Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

i reckon its because of it's close to the carpark.

basically all the slanted units are facing directly into the carpark of the other estate.

inside ones should be okie.

We have been shopping around for renovations also. But heard that the prices have increased quite a lot... mainly because of year end and many ppl want to rush to complete their renovations before CNY....

So far, we have asked 2 fairly established renovators and their quotes is around $95-100 per ft for kitchen cabinets and $80 for solid surface kitchen tops. And for wardrobe, the cost is around $210-230 ft. Quite ex now... I remembered doing my current wardrobe for only $180 per ft.

If anybody has also did any research, pls share them with us so that we can avoid being overcharged...

gd morning everybody!!!

Looks like we are starting to discuss on our reno le.....

for me, i m nt in the hurry of reno cos we havnt rom yet.... so still got time....

but yday, went down to exo n recce some ID....managed to sit down n discuss with 1 ID.....n she quoted us abt 6K to do 2 toilets (ie to redo the tiles, built in cabinets)....
but this is jus an est amt......stil waiting for her to draw up the design n the quotation..

WinningEleven, i also went to IMM to gather some package info. But, most of the time, i find a lot of things included are very minor and they shouldn't be breaking the cost up (e.g if they dirty my floor, then will have to clean it. Don't tell me they need extra $$ to remove them etc). So, i tends to avoid them and go directly to contractors instead. But when you engage them, do remember to include them when you sign on the line so that they won't be able to sought extra $$ from you when the reno is in progress...

Oh, we went shopping for lights as well. We went to 2 shops opp Chinese Gardens MRT and the prices are quite reasonable like what others had mentioned here. Designs looks quite simple, so don't bother to go there if you are looking for fanciful ones...

But, found that their ceiling fans are a bit ex. Not sure about their water heater...

Hi Xesthir,

When is your appointment?

Anybody's appointment on this coming Friday?
What is your queue no?
Where are you targetting?

Hi Lin,
If i'm not wrong, tmr's ur flat selection right?
All the best to u! Hope to hear good news from u tmr...hee..and perhaps after dat can share reno tips. I jus went to explore YS area, there's NTUC, shops,OCBC,POSB,Standard chartered,and Party World KTV...haha!
My hubby & I went to our flat so many times to see see look look, I think even the neighbours recognised us oredi.....The more we look at it, the more we grew to like the new environment.

I guess i will be too lazy and no time to search for contractor directly for my home reno...i hope i will be lucky to get those responsible ID to settle everything for me.

Like what other say, i won't tell them my budget as high as 30k but maybe 10k to 15k, just tell them what i want .

Hi lavender...i also went to YS recently...yes they are quite a lot of shops over there and glad that u finally choose a unit u really like!!

Hi lavendar and all,

yes, mine is today. but i jus checked the website and my 1st choice is just taken. haiz... very suay... very vexed cos all good units gone liao now we just have to do our best with what's left. will update u when back...thx...

Lin

Hello lavender,

Actually If i came across any resonable ID, i will recommned for you all. Anyway, my cousin is a ID so she will most probably help me disign and then i will engage a contractor to do. Will save up really a lot of money.

Anywat dun rush to renovation or others, cos prices are X, i wil wait after CNY and I will defer my collection of key. Pateint is the golden word.

Anyway share with eberyone, I stay with my IN LAWS and a big family for 4 years!!!

Li

Hi winning eleven,

Can i check with you which contractors you go to? Can intro to me? Seem to be a good deal. Cos for me I just wan simple and practical design, no need fanciful stuffs.

Li

Does anyone have anymore news about key collection? Really anxious to get our keys as we may have to go away for the whole of Dec...

Hi Lin,
I jus checked HDB website & realised the unit opp mine was taken! Knew it couldn't be you...gosh....who will be my new neighbour then...hahahhaa

hi Li..
wah.. you're fortunate to have your cousin as ID.. saves some money eh. hehe.

same.. im not intending to do reno till much much later as well. during CNY period, super expensive..

Hi Lengce, That time while i select for my flat, i refresh the webby almost every 5 min. Till i down with fever and have to take MC.

haha, Yvonne,

yup, i have added up my speed by browsing the web every 10 minutes.

It's stress, even more stress than taking exam.
i slept for 4 hours only last night, thought that when it is my turn, all good units will be selected already.

Yes, for those who can wait, after CNY than buy/renovate.

One of the salesperson we approach tell us that this time of the year before CNY is the high demand period. Although there is sales, the price are already markup in the first place.

Hi Yvonne and Lengce,
Which area you all chossing? Before my secltion of flat, i keep on calling HDb for questions till i know most of the officers there. When are you all selcting your flat/

Li

Lengce, Guess wat! my fever is gone , the moment i selected my unit. *faint*
It's like stock market. as the number of the available units DROP! your heart DROP too.
My boss also knew i very stress! kept asking me dun see le. she knew i keep monitoring and also didn't give me much work then.ha ha ha.
Which Blk u interested in? When is your appointment?

Hi Li, I had selected my unit. was the 4th day of the sales. gotten St 93 988C.
Congrats! u gotten yours.
Welcome to be the Westener Team! hehehe!

jess82..
i didn't engage any contractors for my home reno yet...those price lists that i posted are taken and quote from other topics..

since everyone here are so excited about their new home,it is good to know the market prices needed for the renovation.like most of them here, i'm buying my first home and zero experience of doin home renovation.

Although my budget is tight(within $15k) but i don't mind paying a bit more for good services workmanship and better material used.it is not worth to get a cheap contractors but come out with poor workmanship and irresponsible work done.I had heard horror reno story like those contractors had fitted those built-in cabinet at the wrong place,damaged of floor, forget this and that and delay of renovation from 2 months to 6 months etc

Hi winning eleven,

Precisely, this what my hubby told me. He say better ask one Id to do everything rather engage diffeerent contractors. Btw, if i come across any resonable ID, i will share with everyone too.
Li

just to update, all the pioneer flats almost taken up except for low floors such as 2nd floor etc. So left with st 64 and YS that area. I hope I can have more neighbours staying my area. hehe

Li

Hi Li,

How is the environment for St 64? I went there last Sunday, but the new flat area was closed, can't view the flat inside.

I am taking flat there too, but one thing is... i could not find any nearer bus stop around that area,.. how come huh? Which block did you take?

My appointment is on this coming Friday, another 2 days... Arrhhhgggg, i can't take the stress anymore

Lengce, Dun see le. or else u will be like me.
i only STOP refreshing when i am totally hopeless with my health. pop my med and sleep. But first thing i open my eye, i switch on TV and see teletext.
Believe the fate u have with your house-to-be.
relax!!...

Hi Li,
Dun think i'm goin to a new working environment, cos I like my present one very much. Far though, imagine from west to east, but my hubby will be sending me to work every morning. So, good luck to him lor....hahahaha

My HTB workplace at Loyang. Can't imagine he have travel from East to West Everyday. also good luck to him...
Lavender, i really PEI FU you.

Then why hav u decided to stay in the west? For my case, I stay in the east, while my hubby stays in the west.All his relatives reside in the west too. I prefer sengkang, but since the west is his "hometown", we compromise abit, I move to the west,but in return, he has to send me to work in the east! Imagine last time when we're still dating, he sends me home, and then travelled all the way back to west. Distance can be a big headache, but once you're used to it, its ok!

I think St 64 is opened for viewing, the main gate is opened when I drive pass on Sunday.

I just called HDB this morning regarding my HLE, they mentioned that my documents is still with the sales side and have not reach the dept tt process HLE yet. I sent my documents over 3 weeks ago! So Sad..

Hi Lavender, for my case, i live in the west and HTB live in AMK(Central) but work in Loyang.
He is the one who decided to ballot for JW becos he wan to live near my mama.
partly also becos Central Flats are exp.
and he thinks that sleep less 10 min and use it as travel time is more worth then to pay so much more for a expensive house.

During Weekdays, after work, he will travel from Loyang to west then about 10pm he will then take MRT back home. (he really need a bow, i very PEI FU him)

Hi everyone, i'm back.

I got YS Blk 182. was my 3rd choice but nvm.. what's mine will be mine. at least it's near the bus stop and it's on higher floors. so good luck to Lengce on Friday and all others who haven select yet!

Lavendar, too bad we cant be close neighbours but we still can keep each other updated here! next stop is reno research! we must help each other to source for good contractors or ID.
actually my uncle is a contractor for hotels and he do hdb reno occasionally. jus tt haven decide on my designs yet so cant ask for quotes. let's update each other!

Lin

Hi li,

I am your neighbour living very close to you. I cant private message you cuz you don't accept.maybe you pm me your email? Nextime can keep in contact

Hi pinky chen and others,

What your unit? Dun put me off leh? Which unit.

Btw Lavender, I really take my hat off you! You really can tame your hubby so well!!! Share some tips with us?

Congrats to Lin! Glad you got ur unit.

For me I am really lucky cos mo mother staying in JW while my mother in law in JE. Hehe

Then lengce, I think st 64 in terms of location as compared to others is very good. No offence to all people here ok! Let me explain,
First, st 64 is near highway so in terms of trasnport is really very convienet. Then is near JP, can walk about 10 min so is ok. Then as compared to YS, it is not near to train, have to die die take a bus. But plus point, near market.
Then for pioneer, it is very near to train but got 'black' people around so dangerous for girls like us. hehe.

Li

Li

Any advice on block 675A unit 205? Any one has experience living or going to a flat where it is directly linked 2-5th floor to the MSCP? is it noisy or is it too open and less private? Less secured? Or do u view it as convenient?

what the diff between 223 and 217 of 675B and 247 and 241 of 676B. Is just a mirror image, why the price difference?