Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

hey xesthir, i have the same problem. my 1st appt was nov 14th and 2nd appt is dec 14th. our hdb officer said can postpone to the expiry date which is in feb. but myhdbpage only allowed me to postpone by 1 month. i think might have to write in or call hdb officer again...

plasterbride
yup, baroque and earnest are fast. earnest reverted in a week. baroque wanted to send the quote to me on the same day which i met him, but i told him to send it together with the done-up design floor plan.

are u doing a lot of carpentry? we can further discuss this offline since we are both looking @ these 2 IDs. who are ur IDs in baroque and earnest?

your PM function has not been activated, can't PM you. do u MSN?

hi val
how long did ur 2nd appt take?
so any update on ur pursuit of an ID?

seen 7 so far, only weiken gave a refreshing and bold concept.deciding factor will be the cost loh and workmanship (and of course whether u gel with the ID per se)

christine
what's this FSM? fire safety manager? :P
676B ah, that's beside me, i'm at 675B.
was considering between 675B and 676B cos want to face the garden.

who's your friend's friend (ID). Can share?

hi val
I've sent u 2 quotes (from earnest and weiken) for ur ref. hope it's useful. u have any ID's quote for ref too?
u can send them to my email.tks

hi.. everyone.. my 1st appt was 25 oct 2nd appt is tomoro.. yeah finally can get my keys... and im having my rom on 30th dec .. wah this mth damn busy with lots of thing... n *unhappy... got miscarriage this mth oso sian.. wow u guys now sourcing for contractor liao ah.. i haven wor.. busy with my parents house oso they staying just opp me.. hw much quot did they auot u on the reno. ?
my budget oni arund 1.5k may not get the ideal design i always wanted

hi cherine
sorry 2 hear that. hope u r fine now. take gd care of ursf,esp wi so much stuff 2 look into this mth.

do u mean 15k? how much ID/contractor quote would depend what's ur requirement loh

kevin, i think christine meant feng shui master.
when are you getting your key? 2 more weeks for me, so excited.
can you forward me your quotes too? i havent got the time to talk to any ID yet, sigh...

to those who got their keys already (st 64), have you got your IDs to looked at the place already?
i went to the poh khiang showflat last week, i understood from him that the toilet walls are fabricated or something, which makes them hollow and not suitable to overlay tiles on top.
can anyone confirm this?

Hey cherine,

You have miscarriage?? Sorry abt that. Howveer you still have to take care of yoursalf like noit carrying heavy things ect. Btw for all women gettign rom or customary, better check if you are pregnant or not, dun ever carry heavy things.

Li

hi all, we collected our keys yesterday. we only need to pay the 3mths conservatory fees. all else was paid by my hubby's cpf.

we also got the complusory home insurance and the enhanced home protection for 70-ish per year.
plus activation of electricity and water.

also opened our doors yesterday with a simple praying ceremony. was very excited.

the living room, kitchen and the mbr are huge!so far no much defect noticed.

we spent today cleaning up the whole unit. so tired!

khy, toilet wall is hollow.U cannot do hack for the 1st 5 years.

can only over lay...

so far, both side parents say it's a good buy. Basically it's a move-in condition.

Anybody have ideas how can we put the light in? We bought a standing light but it is not bright enuff if we go at night. Can we install those ceiling lights first and remove them when we commence renovation?

sy chen
how long was the 2nd appt ah?
what simple praying ceremony did u have?
I'll be collecting keys this thur loh. excited.

Hi plasterbride..if u don't mind, do share with us what is the carpentry work that u want for yr new home, why it is over budget??? Maybe we can help ...

I got a friend who also went to chew interior for reno quote,instead of waiting for 2 weeks for quotation,he was offered to sign the first contract on the spot with the quotation being given!! So funny,how come someone here need to wait 2 weeks?

The home that we are buying now may be a life time commitment and may be staying forever for some,so when come in reno, we got what we like based on the budget.Whenever we reach home, we must always feel happy and relax and not the feeling like goin to work in the morning. I will condemmed any ID or contractors who will offer me to sign contract in the first initial meeting..first meeting should be relax and made customers feel whether the person who handled the reno can be trustable anot... we don't want to feel tense and start to pressure on want to sign the contact anot..they must know that we r looking for Interior Designer and not sweet talking saleman..usually they will give excuses like so many projects under them had been so well received...or warned u later price goes up after x'mas..chinese new year and take and grab the opportunites now...so if yr reno is so good, people will still come back to u.

Some tips on reducing reno cost.
Kitchen - instead of goin full cabinet on the top, u can reduce the number of cabinet on the top..less carpentry work = less cost..nowaday..if both husband and wife work..they may find no much time to cook,that why u don't really need so much storage space from the extra cabinet at all. Especially for premium flat,yr piping may be concealed already, u don't need cabinet to hide the piping.

Go for L-box rather than false ceiling...false ceiling cover the whole area = more costly..some people can really mixed both L-box and false ceiling so well in the new home,can get those pics from those home decor mag.

Feature wall for LCD mount...u can save the cost by shorten the length..for example,most ID give 7 to 8 fits...u can go for 6 fits or less

Don't request so many custom made carpenry like full height shoe cabinet with seete (at least $900)..study shelf (Buy from ikea cheaper)..u can also don't custom-made other things like bedframe, shelf...no doubt it look nicer for them but u have to pay!!!

i agree, for those with budget constraint, don't do too many customisation. ID seems to like to 'cut carrot' for customised items. the 1 we went, even though we amend and remove some things, price still same -_-

Kevin -> it took abt half an hr. Our appt is 10.10am. We were there ard 9am but they call us ard 9.30am.

We did a simple praying session before opening the door. Than, my HTB open the door and i follow behind. Go into the house, everybody say good things.

After that, we have his nephew dance lion dance for us. Hahaha, this was for the fun out of it lah coz his baby nephew love lion dance.

Than, roll the pineapple ard the house.The praying stuff we just leave in the middle of the living room for 3 days at least.

Today, we went up to clean the house. I can't stand the dirt/footprint, than very 'gao wei' if we go there and have to spread newspaper to sit.

we initially wanted to sprinkle rice & green bean & coins ard the house but we did a modified version where we buy paper cups, pour everything inside and put in the 4 corners of the house.

Easier to clean after that and we dont want to diry the floor.

BTW, inspection report does not necessary have to be submitted within 7 days. AS long as before renovation will do but the officer will advise asap so that they can rectified soon. I think not longer than 1 year

Hi Kevin and plasterbride,

Here is his website..
Not many portfolios online..
But he can show you more samples if you meet him up for discussion...

http://www.lengthnbreadth.com/main.html

I will get his quotation when I'm back from vacation on 20th Dec....Told him not to rush...
He did tell us to get quotes from a few IDs and compare so that we have a better idea...

Currently, he is busy with a few projects and he want to concentrate on each project..Dun wish to take up many projects at one time and no time to monitor the progress...

My fren and I told him we intend to reno after chinese new year, so he said it was better....

One of my fren went over to see one "showflat" by a contractor who is currently doing reno at one unit at st64...
He asked hom whether can overlay the toliets tiles, the uncle there said cannot cos the wall is hollow and overlay tiles will not last and stick well...
I really want to change the tiles! At least the one at master bedroom......
Sianz....

bear with it for 5 years bah

we wanted to change it to but my HTB say since 5 years later can do, than just bear with it first.

My toilet is a bit small. I love the 4-room kitchen toilet in fact which is so much bigger.

IMPORTANT .. PLEASE READ ..hi everyone.. i today went over to my parents place and heared a very scary news.. to everyone out there who chose the unit at blk 989 st 93, heard that 5 units has been break in.. one of them is my parents fren.. happen their unit no. came out in 4d a couple of times.. and the bulgar tried their luck n break in their units , the gate was cut open, and ransack the whole place and remove all their appliance.. today oso when i was down stairs shifting the stuff down my truck, got a bangala came up to my truck and touch my stuff.. he laid his hand on my "antique phone"which cost $100+ i shout at him n he ran off..so please take note as we got not much neighbour to look after each other yet.. think they need to control all this "blackie" for our own safety.. they can pretend to be contructor with no one suspect. im going to install camera inside my house the same goes to my parents.. who knows what will happen next.. haiz...

heard similar story @ other new blocks of flats in other estate. burglar will attempt to be contractor n break into house unsuspected. esp the hdb metal gate's hinges r hollow, can easily be crushed with appropriate device. so i have intention to change the metal gate with no visible hinge. terrible.

Hope this information will help those who are still waiting for your flat because of the AHG...

I just called (again) and spoke to my customer service officer. The usual time taken to process an AHG application is about 8 weeks.

If you should choose not to wait and decide to give up on the grant, you will have to inform your officer and send her your decision in writing (email or letter). Once the AHG application is cancelled, they will arrange for the collection of your keys.

So if you can't wait or dun want to wait anymore, I hope this piece of information helps. =)

Hi Plasterbrides, nice to know we have more neighbours.

I have jus opened house yday. Went in to took a look, finally had the feeling of excitement le. haha.

Havnt really check the defects yet, but so far, looks ok. Tot of wait till we got our ID le, then ask them to do for us. Anyway, on the defects form, it did state that we can submit either within 7 days or before reno works start.

So far, I have approached 4 IDs. Rezt and relax, Intradesign, G**an and Chew Interior.
Only Rezt and Relax had come back to us on the sketch and quote. Met with Intra last week, waiting for his drawings and quote. Will be meeting Glan to view his "showflats" and Chew to look at the design and quote. hehe.

yucks.. i can't stand the HDB officer.
all they know how to say is "you write in lor.. then we'll see how"

now im stuck as to whether i shld cancel my AHG or bring forward my ROM..
argh!!

New updates about the AHG...

After I have sent in the request to cancel my AHG to my HDB officer, someone from the AHG department called my HTB and told him not to cancel the application for AHG as it can processed in 10 days time and I can still get my keys this month. So I wrote an email (again) to my HBD officer.

Yet to hear from my service officer.

So whyme, bear with it for a while. I can understand the "agony".

those who have chosen the layout with long MBR at St 64, do you guys have any ideas where you want to place your bed, wardrobe and TV? A few IDs have advised me to build a WIW (in front of toilet) but I don't really like leh. Hence, seeking advices here.

Hi lala8,

My fren has the same concept!
I was not very convinced with her idea initially...
But I want to place the wardrobe at the sides, it will be quite narrow....
If I want to place a LCD TV at the wall, it will be too far away from the bed..cos i intend to place the bed the opposite wall which the door is....
Another way, u can place ur bed at the wall which the small window is....ur legs is facing the window which the air con compressor is..of cos,u need to do a fake wall or something to slide and cover that window when u sleep loh...
This way, you can have wardrobes at the sides...

I will seek the advice of a fengshui master first on the arrangement of the bed..
Facing the correct direction when you sleep in very important....
Another thing I want to check is whether having WIW is a good idea...Cos I read somewhere before...it is not good to have another door in a room...
If really ok to have a WIW, I may opt for doorless..Just 2 rows of wardrobes will do...no need to do a door to enclose it...

For those who already got their keys, did they provide the concealed electrical wiring plan free to you or do we have to purchase from HDB if we want to have the plan?

it is free for the first time
subsequently will have to pay $30

the plan is paste on the electrical box at yr house.

anybody just doing part of the house renovation before CNY and the rest after that?

We are thinking of doing the following first:
- kitchen
- Toilet lights & heater only

I wonder if there is any contractor or ID that we can hire and tell them to do half first and the balance later?

anybody consulted Philip Wane or been to their show flat? Seem like quite a good chap but don't know his pricing okie a not..he tell us 5 room ard $7k+ can do le

I only know how to go...the map from HDB already gone so i can't identify the blk. If i never remember wrongly, it is at Blk 675A #12 floor.

It is the blk that is diagonally 678A.

His contact # is 9893 0016. Call him better.

Apparently it is not as straight forward in getting the AHG. Today one of those HDB guy called us up and clarify on our inconsistent contributions to CPF. I don't understand why that would be an issue because if you do a averaging of all it is still below 4K. It doesn't make sense if our AHG is not successful because of the inconsistent. Well we will see ...

Getting money from Govt is not always easy. I know another reason why getting AHG is not easy. If you turn 'H' and 'G'. It means AGH .. it sounds like ARGGGHHH...

The reactions we are getting now.

Hi Ryan,

If this would help you feel better...

The idea of using you CPF statements to check whether you are eligible for the AHG is because they want to make sure that you are employed for the past 24 months. It is some kind of "reward" for those who are make contribution to society... Not some who just depend on the govt for everything. =)

haha..i think i'm the only few here who want to get my key next year.Yes ..i also apply AHG but i haven't ROM yet so even they approved the AHG ,i may not be able to shown my marriage cert,in the end.it is the same lor,it like don't apply at all and being delay on getting the key for nothing...haha.

My masterbedroom in street 93 is a square shape,one side of the wall is 4 panel of windows,the other side is being the toilet entrance,so i left with 2 walls, one for my built in wardrode and last one for my mattress headboard...u see there is no way i can put tv console in my masterbed room ..Personally in my opinon,i also don't intend to have any tv or pc in my masterbed room even it is big enough to place tv console.somehow I find that they will spoilt communication and a distraction between couples leh...also if i got a tv in my masterbed room, i believe i will be lobo in my nice comfortable mattress watching my favourite tv programme liao,like dat my living room will also become another white elephant liao..

U see, i like to watch soccer but my gf don't watch at all..so whenever she come to my home while i'm watching soccer in the living room,she will stay in the room and do her own things..that why in future,i don't wish to place tv or pc in the masterbed room,so that whenever she see me inside the masterbed room,she will know that i m already there for her and she can tell me whatever problem or any things she want to tell me...

I am new to this forum.
My blk is 989C... still waiting for the AHG before getting my keys. I think will only get my keys next year bah...
Me currently still sourcing around for contractors and ids. So far only shortlisted three... should be looking for more... headache...

winningeleven.. same as you, i don't mind getting my keys late! in fact, my AHG is not approved yet..so more waiting to go. haha.

somehow, i think the later i get my keys, the better bah.