no worry, Shawn
We shall meet again next time

PRE-NDP Neighbours Pot-Luck Hi-tea cum dinner
8/8/09 3.00pm Xesthir aka Agnes' HSH

Attendance list
===============
1) Ryan - tiramisu TBC
2) Meirong - Nasi Brani & SABOTEUR!!(must bring :P)
3) Diana - Fried finger foods
4) Valerie - Baked wings and/or pumpkin soup
5) Agnes - fried bee hoon and/or sushi..TBC
6) Angie - Chicken curry
7) Hazel (blk678C)

yea diana.. i'm also excited haha. like wad ryan said.. cant wait for it to be earlier since a few wks back lol. been bz lately, fighting 'war' at work la.. so sian.

STOMPer Joe was disappointed with the experience he and his girlfriend had with the Police, after they reported a case of molest.

In an email sent to STOMP today (Aug 3), the STOMPer wrote:

“The incident happened on July 25 at NTUC Extra Hypermarket at Jurong Point at around 9.35pm.

“My girlfriend was standing outside the Singapore Pools outlet at the hypermarket and was waiting for me.

“The man, in the picture, then walked towards my girlfriend and rubbed his elbow against her breasts.

“I wish to state that the path in which the man was walking along was clear and there is no reason for him to 'accidentally' rub against her.

1151230.jpg

1151231.jpg

Really hate such disrespectful ppl.
treat women like wat, too weak? can anyhow bully/take advantage?
what's wrong, man! only cheap thrill nia, get a life lah >_<

Similar incident happened to me too.
went shopping at IMM Giant. My butt was 'accidentally touched' by a man. Me turned ard &amp; exclaimed 'hey!'
know wat he said, Please lah, u so fat, think I want to touch u is it?
damn damn it!!!! My hubby stepped in, grabbing that idiot's shoulder and said, Hey, that's my wife, MR. who are u calling fat?
That idiot immediately changed to mousey tone and apologised. Too bad he sneaked off too quickly. I hope I had told him off, better fat than short like U, dwarf !! >_<

sorry, bad day, vent my frustration :P hehe

Hehehe... better be more alert when in crowds. cos no matter wat, still make ur day rotten :P

anyway, just to stamp again, my excitement for the coming gatherin!! See u guys :-*

thank all for the fantastic gathering and once again, it ended past midnight. it was fun and all the food
thank chris and agnes for hosting and see you all again really soon.

we all learn a lot at each gathering and i hope the electric humidifier is not stockout tomorrow at IMM Homefix. Ha Ha

Me too, wanna thanks Agnes &amp; Chris for your great hospitality
we think we home tour your sweet nest to the smallest details like nails &amp; screws :P so sorry, ur nest is so NICE NICE NICE :D

yea tks to chris and agnes for the hospitality and their nice burberry home. all the food brought were nice too! had a great time again
looking forward to the next one again..hhahahahaha

it was a great pleasure to have you wonderful folks at our place. You guys are fun to hang out with! Sorry will find out how to play settlers of catan next time, else we can play saboteur again and maybe cludeo. i think u guys like guessing who is the bad/good guy game!

Diana, haha, no problem lah, we learn from each other what's new/in the market so that we can improve one another's house! And really thanks for lending us the folding table for my family gathering. so pai seh. made ur hubby carry to and fro...

There is also another same brand dehumidifier in bags. instead of constantly charging it when it turn from blue to pink the bag indicator changed from pink to bleue after you microwave it (abt 4-5 mins). The sachets bags are smaller &amp; cheaper and I think this is more suitable for Valerie's study room cabinet's drawers!

when is the next gathering? Hari raya puasa?

eh... i have been looking for dehumidifer... wa.. i miss out on the good stuffs when we went away... which brands do you recommend? the hippo ones are very expensive

hi angie,
u can buy them from home-fix or selffix etc. Those disposable hippo &amp; other calcium chloride dehumidifier i bought before, i dun like them coz the white 'styloform' beads will turn into chalky water very quickly and I have to dispose the chalky gross looking water everytime. The ongoing cost also very ex and they are quite bulky and once the container is half beads half water, u cant throw yet and yet is heavy and worry will knock them over.

Olee Reusable Mini Dehumidifier (takes abt 8 hrs recharging from pink to blue) I always bring 2 each time to office to charge 8 hrs sometimes by knock off time not very blue i will leave it overnight, but quite heavy to carry to n fro.
I got the 2 packs promotion a few months ago, think cost me abt $35+ for 2. Think usual price abt $19+ per pc. I got like 7 of these.
http://www.olee.com.sg/prod_dehumid_reusablemini.html

Olee Reusable Dehumidifying bag. Think abt $10 per bag
http://www.olee.com.sg/prod_dehumid_reusablebag.html

Diana,
I opened up my excel spreadsheet of all my reno/furnishings expenditure.. heehee..
The Towel Rack chrome 90cm bought from Harbourfront Howards Storage World at $59.95
Blum Avante HK x 2 sets cost me $184. Bought from Kiang Sing Hong Hardware Suppliers.
Address:
828 Upper Bukit Timah Road,
Singapore 678155
Phone: +65-67600365,
+65-67632955

Valerie,
the simplehuman step can in my kitchen &amp; bathroom. Can buy from home-fix but there is a exclusive showroom of Simplehuman stuff at Harbourfront showing more ranges. The bin cost me about $30+
http://www.simplehuman.com/products/trash-cans/bathroom/mini-slim-plastic.html
http://www.simplehuman.com/products/trash-cans/bathroom/plastic.html

haha any more stuff and cost u all want me to check out for u? :p

Ryan, yah that the one. that time they bundle 2 sets promo at $35++ so i got a few packs. my hubby said i am obsessed haha he dun understand that will help in his library of books from turning yellowish..or his shoes from turning mouldy..

hahaha agnes.. tks for the info. u shd try letting ur hb de shoes go mouldy then he will appreciate what u are doing and next time he will be the one being obsessed with it :P

hi agnes, i think you make a good salesperson with all the recommendations
I also think you are obsessed ... 7 in one go? Ha ha ...

You have the sharp air purifier and humidifier... then you have 7 of these dehumidifier working ... wah your house busy fighting with humidity.. heeee

you guys happen to have any of those parquet floor sealer? there is a small gap like 3cm long and 0.1cm width discovered in my bedroom floor, thought of filling the hole up, but don't want to buy the whole sealer can just to fill up that small gap. heee

hahah.. no lah

I only switch on the purifying with humidifying function from my sharp air purifier when I switch on air-con.. Air con is dehydrating, bad for skin and throat. Other times, I just select purify with ioniser without humidifying. Anyway i read much online before I commit the buy lah. Hepa filter is a must in order to trap 99.7% of 0.3 micron house dust particles. Only used for 2 weeks and i already saw a lot of dust trapped at the filter liao. Good for pple with asthma or allergies

dehumidifier.. 7..
1 @ hubby side sliding door wardrobe
1 at my sliding door wardrobe
1 at my casement wardrobe
1 at medicine cabinet in toilet
1 at shoe cabinet
1x2, at each side of the book shelves (open &amp; sliding door side)
total 7

3 Dehumidifying bags (microwave one)
1x3, at each of my display cabinet in my living room.

haha that makes 10!!!

hahaha u cant imagine how much research online and on site I have done on furnishings, gadgets and IDs before I commit to buy/confirm.

haha, too bad i am not in sales!!!

I've an Exec Condo @ Floravale for sales with tenancy til Feb 2010.

3BR, 1313sqft
Facing greenery
Full condo facilities

I'm the owner trying direct sales, if you are interested to view, please email me, [email protected]

Wow! this SimpleHuman is not tt simple leh! Designs all bery nice

think I got to visit Harbourfront this weekend.

And u noe wat, Agnes? Ur HSH is so nice tt it inspired me to be more hardworking in upkeeping my home. the next day after the gathering me spent whole day re-packing my kitchen. Now it is my pride :P next time u all come can open the cabinet doors liao. hahahahaha
I've also re-packed my shoes cabinets. My Hubby is so pleased tt he think we should gather more often. I'll be even more motivated. ROFL :D

hahah Diana, you are so onz!! I think also partly we got no kids yet and dun always cook. White only looks clean and nice when is white. haha wonder when it will turn dirty yellow after x more mths/yrs. My relatives came on sunday and made a mess, i was so worried the kids dirty hands will stain my wallpaper!

my kitchen drawer also very messy leh.. haha u never see only.
but i do keep my deep fryer, rice cooker &amp; mixer at the top cabinet and only take out when need to use. more troublesome.

BTW, for those asking abt the Leifheit wall roll holder in my kitchen, Hogarmas is having a warehouse sale this sat n sun. 11-6pm

http://www.hogarmas.com/Kitchen-2.html

The smaller one without the row with rubberband/paper clips &amp; tape dispenser cost $31 and the ones with them (the one i have) is $39.

This shop sells a lot of household aids at much cheaper price than those same item selling at Tangs/Takashimaya. Prob will drop by to see any kitchen/bathroom aids to add on.

Hehe... it is very therapatic to clean hse leh
Me feel so satisfied! Otherwise i'd b rotting on bed watching PPS :P

And Agnes, ur housewares all BRANDED de ah! All so chio de!! bery nice de leh... think me super auntie lah. most I'd get from Ikea or even Daiso. hahaha.. Think I must start to get one chio houseware this weekend... Harbourfront, here I come ;)

hahah Diana, therapatic to clean house ah.. can u come &amp; do for me every week? more therapatic for u then i can save on hiring PT maid! HAHA

Aiya any brand also called branded mah, like those electrical appliances advertised on Straits Times always said Branded TV etc. hahaha

Not very branded lah, just prefer to buy better quality but more lasting and easy-to-use stuff than changing every x yrs/mths for wasy to spoil stuff. The Zwilling Henckels knife set &amp; Corelle dinnerware are recommended by my colleague who said that the former is very sharp and last for yrs and the latter is light and last for 10 yrs without cracking! My mum also said the knife is very sharp and good &amp; even asked me to buy one chopper for her! Got many aunties advice.
My Miele washer n dryer is touted to last for up to 20 yrs &amp; their wash quality is superb.. haha kanna brain washed by the Miele cult salesman &amp; the miele forum thread in singaporebrides so that why got the vacuum cleaner &amp; steam oven too!

even buy the so called branded also auntie lah. my sister said I am very auntie... BTW my horoscope is cancer. very homely one. born to be a housemaker hahaha

haha valerie if i announce here then every one of u need to give me bday present on my bday starting next yr. hahahahaha! Mine is in late June. U leh?

agnes, actually i need to buy a new chopping board and my knife is weak, cannot do much on meat. you mentioned corelle, where to buy? those places like taka and metro or robinson?

i have the same feeling as diana. looking at your house, i got more motivation to doll up my place. last time used to have great ideas of what to do with our house but after moving in, stayed in for a few months starts to feel lazy and get accustomed to the state of my house and no more action. heee

haha, i didn't know my place can be such motivation for u all. hope wont cause u all to spend more money...:p .

Corelle is the brand for a lightweight dinnerware that resists chipping. I got some bowls n plates from it.
http://www.worldkitchenasia.com/sg/showcase.aspx?brandId=4

My knife set is from Zwilling J.A. Henckels, the 2 white men in a red backdrop logo. As most of the knives set from this brand is very european, most of us may find it too pointed &amp; weird angle. So i got the chinese bamboo block set that comes with a chinese chef's knife that resembles a cleaver.
Can't seem to find the exact set in the internet but here is the general link. My set comes with a vegetable knife, multi-purpose knife, chinese chef's knife , shears, sharpening steel, bamboo block and bamboo board. Quite ex, but highly recommended by my coworkers, was told they're sharp and last for many yrs.. maybe 10yrs for her for both knives and dinnerware? That's why we committed the buy, as i am really a lousy knife user, need something really sharp &amp; requires less slaughtering strength. But i believe there could be cheaper and good enough knives set as well, the Japanese kind can be found at Isetan. I never do much research on knives, just zoom in on zwilling..

http://www.zwilling.com/en-WW/Product-Range--sortiment/Knives--knives/Series-overview--serien/TWIN(R)-Pollux--2987.html

Both can get from Tangs, Takashimaya.

Long long time nvr visit forum, hope everyone has been well
Seems that the latest topic is household appliances &amp; wares now

Btw, Ryan, if you’re keen in corelle wares, &amp; b4 u venture off to tangs or taka, can drop by our JP NTUC extra, they are having corelle, corningware &amp; visions promotion. For 12, 16, 24 pieces corelle wares, price ranged from $90 – under $200. as agnes recommended, it’s a gd brand that my parents trust, but personally find its design too homely, instead prefer dark tinted design, esp black, purple, grey. … but not found in corelle

Hey, Me love Corelle too

me using the Deluxe series - Warm Pansies

Ryan, think you should shop ard to seek out the best promo. me found pricing vary from one shoppin ctr to another even for same design, same package set. I got mine from Metro Causeway pt, aft hunting ard at Courts megastore (tampines)&amp; taka)

Wow,, cheem description..avid advocate of aesthetic functionalism doctrine . hahaa

Diana, we got the same design, warm pansies,the purple flower one. At that time when i bought it seem to be the nicest design around, but now i saw a lot of other designs like the sakura range!I started off with the 12 pc sets and slowly add on, but find that buying a bigger set is more worth it, slowly add on can be quite ex/pc.

yah i saw NTUC got some promo sometime back, but essentially u got to work out the maths depending on the set on promo, how many pieces, round or square one, personally i think the round one is more egonomic, but usually see the squarish set for the design i have on sale.. Coz NTUC Xtra is nett price,maybe gain some Linkpoint if u member, but if i go Tangs during sales i get 10-20% discount + 12% rebate on my tangs citiabnk card, for Taka is 10% direct discount from the already 20% discounted price on each piece + Taka pts on taka dbs credit card.