Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Oh izzit, i must try them sometime too. These frozen food is like a shortcut for us who don't wanna spend too much time in the kitchen. Just heat it up and its ready to eat.. ha ha

usually i get the CP brand but the crispy chicken i don't really like, and the mexican favour wings are ok, nothing fantastic though. I bought it only when they have discount lor.. or else quite expensive. Hee...

NTUC prata is good too! Just add a bit of oil and fry it. It's crispy. Normally I wait for offer then buy to stock up. Haha. Later going for groceries shopping, I shall take a look at the satay Angie recommended.

I like to buy the frozen pork too. Porkee brand. I wait for offer then buy a few packs home. Quite a lot of savings. Oh dear...I'm so auntie...

wahh u all buy so many frozen food...
is it supposed to be good/healty?

i already start dropping hairs after living by ourselves.... hai~

ooh i also wanna take a look at the satay angie recommended. i love satay lol!

meirong.. not auntie la.. its cost saving!

agnes.. maybe u shd try cooking then no need to eat out so much hehe

i've been cooking frozen food.. + cup noodles hahaha... all very instant one lor.. but try not to deep fry too much..

tired to cook after work.. weekends. also lazy.. but try to cook at least once a week but we hate the aftermath of cooking.... washing and cleaning and wiping.......

ha ha ha, I think we have already tried the satay at least 3-4 times. We saw an auntie buying at the checkout counter and asked her about it that is why we know this NTUC one can try ;p

btw, buy the type that can pan fry one, easier to cook. The type with the satay stick will need to grill.... quite troublesome ;p

when pan-frying, pan-fry slightly longer, so slightly burnt, which is yummy ;p i think I should go buy a few packets to stock up in case it runs out!

agnes.. no wonder u hv been dropping hair la.. try not to eat too much cup noodles. try to do some easy cooking esp if u hv oven! so far i've tried teriyaki salmon and cod fish which is so easy to do and fast also. then u just fry one veg with mushrooms or some minced meat then can eat le
if u're fast, within 20mins to half hr can finish cooking (plus preps). i take 45 mins lar cos new to cooking lol! practise makes perfect
can share with u more easy recipes when i find them then u can cook at home on wkdays too hehe

hahaha. cup noodles are for supper.not everyday, but surely more than the days when i was living with my parents.

also a beginner in cooking. i hate the preparation part, dun really know how to cut properly.. took very long.. hate washing.. only the eating part is satisfying..

anyway I tried the ntuc pan fried satay yesterday after angie's recommendation. Not bad. but the meat was frozen like a squarish rock and I didnt know I was supposed to thaw it before cooking. So I cooked on my frying pan with the entire 1 pc rock . hahaha The serving is too big for 2 persons to eat and my entire kitchen was filled with smoke.....

but not cheap leh abt $6.. maybe easier to just go satay store to buy...save the gas, oil, water and allthe energy to cook n wash and mop the floor hahhaa..

hahahha i think everyone also like the eating part
i'm gg to try the satay soon too! i think ryan may be right, it might be out of stock soon lol! cannot split the rock into smaller portion to cook?

yah the satay stock running low for chicken, but beef one left quite a lot

hard to separate it as is frozen like a rock. After buying from NTUC, i go home want to cook immediately liao. so it's better u have time to thaw it first before separating. else can use microwave to thaw faster but i dun have microwave.. too much radiation hehe wonder if my steam oven or oven can do thawing.

but serving a bit big for 2 persons. but if i thawed it then separate into 2 halfs.. cook 1 half. i am also not supposed to refreeze the 2nd half after thawing. hahaha irony. so must cook all..

hmm maybe hv to ask angie and the others how they fit 1 packet for 2 persons hehe. if not then just this with cucumber and onions is one dish le lor with rice. sure can finish then hahaha. me don hv microwave either... i tink to thaw faster u can put the meat in plastic bag and soak in water

hahaha.. yah maybe.. i think canot eat too much satay one lor. quite ning leh..

maybe our appetite is lower.. prefer to eat a bit of every dish hahaha

but quite nice leh.. coz u can alter how chao da u want.. or how tender or cooked the meat is.. main prob is entire kitchen filled with smoke like bbq n later got to wash up...

i tink i'll go ntuc tmr nite le... ryan u don wait till fri if not no more hahahhaha

how come normal meat will fill the kitchen with smoke ar? i thot only with charcoal then will have such effect hehe. last nite i grilled satay in oven also no smoke lol. i also prefer a bit of each dish but cant make too many as i only know that few dishes keke

hihi, normally I will take the satay out in the morning and put in the fridge to thaw. so by night, the satay already thaw liao. Val's suggestion of putting in water also works quite well
i don't like to use microwave to thaw since somehow i always end up cooking the meat instead!

I only like the chicken satay, the mutton one not as tender. I did not have problems with smoke leh... perhaps, the heat too high? in fact, i thought very little washing to do since no need to cut, and prepare (other than cucumber and onion)

ha ha, well, we never had problems finishing the whole packet. if my husband have a choice, he probably would be able to finish the whole packet by himself! ;p but normally, I cook satay and just one more vege...

angie do u cook often on wkdays? hehe. maybe can share some recipes for simple cooking :D ya i tink just satay n 1 more vege is enough for 2.

aiya, after reading i think we have to admit agnes is really a bad cooker, can cook until the whole kitchen smoky.. hee hee

you're not advised to refroze the meat but how many of us actually do that? unless you can finish the whole packet at one time, i think we will follow angie's style of keeping it in the fridge in the morning ... it sounds cleaner and easier

If it really stockout, no problem la.. just highlight to the officer and they will shift stocks to Jurong Point outlet by the next morning, especially since it's housebrand. Usually we go grocery on Friday night lor

hehe, i don't really cook that often. I try to cook at least once or twice a week... there are a few blogs that i go to to get inspiration and they are very home-cook food, so i like them. I will pm you the blogs later val... let me know if anyone else wants the blogs (feels weird to promote the blogs on the forum)...

i read somewhere that if you thaw the meat in the fridge, you can still re-freeze them if you decide not to use them, you cannot do that with counter-top or microwave freezing.... i do refreeze the meat after having thawed in the fridge because sometimes get lazy and decide not to cook... but some experts may not agree i think

just checking, anyone participating this year standard chartered marathon?

was thinking of doing a run this sat early morning, maybe 7am. Start from Boon Lay MRT to Dover MRT, is 10km exactly... if still got stamina can run back another 10km.. anyone wanna join me? looking forward to it

Waa...everyone's talking about satay. I went NTUC but I missed the satay and couldn't find it. Where is it located?

I think it depends on how thawed the meat is. If it's already fully thawed (whole meat is soft) then it's not advisable to freeze it again. If it's partially thawed (inside still hard but you can break it into 2 blocks), I normally freeze it. But if it's totally thawed and I don't want to cook everything, I'll keep in the soft freezing compartment, or the bottomost shelf of fridge, and cook it within a day or two.

Poor Ryan...no one's interested in the run. We're lazy people. Haha...

hi ryan

if you manage to get more people (ie more girls), my wife might be interested. she regularly goes for runs and has been taking part in marathons lately..just 5km, 21km only not the 42km.

shawn

Hi folks... me just survived HFMD attacks on my 2 kiddos
glad tt they r back to their usual after 1 full week of painful mouth
got to monitor them another week to b safe...sigh...

Ryan, abt tt chicken wing powder, we got it from someone who work in Jap restaurant. saw the brand from NTUC too. shall go take down the actual name. The SOP is simple. just dip clean, unmarinated wings into powder & fry

meirong,

it's at the processed food compartment where all the frozen food is ... it's somewhere in the middle roll... i got a pack just now.

i also bought a cod fillet, discounted at $5.99. UP $8+. never try before, but then saw the big discount so buy .. ha ha and it's cod .. not just normal white fish. maybe you all can try too.. only 3 days special.

thx Diana, let me know the name yay..

HFMD is so common nowadays... maybe it's good to bring your kids out and get dirty LOL... being born to overly clean environment just weakens their immune system. last time where got HFMD one.. because we are all born dirty.. hee

wa, cod fillet discount? I should go take a look. I only dare cook those fillet, don't dare to cook the whole fish... anybody been to the Wholesale seafood place in Woodlands?

wa i also like cod a lot. planned to go tonight to get the satay and cod so that whenever we want to eat something we don' need to go buy. quite convenient.

oh it's called cod finger by pacific west. although $5.99 it is still so much more expensive than other fish fillet using white fish.. LOL

angie, i also stocked up CP shrimp wanton. i was quite fortunate, happen to pass by sengsiong the other day and saw it was on offer. fyi it was 2 for $7.95. then went back to NTUC and saw it was selling 1 for $4.95. Quite a lot of savings, maybe you want to get from sengsiong. There is a kind with the sauce inside... but still the same price as those w/o the sauce. funny huh.. of course i took the one with the sauce.. hee

hi guys, any chance we can make the gathering on 8th august slightly earlier? Something came up and I would need to leave by 5+. thank you!

PRE-NDP Neighbours Pot-Luck Hi-tea cum dinner
8/8/09 3.00pm Xesthir aka Agnes' HSH

Attendance list
===============
1) Ryan - tiramisu TBC
2) Meirong - Nasi Brani & SABOTEUR!!(must bring :P)
3) Diana - Fried finger foods
4) Valerie - Baked wings and/or pumpkin soup
5) Agnes - fried bee hoon and/or sushi..TBC
6) Angie - Chicken curry
7) Corrine/Shawn - Marconi fruit cocktail
8) Hazel (blk678C)

Timing ok, Agnes???
mean we arrives as soon as ur cleaning auntie leaves ur place :P

Oh dear. Diana, hope your kids have fully recovered. You must be very worried. No wonder I don't see you here recently. Take care!

Thanks Ryan, I shall take note and open my eyes big big when I walk down the frozen processed food section.

Agnes, I'll be there at around 3. Do let us know your unit.

heh no problem angie..

hmm what's the best way to broadcast my block and unit number?

Can I have a list of all ur mobile number so I can do a mass forwarding before next week..(diana u got the list of almost everyone right? can pm me?) so that any changes or what can also sms/call u all. or PM each of u?

PRE-NDP Neighbours Pot-Luck Hi-tea cum dinner
8/8/09 3.00pm Xesthir aka Agnes' HSH

Attendance list
===============
1) Ryan - tiramisu TBC
2) Meirong - Nasi Brani & SABOTEUR!!(must bring :P)
3) Diana - Fried finger foods
4) Valerie - Baked wings and/or pumpkin soup
5) Agnes - fried bee hoon and/or sushi..TBC
6) Angie - Chicken curry
7) Corrine/Shawn - Marconi fruit cocktail
8) Hazel (blk678C)

diana,
received the sms business cards of the neighbours number liao. if anyone missing i will pm the respective person. Thanks!

Hi Agnes, me oredi sms u all the contacts. think you could mass sms liao

my kiddos are back to school, fully recovered. what a relief
lookin fwd to the gathering

i sms broadcast to u all next week in case the sms gets embedded among ur long list of sms in ur inbox..

Since we have curry chicken, do u all need bagettes to go along?