Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Btw there’s this tried and trusted home tip for those who cant sleep w/o aircon turned on but yet worry abt the dry skin & throat – result of dry air (with moisture removed) from the aircon. Countless repetition of cooling this oredi dry air will further deprive ur skin of some moisture, haha

U can try this, keep a small basin (can be shallow but preferably with big surface area) of tap water near the aircon unit or somewhere convenient in ur MBR, the natural evaporation (from this basin) will combat the dry air by injecting moisture into the enclosed room air.

Just beware, dun fall prey to aedes mosquitio breeding ground with that stagnant water
If u dun mind this small effort, it could save u some $ from getting a humidifier in the MBR

hehehe, Agnes,we got sama sama taste leh

alot of ur home items me oso like. we same frequency de lor :D

Oh ya, another one interested to get the digital door lock, like Agnes'? me just asked ard, managed to get a quote of below $500 for this model: Samsung SHS-5120
http://www.samsungdigitallife.com/Products/With%20Handle/SHS5120.html
Installation + 1 year guarantee on parts

kelvin, i tried this method when i was staying at mum's place. Well not sure if it realy works or due to normal evaporation in the day time, the water disappears too fast and I am too lazy to go up to the to of my bookshelf to check the status. ANyway whenever i check it wil be totally dried up with dust accumulate. Anyway in own house, as u mention i like aesthetic lor. so no such out of place bowls/trays lying around, + no place to put without toppling over. my mbr got no high cabinet to allow placement & even if have too lazy to climb up to check everytime + aedes mosquitoes risk. I feel i have more control over a machine with humidifying function. Moreover, it is essentially a HEPA air purifier, deodorizing & humidifying as a secondary added function. Only people with dry skin and allergies and/or asthma will truely appreciate this product. If u have babies and pets is the house, is better for babies breathing.

If any air purifier does not have true HEPA filter, then is essentially quite useless, so i believe in getting a more better well researched, albet a bit more pricey product, not novita or xyz brand..JW is near industrial area, really very dusty. It has to be able to remove dust mites and faeces. I had to washed my aircon filter after just 5 mths as the filter indicator in my aircon warned me to change. + my 2 weeks usage of air purifier, i can see the 1st layer of filter stuck with much dust. Not to mention... 7th mth massive incense burning coming soon.. The deodorizing function will help to remove the coco smell from the factory from lingering in my house + deep fried oily smell from my downstairs neighbours & incense burning smell. An aircon will do some sort of filtering, but it only do a 1st level of filtering, wont be able to catch 0.3 mircon dust.
Ha is it just me smelling all and breathing in all these ? haha

My hubby has some form of allergies to airborne dust, so he cant walk into Daiso and dun like me to go Daiso coz is very dusty and he will start to tear and nose itch. He has less itchy nose and red eyes after usage in the house too.

I totally recommend u guys to get it if you have the budget. also so much for sales talk. i dun earn commission. haha

Diana, where u get so cheap lobang? Cheaper than my set. This set got a handle and mortise. so how u plan to install it? Do u plan to remove the existing main door mortise and handle and patch it up.. may not look that nice after patching..if u are not removing then when u open the door u need to open the handle of the samsung lock then open the handle of the main door. very troublesome leh.

Mine is the one without handle SHS-1320 with random 2 numbers when u activate it. this set dun seem to have it, but do check with them. Also the reason why i got this is i dun want to patch up the door as may not look nice if i remove the main door handle + i rmb it was closed to 1K for this model.

looks like we missed out a lot of housekeeping tips at the last gathering.

btw is anyone a rc member? i just became one and if there are others here we can go attend the meeting together...i wonder if there is a dress code or something

shawn

Haha, don’t get me wrong, agnes, I’m easily seduced by aesthetic pleasing gadgets too
In fact, being mindful of the air quality in JW, coupled by inconsiderate heavy cooking by neigbours, I’m scouting ard for a true HEPA filter too, esp with my dear in 2nd trimester and baby on the way, do appreciate its value

What I practised previously @ parents’ place with plastic half-filled basin, I had to exercise diligence and refill the basin every night before sleep, particularly important as I’ve sensitive throat & throat ulcer is not uncommon

shawn, heard from colleagues that RC members enjoy some perks like free season parking in their estate, can help to verify this, heehee

Hey Kelvin, u can get Bluair, Sharp, Honeywell brands. They are all true HEPA filter. Hee..just that sharp looks much nicer, and with + and -ve ions. whereas i thinkt he rest look like printers if put in the household and dun have the +,-ve ioniser.

Yah u so onz to keep refilling every nite! My sharp purifier has a 4L water container for humidifying and it's dried up by 4th day. So abt 1 litre of water used per nite when i on the humidifying function. Dun need to worry abt over humidifying in our humid climate as it has an auto detector that even if the humidifying function is on, and the surrounding air has high humidity, it will not add on to the humidity level. The past 2 days very humid, my machine register 78-80 for humididity level. Normal days is abt 60+.

RC? dress all white lor. :p

not so difficult to refill every night, since i could refill it while brushing before sleep, that LG aircon model @ parents’ place seems to drain the air of its moisture drastically. The Mitsubishi one I’m having now save me the trouble liao

thanks for the recommendation, still looking @ reviews on the few true HEPA

btw what's the price for the sharp model, am looking @ OSIM model, another true HEPA model

u mean kirby?

Quite xiong le
Oredi setting aside $1k+ for car insurance renewal next mth
Then sony HD camcorder (at comex 09 next mth) will set me another $1k+
$3k for the vacuum cum air cleaner, cant tahan liao, haha

kelvin, i saw on the osim website that the OSIM air purifier cost abt SGD 628.00. The website does not seem to publish detail specification of the product, if u manage to find one of the net, u can publish here so i can take a look.

The sharp model KC-850E that I bought is $799. There is a smaller capacity model 3L one KC-840E, which is $599, the fan power is also less powerful. The Osim one does not seem to have a humidifying function but has UV Catalytic Filter, and comparing singapore to japan technology i would be more biased towards the latter as I believe they might probably do more extensive research for any product they produce and their QA could be better. OSIM one could be OEM.

U have to compare the specs like the power usage for each fan speed, how powerful is the fan speed of max, med, low, how noisy it is, any invertor technology, covering how big sqm, if there are dust, odour and humidity monitor indicator levels. For sharp the dust/odour/humidity indicators can be turned off or dimmed, no remote control.
From the website it seems that the OSIM HEPA filter is NOT washable, but u might need to verify that.. if not washable how often u need to change the filter. For Sharp model, the hepa & Deodoriser filter are washable but ultimatly the lifespan can be up to 5 yrs before u need to replace them. There are other filters that need to be changed after x yrs usage like the in sharp case humidifying filters.

http://www.sharp.com.sg/web/products/prodDetail.asp?ProdId=283&mode=Spec

http://www.sharp.com.sg/web/products/prodDetail.asp?ProdId=282&mode=Spec

ahh the clean with water one, i think my auntie got the rainbow or Kirbyone abt 3K hahahaha
then output is brown water right....

I think u all got to watch some youtube clips..some guy refuting the usage of such VC.

btw. these vacuum cleaner got HEPA filter or not?

Else u vacuum liao all the dust fly up and create chaos and then settle to the ground again....is worse than never vacuum.

anyway check out the videos demo by this guy who is reviewing many of the vacuum cleaners in the market.

Right hand side got a list of videos.
http://www.killdirt.com/

Check out this youtube site for the live demo on vacuums.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5NLlCWNF6U

hahaha okok i better stop.. else really sound auntie. back to work...

hehe.. i think so, should be kirby bah :P
this vc don;t use water but Hepa filter.
claim to be very good. my hubby use it to 'beat' the mattress & carpet. clean very well.
But it is bulky, so me happily let my hubby in-charge the cleaning task

And Agnes, you really sound like a PRO leh. Me never think so such details when getting appliances. U never do sales, sayang lah

Thanks for the info, Agnes, u could write consumer reviews for websites/magazines liao, haha
Any chance that U’ve an in-depth knowledge of HD camcorders too? :p

hmm no leh. no intention to get one yet. but i wnat to get the canon dslr 500D leh. hahahaha... but very broke now... one day might get HD camcorder though......

aiyah currently only do more research on auntie home appliances hahahaha...

oh actually i just need the knife hee... thank for the help but i actually realised my set is also corelle..HA HA

last week best denki had a promo for sharp air purifier ... i remember the one without the humidifier the smallest size at 21m2 is only selling at $299, UP is $449. Not sure if it is still on offer.

hi angie,

now being offer at xtra.

Fairprice Satay promo $5.55 .. UP $6.06
CP shrimp delight combo $7.80, free CP Shrimp Wonton with noodles.

thanks ryan! wa, i prob will go tomorrow to stock up... btw, the shrimp wonton without the source is also very good, it has a soup base... the soup base very good.. ha ha... hopefully not too much msg... ;p

lala8,
http://www.olee.com.sg/locate_our_store.html

yah I think it is this square one, but i dun see it selling anymore in IMM or on offer. not many dust indicator, sqm covering is quite small. but $299 is quite good liao. no humidyfing function
http://www.sharp.com.sg/web/products/prodDetail.asp?ProdId=285

now best denki got offer leh.
Free Omron ear thermometer MC510 worth $69 with $400 purchase of any air purifier & charged to ocbc card.
Sharp plasmacluster humidifying air cleaner KC840E UP $599 now is $540

Honeywell air cleaner 17200 offer price $588

Europace air purifier offer price is $456

Enjoy additional $50 off when u charge to best ocbc mastercard

Wow! So nice to read the reviews on home appliances...haha...I'm so tempted to change all of mine liao but no money. Wait until mine spoil then I'll get Miele too! Haha...

Any recommendations on washers and refrigerators? My Sis going to renovate her house soon.

miele washer and miele fridge... :P

hahah.else get an invertor fridge like mine. Panasonic invertor + freezer is below, chiller on top

just back from imm, saw the sharp air purifier @ best denki... hee hee but prefer osim, design sleek

agnes, what's ur review for the following
Sharp plasmacluster humidifying air cleaner KC840E UP $599 now is $540

was @ harbourfront & saw agnes-recommended olee chargeable dehumidifier on sale- 1 pair costs $29.90, bought a pair to try

now can understand agnes' effort to bring a pair to office to charge, gosh, these gadgets rather heavy leh

i was at harbourfront home fix on sat.. but saw it at $35.80 for two rechargeable one leh. the bags ones are 3 for $23.90.
hahah yah. i bring abt 2 per time.. save electricity mah.

I prefer the Sharp plasmacluster humidifying air cleaner KC840E. This is a smaller version of mine covering 26sqm + with no odour indicator, less powerful. The white one is much nicer than the black one. they showcase the black one which look like dustbin to me at vivocity. The KC840E is also very sleek ah. haha. not bad lah. just that it looks a bit thicker coz it has a water tank for humidifying.

Osim dun have humidifying functcion.
I was also at the Osim counter best vivo. wahh i saw the egg humidifier inside got greenish algae. and they still dare to demo & continue 'humidying' producing water vapour at the counter.. yucks..

Without the detailed specification on their website, cant compare the 2 purifiers in detail. U can do a google search on the Sharp review vs OSIM one.

I found this forum thread.. take a look.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Print&client=printer&f=154&t=792692

another question to ponder..Are u looking for a efficient air purifier or a good looking gadget?
haha assuming all technical specs being equal, u can then compare the aesthetic part. not to mention the price too.

but is up to u. osim has its avid followers too.

Kelvin, i think u should go best denki taka to look instead. I find the best denki staff at vivocity cannot make it..
first they either follow very close behind me, just one step behind me.. very uncomfortable and they are disturbing. desperate for business, keep asking me what i want. then i ask them abt the Cleansui water purifier then the lady said she duno ask another coworker to advise but no one came after 10 min, .. fed up just left lor..

yah osim water purifier also same technology as japan's CLEANSUI brand.. haha i really think most of their stuff are OEM.. maybe only massengers they do their own research. do they even have a lab?

any input on water purifier. My visitors all complain my boiled lukewarm water tasted FUNNY.. hai..

hey if anyone else is getting the olee chargeable dehumidifier on sale- 1 pair costs $29.90 and saw it somewhere on sale.... pls let me know and help me to buy also ok? tks ar!

agnes, the price tag read $35.80 for a pair of the chargeable olee dehumidifiers @ home-fix @ harbourfront, but when i queried the shop staff on its usage, they explained & added that the pair is currently on promotion @ $29.90, & that's y i got the pair @ $29.90 instead

haha, agnes, u're spot on, patronised the vivocity best denki as they happened to have a road show last wkend, i only asked Qs on the sharp model and the sales exec bored me with recommendation of bluair & other brands, i presume he gets higher commissions with other models..... really a pain

btw the sales exec claimed that all sharp models do not have true HEPA filters

aiyo.. how can sharp models be not true HEPA filter. It is.. but Blueair & honeywell is also good brand, just that they look too much like Pc & printers to me.

Val, so sorry. I haven't been following up with the dehumidifier. I keep forgeting to check it out at JP. I'll let you know when I see one ok?

Agnes, Miele is too ex liao. Don't think my sis will get it. Yes Diana, I've recommended my mitsubitshi fridge. Haha...

hey meirong.. its ok.. no problem.. i haven got chance to see also. if i see will let u know too
oh ya we went self-fix at jp, didnt have the small ones... so i guess have to see elsewhere.

look like gatherings really enrich our lifes :D
Let's arrange another one lah. Can we go Angie's hse for baking session? my cookie powder & choc chips are still waiting anxiously...

bake cookies, muffins, kuehs, puddings, pizzas or cakes?

I very interested in making cakes...but anything also ok if i am available. I have not tried myself yet...coz last time my parents place dun have oven, but only toaster oven, so only got to try cookies n pizzas.

my current house one. never bake before.. only managed to reheat and baked angie's bread pudding.

great i like baking too! agnes, u can bring ur silicone gloves along hehe.

so when shall be out baking session?
any suggestions? 12 sept ok?

hihi! yeah, baking sounds good
i have 2 cans of shorterning waiting to be used! do you guys want to bake cookies/ cakes/ pizzas? i have a pizza stone as well

12 sept may be tight for me... how abt the hari raya puasa weekend? we can bake cookies and cakes then can also bake pizzas and have pizza and breadstick for dinner? ;p

er... but i am not very good with baking... must say first... afterwards malu myself ;p can be quite clumsy in the kitchen... hee hee

BTW, Meirong, your pot is still with me... can i pass you this weekend?

Wow, I'm so glad wif this overwhelming responses :D
Me type in the booking:

Baking Try-out Session
(for some, baking test-eat session)
19/9/09 Sat 4pm Angie's HSH
===================================
1) Angie & Tat Siong
2) Diana
3)

Angie, don't worry about the pot. I'll get from u when we have gathering.

Baking Try-out Session
1) Angie & Tat Siong
2) Diana
3) Meirong & Justin (Bringing games & food (to be confirmed))
4)

Baking Try-out Session
1) Angie & Tat Siong
2) Diana (soya jelly)
3) Meirong & Justin (Bringing games & food (to be confirmed))
4)

anyone of you have a BIG pot that i can borrow for saturday? i have a steamboat at my place on sat noon and finding a big pot to store the soup.

the biggest i have is 20cm type and i need enough soup for about 10 person. heee

my downlight bulb spoilt for the first time, and good timing because now ntuc got promotion for osram bulbs... quite worth it so stocked up a few at the same time..
can consider

angie, bought the CP combo delight today from ntuc .... not 1 but 2.. hee the free shrimp wonton with noodles looks really tempting so bought more. i can't wait to try it. saw the wonton noodles itself is selling $3.20 already so like it's very worth it .. YUM YUM