Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

sure ryan.. see u tmr.

huiling.. issit? if so then seems like not veri nice leh. i'll try tmr see how he's like. hehe. i'll try ryan's method of asking 1 pax 1st then 7 pax.

hi angie.. tks for the contact. we'll try hehe. see which one cheaper. anyting to take note of? like wad kind of boards they use?

the prices stated on my metal shelving pamphlet range from $90-150 before the 10% discount.

actual price depends on the length (U-shape, L-shape or simple 1 stretch). Colour of the metal structure also affects the pricing.

Hwee Hwee,

Try most furniture places loh..

IMM, Furniture Mall (Beach Rd), Sungei Kadut, Park Mall (If you have extra $$)

Can also try, vhive, barang barang, even courts and ikea had decent number of designs for you to choose.

I look down your unit on monday, thought i saw you at the corridor but i think i am mistaken.

Li,

when are you inviting us to see your house? I heard from Lisa that it is progressing well..
And i heard about the pink gate .. WA !

Kevin,

Thanks for the info. Will drop by COURTS someday and take a look, at JW outlet? I don't remember seeing your purple sofa when we visited your place that time. It's quite nice hee

hi guys.. i've called mr lai..he quoted $200 and below. will be meeting him this sat from 2-5pm. i suggest we all get his quote for 1 pax 1st then we compare b4 confirming with him and bargain after comparing.

ryan/kevin.. do it this way can bargain? or which other way can bargain?

so all 7 pax will be at the estate from 2-5pm on sat? he needs to go to the house to measure n see wad shape u all wanna do b4 he can quote.

Li.. u asked ur hubby already? he wan to do ma?

Valerie,

I should be there at that timing. I will call him and make appt with him then. Let's see how much he quoted me. We like playing games with him lor.. ha ha

i've 2 contacts (both $100+) for metal shelving.
simply ask (aggressively) for rebate for gp purchase. no further discount, go to another vendor.

ryan
try bigger courts outlet
the one @ JW dun have carpets
std carpet size is 2.4x1.6 and 1.6x1.2
need a 2.4 long for my 2.6m sofa

btw the 4 sofa cushions on my sofa (pic) were foc after negotiation. the discounted price (sofa) does not include any freebies.

ok i will be around at that time... liase with mr lai already yesterday.. Should we use a key word so he can recognise us as a group buy?

Kevin,

I choose black base and something like light grey for the cushion for my sofa. Hiazz.. really hard to imagine if it will look good... Thinking of getting all black but kind of too boring. pray it looks fine

Hi Ryan, we did not apply for the TV license, but was able to watch TV (at least through starhub cable).

However, one day, the MDA guy knocked on our door saying we need to apply for license then we apply.

No wonder!!!
I received a letter from IRAS asking me to opt for giro for TV and radio licence..
The letter still lying somewhere in my tray!
oops!

Hi Li,

My lights still haven't installed and delivered. Did you request for osram bulbs when you buy? I requested for osram and it's stated in the invoice. Maybe you can call up and tell them you want a replacement.

I can be there this sat for the shelving measurement. Planning to do L-shape as I need more shelves than free space.

Li, good that you've clarified the matter on lights. Hope my lights will be fine too.

Hey all,

Anyone coming down this sat? I planning to see you all for a while cos my curtains measurement pp coming down to measure my windows in the afternnon at 12 then i need to rush down to meet my friends!! BZ BZZZ
LI

When we do window grilles, is it nicer to do it for all the windows or would it be awkward to do only doing it for selected 2 or 3 windows? What do you guys think?

I'm not planning to do for all windows. I'm doing for all except kitchen and MBR air-con ledge windows. Personally I don't find it wierd.

Meirong,

I also thinking that the same way. Did not want to do the kitchen window because we need to hang clothes out, quite hassle. Also the air con ledge window is small and we don't open that at all so no point doing it. Heh

Hi guys, this is what i'm going to do this weekend.

Topic "How To Fix A Bad Ceramic Tile Floor"

Ceramic tile in a kitchen can really stand out and give an expensive and updated feel. This type of flooring is very durable and can last for many years, and is even rated to last as long as the structure. But, if the ceramic tile is not properly installed, it can actually take away from the beauty and elegance of the flooring. Easy problems to fix can include too much grout between the tiles, and then the grout not being sealed. These problems are do-it-yourself fixes, which can be done during a weekend.

Grout is the material between the tiles, which fills in the spaces after the tiles are installed. There are different colors of grout you can use, along with different types. Most people tend to use a white or off white grout, for their ceramic tile floors. Sometimes, you may end up with too much grout in between the tiles. This may be the case if you buy a house with ceramic floors, or if you have installed the ceramic tile yourself. If this happens, and the grout is now dry, there is a very easy way to remove this extra grout.

The hardware stores sell a tool known as a dremel tool. This is basically a cordless screwdriver, and comes with a bunch of different attachments. They also make special attachments directly for ceramic tile removal. You can actually repair the grout 2 ways: You can remove all of the grout and redo the grout, or just grind it down a bit so all of the grout is the same level or depth. This article looks at just grinding down the grout to the same level.

Now you have the grout looking the same. Most likely, it will still be dirty. Grout is very porous, which means it has many holes in it which allow for dirt to get into. You need to seal this, but before you seal it, you need to clean it. There are many grout cleaners out there, and all of these will work. But good old bleach will also do the trick. Mix a bucket of 50/50 with bleach and water, and scrub out the grout. This bleach mixture will help to clean and brighten the grout, and will also kill any mold or mildew which may be growing in the grout. Once you are done, mop the floor and see how the grout looks. Repeat this process until the grout is the color you are looking for. Now you need to seal it.

Before you seal it, ensure the grout is completely dry. You can buy the grout sealer at any of the hardware stores. Ensure to read the directions on this, but most of the sealers are all the same. Just apply the sealer to the grout, not the tile. This will take some time, as you will need a small paint brush and a steady hand. If you get any on the tiles, just wipe it off immediately. This sealer will seal all of the holes in the grout, and help to keep out any of the water or dirt. This will keep the grout the same color as the original color. Also, when you mop the floor, the mop water will not get into the grout. Sealers are very important. If you choose not to use it, your grout will get dirty again, and you will be scrubbing it again.

With a dremel, a ceramic tile grout remover, some bleach, and a sealer, you can get your ceramic tile looking like new again. Money has already been heavily invested into the flooring, so with a little sweat equity and some time, you can get your ceramic tile floor fixed and back to its original appearance.

Hi Ryan,

hee hee ya think the person is my neighbour's friend or daughter.. my hubby only went down with our ID on wednesday afternoon.

And yes only to start work next tuesday still so long ah lol whereas all of you guys already 3/4 or completed liao.

Yesterday we manage to go down to Bukit Merah area shop is Hong Liang and bought my Sharp fridge and Elba washing machine cost about $1180 after discount save only $70 :p at the same time saw Christropher Lee and the other young actress lady(forgot name but now their show at 9pm de) having dinner at that area too

Coming Monday be going down to Ikea to buy our coffee table and dining table set

hihi.. ei...sat i not free leh.. by the way, u guys are asking him to quote for individual pricing first? hmm.. different pple do their shelving differently.. so, the quotes will be different as well. How to know if he does give additional discount for bulk purchase? Share quotes and details of shelving here?

when will u guys do the shelving? Anyone doing in early June?

HI Meirong,

are you talking about window grilles ?? Air con ledge window, teh more oyu must do window grille?? Cos according to my in law, later got thief get climb through our air con ledge and enter our hse!! This is for protection and security!!! Anywae my hubby also installed alarm system and cctv.

Li

I need your advice which part of sungei kadut to buy my furniturezs?? Going to buy this week end but wonder where are all the ware houses?? Ple guide me thank you so much!!

LI

Ya, I was talking about the window gril. My hb's friend also said that strangers can climb in from the a/c ledge into the house but I ignore that. haha. Cos most of the time the window will be closed, so never thought it'll be a problem.

Hmm...I'll think about it and discuss with my HB and ID about the window grill.

I'll be there tomor around 11.30am to afternoon. Any one else will be there besides Li? Maybe we can meet up a while as I missed the previous round. Anyone free?

if the window at the air con ledge will be shut most of the time, can a thief breaks in easily?

i think they rather break one's unit whose window is open rather than shut.

Meirong,

PM me your number? i contact you if i had time. I'll be there at 9am + but i might be busy with the floor.

Li,

You might have overdone it...

Security alarm + CCTV linked to your computer .. are we expecting to see a CCTV outside your metal gate? heh

What about thumbprint and eye scan to enter the house? Hee

for security maybe can install a few windows security alarm for those less common used. each cost ard 30+.

wow if thumbprint and eye scan needed then also install water spray, somke detector, motion detector better wo.

ryan, once u done with the quotation can let me noe how much

than, when you guys ready to order, than i will join in too.

Janice,

i will let you know ... still not sure if i want to wait for that guy for quotation cos he says between 1pm to 5pm he will come up... GOSH !

Don't worry about the shelving, focus on your impt day.. hope everything runs smoothly and the food is good

okie, it's finally over!

still have to clean the house loh... -_-

valerie, we ordered 4 seasons. The food not bad

SY Chen,

how is it priced? 4 seasons..

anyway i was quoted $99 for 20" by 48" 3 tier shelving. He says there is no room for negotiation even with group purchase, says raw material had risen. He says he's committing to $99 cos of the flyer he distributed, those without the flyer which gives 10% discount would be charge $110.

sy.. gd that ur hse warming went smoothly. i booked neo gardens.. will let u know how its like after this wed hehe. now is mad rush all the way le. juz cleaned hse till now then reach home. so tired.

ryan.. we see how is huiling's quote.. if she managed to get a better deal haha.

ryan, 4-seasons is from $10 onwards.
pretty decent the menu.

like this we dun have the flyer must pay more ah...