Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

hmm, don't think akira is set up by any singapore or burmese woman.

most of you may not have heard of this home-grown TT International which was formed decades ago as a consumer electronics distributor and trading company.

While we, singaporeans, have been sceptial and critical of its products, have to admit its products are more well-received elsewhere - its products are on the shelves in 50-60 markets around the world

apparently, the branding has its targeted customers aimed at the spending-conscious group who will want to stretch their dollar. do agree that i'm less likely to risk getting akira fridge or washing machine, i may drop by to pick up a bread toaster or juice blender. if it works properly and offers value-for-money, why not?

TT capitalised on an established marketing network and a understanding of the changing spending pattern after the jialat Asian financial crisis, it then created its own in-house brand, AKIRA, which soon found a niche market for ‘value for money’ electronics

ryan
haha.. rather busy at office to browse the forum. so will 'drop by' during lunchtime or evening time to post my thoughts. guess had quite fair bit to post/share my last round

You guys read about the new cable tv package at $1 per channel? Quite enticing hor especially SCV had added over 30 new channels this month to their list.

is it only for new customer?

aiyo, i thought i already went thru the frustration of reno..now my office also undergoing reno....so sianz

For HTS, if u have the budget, around 1k, you could get the high end ssytems. Its around 999 for a Onkyo System 5.1 Channel. You could try Aldephi at City Hall. They sell lots of high end systems.

i regret getting the pioneer system after hearing the oknyo system. The sound is crystal clear. Price diff is just around 200 more.

my dad bought the okyo system with JBL speakers at 1599. Saw a Oknyo system with JBL speakers at 1399 yesterday. Would have bought that if i dun hav my pioneer system

Huiling...
for some, they will prefer those normal electronics brand like sony, pioneer which also come out with those simple HTIB which is definitely cheaper,i feel as long can give decent sounds and great picture qualities, then they happy liao.

I haven't get any new HTS for new home, now still using my old pioneer HTS which bought 3 years ago, currently i m using ps3 as my movies player,for the sound just using the optical fibre cable lor..Right now, i don't dare to invernt money on HTS first as i just want to see whether it is wise for me to spend so much on those high end system as i'm not sure i got the time to utilise it.

Hey Kevin,

Did you install a spray gun in your toilet? As the water outlet is connected to the flush, if we need to install a spray gun i think we should change the water outlet valve so that it goes 2 way right? But what kind should we be buying?

Just installed riser in both toilets last Saturday.

Yes, u will need to change the outlet valve to 2 way (split) to accommodate the water tank outlet and riser pipes.

Don't have any pictures of it now. Will try to take some pictures (if i remember) when i go down on Wednesday evening to check some stuffs.

Ryan,

I think just buy those cheap ones will do. (cost around $12 and below)

Get those type that have 2 functions valve.
1. Press & Release
2. Jam and Hold (Don't know how to put in words well, hope you understand)

ryan
nope, din install a spray guy cos dun see the need cos i have a pail in bath cubicle to collect shower water. that alone is enough for me to recycle used water to wash the toilet floor if required

Kevin,

Thanks for the reminder just now...

I thought the workers left without switching off all the lights....

ryan
u can get ur contractor/plumber to do it for u mah - all u need is a t-shape splitter (1 as inlet, 2 outlets to wc and spray gun)

jus
u can get the wireless module at cours or HN at JP
retail price think abt $200+
wanted to get it in mar, but
1) reluctant to place the 2 small back speakers by my sofa at the back
2) need to run electrical cable behind my sofa
3) fren bought it, find its sound effect less than ideal, discouraged me from buying it

Kev,

Haha.. Wednesday evening if you want..
Will be going down to check the touch-up done just now.

Most of the carpentry are in except the back splash in the kitchen. Hopefully they can get it done up tomorrow before the cleaning...

Kev,

OMG.. If without the module, i will have to run the cable across the living room. I was thinking to do without the rug/carpet.

Now i will have to think twice to spend the $$ on the rug or the module.

Kev,

Was thinking of using dark color at first, but my whole house is like black n white.

The tv console is already black and i'm worried that
1. It will be too "heavy" to have everything dark
2. the console will not have contrast to "stand out"

jus
u can check with the salesman
perhaps my fren was suay
anyway, dropped the idea to have speakers placed at back, fine with current configuration (all at front)
it all depends on individual's pref & needs

Always wanted to have rear speakers behind me...
Like to watch those explosive movies where they go *BooM* *BooM*. (Shiok)

Wait... Shit, i just came to realized my speakers is not like yours with the stands so i cant put them behind me -_-"

Just & Jo,

Mine also have quite a lot of black colored stuffs in the living room, but as the ceiling and walls are mostly light colors so the effect won't be so dark after all.

Just & Jo / Kevin

it's not easy to find the kind of splitter we want, just & jo where did you got yours? from plumber? i went to a few shops and they don't have it. YAY, if you can show a picture of it that would be BEST! cos i want to check the inlet is male thread and the 2 outlet is female thread right? This part i'm not sure so dare not buy yet.

I already bought the spray gun from giant, $16.99 on offer each. Not too bad la

Hey Valerie,

My ID will arrange the plumber to help me install the spray gun on Saturday, you want them to come over to your place also? My ID told me to buy the spray gun myself, and the installation is $20 for each spray gun. She say the plumber can provide the splitter too but of course will charge accordingly, but i'm thinking of buying myself cos they may overcharge for that. On the other hand, scare the wrong type and end up wasting more money. See how first lor.

Just & Jo,

I think either you spend a little bit more with those wireless type to put the speakers behind, or don't put it behind at all. I think the ugly wirings is quite an eye sore. For me, i think i will end up peaking all 5 pts in front.

Hey Ryan,

The installation all done by the plumber which is part of our quote. (ya, splitter provided by them)

They came and installed all the toilet accessories, sink and riser....

Ryan,

The previous post u did on the grout cleaning thinggy...

Where can i get the cleaner and is it suitable for Homo tiles?

ryan
hmm..thought can easily get those splitter at any 五金店. bought and installed such spray guy mysf @ old hse. dont need superhuman effort.

but if ur plumber does provide, can check with him, shouldnt cost much, merely few bucks for such splitter

Just & Jo,

remove the grout with a penknife and apply new grout. that is the cheap way going, you can get grout at home-fix or any supermarkets. i heard bleach does the job the same but if the grout is new, i'm not sure if it will bite away the grout too.

Kevin,

can probably install the splitter myself but not so sure about drilling a hole on the wall myself for the gun holder, scare make a mess out of it so better pay $20 installation each. Not a big amt considering we spent thousands on renovation. LOL

Kevin,

Btw, i received the fire insurance letter too ... will probably sign up with it... $325 for 5 years will give me a good peace of mind.

we didn't pay anything for the installation of sprayer. My ID done it for us.

receive letter from town coucil that there will be rebate for S&CC fee for June and another month!

ryan
understand
can be a terrifying thought to drill that bathroom tiled wall
did hestiate before i managed and succeeded few mths back, with a bit of help from mr tan

sy chen
yup, some contractor/ID are quite ok to absorb trival cost, i had a few power sockets installed FOC towards the end of pjt. goodwill gesture

ya, always gd to have another half-mth rebate for the SCC
esp just received iras letter to tell me to cough out thousand-odd
wa-kao, sibei sianz

ya got that letter from town council, think pay half only for the month of june and december. actually thinking of writing in to town council and tell them to fix the walkway along the road to JP. whenever it rains the water flood the walkway and becomes real muddy.

Kevin,

That is good news lor. That means you're earning more. hee think gross income must be at least $60,000 for a 4 digit taxable income.

kevin

my heater still same la. been bathing at my parent's place this few days since i'm there for dinner. so sian cannot bathe at my own place. joven ppl coming this sat to take a look. if its not the storage heater problem then hv to get hdb ppl liao. so ma fan

ryan

ur ID's plumber can help us to install? ya wad u said is right.. hmm but u bought urs le.. so hv to see how on sat lor. how's ur reno? all handover le?

valerie,

i'm paying the plumber to get it installed. handover liao but i'm getting my ID to touch up the wall this sat, saw a few markings liao .. dunno where it came from ..

Just & Jo,

I'm thinking of doing the grout myself, but i'm not doing the whole floor, just selectively on those grout that is too black. probably will trial on one tile on saturday. I'm not sure if bleach will spoil the homo tiles, but i think i will only use bleach on kitchen floor if required, so far it's not so bad to do beaching.