Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

KC
there's a good idea leh, but am afraid hardly any devils ard. seems like there's a great no. of kops on this forum.
perhaps sth like 9xx vx 6xx. haha.

liverpool does seem to underachieve on domestic league/cup games. but if they can bring back the champions' league trophy regularly, guess fans wouldnt be that bothered. only hope my devils bring back the CL this season.

eh, what are the things needs to be confirmed while reno is going on? may need to decide on the fridge and washing machine first so that dimensions can be given to contractors to built the cabinet and base. and definitely air-con to do the piping before the reno starts, and cookerhood to have them to install, water heater..

Do they need to know how big tv we getting, or the size of the bed etc or any other things? sofa? audio/video system for built the tv console? ceiling fan before the false ceiling is built?

wah sounds many things to do ! Always thought can do all these things after the reno is done, but the more we think, it's like more things needs to be purchase during the reno. cashflow very tight leh...

even deciding to buy which fridge already gives me much headache. got mitsubishi electric, toshiba, LG, panasonic, philips ..... power consumption, gas if R-600 type, inverter, make in bkk or chn or jpn...factors factors factors :S maybe we should form a study group to share pros and cons... ha ha

anybody reporting their living room tiles as defects?

the groove line between each tiles is very dirty. My ID say that the groove is wider than usual. It cannot be clean 1.

that also can happen? thanks for sharing, i think i will have to look out myself when i get my keys. Must really scrutinized every single detail

Ryan On/Just & Jo,,
wah...but i really like their dining table n chairs wor...zzz..oh yar..my HB wants to get Wii too. wahaha...have to spend on 2 consoles le.

my HB and I are like big kids. Must have games to play de. haha

Lin,
you went to the boon lay way one? i havent been to that one. Will go there n see. I only feel that the lady manager @ the IMM branch is super pushy.

Just bought my air-con from All Best at IMM... A system 3 non-inverter after much consideration on the price, electrical consumption and our usage. The salesman (a middle-aged uncle) also quite nice. Switch on and off the air-con several times for us to listen if the outdoor unit is noisy or not... We're comparing between the Toshiba and Mitsubishi. In the end, bought the Mitsubishi one. Heard from the salesman that now is the low season for air-con so got more "benefits"... like having 60 months warranty on the workmanship and pipes etc (usually only 12 months). Think worth taking a look. =)

Yep... Was quoted 1888 including of installation. Did you get a cheaper quote? If yes must tell me leh... I can refund (if I am able to find a lower priced one of the same model)! =P

Because our usage will be quite low... mainly will only switch on the master bedroom one. The non-inverter aircon that I bough has two compressor which is enough to power the master bedroom aircon. Hence there is no need to get an inverter one at higher cost as I will still save $$ with only one motor compressor running.

One word of caution... If you are buying your air-con by the number of ticks (as required now) you are judging the consumption of power when all systems are switched on (i.e. if you are gettting a system 3 then the energy saving is calculated based on 3 units switched on together). It may not work out well (on your pocket) if you only switch on one unit.

So in the end, you have to get accordingly to your usage and not whether inverter or non-inverter. =)

HuiLing,

I heard from my aunt that there's a Hitachi renovation loan with a flat annual interest rate of about 5%.

Hitachi or the RHB bank are the cheapest

Valerie - i should be confirming soon. Now is a decision between 2 of them.

Still tryin to see whether i can push down the price a not.

Geeplan & S*tiles

hopefully can settle down so that they can help me with the inspection and than i can start my reno after cny

Hi shan3,

I am quoted $1980. I think it's very hard to compare apple to apple because of many different specifications. It depends on the copper grade, pipe diameter, thickness, brand etc. I got a copper grade 23, 14mm diameter, upgraded to 1/2" trucking and is using armflex. I also upgraded from R-22 refrigerants to R-410 refreigerants, want to do my bits for the environment. However, i think you still got the better deal.

I had also got a non-inverter because our usage will not be high. Therefore, no point getting a inverter type where the savings will not be high. I think a 10 / 13 BTU fan coil will be able to support the master-bedroom, the 2nd and 3rd room can use a 10 BTU fan coil. If you're air-conditioning the living room too, the price will be of ocurse more ex as you will need a 23BTU and a bigger outdoor unit to support.

Try not to get any reno loan, i don't think the interest is worth it at all. Suggest alternatives like borrowing from parents or company. bigger company usually had this program to help the staffs with interest free loan, try ask around.

otherwise, cut down on your reno needs until you had more capital and add it in. Eg. you don't need to reno your 2nd and 3rd bedroom unless you need it immediately. Or if you want to overlay your toilet, maybe can delay the plan. Why not use the current toilet fittings for 2 or 3 years until it gets a little old then do the overlay.

ya, i trying to cut down the the price
So that i can pay in cash

my dad also say, since ours is premium flat, no need to do much renovation. Unless u going for theme loh

Ryan On (ryanon123) thanks for your advice but me and my hb do not want to touch our savings and prefer to go for a loan instead. too heartpain to see it fly away just like that. We also do not have much savings and need to keep it for the furniture and other expense and for a rainy day.

just visited OCBC bank and asked for the loan.
they are charging if u loan between

5k-10k --> 10.5%
10k-15k --> 8.5%
15k-20k --> 7.5%

Min income should be $24000
Loan up to 6x your monthly salary

Just thought i share it with you guys. should you decide to repay earlier than the tenure of years, you will have to pay a processing fee of 250 dollars.

The person who served me advise me to go for standard chartered which is just 4%. weird that she from ocbc she suggest me standard chartered.

HuiLing,

Please be careful if you should decide to loan with Standard Chartered. Some very bad experience that my friend had when she "switched" her loan to another bank. Read the fine print very carefully.

valerie - ya they are the same.

I dun want to drag too long le. Need to submit my inspection Report and i asking ID to do it for me instead.

By the time i submit and wait for HDB to rectify need quite some time and than after CNY i hope can commence renovation.

btw, i very lazy to go really search thru so many ID.

After comparing 4-5 quotes, i realise the overall price is almost the same. So, have to go with guts feel.

valerie,

it's very simple actually... just take note
(1) copper grade 23, quite standard .. if you want to go for a better one it will be grade 22
(2) piping diameter either 11mm or 14mm. 14mm will be better so that it will not choke. 14mm stndard in my case.
(3) use a 1/2" trunking to prevent leaking. upgraded for $120
(4) R-22 gas not environmental friendly, R-410 better. I upgraded to R-410 for $60, heard R-410 can cold up the room faster. Otherwise, not much difference. R-22 going to be banned everywhere sooner or later ... maybe 3 years 5 years time.

Huiling,

i am just as confused. Why you have the cash and do not want to use it and got a reno loan instead? 10.5% for 10K is $1,050 a year interest, that's hell lot of interest. Is it worth it?

SY Chen,

I think it's the trust and rapport that is more important. When i choose a ID, i want to be sure he is trustworthy and not those cut-quality cut-material to optimise profit or meet your budget.

Best way to go around forums and read reviews, if you had friend who had experience with the ID, it's even better. Otherwise, find your uncle or someone whom you know well who are in ID / contractor to do it for you. Read too much bad experience with ID from others that have become kind of a phobia liao.

SY.. ya meeting many ID v time consuming n tedious. i also wish can quickly find one but so many factors to consider. a bit hard. haiz. yup rectification takes 2-3weeks. mine done for the 1st time n i juz went to check on sat, some parts they did not do it well so we're asking them to do again.

ryan

ah tat's much better. easier to concentrate on. i shall follow tat guide ba. no time look at aircon yet. trying to confirm ID 1st. tink by then ur appliances all get already haha..

herain..

mine not much, so no list. i juz write on the form provided.

problems i have:
1) scratchs on parquet
2) sockets very loose
3) some sockets not working
4) kitchen window cannot close properly
5) some stains not removable on the LR floor
6) scratches on doors

basically tat's it.

Sy chen, agree with u
spoke with 10 IDs, scrutinise every bit here n there
Differences in rates aren’t that much
Ultimately it’s how comfortable u (and ur hubby) feel abt the ID, esp have to work with him/her for next 2-3mths on ur beloved home

valerie,

you're right, i'm quite funny also. ID haven't started sourcing, already started on appliances liao. I think appliances more fun to shop lor, ID quite tedious.. ha ha

herain is right. furnitures and appliances they usually offer 12 months, some 24 months 0% installment payments for credit card holders. There is no need to come out cash upfront, maybe advisable to spend your $ on the reno instead of getting loan.

herain

yup ps was great. now waiting for 2nd day of ps heheehhe.

ryan.. i saw tat blog but many things veri chim. not much interest. throw to my bf to see haha. i take charge of wedding stuffs n furniture/reno part. he do the appliances part.

Actually not in favour of the 0% 24 or 36mth instalment offered by most furniture/appliances shops. It’ll affect ur monthly cashflow and u have to pay a $100 admin fee to ur bank if u wish to clear the outstanding sum. I have 1 such plan, 2yrs ago for my parents’ place’s a/c. opted 36mth, wanted to clear the outstanding but was told to pay the admin fee. Although it’s not a big sum monthly, but accumulatively, it affects ur monthly cashflow.

oh. post above shd be to kevin. a lil dazed on monday after taxing wkend rushing ard seeing IDs and gg to help out at wedding. looking forward to 6pm now hehe

How I PEI FU u pple, I only doing home renov oredi exhausted liao
Pple here are doing renov + ROM + dinner banquets + what else
Lucky me

ryan

haha ya.. i noe. ya la we all stressed out. after the home is ready.. can relax inside after the wedding. u still got time! banquet in sept. mine in may!!

herain.. u also split into 2 days? ya will be fresher but both days i packed many places so i tink also same for me haha. make full use of it.

ampoules i bought from a makeup artist, only $3 per ampoule.. so its not ex at all. its the 2nd day ps charges tat is expensive.

u done ur both days of ps already? which bs u with?