Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi Ryan,

It's good to see you take the time to help people on this forum, but on the issue of HD-DVD, khy is correct. There is no such thing as a HD-DVD TV. Both HD-DVD and Blu-ray are just higher resolution video formats.

Not sure which shop you got your information from, but it is also possible to see Blu-ray movies on a HD-Ready TV - in this case you will not see the full resolution that a Blu-ray disc is capable of, but the HD-ready TV will instead scale the video output to match its own display resolution.

You are perfectly correct that Toshiba is dropping the HD-DVD format, and they will cease production of HD-DVD players and recorders. Please note that I do not wish to start a debate that is off-topic, but I just wanted to clarify some of the inaccurate info that the sales people have given you.

A number of things had been done in the last 2 days for my defects list. It's amazing how fast they can get it done once you starts to chase them.

This evening when i went up, they had dugged out all the tiles glout and reapply the new glout. Some of the stubborn stains on the kitchen floor were removed. The main door crack line was fixed, the broken phone socket was replaced, the warp doors was partially done (think they miss out one), the parquet skirting was fixed.

However i'm not that satisfied with the parquet skirting. The color of the fillings was so much lighter tone than the parquet. It's quite ugly. They have to at least make it close to the parquet color.

yap yap...what khy and goaties said is true about Full HD and HD ready tv, both can play both HD DVD player or bluray player with the need of a hdmi cable for connection to the input of your tv.

I know this discussion may be a bit off topic to other here but since most of us here are also getting our new flat and probably will get a new tv, i hope they will feel this discussion will help some forumers here in some way on purchasing the new LCD or plasma tv.As I don't wish to see someone here buying a HD ready tv ,connected up with the PS3, spend $60 on a blueray movie and complaint that why the picture quality is as good as a DVD..lol

anyway just a info, if u really want to make full used of a full HD tv,then u must either hook up with a HD DVD player or bluray cause that are the only devices media that can give the true 1080p, As for those SCV or media corp HD channel, please don't expect those HD channel to give full HD as currently it can only offer up to 1080i or 720p only (which is very good already, better than DVD quality of 480p).Lastly, must get a 40 inch and above TV and then u will see the difference bwt a 1080i and 1080p,any tv size smaller than that,cannot really see the difference.

ultimately what winningelevan is saying is ... don't spend so much money on your TV set.. hee

which brand would you recommend? me thinking of getting SONY. was considering samsung until some friends told me the picture quality is not good. what brand did you all buy?

Hi neighbours, I'll be moving into block 676A. I've been told that the defects for my flat will start this Friday, and will take 2-3 weeks.

yah...if u don't intend to buy blu ray and not a avid ps3 gamers, u can save up to $1000 for the price of a HD TV compare to full HD tv, buying a full HD is some sort of gurantee of future ready, we will never know what we will get those damm cystal clear full HD picture quality from our beloved SCV or mio tv.

just buy the thing u need for your new home and what u can afford is most important, no need to buy all the beds for all rooms in one short since only 2 persons are living rite?

Ryan...anyway i will be signing up with weixxx soon, the price they quote me is abt 16k.

Hi Ryan,

Can you teach us how u chase after the? I use the HDB homepg to submit my defects and they get back to us real fast. But wonder how do i chase after them for work to be done quickly cos i starting reno pretty soon too.

Li

Li

HI Winning eleven,

your 16 k conprise of what items cos I was thinking of signing up with them as well but afraid they will cheat us. So at least i know 16 k comprise of what items.Thanks

Li

winningelevan,

Who is the person you engaged there? They are in my shortlist too. I'm just curious about your payment terms, have you negotiated? Most ID required 10,40,40,10 payment. Mine should be close to 20K, think cos i'm going to hack a wall.

Li,

You can call up the service centre and ask. Email me your contact number [email protected] and we'll see if we can arrange.

Goatie,

I think the service centre had an arrangement with HDB that they will fix up the defects within 2 weeks, but i don't think they are adhere to. My defects list had been submitted nearly 4 weeks now and it's not fully done yet. In fact i think they might had damaged my parquet during the fixing because i notice gaps between parquet strips in my room where i didn't notice previously. After they are done, they will do a joint inspection with us before returning us the keys. I intend to clean up the house (again) before the joint inspection so that i can see any bad flooring more clearly. But no water... Li, can i borrow your water? ha ha ha

617342.jpg

This guide is written by Sony, so they might be biased into asking us to buying larger TV. I sort of feel it's too big for comfort. I'm more comfortable with 40" for 2m distance, or else i'll be turning my head so much during a football game. heh

my Id had a joint inspection with HDB on Tuesday. Seems like they are not very wiling to change some of the things.

my HTB is going to F them if they still insist not to do it. Make them clean up the whole house until white white if they don't clean.

The door they say is normal. New flats are enclosed too long and the door will expand. Just open the window will do. Somebody had went up to our house to take a look before the joint inspection. The window was open when we went up. Our Id say it's not them, so it should be HDB.

they will start rectifying on monday. This weekend we will go down to check on the defects again.

i had my joint inspection on mon. today when i went up to my flat, all my toilet tiles and half of my kitchen tiles were hacked. tink they are quite fast for my case. hope the rest of the work wont slow down later.

Lin

Jess82.
From the 16k reno cost from weixxx,here is what is included.

Kitchen Cabinet

built in full height sliding wardrode in MBR.

7 fit feature wall for LCD/plasma tv hanging with suspended TV console

Feature wall to hide bomb shelter.

Sliding glass door for partition btw dining and living(so that aircon in living hall will be cooler)

L-box in foyer and false ceiling in dinning and living rm.

Central false ceiling rm in MBR.

I believe i will add a bit here and there during the reno, so i feel in the end the cost of reno will hit up to 20k...(lighting, sink, storage heater?gas, hob etc)

Ryan...
i m not sure abt paymnet, but i think the 10 40 40 10 payment term is very standard, the ID is Des...I find him quite ok lah, as for the rest of ID, the price is much highre than weixxx,that why i fixed with this ID lor

Lengce (cua) & Xiaoqing !!! Glad to hear replies from st 93 neighbours ...hehe

xiaoqing >> which floor are you in ??
monday we are working lei, so not going down...

Lengce (cua) >> oh you got the one with living room facing the garden ??? you are willing to settle on 2nd floor ?? my Hubby will never never agree to 2nd floor, though i dun mind...

Hi Plasterbride, I m on the 13th floor. What abt u???

Lengce, u got the living facing the garden???? envy... I wanted that, but too bad, when its my turn all are taken except the lower floors, which both me n htb din want......

super productive day

Went down to HDB service centre at blk 675 today to submit more defects.

Bought kitchen stuff like hob/hood, sink, tank

next on the list will be furnitures and lightings to be settled next weekend.

we are planning to get electrical appliances at the upcoming IT fair. Not so sure whether got good bargains a not

the schedule with the ID is out le.takes abt 4-5 weeks and should start on March 2nd week

but we are waiting for HDB to do rectifications. my ID say the rectifications and reno can do concurrently.

ryan, date not confirmed yet. We might take it as a weekend getaway first. Still not mentally prepared to 'leave' my current home leh

btw, we went to Sungei Kadut today - International Furniture Centre.

Quite a lot of shops. Was very tempted to get the sofa which we felt really mixes our theme but have to wait till next week when we bring our ID there to see.

Anybody getting Simmons bed? Got a quote for $4k+. Really very comfortable but it is way over our budget.

ya, that's what we thought also.

We spent like 1/3 of our life sleeping, so 4k spread among so many years is actually quite worth it.

Maybe this saturday when we go down, i go and try again. Haha

SY Chen and Ryan >>.same here,. my HTB and I are shortlisting Simmon, Sealy and Slumberland....all the "S" ..hahaha....our budget is only $2-3K
maybe can share which model you all choose in the end ???

think during GSS period the price will be of the cheapest due to promotion..if can wait, wait lor...price can be as much as a few hundred dollars difference...

SY Chen >> weekend getaway..that's a good idea !!
i cannot wait to have my own nest...save my ears from all the nagging

i can't remember the model we eye for Simmons.

but it is one of the latest model. Just back from Taka with my HTB. Realised that Sealy and Serta price range are almost the same - ard $3k+. I wonder isit becoz of the high rental @ taka and that's why they are so expensive.

If like this, i think we might pay a bit more to get Simmons.

i feel sealy is more comfortable, less firm than Simmons. If you like firm w/ good support then perhaps you should consider Simmons. After all, sealy is still the world's no1, quite a way ahead of Simmons. In Singapore, Simmons is more common because of the marketing.

I got Sealy Posturepaedic from Robinson. It doesn't matter to wait or not because you are allow to use the cheaper price of the 2 if there is a better promotion down the road. You can 'book' one as early as 2 years ahead, think even longer also can.

Hi...need to know how much time do i need to i wait for the HDB to call me after i submitted the defects list, i had done it about 9 days ago through online and so far i have yet to receiev call from them??

Someone had mentioned that submit online will made them on the ball wan..lol.

mayb it's time to give them a call. mayb jus ask if ur officer got the defects list. i went down personally to hand in the list and the officer called me 1 or 2 days later.

Lin

winning, go down to your service centre
and arrange on the spot with a appointment with the HDB officer. can choose day/timing.

That's what we do on Saturday. dont wait for them to contact u if it is urgent. We had our 2nd joint inspection on Monday morning

Ryan -> for Simmon, if they have any promotion, we will pay the lesser price. Probably this week i will go down to sealy at IMM to take a look. we checked it out previously but i forget the price le. We like firmer bed. Headache!

SY Chen,

Suggest you go to the one @ Robinson, Centrepoint. They had more Sealy range over there and you can compare other brands like Simmons, Omazz, King Koil at the spot, they are more friendly and customer oriented.

I think i went to the Sealy IMM before and there is only 1 lady over there, quite a small shop. I was the only 1 person there and she could not bother to help me, i ask 1 question, she answer 1 question type as if i'm disturbing her afternoon manicure at the counter.

winningelevan,

i think they are supposed to get back to you within 1 or 2 days after you submit. maybe they had overlook your submission. Better to call them up.

ryan, okie. Probably will go down during the weekend.

I just worried that the prices @ shoppign centre in towns will be slightly higher becoz of the rental.

Usually won't rite?

I'm not sure. I was too lazy to compare. Perhaps you can travel both and do comparison. And try to apply for Robinson card if you're getting from Centrepoint. It comes with 5% rebates and members $200 additional off.

hi winningeleven

like you i submitted via the hdb online. after 2 weeks no news. in the end i made a trip down to the service centre, completed the defects list, made an appointment on the same day, and now i am just waiting for them to start rectification works.

when i checked with service centre if they have received anything they replied no. I have a feeling that hdb will forward the defect listing to the town council and the town council will forward to the service centre. if thats the case, someone at town council is not working

hey SY

u mentioned u bought hob/hood, sink, tank. where did u get them? i'm gg to look for them too. how do u choose ur hob and hood ar?

by the way what tank is that? water storage tank?

valerie, I bought it from Asia Exel Marketing at IMM.

Prices in IMM are more or less the same. Only depends on how much discount the salesperson give.

Hob/Hood – We got Rinnai Brand. If heavy cooking, can get the chimmey type which is more powerful. We got the flat 1 because it look nicer (chimmey 1 look like food court pattern) and we can have shelves on top to maximize storage space. If I am not wrong, chimmey type cannot be ‘camouflaged’ with cupboard doors. Have to be exposed.

Sink – salesperson introduced us Franke brand but we not willing to spend $400-500+ for a sink. So chosen a Franke imitation brand which cost ard $200+ including the tap.

Water storage – Amasco 2.5 litre. Forget what is the warranty like. If I not wrong is 5 years each for heating element and cover.

Valerie,

You didn't asked me? Ha ha... I can also help you on that.I had checked out Asia Excel before too. I think you can look for Ray. Don't be deceit by the small shop size, they are quite popular lor.

When looking for Hood/Hob, i look at the material. For hob, Asia Excel had RB-333 display, they also had RB-3SS and RB-3Si there. I will consider RB-333 and RB-3SS. RB-3Si is ex because it is a glass type, more fanciful but not necessary. RB-333 and 3SS are both stainless steel. For hood, they had RH-90ER and RH-382 there. I prefer RH-382 because it's fully stainless steel, blends well with the hob. RH-90ER is partly plastic and is ugly i thought. Their price is about 10% off the promotion price listed on www.rinnai.com.sg It is quite standard across when i checked at the neighbourhood shops opp. Queensway shopping. They gives free delivery. It was quite recommended on the forum for Asia Excel so i went down there. The salespeople there are very friendly, i'm quite satisfied and will purchase from them when it's time to get it.

For Sink, they carry mostly Franke and another brand i can't remember the name. There is a Franke package promotion. $426 i think (got exact details @ home) for both the sink and tap. You can add $68 for 3 accessories with the package. There are 3 choices of sink with the $426 package. I haven't decide if i was going to buy that though, will look further. The package was kind of handicap by the fact that you die die had to get that particular design of tap, cannot change or top up for other tap design. Hee For your info, Franke is the world no.1 selling brand for sink.

Asia Excel apparently the only one i look at IMM that carry all 4 brands of water storage tank. The shops there mostly carry Ariston and Amasco, but Asia Excel carries 2 more brands Joven and can't remmeber the last one. When selecting a water storage tank, i think all 4 brands are about the same and the only different is the warranty. It's quite confusing and i forget the which is which. One cover 5 years on the tank and 1 year on the thermostat, another 10 years on the tank and 1 year on the thermostat etc. I think Amasco had the better coverage and the salesperson ask me to get Amasco too. Try to get a lying tank (horizontal) instead of a standing tank (vertical). The price is about $240 to $250. Btw, i think SY Chen post the wrong capacity. It should be 25 ltrs... 2.5 ltr can't even wash my feet. Hee hee

I had the exact price @ home, also took some pictures of the package. I will post when i get home, probably late cos Mahjong after work. ha ha

If you going to buy please let me know. Maybe if we buy together can get better price!!

ryan haha i've been bz lately la.. with my wedding preps.. no time to online. wa seh u typed so much.. ok later i come msn find u to ask u more k. i shd be buying soon cos my reno is starting next week, they will need the dimensions for the kitchen. sure can buy together if u are buying soon too

SY.. u bought all (hob hood tap sink tank)from asia excel marketing ar? they sell so many stuffs.. gd la then i don't need to go jalan besar to look for kitchen stuffs. thot i hv to go there.

for my hood i got to get the canopy one which is veri 'rare' and tink only turbo, techno gas and elba has. did u get discount for getting both hob n hood together?

do they sell instant heaters too? i shd be getting those instead of storage ones. why did u choose storage over instant heater? share?

Corrine,

If you go to the HDB branch office, they will submit the defect list to the HDB officer in charge, the officer will then submit the defect list to the service centre.

If you submit to the service centre directly, it should be faster.

Not much difference because the officer should submit the next day to the service centre. They usually does.