Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hmm.. just went to ntuc and saw a bleach pen.

Can zun zun apply to the grout area without touching the tiles.

Maybe will get it tomorrow and try it out.

Ryan
Don’t think they will build a covered walkway to JP
That’s a wishlist, and to add to the list, perhaps a travellator , haha
More feasible option is for them to re-lay the pedestrian pavement and improve the drainage to prevent the clogging

Val
Quite silly not been able to enjoy showers @ own hse
Then how abt the morning?
Did joven manage to explain over the phone what might have caused the glitch

Ps. U r aka Jean ah

Ryan
That’s beside the point
Being a progressive tax, income tax is taking a sizable amt fr me
Bei siong leh

Govt should start to think hard abt removing property tax since its regressivity is considered undesirable becos its set rate structure penalises the poorer pple like us

Im not asking for a covered walkway, it doesn't help cos the rain water is going to flow to the walkway anyway, but just make the grass lower than the walkway. Some parts of the walkway are like that, those that had the grass higher will flood the walkway.

PC show starts on Thursday, maybe you can go on Thursday night, i supposed the trip starts on Friday eh.

I still could not decide to get a desktop or a laptop.

kevin

ya la.. its quite silly to hv a heater yet cannot use the hot water. they tried to guide matt on checking the heater but its quite confusing thus better to get them down to check. wonder if others hv the same problem o not. maybe my pipings are stucked or the mixer hv prob.

Ryan
Take desktop if you indulge in pc games
Otherwise laptop if mobility is of importance
My last desktop was sec sch days liao
Thereafter, it has been laptop –mania, haha

Val
The joven contractor should have ensured it’s working perfectly leh before departure
My instant heater @ old hse broke down 1 mth prior to us moving to new (current) hse, and we refused to accede to serviceman’s outrageous quote of $200 (I could get new one liao), so we tahan cold water (at night) for few wks before we were able to have hot showers at new hse, sigh… that heater supposed to be under 1-yr warranty but supplier said this and that what not covered blar blar, frustrating then

kevin

its not installed by joven contractor.. its done by my ID's plumber or worker. do joven provide installation? i tink these installations of heaters are by IDs no?

i now damn feel like getting instant heaters. so sick of the storage one.

actually, some laptops have very good gaming capabilities ... just that they get so heavy... they almost feel like a desktop ;p

val, welcome back.... hope you enjoyed your honeymoon.. sorry about the heater... hope you get it fix soon...

kevin

gas n elec instant heaters.. which is better? do u experience 'smtimes cold, smtimes hot water' as wad ryan experiences now in his current hse? i don't for my parent's hse which hv been using instant heater eversince 30yrs back.

Kevin,

I just remembered what i always wanted to ask you.
Where did you get the picture that you hang in your living room?

i am using a storage heater - ariston... so far so good... does not have 'sometimes cold, sometimes hot' problem...and since i like my shower water hot hot... storage heater very good... used to use instant heater... and the water not hot enough...

btw, how many ppl have moved in liao? maybe we should have a block/block party!

Generally there 2 types of water heaters – instant and storage

Most of us shouldn’t be stranger to instant heater since it’s popular since the 80s till to date. Just switch it on & u get hot water almost immediately.

However for instant heater, there are 2 kinds – 1 run by electricity, 1 run by gas. For the former, it’s commonly found. In recent yrs and many countries, there’s an increased interest to install gas instant heater simply becos of few reasons – 1) run by gas, so less cost since its tariff much lesser than electricity’s (2) u need not switch the heater on and off since it will turn on its heater instantly when it detects running water in the hot water pipe. (3) the gas heater produce very hot water. Shiok, haha The main disadvantage would be, since it runs on gas, it will need to be installed in the kitchen, so might be eye sore to some.

The next category, storage heater, is favoured too since it could be turned on half an hr before bath and switch off. The hot water let’s say 20L can last u for an evening bath. Some even stated that the water will remain warm in the following morning. However it has its own shortcoming too (1) not instant, meaning u have to turn on heater early before bath (2) electricity-thirsty since u need to heat 20L of water (3) u cant enjoy long bath/shower since u’re confined to 20L of hot water (4) it has a higher price (5) rather big and bulky, eyesore

However, my opinion might be skewed since I use an instant gas heater. Others using storage heater may shed more light on their choice and reasons behind it.

Val
Dun experience the ‘hot-and-cold’ with my gas heater
So far so good
So for comparison between gas and electricity heater,
Main difference would be gas heater provide hotter water and consumes less $, haha (since run on gas) but most cant stand the sight of it been installed in kitchen
And another advantage of gas heater was citygas provided it FOC when the gas pipes was extended to my hob, but understand that the FOC offer no more liao

jus
like the painting, abstract and unique from those which i've seen in town

my wife will be there later this mth
i may fly over to accompany her
i can bring some back for u, haha

Kevin,

the last time i own a desktop was 5 years ago, like the mobility of laptop but hated the degrading of speed after sometime. should be getting desktop ba since my old laptop are still in good working condition, and i have another company laptop which i only brings home during the weekend. If i get laptop, i would had 3 laptop to play around with, not ideal.

some more, playing with the idea of connecting my old laptop to the lcd tv permanently so that can watch streaming videos at ease.

Hmm..talking about display...

I have lots of bottles to display but problem is im still thinking about the design of the display ledge/shelve...

the sometimes hot and cold is suffer by the instant heater at my parent's house ( should start to use this term liao, hee). cold water starts to come out first for the first few secs, then followed by constant hot water.

i haven't try my storage heater to shower yet, probably should try it sometime soon, hope the pressure works fine.

Just & Jo,

I am also looking for nice paintings, but most of it i seen around cost about $200! That is too expensive for a paintings. Probably will only buy it when we go for a holidays elsewhere.

HI Just,

if i remembered correctly, they are not expensive...they also have rugs... I only saw the paintings at the Bukit Timah Courts..did not see them in the JP branch

angie

my BIl also use ariston and no problem. duno issiit joven or wad. see after this sat how lor.

ryan.. ya u try using urs n let me know how it goes. urs joven too? or wad brand?

Valerie,

It's Joven, and haven't try but i really doubt it's the heater that cause the pressure. Maybe will try this weekend and see how.

haha
so we have another booze kaki here ah, presume ur bottles are filled with liquor oh
------------------- Quote from Kevin-----------------

Ya.. Most of them are still sealed like yours

on my way home this afternoon, saw worker pasting notice at our new bus stop - it starts operation on 15 jun. great news for those eyeing it

Hi Ryan,

ha ha... what other kind of block (blocks) party is there? drink (courtesy of ahem... ;p), eat, and be merry? ;p

I thought I saw a bus stopping at the bus stop yesterday night?