Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

ryan.. ya standing fan also not bad. can move ard.

herain.. ur king koil mattress gd? my parents say king koil not bad but many frens got simmmons, they say veri gd. duno which to get. wad model is urs?

haha..north okay la. 15mins drive only

maybe mega mattress have leh? TradeHub21 like got a few shops selling mattresses also.

Of course some bed packages do come with mattress but most are of low quality
Will invest in a good mattress, impt to us to have gd sound beauty sleep, haha
Looking @ sealy serta simmons four star king koil

Valerie
U need to try the mattress yourself. Mine is ICA. Quite a number of models under ICA so you need to try and see which you feel comfortable. Actually I like one of the Four Star detense model as well.

Olivia
Thanks. I went to the Woodlands branch. Didnt get to try any cos too many people and only limited beds available for trying. Just sat on afew and it's indeed very firm.

err, whether boring or exciting design mattresses, it matters little once wrapped up by the bedsheet
what steal the eyes are the divan, headboard

ive tried simmons, serta and sealy and i like sealy the most but very ex and out of budget jus for the mattress so still considering. btw if u looking at simmons try not to go the imm branch cos the salesgirl really cant make it.

Lin

Yo guys/gals, congrats for those getting their 2nd appointment. Ryan/Corrine & Shawn etc..

Just to highlight for those who are just getting your keys.If you dun want to waste annual leave arranging for an inspection with the HDB people on weekdays after your checks. Insist with them for a Sat slot.

The working hours stated for them are Mon-Fri and Sat. However, when I told them I wanted Sat, they say they dun work. I then asked them for their management contact to talk about this issue and subsequently they relented and allowed us to make the appointment for joint inspection on Sat.

Spoilt my whole mood after talking to them...Even though I understand that everyone wants to rest on Sat but work is work what...sigh..

Ryan, I am talking about after u submit your defects list and have to arrange for a joint inspection with them if got a lot of defects..Can schedule it on Sat..insist on it..

Actually if your defect list is quite clear cut, you dun even have to do a joint inspection. I didn't but my officer quite nice lah... He agreed with everything on my defect list and arranged for all items to be retified...

Lin,

I have sent you a email. By the way, even my kitchen tiles will be changed because they couldn't hack the wall tiles without damaging the floor tiles. Can have a new kitchen. Haha... But hope that the work turns out good coz they have to rush it out for me in two weeks. Tomorrow going to see the sample tiles the contractor sent. They are starting to hack the tiles tomorrow. =)

Not really lah.. just the few choices that is provided by the contractor... few choices meaning only 3 different colours/ scheme for you to choose from. I saw that there were plain white tiles too but didn't really like it... Coz it had the coffee-shop feel to it.

Seems like most of you are looking around for funitures already. Mine still waiting for HDB to rectify my defects. But I have already found an ID to reno liao..now waiting for HDB reply see when can start. Juz wanna check with anyone of you here, after the HDB rectify the defects, have any one of you encouters even more problems?

ryan
these mattresses from the 3 S - sealy, serta, simmons range from $2k to 7k, depending on the technology used, padding, firmness etc

my HTB's colleague bought sealy mattress+bed frame ard $3k+ if i not wrong from sungei kadut

is it open during weekend anybody noes?

Top loading versus front loading
The choice of a top-loading Washer or a front-loading is strongly based on user preference. Some top-loader advocates have argued that a top-loader leans more towards efficiency with dramatically faster wash times, although comparisons of energy use show this to be wrong -- front loaders generally use less energy, water and detergent and are more efficient as well as sometimes more effective at cleaning. The new top loaders compare especially poorly since the government regulations have reduced the amount of energy they consume, which has resulted in shortened cycles and less effective cleaning. Front loaders do tend to have longer cycle times although they still consume less energy. Front-loaders lean toward less consumption with dramatically lower amounts of water and less detergent required.

Extracted from Wikipedia

Hi Lin,

Just realised you're the same person i spoke to over at Yum Cha forum. ha ha..

So how did your ROM on 1st Jan go? I heard about the AhPek downstair.. hope he not there during my ROM. ha ha

I had just collected my keys today! Am staying at YS, blk 178.

Shan3 and Lin,
I can now officially wave hi~ to you all when I go to YS. Will 'step' into the house next Wednesday. Hope to share ideas on reno wif all of you in future

Lavender

jiajia,

there is indeed water and electricity supplies for my flat when I collected my keys and visit it on the same day. Not sure for how many days though...

Ever since the day I collect the keys on 21 Dec, there is water till today..
Cos need to wash hand and also flash toliet ater using..

I still haven't submit my defects yet..
I forgot to check the bedrooms flooring carefully cos saw comments here...
Intend to go this weekend and add in the defects and submit the form at the same time...

Below are some my defects...
I think I never check until very thoroughly!
Need to be more hardworking this weekend again!

Kitchen
1. Windows
- Got holes at the side. (Areas taped with masking tape).

2. Toliet
- Hollow Tiles
- Door can be pushed open after closed
- Shower head turn rusty.

3. Tiles (Near drainage)
- Edges got holes.

Living Room
1. Tiles
- Hollow Tiles
- Edges got holes
- Yellow stained marks on tiles.

2. Main Door
- Top hinge area got a hole at ceiling.
- Cracked lines at the centre of the door.

3. Main Gate
- Top padlock holes not parallel.

Master Bedroom
1. Toliet
- Windows cannot close.
- Shower head turn rusty.

Windows for kitchen, living room, 2 toliets and 3 bedrooms.
1. Stained or dirty.

Letterbox lock
1. Unable to open smoothly as lock has turn rusty.

ryan,

now den u noe i'm the same person ar? the sealy bed tt i'm looking at cost abt 3k with bedframe. serta u can get at a lower price but not as comfortable to me. my rom was abit spoilt by the JP but overall still quite memorable cos was surrounded by my loved ones mah. hee...

Lavendar,
congrats on getting ur keys! can i noe when was ur first appt? my keys still with the branch office leh. tink next mth den can get liao.

shan3,
hope all my tiles can be changed! haha.. keep updating us k?

Lin

Hi shan3,
most prob reno will start after cny? but dun think i will hurry cos my customary wedding is only in dec 2008, still have ample time. Reno takes abt 2-3mths at most. Hav an ID in mind, but will confirm after seeing one more ID after cny.

Lin,
my 1st appt was on 7/11/7. Received 2nd appt letter on 5 Jan, to collect keys on 10 Jan. I didn't know they give us less than a week's advance notice for the key's collection. Haha. I was kinda caught by surprise too, cos I thought HDB 'missing in action' for so long oredi.

Hope to share more housing knowledge wif u guys!

Lavender

for those doing inspection

all those little holes at the corner also must report.

My ID say that it can be a potential nest for ants or other insects

little holes?
wah...looks like 1 day not enough to check everything...

anyone knows if anything is misalign is also considered a defect? eg, window sill

hi corrine,
prepare 8 angbaos with 20cents inside each & 8 oranges (buy cheap ones). Knock before open door, chant "Om Ah Hom" to claim the house as urs (optional buddhist chant), place 4 oranges n 8 angbaos at the center of your hall. And one orange at each corner of your hall. settled! =) no need to choose special dates.

HTHs

Lengce,

good for you.. my 1st appointment was on 16th Nov. bt till now, my AHG is still pending for approval. so sad...

ya...some say choose even days to open will do. If u more concern, than find auspicious day according to the yr dates.

We did a very simple ritual. just burn some incense and papers at the door. Say who you are. yr name and both of you bought this house and will be moving in.

Than my HTB open the door and when you enter, everybody say some goods things loh like pin an or what.

We got his baby nephew to do lion dance for us. For the sake of fun coz he love lion dance. Than ask him to roll the pineapple.

Supposed to sprinkle Rice & green Bean @ all corners but we modified it. We pour Rice & green bean & coins into paper cups and just place it at the 4 corners. The 2nd day we go in i mopped the floor le and i don't want to dirty it again by sprinkling them.

Take lots of photo and video on that day. I think it's quite fun, can put on yr wedding montage next time

thanks for the ideas people
actually if can i will just unlock door and check defect /clean up and thats it...but my gf prefers it for peace of mind
so i will do it for her...

shawn