Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

1 funny thing here
received my 4th copy of ikea catalogue yesterday
seems like tat postman (or lady) siao liao
been giving me new copy after I collect (and empty the mailbox)

hee... i think not the postman, but ikea can't wait to earn our money! i oso receive another copy on the bedroom stuffs

i didn't know you had moved in already.. how cool! you are at block 676b?

3D drawing is better
u can amend and visualise on the spot w/o having to re-draw. My ID gave us a copy of the drawings on bother normal paper and glossy paper
(after completion).

my ID told us that if he draw this outside for people, it will cost him $120.

actually if u noe of those students who are doing archi, can ask them to help you also. They can use it as practise. Google has this program called sketchup or something. If wan, also can use

Hi Goatie,

Ur hes is special. Hate my designer! Goin to complain to her boss as her boss is my colleague cousin! Serious, the design i need to come up with myself!! Then has been a month discussion and discussion but nothing much has come up!!!

Li

Hi neighbours,
I already submitted request to have a right turn into the housing and left turn out of the housing and LTA said that road belongs to HDB and is working with HDB on the feasibility. Took about more than 1 mth they still ding donging.

Anyway the other neighbours at renotalk have also submitted the similar request liao hope the more request they are, the easier for them to give in.

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=10373&st=280

Done mine at 1.3k
LR- two night curtain + 1 day curtain (all 3 full height)
Study – roller blind
Guest – window ht night curtain
MBR – 2 full height night curtain
Kitchen – string curtain
MBR and LR’s fabric choice are those satin-like designer’s

U can try Teck Whye Curtain
Located near Chinese garden MRT,
Old couple, nag a bit, but try save $ for u

Gd workmanship
Prompt delivery
Gd service

Don't know is like dat or miscommunication...ID suggested he will have a scv point plus power points at the centre of my living room wall so as to hide inside tv console feature wall...actually it mean to look nicer so u will not see wires dangling from the side of the feature wall when you connected yr tv to the HDB provided SCV point..but of course have to pay $100 for that additonal SCV point...but to my horror, the electrician just remove my exsiting SCV point and extended to the centre of my living room...very unhappy as i always stress that i want to keep my current SCV point and now they just did a extension to the centre...i was wondering how this kind of easy job need to pay $100?

Last time i request for additional tv SCV point is also abt $120. cannot believe i need to pay $100 for SCV socket extension?

Mine also remove the original point and shift w/o keeping the current 1.

Been a few flats, they did the same 1 too.

If i remember correctly, my ID also charge us $100 - we change 2 points (1 in living room & 1 in masterbedroom because of the wardrobe)

Hi winningelevan and SY Chen,

When starhub guys came up to my flat to check my signal and activate it, during the mass activation, he also advise me to keep my existing SCV point when i told him i will be shifting it. Can't remember what he said, but something to do with starhub policies on servicing if had signal problems. I think if you had signal problems with cable tv or broadband, starhub will service only if the point are done by them, if you get a contractor to do it... you have to go back to your contractor. Starhub also provide the service if you want to create a new point. I think they charge $100 for a new cable point.

I know abt this policy..as long it is beening "tampered" ,shifted or removed ,starhub won;t cover the warrantly for the HDB SCV point..that why i only allowed them to have a additional SCV point and keep the current one, i believe there is a need to do modification on the current point which i won;t expect them to do conceal wiring.I think they will still get the signal from the current living room SCV point with a spiltter, using the spiltter,they can wire up a new point on where they like.

Somehow i feel a bit regreted for that cause i will still see a trucking from my existing SCV point to the new point that will hide behind the feature wall.well..it still look the same as wire coming out from the feather wall to the power point.i can just put some display shelves or plant to hide it..

Call ID and he said no problem on goin back to original.

my ID told us cannot le -_-

the scv point is where my platform is. He mention will be quite ugly

now can only pray nothing go wrong loh

hi winning elevan,

i think mine will have the trunking too showing from the existing SCV point to the false ceiling before going to the back of the fixture wall.

How many light points did you guys have for your unit? As i am doing false ceiling for both living room and mbr, i think i will have more downlights to do... trying to reduce them lor...So far, i can cut to a total of 16 downlights, 2 pendant lights, 7 light-cove point and 6 normal ceiling lights for the whole flat. You guys think it's too many?

Ours:
Downlight 15 for the entire house
covelight 8 for masterbedroom only
2 ceiling lights for kitchen
2 lights for toilets
2 lights for bedroom 2 & 3
1 light bulb for bomb shelter

remember to ask yr ID to do double-switch if you need it.

Hey, did any of u change/add the phone line point? The one at the living room is positioned at one of the walls towards the bedroom, very strange. Can this be done by the electrician to extend another point near the main door?

we pull the phone line from the masterbedroom to the living room.

The original phone line at living room was left un-touched. The position too weird le.

Sorry...i'm quite a noob in lighting term , so what is the pendant lights? and the cove-light..so i guess downlight refer to the one that come usually in square shape that we see at the false ceiling and L-box?

Xesthir, my living room and masterbedroom just side by side..errr....the trucking hide behind the WIW than go through the wall.

winningelevan,

you're right on downlight, covelight that those usually long flourescent light placed at the ledge of a L-box. I have to find out more about pendant light, i think it's like a baby to chandelier light, smaller type.

Thank Ryan...
like dat, here my lighting point for my new home.

livingroom/dining room/foyer - 18 downlights and a "hanging"light for dining.

Master bedroom. 4 covelight and 4 downlights as i doin central false ceiling.

Bed room 1 and bedroom 2 - 3 downlights as i also do L-box and a normal light.

Toilets - 2 normal lights
kitchen - 2 normal lights
bomb shelter - normal lights.

I haven bought any lights yet but this is the number of lights i need to purchase.

wah, that's a lot of lightings ! You gotta keep a tidy sum of budget for lightings..

For me,

livron room/dining room / foyer - 10 downlights, 1 spotlight, 1 chandelier, 4 cove lights

master bedroom - 5 downlights, 3 cove lights, 1 pendant light

bedroom 2 and 3 - 2 ceiling light

toilet 1 and 2 - 2 ceiling light

kitchen - 3 downlight and 2 ceiling light

shelter - 1 ceiling light

i create 3 new double socket, 1 single socket, 2 new SCV point, 1 3core cable for hood, shift 1 double socket, dismantle one single socket, create one 2way switch, 1 dimmer switch and includes all light installation.

Total Quote is $1713

Aside from that, i estimate buying all the lights which includes an expensive chandelier will cost around $1800.

Trying all means to lower down the cost...

I got a $600 lighting voucher from my ID, have to get it from a balester shop.So can help to save up a bit of budget from buying lighting. i don;t think i will go for chandelier as my wife also never insist on getting one for our new home.

I intend to get my ceiling lights by using the voucher, as for the downlight, i will get it from those jurong east shop next to chinese garden, i heard people saying this chelsea and pai tech lighting are quite good.

Ryan...how come u still want additional SCV points? i thought all bedrooms already have it? anyway how much u pay for the dimmer switch?

do you know where to buy cutlery trays for kitchen drawers, other than Ikea? Preferably not too exp. Thks.

winningeleven> yeah... i bought my lights from this shop opp chinese garden mrt... cheap and good! but its the smaller shop... not sure wat is the name of the shop though.. boss is called spencer...

lala8> if u r looking for metal ones or any metal cutleries, can get them at Sia Huat... in chinatown..