn place it properly or tat grid is defective. u go home try again if not then come my place see got any difference o not.

you all really very effort leh!
re-do all the grout? my gosh.. *pei fu!

for mine, the contractors re-do the entire LR for us but for parquet, they changed a few pieces to a super dark tone one.. we complained but they say cannot change.. and won't change. it's so obiang!

my reno started last week.. so those in 678A, some noise and some dust soon.. heh.

Ya, i think i will bring my grid over to your place and see ... LOL..

I called up Teka and the guy told me this problem is rare, and when i told him both the wok stand and the grid is not balance, he sounded like he don't believe me so sway that both also not good. He say will call me back and i ask him to send someone down on this weekend, then they can see for themselves. Hee

Valerie,

They use the float to press down the grout into the gap. It's like a piece of plank which they rub it diagonally across the floor tiles.

whyme,

you should insist them to change it, why they are so senseless to use a different type of parquet strips on your bedroom. I hack down one of the wall and they had to patch up the parquet for me too, and they uses the same type so i don't believe not possible lor. Except that my ID recycled the skirting .. LOL

Hi Ryan,

I use a grout saw to remove the old groutings.
Ya i did remove a certain millimeters of the old grouts before putting on the new one.
I did not use a float but instead my fingers to press the grouts in.

Hi Val,

I bought all the thing from HomeFix.
Grout Saw, Grout and Sealer

wahhh ..better complain big big...to the technical officer in charge. Mr Goh
is not worth it to be nice person. insist on similar colour ones... we complained after contractor say 'is like that one' haha after complain up liao. they very polite with us. so now almost everything also can !