Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi everyone, I collected my keys today and went up to my flat for first time. My unit is at st64 blk 677a. Was expecting alot of defects but we couldn't find much. I wonder if its because we overlook..

We only found
1) main gate rusty but just one small spot
2) 1 hollow tile and its at corner of kitchen
3) some windows cannot open very smoothly but think just needs lubrication
4) bomb shelter metal plate slight rust..

everything else looks good. shower heads, taps, mirrors, doors, etc look brand new. the flooring looks perfectly fine to me. somemore my defects seem very minor. not even sure if should report these.. anyone got a unit in same block?

Hi Linksie,
Just make sure that ur parquet & tiles got no gaps at the skirting area. Potential insect nesting areas. You would have to belly-crawl & shine a light to check, thats what i did. hahaha...But its good news if really not much defects like Ryan On said. =)

i called hdb to enquire bout my AHG status and is still pending... call my officier in charge, she MC.. wonder anyone have the email for AHG?

Hi Chris, my 1st Appt is on 19 Oct, till now I still have not got my keys.

My hubby called the officer, he mention that we didn't call him, so consider ours as "non-urgent" case. I so angry after hearing that.

Since, government sector loves black and white. So hubby emails the HDB Sales mailbox. But we only got a "standard" reply message from them.

1 week later, still no news. That when we decided to email to the "higher" level.

Within the day, we received an email informing that the officer is away that day and will get back to us thru phone the very next day.

The next day 930am, he called. I suppose he's shock to see that email from his boss... :p

He mentions AHG is approved and request sent to CPF to credit the money in, which takes another 2 weeks.

This morning i check CPF statement and the money is credited. Immediately, my hub called the officer and he mention that our 2nd appointment should be next week.

Typical "gov" sector.

Went to air con shop in IMM. they told me that i should not get Mitsubishi Starmex as it not as establish as Mitsubishi Heavy Industries. Keep promoting their brand.

Also they told me that Mitsubishi Starmex is using York Aircon Compressors. They even told me they open up the compressors and found the same system inside. than they use a york air con remote to on the Mitsubishi starmex aircon and it actually ON.

so now a bit lost which to get. they say basically i will be paying for the inverter microchip inside the compressor only at a more pricey rate but using a york compressor.

my AHG finally approve after some calls & email..
so have to wait for the CPF transfer to me & my husband account before we can get the keys..

Can I know usually it takes hw long to transfer?

Kitty, mine takes just few days, i think less than a week. I supposed your HLE is approved too, you should be receiving your 2nd appt notice about a week after it is creditted to your CPF. I think you should get your key before CNY.

HuiLing,

Don't be confused. Just get Mitsubishi Electric Starmex... I don't know if the salesman is telling the truth... i don't believe Mitsubishi Heavy Industries is anywhere near

hi ryan,

Great..Hope to get it soon after so much pestering the officer in charge..keke..
HLE has approve way back before and its about to expire..

Hi folks, after lot's of chasing, finally the officer called my hub this afternoon and inform that my 2nd appt will be on 28th. FINALLY!!!

i buay tahan liao. i've waited more than 2 months for my keys and i didnt even applied for AHG. today sent an email over liao. hope this will make them work for my keys!

Hope that you get your keys soon, Lin! Call them and pester them if you have to. Waiting for you to get your flat then can visit each other... =P

I have started my renovations liao. Any one else? Now halfway thru the wetworks. It is amazing to see everything coming together bit by bit each day.

HDB launched West Balloting today. The estate i waiting for finally launched but too late. My parents was reallocated there under ENBLOC 4 years ago so there was quite a number of balance units.

Even though, i don't think i will apply. My mom told me when she told the 4rm 4 years ago, it was very cheap after all the subsidize for ENBLOC scheme... now look at launched price today, it was $370,000 !! Almost DOUBLED 4 years ago.. but maybe cannot compare apple to apple cos her is under ENBLOC usually had more benefits cos we were FORCE to move.

So it was a good deal she bought and a measure of how much flat valuation had went up the last 4 years.

hi yvonne, is it possible to provide the email addy of the "head" dat ur hubby contacted? if it's not convenient over forum, u can PM me.

TIA!

Hi Jopp, We email the main mail box first. when no reply after 1 week then we email the head.
maybe u should try email to the hsbsales email first.

hi yvonne, we have emailed hdbsales more than a week ago, and living up to their name, there's no reply yet. :p

so knowing from ur experience dat emailing to the head does speed things up a little, we r now planning to shoot an email to the head lor.

Hi Corrine!

For the second appointment, we took about 40 minutes. Do go there a bit earlier than your appointed time to get the fire insurance first. There is no Q number system at the fire insurance counter. My appointment was at around 9 am. When I reached at 8.40 am, there was only one counter opened and about 10 other couples waiting. The process is quite fast but depends on the person serving you.

Also expect to go "up and down" a bit. From the fire insurance on the third floor to the key collection on the ground floor and then back to the third floor for the payment of fees then back again to the ground floor. (A bit long winded) And if you are intending to open your account for water and electricity... you need to go up again.

Jopp, from the sent mail u then forward and add on the message. as the previous email u sent consist of the date and time. hehe

Hi shan3

thanks for the information. very helpful. for the rest who have gone for 2nd appointment is it roughly about 40 mins too? i am going on weekends will the timing be longer?

Hi Corrine,

I went at the off peak hr (cos not much crowd at HDB)...so it only takes abt 30mins for me. Appt time is 3.10pm but i reach at 2.30pm. The fire insurance only 1 couple in front of me and it takes only < 10mins.

Then after that we gotten the queue no. and was being called to the room in < 5mins. There after the explanation and signing of documents were being done. Halfway through the signing of doc, my HTB went up to the 3rd level, to make payment, while I stay in the room listen to wat the officer had to say. So all in all about 20 mins. For electricity, you can actually sms to activate it. So we did not apply on the spot.

Maybe for wkends, you will be slightly longer. So do be early for the appt to apply the fire insurance.

hehe 7am may b a little too early cos dun think they are opened yet. Think the sales dept start work at 8am from the HDB site.

I see i manage to send email to that...lol my mail seems to be very 'fierce' their customer service standard really need to brush up.

So pray someone calls us then.

i think because we are going for 2nd appt, it does not go on queue. The earlier we go, the earlier they will serve us. My appt is at 9am but i intend to reach there earlier.

Yes. They don't go by queue

Usually first come first served. Our appt was at 10.10am. We song song still eating Mcdonald when the lady call us.

End up we rush back she tell us she waited too long and have to wait another half an hr

Just collected my keys today. Didn't apply for water or electricity cos was told free for 7 days. I went down and yes there is water and power.

Just wondering, did you guys report the lining between tiles as dirty (brown not white anymore) and the little small holes at the side of the parquet?

Renovations starting on tuesday. Right now shopping for furnitures etc. Just went out to IMM and tradehub 21 today to source for everything. Beside the NOVA furnitures and Furniture Warehouse @ Toh Guan, is there any other recommendations for shopping of furnitures? By the way, I also went to IMM to source for aircon today. Is there any recommended brand that you guys would go with and how is the pricing like?

think starmex quite popular. a system 3 non inverter is about $2000 and inverter is ard $3000 odd. if you air-con the living room should be more ex cos it required a stronger fan coil.

Hi ryan, thanks for the info. Have you bought your aircon? From where? I know starmex is quite popular, however heard from the sales person that the parts that is easy to take out to clean is also easy to spoil.

ryan, u can report them. My ID told me that they will re-do the tiles.

According to some ID, the dirty lines cannot be clean. Somemore ours are sooooo wide apart which is so unsightly.

BTW, do anyone noe whether we can change to another type of tiles instead of the ones they give us? We can pay abit more rite?

Tmr we going to finalise our quotation and probably sign with this ID le. Cannot wait anymore longer.

Do we apply for loan first or we pay and than the bank 'return' the $$ back to us?

anyone planning to redo the toilets. we were told by hdb that we cant change the tiles in toilet? something abt it being prefab.

anyway we went for our 2nd appt yesterday. Went early and within mins we were called. quite surpised as i thought they would stick to appointment time.

quickly went back to prepare the 'opening house' ceremony, made the offerings incense etc. then the door couldnt open! panic and realise that u have to push really hard to open it. now i know why some people get injured just opeming door.

didnt really check for defects as we had to do some 'ceremony' and leave the house before a certain time.

met our new neighbouts staying directly opposite us. nice couple with a daughter. friendly enough
good start with some slight hiccups/

now can start buying stuff and sourcing for ids!

shawn

Shawn,

You are not able to change the toilet tiles as yet because of the waterproofing conditions. The toilets are under "warranty" for three years by the contractor in case of any leaking.

You can choose to overlay the tiles instead or wait for three years to hack and relay the tiles.

Happy for you that you have nice neighbours!

anyone tried to hose the dirt in the house away first then check for defects?

since water is free initially, am thinking of washing the place first..

Hi Ryan &amp; Shawn,
I also collected my flat keys on 19 Jan. haha, maybe we have bumped into each other yest morning.

we straight away went to our flat (st93)
we found alot of defects.
did anyone from st 93 also found alot of defects??

we found a few hollow tiles, cracked wall, leaking wall, parquet also has hollow, parquet at the wall not joined to the flooring, switch not operating well...argh.....

anyone know if we report to HDB, do we give them our keys for them to check? or we have to accompany them tgt to check the defects???

Olivia,

Thanks for the tips! I went back to check the skirting and realized there was gaps at some of the joint areas. tsk.

anyway i totally dislike the toilet doors. thinking of replacing the doors. wonder if can sell the doors :P

Hi plasterbride

perhaps we did?
what time was it when u were buying fire insurance. If u saw a couple wearing red and maroon thats us

my fren who got st 93 also mentioned she had a lot of defects but did not go into details.