Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Valerie,

Our units are built in with hot and cold pipe, ideally you should go for storage heater.

For instant heater, the heat of the water flow is not constant. I am using a instant heater at home right now, cold water would flow out for a few seconds before hot water. If you stop the tap, and re-run the water again it would be extremely hot because time is given to them to heat up the water. As the water continues to flow, temp. goes down again to constant. So the unconstant water temperature is a big turn off for me.

Instant heater apparently uses more electricity compare to storage, but is probably more efficient because you heat only the water you use while storage heat up the whole tank and continuously re-heat whenever water falls below the desired temperature.

For our flats, we have to get storage heater. But i think our neighbour are using instant heaters. Check with your ID how they can go about doing it.

The prices are the same. 2 instant cost around 100+ each. The storage 1 cost arond 200+. Just that you have to switch on and wait for 5 minutes.

Also note, the storage heater can only be installed on certain side of the toilet. Must be done on the wall side and not hollow side.

Valerie, we are too lazy to go around comparing prices (but that is where the fun part is). I feel that the time and travelling time don't justify unless the difference is really very big.

What we do is, i get the contact from my ID. We go down to take a look first. Once we decide on the items, we go back the next week together with our ID and finalise the items. Don't want to waste both our time and ID's time to choose on the spot.

We buy all from the same shop also for easy follow-up. next time anything, can go back to the same shop and not say Hob buy from tampines, stove buy from Woodlands than got to run round singapore.

SY Chen,

I think you're right. The minor difference in price do not justify the amt of time spent on them. However, it's the excitement of shopping for these stuffs that interest me. Esp. TV, Home Theatre System and other electronics, i can shop till i drop .. ha ha

I will also buy from the same shop to save all the trouble. Like what i just told Valerie, sometimes it's not about finding the cheapest deal, instead it is about whether you are happy with their service and letting them earn your money. I'm happy with the service i got from Asia Excel. Even when i told them i am only looking out and not buying yet, the salespeople still quite attentive to me.

Well... Excel Asia had younger salespeople, so can click lor. Other shops all auntie and uncle .. quite boring.. Ha ha

I agree! Comparing prices and etc are for the fun out of it.

Anyway, we got it from Asia Exel becoz the guy was very willingly to explain to us. We went to the shop beside Asia Exel. The people there like simply bo chup 1. Don't even bother to serve us.

Beside furniture centre, where else can we look for furnitures? Like alot of shops in 1 area/building that kind.

I personally had went down to tradehub21 (not trade21 hub heh), i don't find the things there to be interesting or nice. However you can try one shop there call Cellini, look for Augustine. Their designs of sofa and bed are quite modern and classy.

You can go to Sungei Kadut, or Furniture Mall @ beach road, the old Turf Club also had a furniture Mall i think. Don't go to Park Mall because it's expensive and cater to foreigners. Otherwise IMM also a few shops at the 3rd level.

Thank for the help, as for the defects list to HDB, i will definitely call the offier in charge tmr, i work 12 hrs a day and very hard to find free time to call them, i also feel paiseh to do my personal thing during my working day.But no choice,the more i drag and the day to move in my new home will be delayed!!

It has been great reading this forum especially now as i m also gather information on how to choose hob and hood ,storage heater/install heater etc.

For the hob/nood, i will go for chimmey type rather than the flat type although me and my wife will seldom cook.The reason i go for chimmey is in fact, i find it nicer...haha...Right now my current home hob/hoob is those flat type and i can see oil stains and patches already stick on the cabinet surface on top of it which i cannot remove .anyway, i also find not really that convenience to store thing on top of the hob/hood,if someone do cooking over there,not so easy to put or take out any thing from the cabinet. just like the fridge area, i also inform my ID not to have any top kitchen cabinet on top of fridge too bacause i know that i won't store my thing so high on a cabinet.

Now that i know storage heater is actually a better choice than install heater, i always think that install heater save more electricity as it is pay as u use.

tradehub 21 i only been to 1 of the furniture shop. Was it Nova? the 1 just on the main road..suddenly can't remember the name.

very pushy salesperson which i don't really like and i find the furnitures very 'dull'.

Cellini @ Sungei Kadut International furniture Centre was having a promotion for bed last weekend - nightingale or something brand. $1,688 for mattress and bedframe. Don't know still got a not this week

SY Chen,

I think there was this promotion the same when i drop by there 3 weeks ago. The salesperson told me that week the last week. Apparently every week is the last week? Heh

I like one of the sofa there. Think about $2000

guys, where is Asia excel which you all been talking ??? is it at IMM ?? which floor ???
my HTB and I are suppose to go for electrical appliances shopping this weekend which is tmr-sun !!...
So the best place to shop for electrical appliances (Hob,Hood, fridge, heater, sink & tap etc) is IMM, best denki, Harvey Norman ?? any where else ???

i am all confused by the instant and storage heater...
my current house is that kind whereby you need to wait for 5 min before you get hot water...there is a storage tank in my common toilet..master bedroom toilet no tank/no heater just a shower tap. so does it mean this is so called the "storage heater" ???

Instant heater is the one which already default has hot water, just need to switch on and you get hot water right ??

which is more electrical and water cost saving ? storage or instant ?

talking about mattress previously...wow this thread is so informative...now i know sealy is the no.1 brand, all the while my HTB and I tot it was simmon...
yeah my HTB has applied for the robinson card..waiting for the GSS to grab all the mattress and bedsheets..haha...actually that time the Simmon promoter told us they only have 2 great offer in a year - mid and end of year..this is the norm in retail. but due to slow-moving,they have ad-hoc promotion. but usually the real promotion good bargain are end of the year and mid year... =)

winningeleven >> you really need to push the HDB to rectify the defects one...my HTB keep pushing them, and in ~2wks after CNY, a few days ago they just called us say the defects have been fixed. we are going down this weekend to check...

Ryan >> your defects already settled ?? no more problem already ??? how many rounds did you approach HDB for the defects?

anyone experienced having to go back to HDB again to complain the defects not fixed properly although they called and claimed they have already fixed ???

electrical appliances we will get it from IT fair next weekend. I think the prices not much difference but got alot of freebies. At the same time,we might see whether STarhub got any promo for cable Tv/internt

plasterbride, i seen people going back to the srevice centre to complain leh. Got 1 couple say they do the floors 3 times but end up like still got defects

Hi Plasterbride,

I think you can go ahead and buy from Robinson now, because if they have better price in future, you can call them up and ask them to use the better price. They allow that.

Regarding the storage heater, your MBR might be sharing the same storage heater with the common bathroom? Anyway it's hard to tell whether storage or instant heater saves more energy. However, i understand more energy is uses in instant heater to convert the water into hot water immediately. On the contrary, there will be water left in the storage tank which is extra water being heated up unnecessarily. I think it's how you want to use it lor. I think a 25L or 35L is sufficient for 2 person shower, so after you had heated up the storage tank water, switch off the power or else water will keep adding into the tank and re-heated. You will not want to leave the shower with a full tank load of heated water eh? That's energy wasted.

I'm not sure if i want to get the electronics so soon. I will have to ask with my ID if it's necessary to get it during the reno because of the wiring to be hidden etc. Cos electronics price are forever going to fall, if the gap between my reno and move in time is 1/2 year, it may be a lot of price diff. Maybe they would offer to come up in 6 months time to do a small job of hiding the wiring. I think that's what we want from ID, going the extra mile to satisfy customers. Heh

Hi SY chen, will starhub b participating in the IT fair??? may i know when n where will it be held??? cos me n HTB are planing to go down to starhub today to sign up. But if they b at the IT fair, then most prob can wait till then to see wats their promo....

Hi Xiaoqing, they will definitely be there one.

620776.jpg

Acer Computer (Singapore) Pte Ltd o Apple South Asia Pte Ltd o Asus Technology Pte Ltd o Benq (South East Asia) Pte Ltd o Brother International Singapore Pte Ltd o Canon Singapore Pte Ltd o Casio Singapore Pte Ltd o Cisco Systems - Linksys (Asia) Pte Ltd o Compaq Singapore o Creative Technology Ltd o D-link International Pte Ltd o Dell Singapore Pte Ltd o Epson Singapore Pte Ltd o Fuji Photo Film (Singapore) Pte Ltd o Fuji Xerox Printers Pte Ltd o Fujitsu PC - AsiaPac Distribution Pte Ltd o Hewlett Packard Singapore(Sales) Pte Ltd o Hitachi o Imation Singapore Pte Ltd o Infocus Systems Asia Pte Ltd o JVC Asia Pte Ltd o Kingston o Kodak (Singapore) Pte Ltd o Lenovo Singapore Pte Ltd o Lexmark o LG Electronics (Singapore) Pte Ltd o NEC Computers(S) Pte Ltd o Netgear o Nikon Singapore Pte Ltd o Olympus Imaging Singapore Pte Ltd o Packard Bell o Palm o Panasonic Singapore Pte Ltd o Pioneer Electronics Asia Centre Pte Ltd o Ricoh o Samsung Asia Pte Ltd o Sandisk o Seagate Technology International Pte Ltd o Sennheiser o Sharp o Sigma o Singnet Pte Ltd o Sony Ericsson o Sony Electronics Singapore Pte Ltd o Starhub Ltd o Symantec Singapore Pte Ltd o Targus Singapore o Toshiba (Singapore) Pte Ltd o Viewsonic Singapore Pte Ltd o Western Digital (S.E Asia) Pte Ltd

instant heater, must remember to get those that heating element is made of stainless steel/metal. Nowadays got those that are made of plastics. Not that durable

plasterbride..finally managed to call them ...Actually it is also my fault as they also claimed that they were trying to contact me too, my hp reception signal is always not good in my work place, maybe that is the reason that i becoming uncontactable, so this HDB building service will come down to my new home on coming tues where i will list down the defects and pass over my padlock key to them.

Wahh...i noticed that most of them here are very fast on getting the stuff for renovation,although i had signed up with the ID last week and till now i had not done anything yet.our iD just remind us to let him know the dimension of the washing machines and the fridge that i will goin to purchase for our new home.Same go for the hob and hood,i believe the pricing of those items have always been standard all along, so must better get it now when a special offer come.

As for LCD tv, i think i will purchase before one week i move in which may be the end april or may period..i m very sure the prices of LCD tv will definitely drop as newer technology will always come with time goes..

kitchen stuff are more urgent. Once the kitchen is done up, the rest should be quite fast le.

My kitchen layout quite standard. We can't get fridge that are too big. If i never remember wrong, is 800 x 840. Do remember that you have to leave 1 inch at least at 4 sides for the hot air to escape and to open the door. We can't get those 2-door fridge.

When they deliver the fridge, on it only after 2 hrs. The salesperson tell us that during moving, some parts in the fridge might shift or what. Need to give it some time to 'settle' down first.

Hi all~

As I am not intending to renovate my house so soon, what do u all suggest that will enable me to check whether my lightings are connected well?

jiajia, so far i never read abt anyone checking the wiring connections for the lights. Usually if u buy the lightings, installed than will noe whether okie a not.

that is during the renovation and i think even if they don't work, should be the ID/contractor do it for u at that time.

we went up to our flat today. They had 'whiten' the groove lines for us and patch up the cracks. Guess my reno can start on schedule liao!

spent almost $2k on lights today. Every weekend spending $$ like water like that. Tomorrow will go and get aircon, fridge and washing machine

We went IMM and compared Sealy and Simmons. Sealy was having this promotion for mattress/bedframe for $3088 but only can choose beidge or brown colour for the bedframe.

Both got its good and bads. I can't really tell the difference becoz we were so tired from walking the whole day and all beds seems so shiok! hahaah

Main issue is the price, even though Simmons allow installment.

me too here !!! SY Chen, I was in IMM today (and yest evening as well) also with my hubby shopping whole day on mattress and appliances and even went down to millenia walk harvey norman

we bought our sealy mattress today - King size, Supreme euro pillow top (limited edition, left 4pc after we bought ours) $2888.... =)
we tried Simmon, Sealy, Slumberland...all the S brands...
we like Simmon Glendale too but we missed the promo and now the price hike back by extra $800 !so regret we did not book that time during CNY promotion.
we find Slumberland bit too hard/firm for our liking. and the comfy range is over our budget.
so we settle for sealy...most of sealy mattress all so comfy..look for Roselyn at IMM if you keen to buy, her service is good and not pushy and very patient. we tried the bed yesterday and went back to buy from her today.

And don't forget Serta too! Simmon mattress are more firm for support, Sealy more for comfort i think. I bought Sealy too. Seems like most young couples are buying these ex mattresses nowadays, my mother in law had a shocked when we told them we bought it for $3000. She had thought $300. Ha ha And they don't know what Simmons, Sealy or Serta, all they know is King Koil! Ha ha

SY Chen,

so which fridge, washer and aircon did you buy?

I had already bought 2 of those but not delivered yet. A Electrolux front load washer and a Mitsuibishi Electric system 3. I think buying Mitsubishi Electric fridge too.

Today i went to Massimmo to look at Sofa. They're sofa are really expensive, $2000+ for cheapest and as much as $4000 - $5000 + for some ranges.

I went up to the unit every sunday to check on the defects and when i went up today, no progress had been made at all. Why can't they just finished up the couple of defects they had left and done with? On the contrary, the worker shit in my toilet and didn't flush it. Very very stinky smells, i wonder how long the shit had been there attracting insects. The service centre is going to get big from me on Monday. I had been very nice to them already, 6 weeks had passed and i only called them once.

Wah, then i better seal up the toilet seats as SP has cut off my utilities supplies. Imagine them shitting and urinating inside and cannot flush!

Hi..i also intend to get the 3 S brand for the mattress which they are simmon, sealy and serta,dunno why my wife don't like this Slumberland brand for no particular reason and i do feel like it sound like sunderland...haha...maybe that why sunderland players like to sleep in slumberland as down in the bottom table...

ok sorry for off topic...back to mattress advice..

I will like to know that which mattress shop do offer credit card 0% installment plan,this is very important for my purchase as i want to save up more cash after i intend to pay up in full for renovation cause i don't wish to pay such a high loan interest for that,if only simmon do offer 0% installment plan, then i will die die get this brand from that shop, beside those mattress shops in IMM, do any other shops offer selling mattress that can pay by installment? how abt the shops in sungei kaput?? Sometime they like to offer best price as long u have to pay cash.

Beside that, i always see the strait times got those mattress advertiment on promotion,they always offer the mattress price that also come with free bed frame but i never like those bedframe like as most of the time is those divan type, if i choose not to have bed frame, any discounts for that?

Ryan..after reading yr post..i already scolding NB CB to those irresponible worker....
if that happen to my new home which those worker don't flush after using,then i will take the picture and complaint to HDB for making my home so stink!!! and they will become the first one in Singapore to be fined for that!!

Better don;t play play..can fine $500 for not flushing in Singapore!!

As long they flush after use..I m ok with worker using the toilet...they are human after all wat,

ya...sealy is known for the comfy..at first we wanted the firm kind...but my hubby and I realise we often get aches due to our bed too hard, so decide to settle for comfy softer one...so guess up to individual.

i also checked mine today, we found the basin and toilet bowl extremely dirty, luckily those can be washed away with water, there's even newspaper leftover in the toilet, we bet they must be enjoying themselves making themselve comfortable in our toilet. we even found cig. ashes on our kitchen floor - smoking in our house !!! and window cracked (before that don't have).
damn jialat..

about appliances, most of my married friends bought fisher & paykel for fridge and washer...is this brand really that good ? my friends say this is a more premium brand but worth the $ cos their quality ???
any comments ?

winningelevan,

i believe in all the shops, you should be able to get price for mattress itself, and mattress with bedframe. I am not getting any bedframe either because both of us cannot find any that we like. Probably will do a platform in the room and put the mattress on it. Japanese way... like that i won't fall off the bed.. hee hee

Winningeleven, so far only Simmons offer installment plan. You can check with the rest who bought Sealy/Serta. according to the salesperson, simmon prices are the same all ard S'pore. If you can find it any cheaper, than can go back and find the salesperson.

Apparently, the store at Sungei Kadut is like agent. Not all the bedframe are Simmons 1.

So far, most of the salesperosn had said the same thing - bed/frame should be same brand. If u buy Simmons mattress but buy a lousy frame that
cannot support it, the mattress will sag also.

anybody consider Dunlopillo? St louis @ imm less than $1k can get liao, plus the bedframe ard $2.5k. My HTB say might as well top up another $500 to get Sealy.

We need to settle the bed urgently. The bed has to be delivered before we do the wardrobe for the MBR. If not, i worry they got problem setting up the bedframe, and less alone moving the mattress in w/o spoiling my wardrobe

Ryan, 80% we are getting Samung fridge and washing machine. So far, the energy consumption for the model we see is quite good. We don't need anything fanciful - just top and bottom open, no need ice-maker and etc. Wanted to get it @ best denki today but the salesperson so unwillingly to serve us. ASk him to recommend he like so sian and walk away halfway when we ask him got discount if we buy more items. We will be going back to Harvey Norman to get it.

Got our aircon from Gain City. Price is not the cheapest. Was deciding between Mitubishi Heavy Industries and Starmex. HTB made the final decision to get Starmax inverter - come up to $3k++. Changed the pipe to the thicker type and got the extended warranty to 5 years

M heavy industries is cheaper but they only have 1 dealer in singapore. HTB scare that anytime the agent close shops or what, than die liao.

i prefer firmer beds than soft 1. Easier to get up.. i alwasy thought sleep on firmer beds won't get backache leh.

we saw this platform bed that we quite like but my HTB say, must also think abt next time when i pregnant, might have problem getting up. Imagine at night wan to go toilet still must wake him up to pull me up. hahahha

HI All,

Got the following items from last weekend purchase, maybe you can find some helpful info here:

Air con - Mitsubishi Starmex, non inverter (All Best, IMM)
Price: $1888
Installation Warranty: 5 years

Toshiba Fridge GR-MG46SDE, Glass collection, 410L (Harvey Norman)
Price: $749
Warranty: 2 years
Ex warranty to 5 years : $102
Total: $851

Sofa - L shape leather, 180mm, (HECOM)
Price: $469.50
Warranty: 0 year

SY Chen,

You may want to source your fridge and washing machine from neighbourhood shops.

For mattress, you are spending well above 2 or 3K, i'm sure the salesperson can had it delivered to you at your request.

My market got this electrical shop for quite some times and their prices are fairly good. But too bad, they don't allow instalment

Hecom is at where?

that's very cheap for sofa.

our ID suggest to us to try Marina South and furniture mall for furnitures.

Lim BT,

if you look back the trend, you can see the list of people staying @ which blocks... it had been a while since anyone updated it.

SY Chen,

I think even if they allow instalments, it is still worth it to buy from them. I don't think the interest to take a loan is more than the savings you get from HDB neighbourhood shops. In that sense, why not borrow from bank?

Mitsubishi Electric and Mitsubishi Heavy Industrial is 2 total different thing. Gain City was not totally honest in their advertisement, they usually put Mitsubishi without specifying Eelctric or Heavy Industrial and can mislead unknowing people. That's why i don't like them. Trying to be too smart to be good. Who served you? i was served by Derek from IMM. I noticed price had went up by about $100-$200 since December. It's a good idea to buy early.

On another note, i just called the service centre, i think she had probably got too many calls like me pushing for defects to be fix. Her tone hardly moved a bit throughbout, i was wondering if she would complete the defects by this week which she said. I will go down on Thursday evening to check, and give her another bomb on Friday morning.

ryan, usually get from Best Denki or Harvey Norman is 0% interest. For us, for big items, we had decided that it is partial cash and partial instalment. Get to keep some cash by our side but not blowing our credit limit.

We were served by Alvin. He did mention to us that it is 2 different companies and that M H I only have 1 agent dealing which was the reason why we didn't get M H I even though is cheaper by $300+.

Not so sure abt reputability for the 3 stores. But i do agree with what he said - u can buy the best air con in the world but workmanship is more impt. The way he explained to us we felt 'more secured'.

The guy who served us at Best Tech does not seem to noe his stuff well. He talked on the same pt over and over again and asked us twice whether ours is for replacement or new flat -_- even though it was only less than 2 minutes ago he asked us.

Air con prices will increase from March onwards.Weather getting hot and more people will get air con.

Oh, btw, we changed our stove from a stainless steel to a glass 1. Top up another $50.

i was wondering if anyone place has already started renovated and with carpentry being done. maybe can go up your place and take a look

I intend to get the air con from hong txr from jurong west blk 50X , their price is not the cheapest they offer as compare to those shops in IMM but so far i didn;t see any negative comments toward this company.they do allow interest free installment up to 1 year but my friend who bought the aircon with them recently told me that they do charge additional 3% for the credit card fee...alamak...

Workmanship and installment of aircon are more important than the brand and the price that u have pay.i hope they will give good service and be able to cooperate with my ID cause i want very mininium expose of the aircon trucking, i scare they go for short-cut everywhere..haha

From what i feel,the hottest temperature in singapore in bwt June to August, hope it is not true that they increase of aircon price due to the hot weather? Maybe they increase price just because they know that people from the jurong west balloting selection have already got their keys liao..haha..good time to hammer them until jialet jialet

winningelevan,

it is true that increase the price during hot weather. And it starts from Apr ... I went to Hong Txr too and i was entertained by a lady. The shop are very small and i don't feel comfortable buying from these small shop.

are you all serious ??air-con price will increase from mar/Apr onwards ???

anyone from jw st 93 ? any idea if we can out 2 aircon compressor outside ???

the salesperson tell us ...coz weather getting hot, so air con prices will increase in March.

but recently weather quite cranky leh. So not so sure abt it

wendy, if there is a air-con ledge outside, it should be able to accomodate 2 compressor outside. otherwise just call HDB and verify.

Ryan..
what a lame excuses from them to increase the price just because the weather is getting hot..i had checked that Singapore will experience the hottest weather in June to August leh, dunno why the need to increase in April? in fact,these few days i couldn't even go to suntan!!

As for hong txr shop..yes i'm quite surprised that a reputable aircon shop is quite small,but look at the bigger shops like allbest and besttech , i had read so many negative comments about them that u must depend whether u r heng or sway during the installation.I believe we talked to the same lady at Hong txr.Anyway,had u got yr aircon and if yes .where u bought from

Plasterbride, the aircon ledge is our street 93 can confirm put 2 aircon outdoor unit compressor.