Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi all, from my previous chat with an ex HDB officer, what they say is that they got different officers handling different cases...so it depends on individual speed of the officer in handling ur cases..that's y hdb only commit within 3 mths...so all our 2nd appointment dates may differ from each other..some may be slower, some may be faster..

Also, just to share...i think it would be safer to take up town gas rather than use bottled LPG gas. LPG gas seems to have more accidents...

Yah...my parent also didn't use the town gas and go for the LPG instead...i also dunno why they do that...i was too young to understand..that was in year 1993...

that will be troublesome if no more gas when u want to cook ,must call the that guy and can get free calendar..haha

now is also very hard to just depend on only husband to work,.i cannot imagine that i will be the one who work when i goin to marry next yr..ok that why i don't actually see me and my wife really cook in our home so offen,so tired after work...even though we still reno our kitchen...it may become white elephant..hahaha

can i ask if it is advisable to start finding a contractor and ID before we get our keys??? anyone knows how much $$ should spent on a kitchen, living room, dining room and masterbedroom without furniture but in showroom condition???

hi huiling,
its good to source for quotations from various contractor & ID when you have your floorplan.=)
and budget wise depends on how much you are willing to spend ba. people 10k can do alot for reasonable quality as well as some people spend 10k on just capentry alone...its all up to you. A good ID will try to adhere to your budget de unless its unreasonable la. haha

hi kitty, the wait is really long. wonder if its worth trying the AHG. scarly not approved, then wait for nothing.

zzz

Hi kitty,

I agree! My first appointment was on the 22 Oct... I only received a letter from HDB about a pending document for my HTB to declare that he was unemployed for a period of time. No date for 2nd appointment...

I just called my customer service officer... she said that the AHG is still pending and that the earliest I can collect the keys could be in January... =(

that means end jan then I can get keys lor. 30th oct 1st appt + apply for AHG.

oh well....no flat to stay after my rom...sianz ar...

but olivia,

it seems that you can request for a late submission of the ROM cert... unlike what we discuss earlier... Maybe you will want to postpone the ROM... =)

my rom things all booked le. so wont change it liao. Anyway since i might get keys after my rom date which is in early jan, i dun have to postpone anything liao. Just that bf n I were hoping that can get the flat done up and shift in b4 cny ma. now bo pian le..since they are taking so long to settle the AHG.

Hi Shan,
You mean for those who apply for AHG will have to wait till Jan then can collect our keys. I dun intend to apply for AHG one, is the officer who ask me to apply as my hubby is still schooling in 2006. I wonder can I pull out the AHG and collect my keys earlier.

me too... it will be difficult to do the reno in jan/feb because of the cyn... workers no available etc... wish they could hurry up with the adminstratitive work for the AHG...

Hi Icegin,

Me too... It was the officer who told us to apply... If i had known that it is going to take so much time to process and for us to get the key... I would have forgo the 5K... I just want my keys...

Hi Shan,
Same here... I even insist tt our salary is over 4k and he tell us to try... but he shld have tell me tt my keys will be delayed if I apply for AHG. Later I will contact the officer to see whether if I cancel my AHG, will I get my keys immediately.

well i did asked my officer in charge if applying for AHG will delay collection of keys. She said YES. That is because the AHG had to be approved and then wait for the fund to be transfer to our CPF.

Hi Icegin,

Ok. Keep me updated too! If i could I will like to cancel the application too if it means that we can get the keys soon!

i think mine is 10k for AHG.. so no choice have to wait .... =( Is the process just to get approved so long????????? haiz... i hope they will speed up... dunno what taking them so long

Hi Li

Thanks for the explanation. Now i'm so much clearer on this liao.

I think the HDB is actually distributing the keys by area. Cos my friend got YS & her selection date is on 9 Oct. But till now, she has not gotten any letter for her 2nd appt.

I think we should bear for a while..since now is already dec.. I think if you all forgo the AGH the earliest collection date oso in Jan cos they need to reschudule the date..
No choice lah..already apply in the first place..

Haiz..Have to shift in after CYN liao..but gd thing is furniture after CYN will fetch a lower price..

kitty, many furniture shops assistants & IDs mentioned that prices of raw materials will rise after CNY leh. I wonder how reliable is that info. They ask us to book their furniture/package 1st, pay a small deposit to hold the materials before CNY. So that the distributors/retailers will maintain the pricing even if the prices rises after cny.

Hi Guys,

This is what happen to me. Teh officer in charge during first appointment wanted to ask me if i wanted to apply AGH out of good will. So I agree and she request me to submit the necessary documents within a stipulated given amount of time. If i didn submit on time, my application will be cancel automatically. When i discuss with my hubby, we realised our salary exceed the requirement so no use applying. Then we ignore as we believe the words from teh officer that the AGH will autocancel.

U now what happen, i was worried as i nv receive any notification fm hdb so i rung up. They told me i got prob this and that as i did not tell them tat i want to cancel teh AGH!! I was so furious that i wanted to complain teh officer in charge for telling us wrong info. So now I have to request for cancellation of AGH so definitely delay teh collection of key. Really furious!!!!

Li

Hi Olivia,

I think afetr CNY prices goin down cos demand less than supply. Now most pp wan to move for CNY so demand very very high than supply. So price will definetly go up.

Li

Just to comment, LPG is definetly cheaper than town gas. Thou my hubby work is related to gas in one way, we still stick to LPg co scheaper and we seldom cook except for wkends. Btw, LPG has been used up by all my fanilies for more than decades. So should be no prob except will stand a space inside your kitchen cabinet.

Li

Jus to share, my fren working in bankc tell me to safeguard my $$ cos next yr may have crises. So juz bear in mind. So i also thinking hard between neeeds and wants for my renovation.

Li

great news
got notification for my 2nd appt, it's on 13 dec morning, happens to be our 1yr anniversary. how timely leh

hi Li,

I know that if you want to apply AHG, there is a form for that. Even if you don't want AHG, there is another form that for you to sign that mentions you agreed and understand that you are not eligible for AHG. Regardless, it is not autocancel unless the board do not approve your AHG application and it will be automatically be cancelled. I guess you have to complain in about your officer. Or else, he may advise the wrong thing again to other couples.

LPG is slightly cheaper, but why go for LPG for it occupy spaces and it's troublesome to have it changed all the time it finishes. Also, it's not that safe exactly. It's not worth all the trouble for the little bit cheaper. I think the difference is just a matter of 1 meal, very small difference. Some more on the sensitive side, i don't want a uncle to go up my house to change the cylinder when my wife is alone at house. which means i have to try to be at home everytime it needs to be changed?

On the economy for next year. Economist are quite pessimistic since the subprime issue pops up in the US economy some 4 months ago. Some economists foresee it as a recession year in US next year, if that happens the worldwide economy would be affected by it. However, nobody knows for sure. As far as i see it now, US are still holding on and they have a fed meeting this 11 Dec. If they cut the interest rate, then it be good for the stock market. Well... a chance for growing money $$$.

Someone told me Air-con is going to go up steeply next Jan. How true is it?

Any recommendations on where i should get my air-conditioned unit from?

Hi Ryan,

Agree with you on the LPG thing...there was a newspaper article on LPG and Town gas..price will differ by only a few dollars per month...

For those who want to stick to LPG gas...my advice is to use soap to check for leakage of any gas especially at the joints..if u see soap bubbling then better call in the contractor..

LPG is heavier than air and will sink and gather at the bottom...town gas is lighter and easier to diffuse out of the flat if the windows are open compared to LPG..

Just my 3 cents worth on this issue...

As for economy, US has already cut the Fed interest rates once..it has yet to solve the sub credit crisis...I think it would be more prudent to save for a rainy day like what Li says..

also to check, what are the documents to bring for 2nd appointment..

i noe abt the IC, Option fee, insurance from AHA (to buy on that day) & bank book

how abt the CPF board's investment scheme insurance? i don't think i have leh...also do we have to bring the CPF statement?

What if we want to use a bank acc that has no bankbook? our share account only got those monthly statement which i dont even recall getting it for the longest time..

thought the option fee already paid at 1st appt.

for bank bk, u'll only need to bring it if u choose to have hdb giro the $2k back to ur acc. i'm choosing the cheque option, so they'll mail the cheque to me. alternatively, u can choose to offset ur mortgage with the $2k

So, i can use the $2k to pay for the 1st payment

my typo, actually i meant to say option to purchase receipt..haha

Corrine / Shawn St64 678A
Li st 64 Blk 676B
ngel65 st64 Blk 675A
Jiajia st 64 Blk: 675A
Henvye st 64 Blk: 675B
Kevin st 64 Blk: 675B
khy st 64 Blk: 675B
1118 st64 Blk 676A
Valerie st64 Blk 677B
Woonie st64 Blk 677B
whyme st64 Blk 678A
CSY St st64 Blk 678A
Icegin st64 Blk 678A
rav3n st64 Blk 678B 1st appt:30 Oct 2nd appt:???
Impy st 64 Blk 678C
Ryan st64 Blk 678C
Yvonne st93 Blk 988C
Eileen st93 Blk 989B
xiao_qing st93 Blk 989B
Cutie cute st93 Blk 989C
Kopi/pleiades st93 Blk 989C
Purpletulips st93 Blk 989C
Pebblewee st93 Blk 989C
Hui ny st93 Blk 989D
Ann YS Blk 181
Lin YS Blk 182

hihi, i am adding onto the list.
I also got my flat in Jurong West July balloting

Corrine / Shawn St64 678A
Li st 64 Blk 676B
ngel65 st64 Blk 675A
Jiajia st 64 Blk: 675A
Henvye st 64 Blk: 675B
Kevin st 64 Blk: 675B
khy st 64 Blk: 675B
1118 st64 Blk 676A
Valerie st64 Blk 677B
Woonie st64 Blk 677B
whyme st64 Blk 678A
CSY St st64 Blk 678A
Icegin st64 Blk 678A
rav3n st64 Blk 678B 1st appt:30 Oct 2nd appt:???
Impy st 64 Blk 678C
Ryan st64 Blk 678C
Yvonne st93 Blk 988C
Eileen st93 Blk 989B
xiao_qing st93 Blk 989B
Cutie cute st93 Blk 989C
Kopi/pleiades st93 Blk 989C
Purpletulips st93 Blk 989C
Pebblewee st93 Blk 989C
Hui ny st93 Blk 989D
Ann YS Blk 181
Lin YS Blk 182
Plasterbride st93 Blk 989B

Eileen, xiao_qing , we are neighbours !!

heya to all the gals going-to / living in jurong west st93, i bet we all are sourcing for contractors / ID firms, shall we share the reno info, and if possible, if happen, we shortlist the same ID firm or contractor, we can together go negotiate for a better price, because i understand that these reno. firms get to save on manpower transportation cost if they are renovating for a few flat units at the same area, so if we combine our deals , we can bargain for a better deal and discounts from them. how about that ??

my email & MSN is [email protected]

a few reno firms i shortlisted so far
chew interior
earnest
ho bee
my friend recommendation - frankie

hi kevin, i've got a very low floor flat, what is your unit number?
now excitedly waiting to get my keys, originally is to get 2 weeks back but we have rescheduled to near christmas timing

plasterbride
agree. we can share our quote for ref.
seen 7 IDs so far (in a wk), waiting for their quote to come in. anyone who's interested to know their service, quote, design blar blar can ask me

1. earnest interior
2. future home
3. spacious planning
4. weiken
5. baroque
6. id emboss
7. crescendo interior

I got a unit at blk 676B....
Manage to get a high floor..

My 1st appt was on 1 Nov and 2nd appt was 7 Dec ..
Supposed to collect my keys yesterday but postponed to 21 Dec instead..
Cos I will be away next week for vacation...
Dun want to rush to choose a date to open door, ask FSM to see flat and check defects...
Cannot do so many things in less than 1 week!
Hahahaa~

So far, I manage to talk to one ID which happened to my friend's friend..
First met up, talked for abt 2 hrs!
HIs quotes are relatively reasonable...
I'm waiting for his detailed quotation and will get it when I'm back from vacation...

My friend went to another ID with similiar requirements, they straightaway told her it is impossible to do what we want with the kind of budget....

hi kevin
i got the quote from earnest and baroque, they are super fast in response. maybe we can share. their quoted me quite close, difference of $2K only.
i went to Chew interior today, their showroom is impressive. but they can only provide quote in another 2 weeks time as they busy with many renovation. if you want my quote for reference, i can fwd to you. let me know.

so, so far, how is earnest & baroque service and design concepts ?

My FH also just checked, my 1st & 2nd appt are together on the same day in Dec (near xmas, cannot rem the date), we postpone to mid-Jan, as we has not transfer out our CPF $$ for investment.
same as christine, do not want to rush in opening the door/hse, alot of things need to be done, once the hse/door is opened...check defects, check pipes, check tis and that....all need time...

christine, your friend's friend ID firm is of which company name ? care to share ?? share the quote ?? to have a feel their price range...

actually i also experienced the same thing...we wanted a lot of carpentry works, went to most ID, tell us impossible to do all these which the budget we have in mind, in the end, we ask them to propose to us what can be done etc, from there we judge...

i talk to a few ID firm designers, feel the older ones middle aged designers- they are experienced, but not very open-minded (as in quite persistent to insist us to follow their plans instead of listening to what we want , but their ideas are practical but not really much on concept & overall feel, they sound more like contractor than ID firm ) ... younger ones are more creative ...

do you all prefer to go ID firm or contractor for new house in JW ??

contractor is cheaper, but may not be able to do up any home concepts.....it be so wasted for having a nice house in JW with no concepts right ??? esp we are young couples.

My selection date was on 19 nov, & my 2nd apptment date is 17 Dec & we are not eligible for AHG. When I went to myhdbpage website, I was only allowed to postpone up to the 6th week on 25 Jan. Though my expiry to sign the agreement for lease is 19 Feb.
Anyone tried to change to a date later than allowed on the website?
I also notice that Saturdays are not available for signing the agreement, but I thought I read from forum that some people were able to get a Sat appointment, so don't have to take leave.

Also about transfering $ for CPF investment, I read from this forum about a crisis, so do you all think is safe to invest NOW for the seek of taking out $ from CPF before HDB wipe them all out?

Can share which fiance planner company u all invest with, using which platform. Also what are the setup charges and ongoing charges?