Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi apprye

Why don't you go for ready made kitchen cabinet? Which you can get from those neighbour furniture shop. It will be so much cheaper than IKEA.

Hi Ryan,

I am sorry to hear that... things can be frustrating when they don't go smoothly! I hate such salesperson, will scold him! ><

Val is at samui
Will be another few days before she returns

ryan
thought u could simply dial courts hotline to voice ur frustration instead of making the trip down, unless u wanted them to see ur angry face.. haha

For nice switches, can get it at low prices at Choo Chiang Marketing (recommended by people in renotalk). I haven't go down and see thou.

Sales dept:
Blk 5092 Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2,
#01-1062
Singapore 569595
Phone: 64814855/64833233
Opening Hours : Mon - Fri : 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sat : 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Sun &amp; Pub : Closed

Main Office:
10 Woodlands Loop,
Singapore 738388
Phone: 63685922
Opening Hours : Mon - Fri : 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Sat : 8:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Sun &amp; Pub : Closed

Kevin,

I did call down but was hold on the line for so long that i think walking down to JP will be faster.. heehee

Anyway, i want to ask anyone install those 'water spray nozzle' at their bathroom? I notice there are only a single water outlet valve linked to the toilet bowl. If i want to install a water spray nozzle thingy, so i have to buy some kind of 2 way water valve? Are there many types like diameter mm?

just to add on to meirong post, u can also get it at their branch outlet in jurong area. very nearby us. i dont have the exact address now but do a google search for it. i am getting my switches there. most likely this weekend.

hi ryan i also bought 2 wc spray. i just buy and the id installed for me. not sure how he did it though but its near the valve area.

btw the glass in our toilet lights *shattered / cracked* according to my id. they suspect its due to the halogen lights. hopefully i can get a replacement from the shop

Nai Thiam Hock &amp; SY Chen:
I called up MDA yesterday, it seems like if you do not want to pay for the TV license, you can. Provided you really do not have a TV in the house. The inspectors from MDA will conduct a check in your house and if they find a TV, you will be fined...

What if i need a tv just to play ps3 games only...?in that case the meaning of tv licence is to own a tv.

With internet and faster boardband speed, some people may not need a tv at all.

Any experts on Home Theatre System?

There are so many brands of HTS and different models that i do not know which is good or bad.

Any suggestions? Budget less than $500

Hi Ryan...
just made sure u get those latest model with hdmi output so where u can upscale your DVD movies to at least 720p/1080i.I believe your budget of $500 will get a brand like Sony, samsung etc.

Actually i intend to get those wireless surround type but u still need electrical power for the rear speaker to recieve the signal, anyway this wireless type will cost at least $700.Unless u know how to conceal and hide those wires for the rear speaker,then settle those wire one lor.Philips do come out a new model where the speakers are at the front but claims that u still able to get surround sound by their techology,anyway the system is pricely,cost more than $1.5k.

For now, this is what i done for my "home theater" Using my PS3 that also can play HD bluray disks and on top of that, PS3 can also as a DVD upscaler to 1080p.For 5.1 surround sound, i just connect using optical fibre wire and connected to my old pioneer home theater system which bought 3 years ago.I feel that buying a PS3 is really worth the money if u know how to made used of it.AS u know , stand alone blueray player itself already cost at least $600,By paying the same price for Sony 40G ps3 , it can even used it to play games.. But there is a downside for the DVD playing capabities,it can only play code 3 DVD only and u need to pay for the remote control if u cannot get used of using ps3 controller to navigate the DVD/BD playing menu.

anybody notice the strong cocoa smell recently?

don't remember smelling it at our estate but nowadays, evening when i am there, the smell damn solid loh

winningeleven,

I had thought about this before. But how PS3 is connected to the HTS, via HDMI output? Connecting the 40G PS3 to the HTS will give me access to downloaded videos through the PS3 and of course ability to play bluray discs (although i doubt i will buy any).

If i am not wrong, we can just connect PS3 to the HDMI output of the LCD TV, in that case the audio is output via the TV instead of 5.1 pt but of course it would be nicer to have a HTS to go along.

What i heard of the wireless back speaker is that there will be interferene with the audio at times, if that is true i think i will still stay with traditional wired speakers. I do not intend to have too much wires seen so will probably place all the speakers in front, in that case the Philips brand sounds good.

I thought of getting the new Sony 270K, could probably get it in the range of $470 but i heard good reviews on Panasonic HTS. But most likely to go with Sony as i could make use of the one touch sychronization function with my Sony LCD TV.

you should try Pioneer. Their systems are world class as they are in the league with denon, yamaha, bang &amp; olufsen and those high range brands. and it is not that expensive. i suggest u wait for the IT show.. i bought my pioneer system at 569. It cost 800+ outside

The IT show just over a couple of months ago, have to wait for next year 2009 ba... where can wait so long? I only knew of the PC show that is coming up in June 12 and do they sell HTS there too?

Btw, today strait times had an article on the rising number of cases involving HDB owners to sub-rent their units out illegally, and some basically buying HDB flats in order to earn the rental $$$ and stopping those who really need a HDB house from getting any.

The punishment is re-possession of the flat, a 5 years banned from buying any HDB flats for the owners. It appears they had conduct blitz operations to catch those owners, mostly by complaining neighbours who informed the authorities. I wouldn't want to play around with fire ..

Hi xesthir,

The Philips Soundbar is quite versatile with its upscaling DVD player (up to 1080p), FM radio and ipod dock, but it definitely cannot match the sound quality of the Yamaha. You made a good choice.

Hi winningeleven,

I like your home theatre setup.

wa... everyone wants to buy WII... we are also thinking of getting WII and also WII fit... will they be cheaper at the IT show?

BTW, the cocoa smell is actually quite common... gotta get use to it i guess

Hi Ryan,
The Yamaha Digital Sound projector itself is a single speaker surround speaker with HDMI input and FM tuner. There is no built-in DVD player,so got to have a separate player to connect to it. The reason behind it not integrated is said to be a gd in that if the DVD player is spoilt, you do not need to repair the system, can just change the player. depends on how u see it, can be viewed as a -ve pt.

The sub-woofer is optional &amp; comes in a separate piece to further boost the effect.

The price i got for ysp3000 is $1599 + free subwoofer (limited promotion)that normally cost $299. U can go to the Yamaha showroom at Courts Tampines to test the sound.

I like it because it is sleek and not too many wires hanging around or bulky like a full HTS, but I guess HTS overall is still a more proper sound system and could be better in sound quality.

The YSP4000 is higher end and fits nicer for 40" &amp; above TV, but it cost $2599. NO money :p

Cheaper version is YSP500 or YSP900

U can review the YSP3000 here.
http://reviews.cnet.com/surround-speaker-systems/yamaha-ysp-3000-digital/4505-7868_7-32570640.html

Angie
Eyeing a Wii too, for my wife
Believe prices at the pc show need not be necessarily lower, but there will be few value-for-money bundled packages which u can consider

Thought the (un)bearable cocoa smell started to become noticeable these few wks, even on wkends (doesn’t the factory rest at all)
Remember I didn’t pick up any scent in the earlier months when I moved in

Ryan
For me a basic HTS will do, since I’m not into sound system and console games
The Samsung HTS that came in the bundle with my LCD suffices when I need to enjoy DTS on the DVDs
With 500bucks budget, suppose you can get a decent one (of course not those renowned HTS like Yamaha)

Anyone here has similar prob of litter bugs staying above you
Pretty pissed off when I’ve to regularly clean the o/s area between your kitchen and mbr
Those ‘exterior floors’ are catching all the tissue, cigarette bugs, emptied packaged soft drink, nails etc, what an eyesore!!!

Was told that these exterior floors are included in the computation of our 110sq metre, yet they are dead space to us, ‘cept placing our a/c compressor.

Kevin,

Are you compensating your 'no posts' for the last few days? LOL ...

I think as long as the player have an HDMI output, and can play all types of disc, i will be fine with it. Most of the time, i can't notice any difference in audio quality between a ex and a cheap type, so i'm off better getting a budget HTS.

And i agree with you on the Wii probably offered during the PC show. The manufacturers normally do not slash the price of their gadgets, except giving out more goodies during promotions and roadshow. They probably will bundled the Wii with some accessories or games for free. It's nice to know so many Wii owners in the neighbourhood, heard from my friend that you need a crowd to really enjoy the Wii.
I'm also sort of divided on getting Wii and PS3. Wii no doubt will be more enjoyable but PS3 provides us a bluray player and HDD storage which is a nice additional to my HTS.

Yes, the exterior outside the air con ledge is part of the 110sqm. If you look at the blocks 660+ opp Jurong Point, their air con ledge is so much bigger, can probably fit in 4 condenser unit and that is a total waste of space. Im just glad we are not that bad, think the air con ledge is a leverage for the builders to meet the floor area required.

Kevin,

What about writing to town council and enquire about it? I'm also quite curious to know what kind of shop they are setting up there, but i supposed most likely what we seen most places, a mama shop but we already had one across the road next to the coffeeshop.

I find Akira stuff spoil easily! Wonder if anyone actually bought big items like aircon, washer, fridge from them!!!
I don't mind getting Akira cheaper DVD player, spoil liao just throw, but not bigger items.

Ryan, Sony should be not bad too. I used to have a mini hi-fi in my room from Sony. The bass is good &amp; it had served me many good years.

But how do u plan to place the rear speakers coz it seems small so it cannot be placed on the floor, but to be mounted at the back of the wall? Means u have to pull the wires all the way to tbe back. Or do u just plan to put them in line with the front and centre speakers?

Hi Xesthir,

I intend to put it all in front. Got an Akira standing fan a couple of months ago and as much as i try to tighten the screws and position it perfectly, i can't seemed to assemble it without hearing the beating noise coming out from the fan when switched on. The reason i dumped my old set was because the beating noise becomes unbearable. That was my first Akira purchase and guess my last one.

My colleague actually told me Akira is set up by a Singapore women and she is quite smart to use a Japanese name for her brand, but in fact all the parts are made from cheap cheap place and if you think you're buying a japanese brand, think it again. It had nothing to do with japan at all.