Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

alamak333

hey val, regarding your bad hp reception, you can call the provider to complain... I think they will fix it.. my friend had the same problem and she called... now it is okay..

henrywoo1978

Kevin,

I understand where you are coming from but actually I am voicing out out of concern for the safty for the resideents, cause you just imagine someone is to walk in the path of the falling object!!! And further more, that object is HOT!!! I really cannot believe that this kind of thing can happen!! Not even in my parents house!!!

Hmmm...

ryanon123

No, i haven't seen a flying noodle cup before but i've seen a flying window glass coming down a couple of months ago there. It shattered completely on the floor. That was kind of dangerous!

baby_whyme

anyone here managed to ask HDB to change your toilet bowl?
A friend from YS area said that he asked for a change, even though there was no defect for the toilet bowl..haha!

rong

I think the person must be eating the cup noodles by the window but somehow he/she 'shou ruan" and dropped it. Hmm...wonder what did he/she saw..

ryanon123

it's not always good to get HDB to change everything, sometimes it may get worst instead of good. I experienced that with the floor grout, instead of making it looks better, they come back and make a sloppy work of it, and the worst they refused to come back to re-do it.

henrywoo1978

Well my opinion is that if there is really a need to rectify the problem, then just go ahead, cause at the end of the day, the owner should not just go through the defect list itself, but the whole house to make sure there is no missed out defects or like what Just said, you will get more defects alone the way.

This is the very reason why my house took 2 months (even though the Ah Xiang and gang are very prompt to rectify the problems).

ryanon123

I got HDB to fix the main door cos the top and bottom are not vertically straight. They came and fix, while it is now straight, the door cannot be shut firmly and is shaky when you push it. This is because they re-position the lock and the lock-hole badly and wrongly, instead i think they should repositioned the door hinges. Sloppy work or not very qualified workers.

It is fixed now but not completely.

I ask them to fix the skirting and they scratched the parquet...how nice... anyway i got the whole floor regrind so okay.

So don't ask them to fix every slightest defects, worst when there is no defects.. H aha you may get more headache.

plasterbride

hey everyone...
long time never log into this thread already

I am still in the midst of my renovation...
hopefully everything is done up by next week

anyone has any good reliable reasonable pricing contacts for Curtains and blinds ???
usually how do you go about doing up curtain? does the person come to your hse to quote ??
because I called up this curtain shop at AMK, they ask me to measure myself, abit funny right, measure myself ????

henyve

hi plasterbride,

i have a contact for curtains and blinds, find that they are good in service and they brought along a wide range of fabric for me to choose on the spot and they will give their professional advice on the colours and material, the price is reasonable as well as I have all the bedrooms roman blinds and the living room with normal curtain at ard 1.1k

shawn_

now have to shop for furniture in particular, sofa, tv console and dining table set

anyone has any recommendations? i was told sungei kadut has a fair bit? anyway has the address so that i can find my way there?

shawn

rong

If you're on budget, you can try S & C Furniture at Ang Mo Kio. The service is good. Their shop is small but they have wide range of catalogue. I've bought sofa, dining set and mattress. I can't tell you the quality as the items are not yet delivered but this shop is recommended by fellow forumers.

S & C Furniture Dynamic
Melvin Tan
Blk 338 AMK Ave 1 St 32
#01-1647
S(560338)

ryanon123

Corrine,

There is no exact address @ sungei kadut, it's all over sungei kadut. every corner, every road, every street there will be some furniture factory or shop along.

just_

Ya, can try S & C Furniture at Ang Mo Kio.
Very friendly and helpful boss..

Bought a dinner set there and will be delivered this coming Sat.

Wondering if the quality will be good...

jonah

nice to finally say hi to you guys in the forum. I am Angie's husband and has been reading the forum posts all this while :p In addition, I have met some of you in real life. Just thought that I should create an account for myself so that I can also join in the discussion.

Corrine - I think a good place to start to look for furniture in Sungei Kadut is the International Furniture Centre, 62 Sungei Kadut Loop, Singapore 729507.

The link is: http://www.ifcsingapore.com/

Like Ryan said there is alot of furniture retailers in Sungei Kadut so you can just drive around the place. Some other furniture places are:

1) Novena furniture, 47 Sungei Kadut Avenue
Singapore 729670.

2) Wihardja, 32 Sungei Kadut Way, Singapore 728787

I hope this helps.

ryanon123

Corrine,

Try take the shuttle bus to IFC if you are not driving... i don't know if i am lucky or what but 3 times i went down, the shuttle bus arrived within 5 mins.. so it's very convenient

shawn_

hi ryan

we dont drive so we have been treating such things as a *walking adventure*. it has been much fun as long as its not too hot or raining

shawn

just_

Hi Ryan,

Can pass me the contact of Mr Lai?
I'm thinking to install the shelving this weekend too if possible ...

spotkev

6441 7809,mr lai

mr lai is just a metal shelving vendor, no other stuff. believe i was one of the earliest who got him to come in to put up the shelving, and shared his contact in the forum.

others started to engaged him and shared the contact too. so became affectionately known here as our mr lai.

spotkev

just got mr tan & his sidekick to come to my hse to repair the metal gate lower latch, spoilt, and couldnt lift the pin (into the floor) hence metal couldnt be opened fully.

what luck, besides defects checked before reno, things also just become faulty for no reason. cant be wear & tear since no one will lock and unlock the latch frequently

khy

kevin, thats so weird, our gate also have the same problem, lower latch. was fine previously
the mr tan you are talking about, is he from the bsc?

pinklady23

Ryan,

U doing L-shaped shelving for the bomb shelter? How much is your shelving?

To all,
Just wanna check if anyone have spiders seen at your house? Of coz, spider is rather a common thing..but I have seen quite a no. of them at my place. So, just wanna see if it happens to most people staying around the area or only I have the problem. Coz I'm thinking is it becoz the place is left vacant for a period of time since after it has been built and hence the got the spider problem.

spotkev

yup, mr tan fr bsc
he remembers exactly where i stay when i identified mysf, so u better ensure he doesnt go to the wrong unit loh, haha

the worker took abt 15min to repair the latch

weird that it just became faulty, esp we dun touch it at all except when there were deliveries during reno.

spotkev

anyway, there is this 1-yr defect liability period guaranteed by hdb, contractor will be responsible for repairs.

after this 1-yr, HDB will arrange for repairs foc if the cause for the defect is found to be of poor design or workmanship.

pinklady23

Hi Kevin, thanks for the info. I also found the long legs spiders around my house. Asking this qn now is because having some problem with my contrator on the partition wall and they claim because my house is dirty. Even can see spider but me and my hubby clean the house every week. So how dirty can the place be? Anyway, long story. Thanks for the reply ya.

spotkev

joelle
we have to live with the fact that being at JW and with a busy road ave 4 near us, dust tends to accummulate easily

been staying for mths, do my wkend cleaning regularly, but still dusty. my housewife-neighbour claimed she has to clean daily without fail to see no dust.

ur parition wall appears dusty/dirty even after contractor claimed they have cleaned it?

spotkev

just enjoyed the æ˜Ÿå…‰å¤§é“ TW singing competition on ch 56. throat getting itchy liao, long time nvr karaoke leh. muz go croaking soon

any singer-wannabe here ah, haha

pinklady23

kevin,

I understands that JW is vy dusty as I work in JW area too. My partition wall is nt dusty or dirty but got molds growing on it and this is not the 1st time. However, contractors do not agree with me that it is moulds and claim that it is dust instead. I used to be in the construction industry before and I can tell the different. Furthermore, to have dust on a vertical wall is vy difficult unless the place is left vacant or no cleaning is done for months. If every week cleans also can have thick dust found on my wall, then I would conclude saying that the air is vy dirty and it is not suitable for living at all. Mad with my designer and contractor.

spotkev

joelle
i've a chest of drawers in my study. one particular drawer catches these tiny patches of mould too. was very puzzled that of all drawers, only that has moulds on the surface. and no matter how i clean and wipe it, in few days, the moulds will come back, haha

pinklady23

I used to have big patches of mold on my L-shaped partition wall in the Master Bedroom, then contractor applied a layer of sealant and the problem somehow solved for a period of time. However, within 1 month plus, problem comes again. Now my featured wall in the living room also have. Vy the sian. Master bedroom one, also the 3rd time already. Meeting my ID again this Saturday to talk about the solution for it.

pinklady23

ya lor...vy sian...my renovations was done in January and the handover was in late Feb. But till now, still got problems. Haiz. I hope this problem will settle asap. Hope to have my house warming soon.