Bali

louise

guys.. Kayumanis Ubud is honestly the BEST place!! It's up in the hills, so it's cooling..it's really beautiful. It's a private villa, so you get 1000% privacy..you even have your own pool.. you can have spa in your own villa, they will serve breakfast, lunch etc in the villa too.. basically whatever you want they will do for you. I just came back from there, so I know it for myself.. go check out the site www.baliprivatevilla.com

hoshi5

sounds good..
May I know how much did u spent in all and how many days?

Also, wat abt from airport to the villa?

louise

From airport to villa and back is provided, so as breakfast. The price is on the website, but heard that perhaps you can ask for a better price than what's stated there. plus if you say that you're on honeymoon or something, they'll give you extra surprises..
I wont say what coz then it would be no surprise to you guys. Just write to them

louise

also, if it's over your budget, it's good to just try it for maybe 1 or 2 days in Ubud, coz it's a different feel to Kuta altogether, then u can check in some other hotels in Kuta, where all the beaches are. That could save some money.

just doing a check here.

anyone here has bought house furniture from Bali before?

care to share experience and price if possible.
I've heard of girls doing that...so wanted to hear more...

Hi voice,

when i'm there last july, i had used mainly Rupiah.
I think you can use US$ or rather they charge US$ mostly at hotel spas...for spas that is done outside the hotel, i had used rupiah, same for all my makan and shopping..

jenjen

I used rupiah... but it depends on their rate at that point in time... do keep some USD spare... but for USD, they only accept those printed from 1997 onwards... 1996 and before is signed by a different authority and will be rated lower...

teatree

hi tiny voice,

it's teatree. you remember me? from the church/banquet dilemma thread? hehhe... yeah, to answer you, bali still uses mainly rupiah. especially if you're buying things. for hotel payment, think they except US dollars.

which part of bali are you going? my favorite would be nusa dua. its beach is still pristine, unlike kuta beach. if you have some money to spare, i suggest you stay at 'the oberoi' or 'the bale'. both are very new hotels, villas to be exact. so they are not offering rooms, but villas with personal swimming pool
perfect for honeymoon! ubud is niiiceee too if you are an arty farty person

fairymoss

Hi tiny voice,

I used all rupiah on my trip there last July. There are some very nice restaurants @ Kuta recommended by Lonely Planet and we tried, and it's really good. The ambience is good and the food is good. We used card at the makan places though, but for transport (book a mini van for the entire stay), and other charges like buying things we paid in rupiah.

slow

Hi tiny, they do business mainly in rupiah. With Singapore dollar, also can exchange easily into rupiah so you no need to change Singapore dollar into US dollar and then change to rupiah...haha...

Anyway, Bali is great place - Ubud is FANTASTIC! Stay at the Komeneka which is a wonderful villa type resort. Totally blissful!

voice_0229

thanks for your response. Been busy so haven't login to check on this thread. I have booked already, would be staying 3 nights at Melia Bali @ Nusa Dua and 2 nights at Bali Dynasty @ Tuban.

elle

HI Just a tiny voice,

May i know how much did you pay for the package?
and what does it include?

Me also planning to go bali in Apr currently sourcing around...

durianlover

do u know if it's ok to go to Bali in June? how's the weather like then?

i'd also like to go bali for honeymoon but on very tight budget...dunno if it's possible? can share how much ur package costs for 5days 4nites?

cottoncandy

Hi durainlover!

I just signed up with SA Tours at the NATAS fair for a trip to bali..going in the first week of June..mine oso 5 days 4 nites...at about $900 plus

durianlover

Hi cottoncandy!

i also just signed up for a Euro-Asia package to Bali at the NATAS fair!

Your $900+ is for 1 person, or 2?

i'm going end of June for 5D4N too! Staying at Hilton Bali. Flying by Garuda. How abt u?

voice_0229

Just to give my 2cents worth. Came back from my Bali trip early this month. We were there for 6 days, 5 nites. Personally I think, 4 days/3 nites is enough. Nothing much to see there, repeatative shops/stuffs you will see. Nusa Dua very quiet, pretty dead. Kuta abit more crowded. Currently low season there. Our package excluding food is about $1,300. We stayed at Melia Bali (Nusa Dua) and Bali Dynasty.(Tuba near Kuta)
Well, I guess afterall, it's the company that counts, who you're going with...not how fatastic the place is. If your agenda is shopping, then can consider Bangkok instead.

Overall we enjoyed the trip, just lazing around...not thinking about anything!

felicity

hi there

we went to bali couple of mths ago. we paid 640 per pax (including all expend) for a 5d4n stay. its a beautiful place. we stayed in tuban then went to nusa lembongan to spend a night. the resorts we stayed there was very romantic. we did the jimbaran beach dinner too. we are glad we didn'y stay in nusa dua. we tot nusa dua was lousy. hard rock has a great pool. hope this helps.

i'm going back to Bali again this July!!
Any ladies stayed in Ubud?
I absolutely love Ubud compared to Kuta. Cos the cost of living there is much cheaper and you get lots of stuff at a much cheaper price compared to kuta.

Any moderately priced hotels in Ubud?
I stayed in a villa last year. can't afford it this year..haha

edksdid

hi all u bali gurus, just a couple of questions from me abt bali as i'm planning a short trip there.

1. if i would like to take a stroll along kuta, not really keen shopper just take a peek at each shop, enjoy the 'cafe culture' there, any nice restuarant to try there? how long do u think i'd take in kuta?

i'll be staying in nusa dua, not kuta.

2. besides seafood, what else can i do in jimbaran?

3. it is far to go ubud from kuta? what can we do in ubud?

4. anywhere else i shld visit? tanah lot sounds far away. anything interesting there?

5. how big is the whole nusa dua? as big as singapore? or half? or ?

6. do u gals normally hv breakfast in the hotel or go somewhere else for meals?

7. i heard tt there's a convention centre in nusa dua area. is tt for shopping?

8. how much do u think i shld prepare for 3D2N (excluding accomodation)?

9. which airline has good timing and direct flight?

10. is 3D2N too short a stay in bali? anyone of u ever tried staying in 2 areas during one trip? i'm thinking of spending 2 nights in nusa dua and 1 night in ubud alila.

wow! 10 questions already. hope u all can help. thanks a lot.

oh yeah... one more...

11. how much is it to take a cab to hotel from airport? does all hotels provide transport FOC?

durianlover

to add to your 11 qns, i also hv 1 more qns to ask - what can we buy at Ubud? Able to get cheap accessories for flat? - like plates, saucers, cushions, etc??

edksdid

postpet2 u've been to bali, u shld be able to answer some of the questions right?

if u dun answer how do u expect others to answer ur question?

anyway, nevermind... let's wait for some kind soul then...

ginger

Hi edksd (edksdid)

I suggest u go to www.bali.com and get some info from there. You will find your answers there.

Answers to (6)
It all depends on yourself. For me, my frds have decided to go clubbing till wee hrs and we will keep breakfast.

(8) How much to bring will depend on yr own spending habit. I go for sports activities and will bring more $$$

(9) Only SIA has the best timing with the most exp price. Go by Garuda or Australia airlines.

(10) I go for 5D4N cos there is one free nite as I stay in Hard Rock. My frds and I are quite active but we feel 4D3N are more than enough.

(11) Hotels do not provide FOC transport. If u book from travel agency, tpt to and fro airport will be provided.

FYI, I have not been to Bali yet. Going in April and did some research on some websites. You should as well.

edksdid

Hi Ginger,

Do you book the air ticket direct from SIA? How much is it?

I oso noticed tt the other airlines all fly at evening time if not will hv stop over at Jarkarta.

But the price is amost 50% difference, so I'm in a dilema.

edksdid

I'm so sad when I read this review from one of the website. I tot Nusa Dua is the beach paradise of Bali... seems like I'm wrong...

Nusa Dua on the other hand may boast some big name hotels such as Sheraton, Hyatt, etc. but to be perfectly honest it is all very man made and a little false. Most hotel rooms do not offer you a sea view, instead offering rooms that look out onto lavish and very beautiful gardens. The food also tends to be expensive by Indonesian standards and more often than not is quoted in US$, which means that you always have to be aware of the exchange rate before you even know how much you are actually paying. Having said this the hotels may be big but the area is secluded and does offer a beautiful beach.

ginger

Hi edksd (edksdid)

I booked my tickets during the NATAS fair - Stay in Hard Rock hotel and fly by Garuda in the evening. There is a promotion currently from Hard Rock, ie, buy 3 nites and get the 4th nite free. I got the package for only $423 - 5D4N.

Only SIA flies in the morning/afternoon. Since I have 5 days in Bali, I don't mind flying by Garuda in the evening. I think I may have too many days in Bali.

I am not v particular abt beaches there. If u think Nusa Dua is not the best beach, u can make arrange to stay in hotels near Kuta beach but I am not sure if Kuta beach is the best.

Pardon me for saying this, just thot that I can share with u gals about Bali as I have been like there for so many times....

As for Nusa Dua, the reason why its one of the best beach is becoz it is nearer to the airport & more greenery & more exclusive, meaning that also more expensive lor... heheeh/../..... like in some rooms, you all can even swim in ur own little jet pool naked & no one can see u at all....

as for Kuta Beach, its one of the most happening beaches there of coz!! lotsa activities there all the time, just a stone away is HRC Bali, coz its just facing Kuta Beach & there are also many hotels there too!!

At nite, would not advise u to go out of Nusa Dua lor coz nothing there one, but Kuta is different, its the clubbing scene & also all the little stores like pasar malam lor....

so to each his own. but a warning when u go to Bali, specially Kuta beach coz there are soo many Balinese trying to sell things & they will all crowd towards u, form a circle & pester u to buy their stuff, or like tie dradlocks for u hair or do mani/pedicure for u lor, all kinds.... these are expensive at the beaches, so be FIRM & say no,
go walk down the stores & get it done there...

sure hope i can help

edksdid

hi skylar, nice to hv u here.

so do u know where is the best beach in bali?

nusa dua beach is not man made right? are the sea water really as blue and transparent as it always show in the pictures?

squarecouple

I just went to bali two weeks back, thankfully the weather was wonderful. as its currently the rainy season.
Just to describe to you gals what i did there.
Took Australian Airlines, it was a night flight so i arrived there at about nine. got to the hotel in nusa dua by ten plus.
Spent the next day in ubud , went to the Alila Ubud's Mandara Spa and had a spa experience that cost lots of money.
followed by kuta , legian, seminyak shopping, a few quaint shops, got lost, found myself at the kuta beach, walked past hard rock and a few other hotels like mercure and intan bali.
then next morning, stone in hotel, walked around nusa dua hotels like westin, and hyatt.
next morning, took a cab to jimbaran, explored Intercontinental, Loved it, going to stay there next time. Explored Four seasons as well.. Super nice place.
well, i think i have only seen half of bali, have not even explored its night life. next time i guess.

squarecouple

I just went to bali two weeks back, thankfully the weather was wonderful. as its currently the rainy season.
Just to describe to you gals what i did there.
Took Australian Airlines, it was a night flight so i arrived there at about nine. got to the hotel in nusa dua by ten plus.
Spent the next day in ubud , went to the Alila Ubud's Mandara Spa and had a spa experience that cost lots of money.
followed by kuta , legian, seminyak shopping, a few quaint shops, got lost, found myself at the kuta beach, walked past hard rock and a few other hotels like mercure and intan bali.
then next morning, stone in hotel, walked around nusa dua hotels like westin, and hyatt.
next morning, took a cab to jimbaran, explored Intercontinental, Loved it, going to stay there next time. Explored Four seasons as well.. Super nice place.
well, i think i have only seen half of bali, have not even explored its night life. next time i guess.

Hi Ed,

well, as for the beaches in Bali, there are a couple there definitely, if ur taking about those bluey water thingy, that its quite by luck coz sometimes the whole color might be a little greyish but of coz it would be perfect too if there are nice tide coming in.... especially during sunset or sunrise..

like wat Square said, stayed in Nusa Area, well, basically like wat she said, u will have to travel by bus or coach to bring you ard.... must visit point would be those volcanoes tops & the low tide run in temple ya

would agree that she definitely missed out on the nightlife there,,,, hmm.... coz i usually stay in Bali for like 15 days or so, I simply loved to stay in Hotel Bounty where its just opp HRC now but not sure if its still there or up already since the drastic bomb, hmmm,,, the bombed place, Sari Club was a way happening club too!! Sigh....

So u will have to decide wat u r looking for like privacy exclusive beach or a fun packed, fun filled with surfers beach?

edksdid

i wanted to hv a quiet holiday to idle ard. so a quiet desserted beach is fine w me. but i'm quite picky abt beaches. if it's going to be like east coast or man made by sentosa, i must as well stay home. i love gold coast, sunshine coast kind of beaches.

i intend to spend 3D2N. one day i'll travel out to explore. the other day maybe just stay ard to idle.

edksdid

hi square,

what time was ur flight? has it got any stopover? how come u only reach at 9am in the morning? how much was ur airfare? did u book online or thru agency?

which hotel did u stay in nusa dua. i intend to stay in conrad. i'm quite particular abt cleanliness so i guess a new hotel shld be fine. and of course the price is still acceptable.

i was also thinking of whether to oso spend one more night at alila ubud. from the website, it looks so nice. but is it really fantasic there?

what do u like abt intercontinental? can share? maybe i'll change my mind. is the beach at jimbaran nice?

how did u travel out from nusa dua? by bus or taxi? is it ex? is it safe?

squarecouple

I arrived 9 at night. booked through safe 2 travel. stayed at melia bali. no sea view at that hotel, but they have nice gardens. alila's price is sky high i think, us 200 plus a night. intercontinental, u have a view of the sea with semi waves from the poolside. cause jimbaran is not a protected lagoon type of beach, but a real 'beach' beach. not as happening as kuta type of big wave beach. travelling out of nusa dua is a real hassle . hotel taxi cost a bomb. better to book taxi from open road. DON"T stay at nusa dua , really cut throat. there are no open roads. Jimbaran has open roads. VEry ex to travel out from nusa dua, stay there only if you don't intend to go out to surrounding places at all.

edksdid

hi square thank you so much for ur valuable comments.

oh yeah i like non lagoon type of beach too! i think i wanna stay in jimbaran instead. but is intercontinental far from the beach.

what else is in jimbaran besides seafood?

squarecouple

intercontinental is located at the beach. literally beach front. from hotel pool can look out to the waves coming in. You can literally have a massage while you listen to the waves. However, jimbaran beach is not as nice as kuta, less sand.. you know what i mean? nothing much at jimbaran besides the seafood i guess.

elle

I'm travelling to Bali this coming Fri and staying at Nusa Dua. I wish to go Kuta C C look look too but i would like to know whether is it safe to flag a taxi just outside or shld i book a cab thru the hotel, would it be more EX this way?
Does their taxi go by meter or they just anyhow quote the price?

Appreciate your advise.

anyone been to bali recently and has good recommendation for nice place to stay in ubud?

anyone stayed in Monkey forest?

tyikkim

postpet2,

We just came back from Bali last nite!! Stayed in Hard Rock for 3 nites and 1 nite in Ubud. We would highly recommend the place we stayed - Biyukukung Suites!!! We only paid US$40 per room per nite for the Standard Room. The only difference between the Deluxe Room is that it has a bath tub instead of the standing shower...everything else is the same. So go for the Suite Room if its within your budget!!

Monkey Forest is a mere 3 minutes walk from Biyukukung, and anyway, all the transfers within the vicinity of Ubud is free if you are a guest with Biyukukung.

Check out this URL for the lowest rates...

http://www.balidiscovery.com/hotels/hotel.asp?Id=298

You can also call the Marketing Manager direct to book if you don't feel going thru the web. Email me at [email protected] if you need the direct contact details.

We had also visited Kerobokan, Jimbaran, Kuta and Legian...have nice restaurants to recommend if you are interested.

Bon Voyage!!

tyikkim

Elle,

I don't know about the hotels in Nusa Dua, but the conceirge at Hard Rock Hotel got the cab to the lobby for us. They all go by the meter. No extra charge. Just pay the meter fare, but as tourists...the cab drivers expect you to give tips...so if the fare is like 16,000Rp and you give them a 20,000Rp note, they will come up with some excuse that they do not have the change. So...be prepared to "tip generously" if you don't have the exact change.

To all who are going to Bali, be warned that Kuta is undergoing major road works...its dusty and hot and troublesome to shop properly...cuz' one side of the road has a huge trench...and they have this make-shift planks to bridge you across to the shops individually...so imagine the hassle of walking out of one shop...cross the busy road...then only to cross back again when you see something nice on that side again....its like dat for most of Kuta.

I have never been to Nusa Dua, but been to Jimbaran. Heard that the beach at Nusa Dua is better as the one at Jimbaran is sloping...and all locals will tell you that Nusa Dua is the place for Sea Sports...whilst Jimbaran is the place for Seafood Dinners whilst watching the beautiful sunset...make sure you get to the restaurant by 6pm to catch the sunset.

The driver picked us up from Hard Rock at 5.30pm to get to Jimbaran to catch the sunset.

I also forgot to mention that Biyukukung is only about 2 years plus old. So its fairly new...and the best thing about it is that you wake up to see a whole wide expanse of rice plantation in front of you....a totally out of this world experience for us Singaporeans staying in HDB flats!!!

All those who intend to go to Ubud..its one hour's drive from Kuta. Buy all your table placemats, wooden/rattan stuff, cushion covers from Pasar Ubud!!! Cheapest!!!

Learn the phrases....

Selamat Pagi!! Good morning
Apa Khabar? How are you?
Saya Baik, terima kasih. I'm fine, thank you
Berapa harga? what is the price?
Sangat mahal! very expensive!!

krazy76baby

hubby and i are thinking of going to Bali but we are clueless about where to stay. heard that nusa dua and ubud are nice and quiet places to stay... what are some of the nicer resorts there?

are there any shopping to do in these two areas? if we want to travel around,... is it convenient to get to the kuta... how many minutes drive away?
we want some privacy and relaxation but we dont want to be staying in some faraway place where it takes hours to travel...

can someone please advise? thanks

krazy76baby

hi square couple,
so you would recommend jimbaran?

can you recommend some of the nicer resorts at jimbaran? read from previous posts that this place is good for seafood?

sakurasan

I stayed at Hotel Intercontinental and Jimbaran Bay during my last trip to Bali. It's a nice resort - very very huge! Quiet too...and 15 mins away from Kuta. We had no problems with taxis out to Kuta or Nusa Dua coz the hotel would help with getting one. The resort is sort of connected to the seafood area..just walk along the beach of the resort. Quite convenient.