You and your family must continue to live in the HDB flat unless you have obtained approval from HDB under the Subletting Flat Policy.
The requisite occupation period for flat owners who wish to sublet their HDB flat is as follows:
5 years for subsidised flats, i.e flats purchased directly from HDB or from the open market with a CPF housing grant.
>another way is after MOP, get the whole house leased out and applied permission from HDB for subletting whole flat, then buy pte property.
but then another faq:
Q: I own a private property and would like to reside there and sublet my HDB flat. Is this allowed?
[ Home Owners > Subletting Your Flat / Room > Subletting of Whole HDB Flat ]
A: Owners may sublet their flat if they have met the minimum occupation period:
For subsidised flats (flats purchased directly from the HDB or from the open market with a CPF housing grant), flat owners must have occupied their flat for at least 5 years.
Flat owners who meet the eligibility requirements above and who concurrently own a private property, are allowed to stay in the private property and sublet the HDB flat.
However, prior approval from HDB must be obtained before they sublet the flat.
>conflicting answers. anyhow i think just get written permission to sublet the whole house after MOP then move into the pte property. anyhow not so easy lah. condo so ex now..