Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

ryan

so far i'm still ding ding dong dong on the ID part. i'm looking at mainly 2 specialised ID on my theme, now waiting for quote from the 2nd one whom i juz met on sat. the 1st ID, the quote is too ex, so now we're also waiting for that carpenter uncle whom my neighbour recommended to get back to us on his quote n drawing. we might split to let him do the kitchen and the display cabinet. not too sure how also. haiz.

olivia - we went to his showroom.

The uncle quite okie lah but we didn't choose him.

he is a contractor. We always meet him downstair when we go over to our new house during weekend.

that time he tell us 5-room do, abt 8000-10k like that

I've gotten my air-con liao. From All Best at IMM. The person who served us (Andy) was quite patient and nice with us. Switch on and off the aircon several time for us to listen to the motor running (to see if quiet or not). Also patiently explain the different types of tubes, insulation etc with us. Was pleased with their service. But hven't install yet so dunnoe how the installation and delivery of the air-con will be.

do we get the aircon first
and ID help us to coordinate the installation?

anybody hiding the trucking in their cupboard? Tose not hiding, are u all installing the trucking on the top of the ceiling or below?

Hi guys... can share ur views for furniture layout on slanted living room?

- L-shaped sofa / 3 seater sofa
- Tv
- Dinning table

598055.jpg

Daikin is good if you are planning to have air-con in the living room. Because it can support four "hoses" for the aircon. However, as was told to me, Daikin runs on only one compressor. Which means less energy savings.

Me and my hubby chosen Mitsubishi in the end because it is really so much quieter compared to the others. It is easy to clean and maintain and it runs on two compressors...

Yes shan3, the main reason i choose mitsubishi is because it is quieter than the others. i think noise level is very important, i want to have a peaceful sleep. when we run other aircons, can hear the ROO ROO noise. Hee hee

Also the easy to clean function, instead of having to ask people to come and clean all the time.

olivia,

Design 1 - That actually a good solution. Never thought of it. However putting your tv there might reflection coming from the window light. Unless you put a curtain on it.. but i want my living room to be brighter side.

Design 2 - Fixed the reflection angle, but the tv is not really pointing to the sofa, not very feasible.

Design 3 - A good solution to both above, but putting your tv there may make the tv looks cramped at a corner, where we have such a big living room it shouldn't be looking cramped. A solution is to hack down the wall between the mbr and living room, bring out the wall so that with the shelter it is in a straight line.

How far should the sofa be away from the tv? Anyway know the recommendation if i'm getting a 37, 40, 42 inch LCD TV?

SY Chen,

i may decide to lean the dining tables against the wall instead of in the middle, will see about that.

anyway, your ID MUST oversee the installation of the aircon unit. it's very important. Because he has to supervise the trunking line to ensure it fit in with the design (eg. false ceiling / L-box).

Valerie,

why not let your neighbour contractor do the whole house up? you don't think they can do a good job on the fireplace? If so, you should elsewhere. I think the focus of your whole house is the fireplace, better make it right.

not sure about engaging 2 contractors on a unit, if you find a problem you wouldn't know whom is at fault. think properly lor.

unwilling to push my budget over 20K, don't think i'm asking for too many things. If all 3 or 4 ID comes back with ard the same price, then maybe i have to reconsider my budget.

just check, how many ID you guys check with before deciding? i think i may only look for 4 ID, is that too little to compare? Hate to travel to far away ID in Eunos, Bedok, Paya Lebar... so far.. closer to home with ID at IMM & Tradehub21.

Shan3,

I don't think it's about whether all fan coil are run on a single compressor, or split compressor. If you had a big living room, you probably needs a separate compressor to support the load (BTU). So the factor is more about the amt of air-conditioned area you wanted to cover... If you get a low BTU compressor and you want to air-con the living room and the 3 bedrooms, it wouldn't be cold enough so you need 2 compressor.

Based on our floor area, if you want to air-con all the 3 bedroom at the same time, a 27,000 BTU compressor would still be able to support. If you want to aircon all 3 bedroom and the living room at the same time, definitely there is no compressor big enough to cover your requireemnt, so you will need a second compressor. However, if you only will air-con the living room and 1 bedroom at any time, a single compressor should be sufficient.

a bit nagging here... trying to explain but think the more i write, the more confused it looks. H aha...

BTW, everyone please support the environment and get R-410a refrigerant. Don't get R-22! I fork out $80 more to do my part in preserving our earth... hee hee

hihi fellow jurong-west neighbours, I am new here.
I will be collecting my keys this sat..kinda of excited...just wondering, has anyone here engaged Plush living as ID Reno Firm for your JW flat ? or anyone considering them as potential ID Reno firm??
I am shortlisting them though

ngel65 st64 Blk 675A
Jiajia st 64 Blk: 675A
Henvye st 64 Blk: 675B
Kevin st 64 Blk: 675B
khy st 64 Blk: 675B
Yen Chern st64 Blk 675B
Justin&Jolin st64 Blk 675B
1118 st64 Blk 676A
Li st64 Blk 676B
cYANIDE st64 Blk 677A
Valerie st64 Blk 677B
Woonie st64 Blk 677B
Corrine/Shawn St64 Blk 678A
whyme st64 Blk 678A
whiteyling st64 blk 678A
CSY St st64 Blk 678A
Icegin st64 Blk 678A
rav3n st64 Blk 678B
Hwee*2 st64 Blk 678C
Impy st 64 Blk 678C
Ryan st64 Blk 678C
dar80 st 64 Blk 678D

Yvonne st93 Blk 988C
ckoonyin st93 989A
genwin st93 989A
Eileen st93 Blk 989B
xiao_qing st93 Blk 989B
Plasterbride st93 Blk 989B
Cutie cute st93 Blk 989C
Kopi/pleiades st93 Blk 989C
Purpletulips st93 Blk 989C
Pebblewee st93 Blk 989C
aforahma st93 989C
Hui ny st93 Blk 989D

Ann YS Blk 181
Lin YS Blk 182
Shan3 YS Blk 178
henkitty YS Blk 177

plasterbride, Plush Living got back to me within 2 days of design and quotation. Too fast to be comfortable..don't know how much thoughts they put in to design my house. Hee

ryan

i'm hesitating on letting my neighbour do up the entire hse cos we hv to do all the coordination which my bf tinks we might not hv the time and its a hassle. and ya another pt is i'm not sure if he can do my country theme.

i trust his carpenter fren more (and his pricing is def cheaper than other ID) but he juz do carpentary, so i still need to find someone to do my other areas like plumbing, electrical works, ceiling works, painting etc.

That is why i thot of letting carpenter do the kitchen then the rest of the hse by another ID so tat i can save. u know, the kitchen by the ID i want, costs near to 9k! double our budget for kitchen and wad we're willing to spend on it. that is why we're re-considering lor.

i also looked for 4-5 IDs only but i travel quite far la haha. if u feel comfy with those near like IMM, then go ahead ah.. doesn mean far means gd

hi olivia

wa ur defects quite serious! so far have they started rectifying already? mine seems veri mild compared to urs leh.. tink by this week they shd be able to finish already

valerie, the skirtings really make me want to cry. everywhere u can find either holes or cracks or gaps. Termites & roaches favourite places. We didn't list the faulty locks of the toilet doors & slightly rusty shower heads coz we are going to replace them anyway.

i submitted the defects form last sat. Officer supposed to check my flat yst. Dunno whether really checked already. Then i realise that i still want to add in more defects, e.g. the jialat alignment of the toilet tiles, the rusty pipes behind the toilet sink. Can still submit right?

thanks olivia for sharing....

ryan,
not sure abt the distance, but a salesman ever mentioned it to me b4.. but cant remember... actually i was too dreamy to listen to him... HAHAHA....something else caught my attention...

here are some info on tv viewing distance:

http://images10.newegg.com/UploadFi...y LCDTV/NIC-Buy-LCD_TV_Buying_Guide-v1.1e.pdf

http://www.practical-home-theater-guide.com/Tv-viewing-distance.html

anyway i already got a 40" LCD ... and as for reflection coming from the window light for Design A wouldnt b a prob coz LCD tv doesnt reflect light...

olivia

ya i see urs, veri diff from mine. u must follow up closely. mine took close to a mth cos they're really v slow. a few small thing takes 2 weeks.

yup can submit once u find new stuffs. i did too.

samsung, cost ard 1999+...impulsive buying and also kinda like kena cheated by the salesman...he say left few 3 pcs, after tt the price will b at original price 2500+, now the price of the tv is 16++!!!... my dad bought philip 50/52" (cant remember)cost abt 5K++ .. super big... + he got himself a nice slim home theater for free
598609.jpg
which i think cost 1K over ...

better check with the salesman at difference chains... the listed price is often not the final price esp. for TV.

Samsung is a good brand
I'm considering Samsung too. Of course, Sony would be good alternative if you don't mind paying more.

I heard some electrical store in bukit timah gives good packages for the electronic appliances that you may want (like buying the LCD tv then free washing machine etc etc). I have yet to go there...will go one day and keep u all update.

Ryan, i saw that brand displayed at Challenger & some Best Denki stalls.. hurhur...also saw a brand called "Chimei".

I've seen Palladine LCD TV somewhere... And also a brand called Amoi... LCD tv from these 2 brands are very affordable... But, Like Ryan, i am more confident to buy from an established brand.

Samsung & Sony looks very pleasing, i admit. But price also very "nice". Any suggestions or good deals for 42"-50" LCD TV? Panasonic? Hitachi? Toshiba?

You can try Audio House for Samsung TV... On sale till 6 February... The same one (Samsung 37") that I bought earlier was cheaper at Audio House (I bought it at $2299 and Audio House was selling it at $1999)

Hi Olivia,

I went to your reno talk and in the lat thread, yoo mention that we can submit the defects through my hdb my pagge. can you explain a bit more how do i do it?

LI

Olivia,

Instead of getting from Palla/Amoi brand, why not get from Samsung or Sony and downgrade your requirement to fit your budget?

Maybe instead of 42-50in, go for a 37". Or instead of wanting a Full HD tv, maybe just get a HD ready. (Doubt you will be watching any bluray disc anyway, by the time bluray becomes standard, you can probably change your tv).

Like for Sony, instead of going for x series, go for V series... or cheaper S series... youjust get less quality but usually you can't notice it with your naked eyes.... response 8m/s and 6m/s... you think you can see the different? contrast 16,000:1 and 30,000:1 .. you can see slight difference but is it necessary.. you are just paying so much more for slightly better image...

Buy something that fits your budget in the end.. i think a 37" Sony V series LCD TV now only selling for about 1699 to 1799... where a X series cost you 3000 +

Still advise to stay with respected brands ... in fact my fren in panasonic tv assembly plant told me they are dismantling Sony & Samsung TV to see what they have done with the tv ... they treat both of them as market leader in TV. They don't even care to dismantle a Akira TV etc.. cos they know it's incomparable.

besides getting a large screen LCD, attention should be given to the resolution too. as for brands, samsung and sony are aggresive in advertising, no doubt they produce good LCD tvs but not getting those, I'm paying for their advertisment. Eyeing a hitachi 42" 10,000:1 Full HD LCD TV, 3HDMI ports. only under $2.4k

Kevin,

At first i also thought like that, like mitsubishi starmex where no doubt we paid a premiere for their advertising cost, however starmex are convincingly good with their aircon.

And like i say, my friend is working in the Panasonic assembly line and he confessed to me that they often use Samsung and Sony TV as benchmark. Sometimes they dismantle Sony / Samsung TV and examine them. He says they only examine Sony and Samsung TV cos the rest is a waste of time.

He told me don't buy panasonic TV, i asked him why and he say "look at me, the tv is made by me". i look at him, and i say "ya it's true.." HA HA HA