Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

hi winning eleven

i agree with you on the idea of no tv in mbr.

but i will most likely put 1 in the study room just in case we want to watch different tv program or if i want to play some console games

shawn

Hi shawn...yes,share the same idea with u as i also like to play console games,so putting up a additional tv at the study room is the better choice so that we also don't crash on which tv programme o watch.Well..I can imagine my gf will give me a black face if i connect a ps3 in my masterbed room,cause she know that when i'm playing game,i cannot concentrate on what she talking...

if you bought today strait times, flip to the Forum section and you will see HDB replying to my letter.

Kevin,

I havent go to another ID yet so cannot do comparision..
So far, he do give recommendation based on your budget...
He is not very pushy abt his idea and will listen to you first then make suggestions accordingly...
I hate some ID who think their design idea are great and make comments when you think that it is not what you want...

One of my fren got the standard package from Chew Interior for 5rm premium...
8.3K for 20ft kitchen cupboards, false ceiling n Lbox for dining and living room, window grilles for the whole house....not inclusive of wardrobe, feature wall, and other carpentry..
She said a few of her frens used them...their workmanship and after sales services are good...
I find the price abit steep...

is chew interior that uncle who loiter around st64 approaching couples and passing over this paper which quote about $7K-$8K for basic renovation?

ryan i don't think that uncle is from Chew.

not so sure whether it is the same person we toking about but we met this uncle who is damn pushy. Not very tall guy. He kept saying the wood he use is good wood lah, want got compress 1 lah, with ABS or something

Chew interior is very ex, which is for sure. I going for an id this afternoon at my neighbourhood. If price resonable, i will share with you all.

Li

Hi Everyone..
I've applied for AHG.. they are still processing my case. My officer has called my bf this week to request for my educational cert to prove that I am not working in 2005... His reasoning is that I've CPF contribution previously although they are temp jobs.
Winningeleven, your unit sounds like the one I got.. ;)

Hi to those who have applied for the AHG...

I've received a letter that my housing grant has been approved.. I hope that yours will be on the way soon!

hi xiaoqing,

can u send me the quote for rezt and relax? cos i'm interested in their designs. how is their attitude? thx...
also, anyone heard of Xtract living? (X=ex) their rough quotation to me seems reasonable but wonder if any bad comments abt them.

Lin

Hi ginnie queen...so mean u r also staying either 988A or 988C, we may be neighbour!!!yah..if i not wrong ,those 5 room units facing the park got the longest length of 4 panel of windows for the masterbedroom, but it is also the smallest in room dimension...in the end,still not perfect. haha

Hi, I'm back. Managed to settled some issues with HDB over the defects of the house. My cousin's husband is handling my renovation so he checked my house for me. I never noticed there are so many problems. Here are some things to check when you get your keys
- Check the locks, make sure no rust and can open/lock properly. The bomb shelter is particularly impt. Cost "a bomb" to repair.
- Windows. Make sure insulation at the corners are properly done. Handles not rusty also.
- Doors. Must be able to close without difficulty.
- Tiles, no broken tiles (should also check for hollow tiles)
- Gaps between tiles (known as pointing). Should clean and make sure the stain can be removed.
- Toilet. Beside the toilet bowl and basin etc. You should also check whether the pipes are blocked. Also ensure water does not flow to a corner of the toilet.

Hi Lin,

I have emailed u their quotation.

hmmm, i wld say the lady who served us comes across as someone who is friendly, easy to communicate, and pretty sincere. She is not pushy in getting the business closed too. In fact, she even adviced us to go look ard for more ID first to make a comparison.

She is also able to get back to us on time with her drawings and quote. Unlike some of the other IDs I have approached. So i guess in terms of service attitude, she is pretty gd.

In general, both me and my bf are v comfortable with her.

Thx xiaoqing, got ur email.
they are on the exp side.i went to 2 IDs at the fair at expo ystr evening but didnt have a chance to go by R&R. the other 2 should be able to meet my budget but i duno if they can deliver in the end anot. Headache...

Lin

kopi, what is the procedure like after submitting the inspection report?

We are only going to do it this sunday. Will have to clean the house again before we start inspection becoz of the dirt and dust might cover some of the defects. Doesn't matter 1 rite if we clean the house first?

I understand ur concern Lin, cos I too m abit scared too. Dats y i check out forums like sgbrides and renotalk to look at the reviews of those IDs, to get a rough idea on their reputation.

Having said dat, actually the reviews for R&R is like 50% gd, 50% bad. But cos me and bf like her design, so decides to go ahead with her. hehe

Mayb u can give her a call and ask her to come up wif a design and quote
no harm ma..... hehe

ps: in case u wanna quote my name, tell her ryan and karen.

just to check..
there's no hard rule that inspection report must be submitted within 7 days right?

if im going to do reno end of 2008, i won't have to rush to inspect in 7 days right?

no need within 7 days but must be before renovation or within 1 year

the officer tell us to do it asap so that they can rectify immediately

xiaoqing, who did u engage in R&R? I got a proposed design from one of the girls and it's not very different from what other ID firms suggested.

Hi Herain, the designer I spoke to is Wynn.
How abt urs? mind sharing the quote?

Hmm, so far, i have only spoken to R&R and Intra. but only R&R hav came up wif the design. so there isnt much for us to compare now. but dun noe is it that we r bias le, we feel that Intra's design may not b s gd cos the designer keep emphasing to us on practicality, giving us a feeling of some limitation to his design. but anyway, we will also wait for him to come up with something for us.

anyway, u may b rite cos when i was looking thrgh the reno blog in renotalk, I came across someone's kitchen design similar to the one wynn proposed. But they were working for diff ID company. hmmmm.....

xiaoqing
hmm.. i PMed u the consultant whom served us.
I find their quote rather steep. I didnt have it onhand now. Will share with you when I got them. Have you signed with them already?

Hi xiaoqing,

I just saw a thread in renotalk abt R&R. there was a big fight tere. Haiz.. abit put me off, esp when they said workmanship not good. somemore it's on the high end. tink i'll go down expo fair and ask them for a quote, if really out of budget will drop them. better work with wat we can afford. cos at the end of the day i dun wan to regret paying so much for my love nest and yet experienced many hiccups along the way. will share my quote if i get it. btw, how come ur premium flat has got laminate quoted in the package?

Lin

Collected my keys yesterday. Haben open the door though
Gosh, the 30 keys are really heavy, n also the dozens of signatures that we put on the documents, it was tiring leh’

Likely that I’ll start renov after CNY, not in a rush to move in.
Since we can delay the reporting of defects up to 1 yr, will get the renovator to do a thorough defect-check before they commence. Believe they will do a better job than I do.
Understand that there’s free supply of water n electricity upon key collection, any idea for how long ah?

Hi Kevin, i realised that i cant send u the quote via PM. Can I have ur email add???

ya, i have my reservations initially when i came across the bad reviews. But after a couple of meeting wif the ID, i decided to give them a chance instead of striking them out.

oh, i din noe there is free supply of water and electricity. Cos we went to apply for it on the day we got our keys. so we tot they will charge as soon as we use it.

xiaoqing, thanks. PM-ed you my email add.

was told that if i dun intend to renov soon, dun apply for the supplies as they will be monthly charges even if we dun touch the flat - they charge $3 per month per toilet in ur house + others stuff (cant recall). so i'm only going to apply in feb when renov starts.

hmmm, still havnt received it. Mayb yahoo abit slow now..... will send to u once i got it.

oh, is it??? nobody told us that leh. we will also start reno after CNY. But tot will ned the water and electrical supply when checking for defects, so we applied first lo. Haiz, money gone down the drain liao

Wanted to apply too, but probed the officer @ the water/gas counter whether necessary
Realised I can always activate the supplies within 24hr with either sms notification or via internet, so why not.

thanks Xiaoqing, got it.
seems like you r planning for an extensive overhaul of the unit. reasonable quote for the amt of wk u are looking @. however noted that their carpentry work appeared rather pricey

ya lo, cos my bf doesnt like the flooring, and i cant stand our toilet tiles, so we are changing almost everything.

most of my frens also said its pretty reasonable for the amt of things we do. but looking at the amt itself, it does seem ex.

u referring to the laminating of the living/dining area and passage way? according to her, its using some engineered material or wat, dats y lo.

well, the false ceiling, WIW n kitchen cabinet seems exp for their length. also do we really need a water resistent vinyl for WIW though it's near the toilet. as a whole, with the amt of wk and carptenry, it's fine. but imptly, after paying so much, is their wkmanship up to mark since there were much disputes raised on forums abt their wkmanship.

dar80,

don't think the reply is posted online. I guess you had to try to get it. anyway, their reply is saying that they understand flat type do not determine the wealth of the owner, so they had already had considered the valuation of the flat etc... and she mentioned about relief given which is based on flat type, not really sure of what she meant there but she mentioned the 2rm blah blah and say thank for the feedback and will continue to improve the way relief is spread out to families.

I got 2 question here.

(1) I had receive the HLE letter from HDB saying my application is approved. How come it comes in black and white paper and not in original HDB letterhead? Kind of cheapo leh after so much we paid in fees. Even the letter was not glued properly and anyone can open the letter liao. Just to check, you guys also receive in black and white copy?

(2) I heard from a friend saying that once we possess the key, HDB required us to renovate the flat within a period of time. Which means that we cannot take our own sweet time like dragging it for a year or 2. Is that true?

To yvonne...me staying 988A,so we r not in the same block..

Ryan...for question 1 ,yes the HLE letter like photocopied wan,it like using the same template and just cut and paste with different name and address...yah very cheapo piece of paper.Anyway,u can have yr HLE checked using singpass on the HDB website,so don't worry about the "hard" copy that the HDB sent to u.

For question number 2...i'm not sure too, i don't think HDB set time limit on doing renovation.

Hi Ryan,

For question 2, it is not when you renovate the flat.. I think what you friend meant is that you will have to complete your renovations within a period of time. Especially when it is a completed unit like YS. If not will disturb the exisitng neighbours...

we applied for water/electricity on the day of collection. Have checked with the officer. Got use = got charge. Need it to check for defects also. But once activated, you cannot suspend. Have to re-open another account.

Once u applied, the next working day they will only come to take the reading and from there, start to bill u for any usage.

There is no time limit for renovation. as long as u get the permit and go through pproper procedures. Just that will disturb neighbours when everybody already done with renovation and u only start yrs much later.

was told by sp power officer that besides usage charges, the utilities bill also include other charges that is independent of usage - sewage, no of toilets in flat, these are flat rates chargable monthly, eventually was told by them to withhold opening an account until i'm ready to renovate.

no guideline when u have to start ur renov.my fren;s new flat was vacant for 2yr till she moved in last mth. all these yrs, she had to pay the S&CC charges.

but once u start renovation, u have to complete within 4 mths for new flat in new estate, or within 1 mth for resale flat

Hi Winningeleven and Yvonne, I booked my unit at 988C... Hi Yvonne neighbour! =)
I am not gg to renovate that soon.. probably after CNY... scanning from the forum trail here, it seems that I can submit the inspection report as long as its before my renovation. To clarify, what happens if my renovation will only take place end 2008? No time limit or expiry for the inspection report?