Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

where to get the big boxes? my A4 boxes is accumulated frm my office last yr when my current hse underwent partial reno. most stuffs packed then did not unpack so now its easier to move. just that need to carry one by one lor.

if box too big, if its heavy then hard to carry too?

sat shd reach our estate ard 1030 (1st round). duno if need 2nd n 3rd round o not. ID's workers also doing some touch ups so might need help to jagar while we do the 2nd/3rd rounds (if needed).

juz joking abt the thinner la. hehe. when we need it then find mr tan

nope didn. cos moving half over 1st. after wedding then move the rest. then matt's fren lent us van so shd be alright.

so nice of u hehe. the thinner is for wad use ar?

thinner to remove stubborn stains on ur tiles.
got autosol too, for stains on ur metal (ie. mixer, shower hd, taps), make these shine too

spent $100 to get movers to move my 20+ big pc boxes and some furnitures from old hse.
they provided the pc boxes. speedy service, half a dozen wkers moved my barang barang from old to new hse within an hr.

oh.. if i use on dirt on my painted walls.. will the paint come off too?

i realised my doorknobs are not as gd as new. got some kind of rough stain there. duno can use on it o not?

how abt painting stain on parquet floor?

cannot use thinner rite?

we will be doing cleaning at the new house this sat too ..ID doing touchup (i hope it's final le..every sat like that do i can die man)

tat seems like a gd deal. cos petrol also cost $. then urs still come with workers. ours haven confirm moving all and i got many fragile items so i tink move ourselves better. workers are veri rough one.

sy

my touch ups also took 2wks and not done yet. haha. i juz put a new lock (our own) on my door juz now. so now the ID come do touchups must arrange with us. more mafan but becos all our appliances n furnitures are in, he advised us to lock up.

cant use thinner on parquet n paint, will 'destroy' it, i have 2 b careful when using thinner too, cos it removes all colours (stains)

dirt on wall, use damp cloth, but caution for dark colour wall cos even with damp cloth, the dry wall may not recover to original dark colour (different shade). have so many dark coloured walls @ home, extra careful not to dirty them. kanna 1 before asking contractor to repaint whole wall cos nvr recover to original colour

val
also worried abt fragile stuff
but these movers r professional
carefully wrapped all my fragile stuff
n when unwrappin, they made it a pt to show me that all fragile stuff r intact b4 they left
cheap, quick, professional service with a smile
wat else can i ask for

sy chen
for stains on parquet, there's special chemical to remove it. can try ask fr ur contractor.
but believe normal detergent will do the job, but dun use excessive of it. i tried with normal floor detergent, it wked.

wa not bad leh. i shall ask for ur contact when i wanna move my 2nd batch. they wrapped ur fragile stuffs for u?? ur fragile stuffs are big items or many small small ones? mine is the latter. tink they will die after wrapping all. they might charge 1k for it after seeing hahaahha

val
for door knob, can use thinner to remove stain ( i tried, no prob)
then may become shiny with autosol applied (haben try this though)

the mover company boss will 1st go ur place to c c how many things u have before giving a quote. i had over 20 big boxes, few cabinets, 1 LCD tv, 1 deskfan = $100.

they wrapped my big fragile items, even cabinets they wrapped too to prevent scratches.

for small fragile items, advise u wrap la, then carefully pack them in boxes. my row of vodka was wrapped n packed in big box for them to carry, heavy leh

hmm not bad! ok i shall assess after this sat how much i have left. might be 1 cabinet and some small boxes and some clothes. matt side will have a single bedframe with the mattress.

next 2 nites hv to make sure those items i wanna move are all chosen. haha. bz sia. gd gg zzz. continue tmr. nite

winningeleven, u can use the ikea hooks that u bought but fixed it onto the ceiling just as i did... no need spend additional money. And for the rod, i actually saw away the access and use the ending cover to cover the sawed area....

hi HuiLing

u're moving this sat too.. so we'll both be bz hehe. did u get professional movers? i'm officially moving in 2 wks more.. after my wedding.

I guess i will have to go to the service centre and demanded a can of thinner otherwise they can come up to my place and wash all the dirty stains on the floor.
I'm sure they choose the first.

valerie, same loh. Now have to lock the door etc. So for touchup, the workers can only come during weekend when we are ard...practically is waste time 1 loh. sianz.

huiling, can drop by yr house see see anot this sat..haha

ryan, thinner very cheap only leh

hahahahah i got some spare at home. If u dun need a lot can take from me

hi guys, how are you? Have been out of town for some time... thought I drop by to say "hi"... =) wow.. a lot of people starting to move in liao.. ;p

hi angie,

welcome back. was just thinking where were you the past few days. did you travel to bali to get some ideas for your house? hee

Ya, think people are starting to move in... me still got over 4 months to wait, not too long .. before i know it it's time liao.. hee

hi angie

wanna ask u.. does ur hse get veri dusty easily ar? my ID washed my floor quite a few times le but i still find it very dirty.. a lot of dust. do u encounter this?

kevin.. how abt ur side?

Val
Mine was still not-that-clean after the contractor did his so-called washing
Afterall, it’s ur own hse, have to put in heart and soul to clean every inch.
Tat’s y thinner comes in handy.

After staying for more than 2mths, realised dust is part of ur life liao
No choice, jurong has its bigger share of dust
Have to vacuum and clean regularly
Annoyingly, my white table top attracts much of it
Even my black furniture/furnishing looks awful with covered dust

Ryan
Thinner, though cheap, no need go home-fix
Thought their prices not low
Can simply get one big bottle from those 五金店/æ‚货店 which could be easily found around our neighbourhood (geh pok, boon lay ….)

me also waiting for mine end tis mth hehe! dying for a break! ya gg to do a lot of work this sat. moving, packing, cleaning. my table also white. u got glass on it or table cloth? i intend to go ikea get table cloth for mine. get a few pcs so tat can change.

Correction
White is my kitchen solid top, so annoying to see dust gathered on it and easily smudged with water, haha, it’s that bad.
Dining table is black glass. Nothing on it except a vase.

hihi, thanks thanks... nope did not go Bali...;p went Taiwan... he he... was fun but exhausting... now need another break!

yah.. our house gets super dusty... my TV console which is black and just beside the window facing the main road gets a layer of dust easily... after wiping.. the next day will see dust... *sigh*

After our ID washed the floor, it gets dusty pretty fast... and I think some of the washing is not very well done.. so the floor still have dark patches/stain..

At first, we were very on about cleaning... ha ha .. but now, have to close one eye... will die if have to wipe every day/ or every other day...

anybody thinking of hiring those hourly cleaners?

I just returned from Taiwan last October, seemed like a long time already eh. Went there twice and like the place very much, i think will go back again when i have the opportunity. My last trip my flight was cancelled due to Typhoon Krosa and stucked in the airport for 1 night, lucky next day the plane can fly. Quite memorable ... ha ha.. came back and claim from NTUC Income for the travel insurance. Hee

now every saturday i also at the new house. once officially handover to me next week, will have to start arranging appt. for the deliveries of my furniture and appliances. hopefully can settle all of it by early june so that i can concentrate on my AD.

don't seemed to have enough time always..

i'm going to sungei kadut to shop for my furniture, and tanjong katong to buy the curtains this weekend. Anyone going can tag along.. he hee

Angie,

i think i read somewhere that the hourly rate if we want to employ singapore maid to clean our house is $10/hr, for minimum 4 hrs. Better to use singaproe maid lor. heh

Angie
Received pamphlet on these helpers’ service in my mailbox
Believe you should have it too, if u have time to clear urs

Hi Shawn,

My hubby invested in a securtiy system at home, it will be connected to one computer. Cos my hubby got fren who is in this line, so labour cost is minumum.But you intrested i can intro you to my hubby fren and see how he quotes you .

Li