Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

i was thinking if anyone going to audiohouse to buy any appliances, maybe we can buy together and get more discount. i understand the salesperson there earns commission, so if we purchase more stuffs they would be more willing to reduce the price (into his commission).

Probably not big savings to talk about, but can also exchange opinions and get to know neighbours. Not too bad eh.. hee

will buy appliances ard mar-apr. let me know yay!

Hi olivia,

me went to the boon lay way one. they having a sale now. can go take a look lor. good luck!

Lin

I have also gotten a unit at Block 6xx. Hubby and I had went to do inspections serveral times and reported the defects to HDB already. Apparently, they rectify some problems but created other problems instead. My hubby is trying to contact the HDB officer but couldn't get hold of them. I would like to write an email to them but no idea who to write to and what email address. Hope anyone here can help me out. Thanks a million.

Audiohouse's appliances durable a not? I always see they offer very good offers on newspaper.

I tried breaking down different components in my quotes. Some items A offer more, some B cheaper.

Haha, really is depends on fate and 'mo qi' like what some ID say.

One is a young chap. Would say he is quite creative but i worry he might not have alot experiences. The other is experienced but she is quite pushy at times

i think time really not enuff. I supposed to start planning for my ROM but everyday after work, like dead log like that. Weekend got to spend looking for ID. Supposed to be in March but i think have to postpone le

Hi Joelle,

You can login to My HDB website (available from the HBD website). The details of you officer i.e. his contact number and his email will be refected there. =)

SY Chen,

Audiohouse is a reseller, not a brand. They don't own in-house brands so what they sells are products you see elsewhere. So don't think durability is a issue.

Hey pple, notice that they are building something at level 1 of blk 678D. Any idea what are they for? Minimart? Other retail trades or some amibiguous area to house ex-convicts/mental problem folks? RC? Senior citizen? Childcare?

Hi Just,
How do u know is a minimart? Is it stated anywhere? The notice board only say extension/amendment or waht..

another teaser question - use city gas or gas cylinder

it seems that the former is convenient, safer but costier esp for those who rarely cook

the latter will take up storage space, troublesome to order when 'out of gas' haha, but definitely cheaper as feedback from my frens verified that.

It realy depends on whether you cook a lot or not... But I will take city gas as it would not take up space and its safer. Somemore my HTB and I love cooking. There will be savings but i think the difference is not much. ^_^

ya

we should be using city gas
put gas cylinders must cater a space for it.

No point lah. Haha, at first i thinking of getting induction stove but i think i buy induction cooker better

herain.. icic. whitelink i like the works of 1 of the pg n was quite interested to sign but i saw more studios n end up didn haha. next time go ur hse see ur album

kevin.. big kitchen is gd! u can put ur washer, dryer (if u plan to get 1)n fridge in a straight line.. tat will take up a lot of space. but i feel tat to build more cabinets is better than lesser cos u need to plan for future like when u hv kids, u need to cook for them or when either side parents come over to stay with u all when they are older etc. i wish i've a bigger kitchen though i don cook much. my table top space is only 2 doors's width. put rice cooker, airport, toaster, tink tats it. no space for other stuffs nor my electric oven.

the cost difference between city gas and gas cylinders is only a couple of dollars a month, not even sufficient for you to have a simple meal. for this midget difference, go for a city gas lor. getting a gas cylinders is so much more hassle.

Valerie,

I also hope for a bigger kitchen. Although we don't cook either, i feel it looks better to have a smaller living room and a bigger kitchen. Else, the kitchen may look too cramp and the living room too spacious.

Personally, i do not like to have too much cabinets in the house. It appears ugly to me. I will only install whatever i deemed necessary. We are not those old generation who keeps all old pots, stoves, junks because they can't bear to throw it away, as it turns up... it will never be used at all in the future.

i wouldn't be buying a dryer. i think in singapore weather, we do not need to have a dryer, unlike europeans country where they have long cold or winter periods. (no sun)

I prefer to have my clothes under the sun, using a dryer doesn't look too clean or hygeiene to me. The sun will kill all bacteria better i think. Hee

I should be getting a front load washer, which will be more expensive. Looking at those electrolux models which would had cost $900 - $1200. However, front load uses much less water, washes clothes more cleanly, uses less electricity and less detergent required. In the end, it's more efficient

energy savings air-con, energy savings fridge .. wah i think my house would be very eco-friendly liao.

Teaser no. 3 – Gas or Electric water heater

Citygas is giving 1 free gas heater per household for each gas account opened

Val
Doing a 16ft long bottom cabinet (+ another few ft run for top cabinet) for my 6m long kitchen. Ya, my fridge will be by the side, but not the washing machine

ryan

maybe my kitchen is too small tats why i prefer a bigger one hehe. its half my current kitchen size, i'll hv to get an extra foldable table or smthing for my rice cooker cos no space.

for dryer, we intend to use it during wkdays cos we're both working.. where got chance to hang it out to dry in the daytime unless we wash only on sat n stay home to wait for it to sun dry n hope it doesn rain. this is particularly worse when kids come along cos there'll be more stuffs to wash.
i prefer sun smell too leh hehe but smtimes no choice la. still got the upstairs neighbour dripping water on ur clothes problem if we're not lucky enough. if drip water from their clothes is ok.. my fren's upstairs neighbour drip mop's water leh! yucks.. then smtimes their clothes colour run n dye my fren's clothes..terrible sia

gd la.. i shall see wad appliances u buy then mayb we can get together if our choices are the same

Ryan, actually I doubt front loader use less electricity
In fact, more cos normal front loader’s 1 cycle time is 1.5time more then a top loader
It takes half the time more. Tat translates to more electricity used. As for water consumption, not sure abt that.
As for sun-killing-germs concept, I doubt we will receive much sunshine in all our recessed design drying areas in kitchen, have to wait for 12noon, even then, all my top floor neigbours will block then sun, aiyo

Gas

- More exp
- Take up space
- Mus wait 10-15 min to heat up before using
- If spoil mus ask gas heater pple to repair

Electric

- Cheaper
- Easier to install and takes up less space
- Instant use
- Spoil just buy new one and change

Val, thst’s what I’m planning
Long bottom cabinet
Short top one so that optically, spacious in kitchen
Thinking of getting a dryer too,
Looking at gas dryer instead of electric one
Conscious of rising electricity tariffs

Gas heater have to install outside the toilet, i saw 1 flat who did that, looks real ugly

Just & Jo, you mean instant electric heater? There's electric storage heater, I think its cheaper to 1 storage heater/get free gas heater then buy 2 instant heater

the gas people also claim its cheaper to use gas to heat water

Actually it up to preference.

Ya those small ones mounted on the wall.

For gas storage, u have to give up 1 space either in kitchen, kitchen toilet or master bedroom toilet to hold the storage.

If u put in kitchen, will need abit more time for hot water to reach masterbedroom toilet.

Everyday go hm mus on the heater to warm up the water for 10-15mins first.

I think i will go for those small ones mouted on walls.

khy,

i saw valerie's neighbour house, they had the gas water heater installed in the toilet.

valerie,

if getting dryer, you may want to get those front load type so that you can stacked the washer on top and the dryer on the bottom. space limited in the kitchen
not sure about those combination type, heard easily spoilt. hee

Kevin,

it's true front load takes a longer time to wash. However, you cannot measure the power consumption based on that. Study had shown front load washer uses 60% less electricity and 68% less water than a top load washer. That is a lot of savings considering the rising tariff.

I supposed as it uses less water, less power is required to work it etc. I would not know the technical details but i read reports that states that. If you go to bosch websites, they have findings on that statement.

khy,

1 more thing for installing a storage tank heater.

Due to the temperature of the hot water, the PVC pipes provided by HDB may not be able to withstand the pressure and heat from the water. Replacement of water piping is always recommended for families who intend to use a storage heater for their hot water needs.

So either copper or stainless steel.

ryan

yup.. i'm getting front load for both washer n dryer. not stacking them as i do not want to block 1 of the window. i'll be putting them side by side n building a table top over them for more table top space
ya not getting combi type hehe

wa seh u really do ur maths. gd la.. front load saves money i'm happy abt tat haha

Valerie, i think you may be right, start to think if i should get a dryer too.

(1) no time to hang out and dry
(2) dripping water from upper level neighbours

But does a dryer uses a lot of electricity? sounds like it because handiron uses tons of elelctricity. ha ha

Me quite conscious about utility consumption & environmental friendly factors lor. Aircon must get R-410 refrigerants and fridge get R-600 refrigerants.

Ohya... front load also uses less detergent cos it uses less water. And proven to be able to clean clothes better.

I also read that front load washer is the only type you can use HOT water to wash.. but some told me top load washer also have HOT water now... some people prefer using HOT water. not sure how true it is.

But front load limited brands and more expensive. most popular brands is electrolux .. been the no. 1 for many years but heard no longer manufacturered in germany now, all done in thailand.... then bosch very good american brand.. then elba, maytec etc.

ryan

haha ya initially i didn wan get dryer cos waste more electricity but my aunt told me abt the benefits n of our situation cos we're working. by the time we reach home, the sun already set. how to dry the clothes? cant hang out in morning then collect back at nite cos if it rains how? then u hv to wash it all over.. waste of water n elec also. so this is for convenience lor. wash once a wk on sat, the clothes will smell leh.. lolz.

i duno dryer use a lot of elec o not but we hv to use it then hv to lor. buy 1 tat is energy saving? whahaha. this is the main pt now in all appliances

i don hv a choice for top load so i nv bother issit more saving for front load or wad. juz get it! heheheeh.

oh ya.. my dad tells me not to get washer from a certain brand or country.. must ask him again tonite, cant rem now. he says he got experience with that u put 3 pants in, it only keep washing 1 pant and never really washes the other 2. and the spinning tangles the clothes until veri hard to untangle. terrible leh.

heard that those clothes use dryers
will have 'burnt' smell

one of the ID tell us to dry the clothes in the house first. Than after almost dry than use dryer. so that won't use so much electricity.

Anybody installing Tall cabinets to put the ovens? We might be scraping this idea coz the top surface not much area to put things if we do that. So might as well do w/o the tall cabinets.

hey,

i just went to giant IMM and they had a promotion on mahjong table for only $49.90, comes free with one mahjong tiles set.

Very tempting!! Thought i suspect the tiles will not be those high quality one. hee

haha

how to carry a mahjong table back?

planning to buy 1 first. can add as table but the thought of having to carry it back, really jia lat

SY.. hmm hang dry the clothes in the kitchen 1st.. tts a gd idea! mine no tall cabinet to put oven cos no space. i'll be building a low small separate table top on the other side of my kitchen for the oven. on top can put stuffs lor.

Valerie - like a island?

i thinking of puting in a island ..if no need can push back into the cabinet. Need to use cna push out

but hoh like not very practical.

Our kitchen too narrow le. can't put a nice island

Jus dropped by all best at IMM during lunchtime
Remember shan was quoted 1888 for non-invertor sys 3 Mitsubishi
Am deciding between this and Toshiba non-invertor sys 3, $40 less
Think will get the former
Seems like everyone looking @ jack neo’s recomm

One of my IDs gave me this idea of breakfast counter cum island on wheels
U may consider that
Mobile yet slim n dun block ur kitchen

SY .. not not like island. it will be built in like a small short cabinet with a table top where i will put country tiles for the surface hehehe. built next to a wall. i like island too but my kitchen is too small for tat.

ur kitchen can only do long cabinet.. island will be too squeezy