Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Ya..I agree with SY Chen..heater on for 5-10mins more than enough liao cos my current parents' house using one which is around 23L Rheem (not sure how to spell). Usually what I do is switch it on for around 10 mins then turn the tap to hot water and let it run for around 20 sec into a pail. Then I adjust the temp while running the water into the same pail. The hot water can be used for at least 2 persons to bathe.

hi meirong

we were watching that show and got the address. my id quote me 1200 for grille when the show say usually its abt 700?

anyway the address for curtain is Blk 845 Geylang Bahru #01-05

for lights this sat/sun (iirc), at suntec got the osram exhibition. got 15% discount. may be a good time to get lights.

Corrine,

But they selling lightbulbs not lightings leh. usually when you buy lightings the lightbulb will be part of the purchase...unless you are buying replacement for the lightbulbs then i see a purpose.

corrine (or is it shawn, haha)
$1.2k for window grills, wow, wat mat'l ur ID is using. Got my aluminium grilles for only 600 or 600+ (cant recall exact amt).

osram exhibition. hmm.. it's for us (consumers) or is it for suppliers. unlikely that we, homeowners, would want to stock up light bulbs @ home since each can easily last for 2-3yrs.

winningeleven
can just get dr bell @ any lighting shops. some wu jin (5 metal) shops have it too. ya, can make use of existing door bell wiring installed in hdb. the loose end should be on the kitchen wall. prefer the conventional ding dong sound although mine has different 'ringing' tone, find it irritating and too long

saw that programme Sheng Qian Wang trailer, that curtain(ing) for 4-room cost only 700-800 bucks. seems reasonable. got mine (5-room) for 1.2k. but lazy 2 travel all the way to geyland bahru to c c. in fact got all my stuff in the west, cept for lighting in balestier, and plumbing items in jalan besar.

Hi Ryan

Is it? Paiseh then i saw wrongly i only attracted by 15% on lights.

Hi Kevin
Yeah its expensive...thats why going to source myself unless he reduce his price.

shawn

Corrine, thank you for the add. I'll take note of it. Your quote for grills is ex leh..I also remember mine is around $800. I'm using the same brown colour grill as the one we have for the window panals.

Hi Corrine,

If you're going down, you might as well cut out the newspaper cuttings. You can exchange for a osram light bulb, but only for the 1st 100 person.

not advisable to store lightbulbs. They are so readily available. Put too long will spoil.

i think corrine meant the curtain izzit? my grills $500+ nia also. Not to prevent thief, more for safety

Thank...i think i will get the doorbell from chelsea cause i also bought my downlights,toilet light and dinning from there.The experience of buying stuff there is not bad!

I finally got my aluminium pole at $9.90 each and iron board at $29.90. They delivered to your door step.
The mama shop at our hse there think bamboo out of stock already, I cant find any bamboo there..haha
I watched the shen qian wang programme too and the curtain and roman blind seems cheaper than other plc. I din manage to copy the address, anyone can provide the full address?
I oso bought the entire door bell set but only use the door bell only, only normal ding ding sound. If wan music or ppl greeting you in japanese type is available in wireless kind and the shop keeper say will spoilt very easily.

i got my lights at chelsea. they are recommended by my ID and parents lor. i got downlights, covelights, a chandelier and some other lights, comes with a free doorbell. so if u buying lights frm a certain shop, ask for free doorbell.
btw, the curtain shop recommended by shen qian wang show is actually jimmy textile at tanjong katong complex. hope it helps.

Lin

my curtains also from jimmy textiles... heard they are not bad. they did the tracks and rods installations yesterday, quite fast and neat though they were late for an hr.

hi Lin,

I also got my door bell for free from the lighting shop. Hee

Hi Joanne,

What kind of length they had for the alumnium pole? where you got it?

I had to reshift my pole hook at the kitchen ceiling because of my kitchen cabinet.

I bought from the shop tt Kelvin recommended. I juz tell the man that I live in st 64 then he recommend 8 ft. 8 ft is good enough, buy too long oso no use.
Gek Poh got sell at cheaper price, think 7 buck only but I'm not sure whether the length is 8 ft anot. Actually can unwind car window and slowly drive back at 20km/h... wahahahhaha can save $2.90 per pole.

today my house like open house. got 3 families come and see..all interested in #11-303

haha..my bf was still saying, must charge cover charge liao. Additional charges for guided tour.

sofa and dining table delivered today! so happy. It's coming up slowly.

Icegin, to confirm, the contact that Kevin gave sell aluminium pole too? Must remember to call him tomorrow, need to get iron board as well

where is that shop located anyway? ya good to buy iron board too... those stuffs are too bulky to carry.

Icegin / SY Chen,

Yesterday i took a peek out of my kitchen and master bedroom windows, can see your bedroom window and living room window quite closely... ha ha

SY Chen you know where to hang the lantern liao eh? hee

Hi SY,
The contact Kelvin gave sell aluminium poles, I bought mine from them. I was at home the whole afternoon too but closed my door. Last week I opened my door big big then ppl keep peeping in wanting to sell curtains and Mio Tv.

Hi Ryan,
Can u see my living room, izzit very obvious and can see very clearly? My curtains not up yet, and when i on the lights at nite, everything become so clear...lol

Ryan, yr side is facing the MSCP rite? can see until living room ah?

oh i call the guy up. He does deliver mahjong table. Got 2 types - one $10+, the other $39 if i never remember wrongly.

Icegin,

You got mio TV? Now we all know where we can watch champion league next season.. a ha ha

It's not clear at all.. don't worry.. it's probably tilt at 45 degree so only if you stand by the window then i can see.

657100.jpg

They put tree on the picture but there are no trees there, i must write to town council liao. HEH

I wanted to ask for the downlight, what balast did you all use? Is australian echo balast good? Cos many shops are recomminding them.

Li

valerie..
how much did the uncle quote you? psycho your boyfriend lah! it's really nice.. heh! =)

kevin..
it just sounds like you're working in educational institution lor.. you don't happen to be a teacher, do you?

copy this from another forum. quite surprisingly more people choose JW than other mature estate. more neighbours coming our way... and i didn't know HDB operates on Sunday too.. think they had too much backlog liao ha ha

- 24-Apr-08 25-Apr-08 26-Apr-08 27-Apr-08
Bukit Batok 0 0 0 0
Bukit Panjang 1 1 1 2
Choa Chu Kang 0 2 2 2
Jurong East 1 2 2 2
Jurong West 9 12 12 25
Sembawang 1 1 1 2
Woodlands 1 4 4 4
Yishun 0 1 1 1
Total 13 23 23 38

hi whyme

the uncle quoted me 368 with driver n petrol. damn cheap lor. ya its really nice. well.. no choice. nvm lor give this up but ask him to do all housework. heh heh.

Hi Ryan,
I din apply for Mio TV, I muz have a singtel telephone line to do so. I already apply for starhub internet already, it comes with a free telephone line.
You still attached a picture of our estate somemore... lol For the living room window, i already block it, tt's why my window is always close. Think town council will faint after receiving ur letter... lol

i kept thinking ryan can see the living room window that is facing the inside of the estate

haha

i didn't noe is the other window

whyme
nope, not a teacher.
don't have the patience to teach as a profession. haha.
however, do teach occasionally as leisure.

u a teacher?

lala
bifold door should be betwwen $160 - $200, depending on how much profit/commission ur ID/contractor wants to take, haha

sy chen, icegin

when u @ home @ night, c whether u can look into my LR from LR window or study glass wall since i kept day curtain down & tied up my night curtain

ryan
admire ur diligence, haha, to scan and track hdb flat take up rate. believe the stats u copied doesnt paint the full picture. amongst the few north and west estates release, only JW has hundreds of new and available flats. other estates like woodlands, bt batok etc have only a couple of old flats. in a nutshell, not that the dd for JW is high, but JW supply is high, haha, of course the number against JW will reflect a skewed stats

HI Merong,

I went to the shop you recommende, they keep on promoting teh M & C balast which I did not hear of, so you buy what type of balast? Autstralian echo one as well?

LI

Ryan,
U are really helpful.
What kevin say is correct. I heard pp not takign the square type of flat in our area cos it is too ex liao. 290k!

Li

received this leaflet in the letterbox, asking for volunteers to join the (RC) grassroots (i think), can we nominate ryan leh? then our welfare will be well assured

Hi Li,
The ballast the person said we're free to choose. Got Australia one and Germany one. But that time I forgot to let him know in the end which one I prefer. Haha...since Valarie said Aus's good think you go for Aus's. Who did you spoke to? I spoke to a guy called Cliff.
Think I better call them up and confirm with him that I want Aus ballast.

I agree with Kelvin too.. lol we nominate Ryan, i believe he will do a good job... keke

Hi kelvin,
No problem, i will peep and see whether can see anot but if u scare then keep the curtain down. For me I haven decide on the curtain yet so no curtain now.

which brand of fridge did you all get? I've been eyeing for Panasonic 376mx but 2 shops I went to they recommend Mitsubitshi. But Mitsu's fridge have higher energy consumption than Pana's. Around $50 more each year and it's slightly more ex than Pana's fridge.

we bought the Samsung fridge RT-49 something. Been eyeing the model for quite some time. Energy consumption consider quite good leh and the price is quite reasonable

sy chen
the samsung RT-49sth was one of my shortlisted ones too.
eyed that together with a toshiba glass-door model (saw it during the house-visiting). eventually bought LG. all 3 shortlisted are 400L. bought LG merely becos it has lowest energy consumption and it's slimmer, haha. to save some space @ kitchen, the toshiba model is wider. likes to stick magnet/post-its on the fridge door, that's y did not take the toshiba model although it looks sleek with dark grey/blue glass door. whose house has it ah