Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi Alex, thanks for pushing this big scale party. My kids enjoyed the most. Really played so hard ;)

hope to see u all in CNY gatherings. Let's make it on the sat aft CNY? And u know wat? We should have our own mini CNY decoration competition. each hse has one vote. But cannot vote own self lah :p hrehehe

Prize... Me go think think 1st.

hahahaha.. that should be fine. but i already spent quite a bit of money on xmas deco...... haha no much money to spend for cny. haha furthermore if buy tiger horoscope specific deco can only use 1 time and maybe 12 yrs later. hahahaha

diana, when baking cny cookies? can bake together?

me usually get my CNY decor from Tekka Mall, wholesales prices i suppose :P

Me still not set date to bake CNY cookies leh... with Ryan in sch now, got to spend time coaching him during evenings. he is not exactly the easy one.. sigh... I think we could set a date when it is near bah...

gosh >_< a terrible week for us

he can't get used to no noon nap, so very cranky &amp; irritable. cannot sit still...
luckily this week he does show improvement...
hopefully he could control his temper more ...

Nope, he is in aftnn class. Morning he's with Student care centre. The centre teachers will bring him to &amp; fro sch. we'll pick him up from centre.

so I feel family support is very impt. my parents &amp; in-law stay so far away
getting a live-in maid is also very risk-taking. quiting my job is totally nt at option

Now my top priority is to get my boy settles down. His bad behaviour is making everyone hates him. Really sad to see him gotten complaints everyday. now at my wits'ends. dun noe how &amp; what to do. getting him assessed by specialist. hopefully they can shed some light.

Sorry folks, bored u all down with these...
just feel so stressed bah :P

wow so serious meh to see specialist? u mean psycharist? hmmm

oh yah. but i can forsee more and more married couples living further and further away from their parents and in laws because of the much higher prices of resale units near their parents especially if their parents live in mature estates near town like AMK, Bishan, Hougang. So to get new units from hdb. they ballot to get any cheaper new units away from their parents. and when they have children in future these will be a problem.

oh i have friends and coworkers getting a live-in maid and put her alone with her children in the house. She totally trust her.. hmmmmm until one of the coworkers found funny things in the room and one dcay found out that the maid has beebnn treating the house as a hotel for FW to come in the day time.

anyway preferably we will not get a live in maid. but then I think nowadays is hard, my parents live in bt batok and my in laws in seng kang and most imptly they are OLD already... sigh.. so that why we think a bit also sian liao.

diana, why dun u try to get a nanny around our estate and get the nanny to bring ryan to and from school?

yup... getting an nanny in the neighbourhood is a good options... im sure many housewife don't mind getting additional income by fetching and looking after till parents gets back. Think a few hundreds a month though.. but no committment ties with getting a maid... less problems

You still need someone to look over the maid.
Nanny might be a good idea.

OK some up date.
i confirm my wedding banquet at Four Season Hotel last night.
Actual Date - 1st june 2010 (tue).
Bridal Shops - Z-wed D'sign /CL Studio.

Thanks folks

Me oso considering to get a nanny instead of student care. but my boy is rather difficult to behave. need a very strict auntie :P

Anyway, Ryan. what do u need to fix? Randy can help.

Congrats! Alex. U really r fast hands fast legs
do share wif us ur bridal pictures hor.
btw, 4 seasons at Orchard rd de hor... mine last time at Crown Prince, on 27 May. Heavy jam like mad due to GSS >_< Many guests arrived very late :P

diana, any possibility of you taking maybe a week or two off to ease ryan into his new school? your boy is very friendly from the couple of times we met him, so he should have no problems easing into the new school
just give him some time ... i know it is easier said then done... but he seems like a very adaptable boy, so should have no problems

congrats alex! Two big things down! Enjoy your wedding prep!

thanks 333, actually he is ok when play &amp; relaxed. he hates to writing &amp; repetition. but this is exactly wat our local sch like, lots of homeworks &amp; repetition. practise &amp; practise. he hates it :P asking me why hv to do it again &amp; again >_< me told him it is to practise. And practise makes perfect. i think he begs to differ :P sigh...

I'd hope to take leave too but got a few colliks with P1 kids as well. can't take leave for long period...

hmmm hates to write and repeition.. haha i mean who loves it.. Just ensure him that after he finished his homework he can play.. and relax. the earlier and faster he finish the longer time and earlier he can play...or u can promise him to reward him to a trip to the zoo, science centre or wherever he wants to go if he has been gd in finishing his homework that week.

must play mind games with them...anyway he is just not used to it. Give yourselves and him more time.

wa sey, only first week and then so much homework... quite poor thing leh... last time when i pri one, i was learning a, b, c during the first week....

thanks xesthir. I shall hang on longer b4 I 'hang' myself :P
Tok abt homework, wait till u see the spelling words for chinese, english and math... luckily most of them are familiar to him.

Ryan, ur parents' reno is ala carte one de huh?

sometimes ala carte causes more headache. although I had an ID (i dun think really ID lah. more like contractor who also provides 3D diagrams), I sourced my own electrician and painter.. and even wallpaper i went to goodrich to get a quote myself and told the ID that his quote is not much cheaper.. then ID lower down the price for me.

But there was a lot of coordination that I have to make between the painter, the ID and the electrician....

btw. anyone knows how to install bathroom accessories in our toilet? I think my corner shelf is not straight.. is sliding down liao and some of the screws turn rusty.. and i heard due to the hollow tiles in our toilet, we need special drill and screw to install..
is that true?

Anyone knows where to buy cheaper osram tubes and spot lights.. after 1 yr a lot of maintanance in the house to be done..

i need to do painting on some spots on the house too.

xesthir, your one spoil so fast? so far move in 1.5 year i only change 2 bulbs ...i bought a few last time when there was a promotion at ntuc... i noticed the offer return once a while and maybe you want to wait lor.

ya, they doing ala carte style. i think ID also don't want to do because it's just a minor reno. find my uncle to do carpentry, someone to paint, buy the lights and they help to install, buy the water heater and they help to install also, then pub came to do the gas piping .. then ready to move in liao.. ha ha ... no false ceiling, no shifting of powerpoint, no feature wall, no platform etc.. old people no need all that.. don't even need electrician cos where the hole is, we just isntall a light there ha ha

xesthir, you are really on the ball leh... i know there are quite a bit of maintanence to do after one year especially for the appliances... but i too lazy ... ;p

val, i tried making pizza with the pita bread you gave me... we liked it a lot and very easy to do!
ha ha, much easier than doing own dough... the pineapple still okay leh, very sweet.. what is the brand of the pita dough you buy?

alamak333, not really onz lah, coz my kitchen walls are plastered and painted white so the walls especially the area near the dustbin is dirty and some small dirt here and there and the study area,, the castor chairs backing roll on the wall and got 1 strech of marking..

BTW.. how u all wash ur curtains ah? how often...
blackout curtains how to wash?

ryan. i thought ntuc sell mainly philips tubes.. i dun see the bigger osram ones?

wow, xesthir, u hv motivated me to do spring cleaning sooner. some of my lighting bulbs are flickering liao >_<
wanted to put up our family photo frames too. used to put them up in old hse. now all in toyogo box :P oso wanted to paint them dark-brown to suit my decor. aiyO!!!! so much to do

Ryan, actually ur parents' mini reno can adopt Ikea concept. even it's w/o feature wall or false ceilings, the place can still be modern &amp; cozy. Just got to plan it out, &amp; play with paint colours &amp; wall decals
Need my help just buzz me
oso, if the plumbing work is not those big scale type, randy can still help. he got the tools for these works anyway
remember, just buzz. hehehehe

Xesthir, yes, he installed ours with his heavy duty drill :P he did mention tt the screws hv to be long type. then can drill in to secure on the real wall behind the fake one...

Diana, we bought a cheaper 'stainless steel' rack to put clothes/towels in the common toilet from Hoe Kee for less than $30 becuase we felt that the one we bought from another place is $60+ from Genova for our mbr wc is too ex..

we hardly even use the common wc...except for occasional use by guests.. and the 'stainless steel' rack has already turned rusty for many months but the one at the mbr wc which we use every day is RUST FREE!

moral of the story we learnt is .. we always try to buy GOOD quality product as much as we can afford to.. now i need to go buy a more expensive one to replace it....waste more money!

randy can help me install and ajust my corner shelves which are slanted too? haha..

alamak333, we only have 1 set of curtains for the house hahha. if i sent to dry cleaner all in 1 day... then i wil be sleeping in the open hahah.

ok anyway i try to wash myself since my machine supposed to be gentle... think i send the black out curtain to the dry cleaners.

haha i kpo. i went to search online. there is only 1 johnny and his hp is not this number. so is he a licensed plumber. if not, can or not?
ryan why dun u search the link i give u?

i realised that my ID had put a plumber for me, duno if he is licensed. but his helper did some installation and apparently he is not licensed after I had a chat with the main guy.. the other guy just need a job and he just give him a job but he anyhow do that why kanna a lot of complaint

We hv new neighbour shifting in

Young couple like all of u. will ask them to join us in coming gathering. tok abt tt, when u all want to gather?

Hahaha... Baking gathering? Meaning Justin, Ryan n other guys all dun wanna come liao ;D
cny gathering bah. Think we could leave our kids wif in-law then Randy could really enjoy gathering this time ;)

hehe... me nt say u guys anti-lah... it's more of not-your-cup-of-tea mah :P
me just tried out pandan chiffon cake, not bad

if u like to eat, me bake into muffin cups, easy to eat

wow diana. i want to try!! hahaha wah how come u got so much time one....

Last weekend we were busy painting (touch up only) the house, cleaning up the storeroom and keeping the christmas tree and deco!!

Very exhausted.

still need to wash the curtains. still wondering if i should wash myself or sent to laudromat.. and to change the bulbs/tubes for those that fused..

Diana.. do u know if is difficult to change the lightings for spot lights?

Anyone has a Leifheit step stool/ladder? I duno if I should get a 2 step or 3 step stool... The highest platform for 2 step stool is 46cm while the 3-step stool is is 69cm... then need to plus one's ht......actualy is not a must to get this brand. as long as they have large steps, non-slip surface mats and non-slip feet and a supporting handle at the top, but we find the ones selling at NTUC those light ladder steps are too narrow and not stable enuff.

The cheapest I can find for the 3 step is $95 and the 2 step is $59

no lah, xesthir, me just bake on weekends now cos my weekday evenings r spent wif P1 sch work :P Will start my spring cleaning this weekends too. got to get CNY decor stuffs too, got to visit the nursery for some Ying-Liu plants too, alamak!! so much to do, so little time >_<

oh ya, xesthir, ur part-time helper, Fang-Jie has very good review on her work leh. Can ask her if she does one-time CNY spring cleaning? think abt 4-5 hrs, is enuff? How much? me hope to get some help at my place.

Fang jie is not my PT maid.. she is my PT maid's auntie and also my sis's PT maid... 1 time spring cleaning 4-5 hrs not sure enuff or not depends where u want to clean, clean furniture and windows?. My current PT maid regularly cleans different window panels every other week. so dun take long to clean now..

U can call her to ask lor.... depends if they are free...

hahaha after f inally keeping our xmas tree and deco into the storeroom my living room suddenly looks more spacious.. I just bought 3 vases of ikea and fake plum blosoms from daiso to be reused every CNY. very pretty leh. but then each one adds up to quite a bit ofmoney.

never buy any too chinese thingy to hang.. so far didnt find any nice one yet...

Diana, I can't confirm the dates but would love to join and house visit. hehee... tentatively can put me in.. any dates from chu3 onwards

diana, ur hb can help us change spot lights? I tried to change a spot light but still can't work leh. duno is it got ballast or what..