Bali

V

vee kee

Hi enya!

How was your Bali trip? Me also contemplating whether to continue wif trip end of this mth...*sigh*

enya

i am back from BALI!!!!! torn between whether to go anot last week, and on wednesday and thursday, i just heck care and went ahead packing!!!!! i think BALI might be even safer than singapore!!!! look at the no. of cases increasing in singapore!!!

i stayed at BALI hilton, flew by SQ. bali is hot hot hot!!! so dun bring all the pants .. stock up on sleeveless tops and shorts ... and sandals!!! the weather is really hot!!! i just went swimming at the beach and pool for 1 hour, and got abit burnt ... duhzzz ....lucky i dun look like any lobster now!!!

hilton is located at nusa dua ... the hotel is not bad, pretty nice beach!! i stayed at nusa dua beach hotel 2 years back, and comparing these 2, the beach at hilton is much nicer! i think it's bcos the beach at hilton is near where some people head for surfing too ...

on the 1st and 2nd day, we went sightseeing. DUN RENT from the hotel .. so expensive!! we rented a 4-wheel drive,together with a driver from KUTA, and the price is much more affordable!! 12 hours + driver costs us Rp250K, which is around $50. quite okay, cos the taxi fare from nusa dua to KUTA, which is about 15-20 mins already cost Rp40K ... so i think that was pretty okay. anyone interested in details about the contact details of the driver, pls email me!! i think he's not bad, BUT u have to make sure his car is okay and new, air con STRONG!!! otherwise u will suffer!!

he brought us to watch the barong, visited ubud, kintamani, rice terraces, sanur & kuta beach, and finally jimbaran for dinner. my review .. give sanur a miss. i think east coast is better!!!! kuta is okay, but i personally find nusa dua better, cleaner and less street peddlers!!! jimbaran is a MUST for good seafood. i tried the uluwatu restaurant. not bad!!! the fried calamari and fish is damn solid!!

i visted tanah lot + monkey forest too...give monkey forest a miss, damn lousy and waste time ... tanah lot is not bad though.... we didn't have time for bedugul + uluwatu .. i visited these 2 places 2 years back, something like tanah lot. temple in some lake or by the cliff .. so if u dun like temples and prefer arts - paintings, stone carvings etc, think better to spend more time at ubud shopping for things for the new house!!!

i gave shopping at KUTA a miss ... i hate being pestered at shops .. so i spent mostly on spa and eating ... hahahah KFC is good neh .. the chicken has less fat and tastier too .. ahhahahahaah oh yes, the wahyu spa as recommended by monica is not bad. u can even BARGAIN with them. cos tourism is pretty down in bali now, with SARs and the bomb scare last year, so they tend to ketok tourists alittle more when they get business .. bargain is the keyword!!

give the restaurant above wahyu spa a miss .. we tried that place, bcos it has legong dance at nite .. duhzz .. food is so-so. if u are interested in barong / kecak / legong dances, try ubud, much cheaper. eat elsewhere then go for the dances!!! barong - usu. in the morning, while legong - usually around 6.30 in the evening!

overall, i think bali is really much quieter as compared to what i saw 2 years back, so prices tend to be higher... but BARGAIN!!! i think if u like beaches, better to stay at nusa dua .. cos kuta is pretty commercialised ... nusa dua though far, is quieter, and good for those who need a break from all that city life???

enya

hi mayday

the flight was pretty full, around 95% full in economy class ... for 2 ways (Sg to bali, and bali back to SG). most of them were aussies .. very few people wearing masks, except me and my bf, and a few other asians .. a few angmohs donned masks too, i would say around 20% wearing masks on the plane.

hahahahha though i was wearing a mask, i still went around shopping at DFS in the airport .. ahahahhaha

helen

Hello Enya,

Thanx much 4 yr trip update. So Bali is pretty safe 2 go huh. Heard fm a friend who went 2 stay @ Bali Hilton, if i rmbr correctly, after returned fm shopping, her room kena ransacked. Everyting thrown ard...happened juz recently. Thus my friend advised me not 2 go. However, it seems pretty alrite fm yr msg. Sigh...stil tinking shld i go honeymoon. My hubby wants 2 go & said if postpone feeling diff. Am more afraid of getting SARS on board plane & in Bali. Cos we nvr noe which passengers hv SARS & stil travel...also, as Bali is a tourist place, we wont noe if those ppl we get in contact wif got SARS or not. At least back home here, we can go out & eat out less often but when overseas we cant avoid. Sigh...

V

vee kee

Hi Enya!

Glad that you had a good trip!
Like helen, I am also torn between going and cancelling.

But from your update, I have more confidence in going, but of course I will also have to don the masks! :p

may2003

Helen: abt your friend that went recently and her hotel room was ransacked - what was the hotel explanation? u mean security in a five star hotel is so laxed. So scary.

enya

i think what's impt is u watch out on personal hygiene, and don masks ... buy antibac hand wash, and stock up on dettol wet wipes. i donned masks, used the wet wipes to clean the planes seat rests, tables etc .. call me paranoid, but i felt better after that. before eating on board, i wiped my hands clean with the anti bac hand washing gel. then after eating, i used a new mask!!!

helen

Wow Enya,
U really very hygenic leh. Doubt i'll have the patience 2 do all these. Tink most probably not going. Wif SARS condition getting worse ea day, i dont have the mood 2 go anywhere.

May2003,
Ya imagine 5-star hotel also kena ransacked. Tat was my 1st time hearing such story. My other friends who went said ok. Din ask so much as i dunno them. Heard from a friend.

enya

aiyarr just go ahead with the trip. bali is pretty safe. singapore might not be that safe anyway. i think a break might do u good, since u dun have to worry so much about getting SARS in bali?!?!

enya

i heard about tat beach. but heard from locals that its not really that fantastic though. BUT if u wake up early enuf, u can get someone to drive u there and see the DOLPHINS!!

V

vee kee

I am just back from Bali! It was a good short break!
It is fairly quiet there...not many tourists.

For the 4 days I was there, 3 days I had massages. It was really good!
Went to cheapo ones and expensive ones. Cheapo ones costs $10 for 1 hour traditional Bali massage, high class one costs abt $45 for 1.5 hr of massage. The Spa, the one recommended by Monica previously, is $50 for a 2 hr SPA experience.

Food wise...so-so, cheap but in terms of taste, Singapore, M'sia and Thailand can beat them anytime.

We went a little sightseeing to Tanah Lot and Mt Batur(volcano), rented a car + driver for abt $35!

Actually, in Bali, if you want to go for Spa,massage or makan, you can actually call up the shop, most of them will provide free transport!

If anybody is interested, I am most willing to share the names and contact numbers of the spas and food places I have been!
just drop me a msg here!

april

vee kee,

we're thinkin og going bali in june, mind sharing your contacts and your ratings of the places you been to? Which hotel did you stay? Spas? and the driver's contact?

my e-mail add is [email protected]

Thanks a mil!

V

vee kee

Hi April, wormworm2, may, omveganyogi and June,

Sorry for the delay, have not logged on for a long time! I have sent the contacts to you liao. pls check your emails.

In addition, for those who are interested in going to Bali on free n easy, and dun know what to do there, you may wish to contact this guy.

Name : I Wyn. Sudarya (aka. Tim Tam)
Hp : 0812 362 6394

He can help you to arrange your accomodation, transportation etc. You just need to buy your air tix and he will help you do the rest there. Price wise, you have to negotiate with him. There will of course be a certain premium, but it will be within reasonable means.

We only got to know him there. A nice guy who can speak good english. Can say you were recommended by Nigel & Mabel.

omveganyogi

thanks vee kee, i have recieved yr email and will check this guy out. may i asked how do u know him over there?

He just approached you 2 when he saw u 2 dressed up as a tourist? You and yr hubby so daring to trust him to bring you guys around huh..hee hee.

Are the ppl there actaully friendly and trustworthy to deliver what they promised and ya one thing i dont like is the tourist touting there cos i just want my honeymoon to be relax and quiet & also there to get some small stone carving and home accessories.

I hope this trip will be fun just too bad air mauritius cancelled all trip till end june or early july...sigh...

nglw_f4

Anybody stayed at Kartika Plaza Hotel before, any comments? Saw their romance package at their website, quite good deal.

V

vee kee

Hi omveganyogi,

the guy din just approach us like that. It is a long story, but to cut it short, he was our driver who took us to white water rafting. He holds 2 jobs, one as a driver cum tour guide, the other as a restaurant manager at nite. My hubby and I feel that the people there are generally a friendly and trustworthy bunch. Din meet any crooks there but I guess you have to exercise some judgement. :p

Tourist touting is inevitable. They are very very persistent one. But after a while you get numb to it...hehehe...

Between Mauritius and Bali, I prefer Bali. I went to Mauritius for my honeymoon last year..hehehe... But Mauritius has a much cooler climate, not so humid. Bali is cheaper and massages and spa in Bali is so much more affordable than Mauritius.

Do have a great time in Bali! Have fun!

omveganyogi

hi veekee,

can u actaully list here, if you prefer, for those spa contact cos i am not quite sure or know which is gd for a full body scrub and massage over there and afraid got cheated like in BKK when i was there for massage.

I looking into ambience beside a gd service cos i believe ambience with aromatherapy is improtant to feel total relaz. I am not fussy with food i am fine with raw salad and fruits will keep me alive during my stay over there but if is not too troublesome for u pls jsut a brief one for my meat eater moster hubby :D

many thanks for your help vee kee and i do hope i can get what i want from bali for home deco and oh yes which travel agency give gd deal on short trip?

thanks dear!

estella

Hi omveganyogi,

You may want to call Newly Tours (tel:65364711). Saw on today's classified. Bali 3D2N (on Garuda) at $399 with free bonus of 2N meaning in total 5D4N. I just called.. the lady said the hotel is Bintang Bali (or is it Bintan Bali). But it's 10 min's drive to Kuta. Check out the websites for the hotel.. if it's Ramada Bintang Bali Resort.. it seems like a good deal.

My hubby & I stayed at Bali Matahari hotel in Kuta when I was there earlier this year. Planning to go to Bali again in June.

Missed out the VISA promotion (which ended on 10 May) on $250 air ticket on SQ!

seabreeze

Dear gal,

Just booked my trip to Bali! YEAH!!

Me saw the Garuda offer ... but realised that they only have evening flights ... which mean that when you reach there its already one night ... think thats the reason why the threw in the free nights lor ...

april

Er...anyone has got good hotels to recommend? Preferably clean and safe, it would be a plus if there are shops/eateries within walking distance, like patong beach in phuket??? Which would be better, kuta or nusa dua beach?

enya

if u are thinking of nusa dua, go for the nusa dua beach hotel. i stayed at the hilton the other time .. other than the fantastic beach (better than the one at nusa dua beach hotel), decor etc is soso at hilton, as compared to nusa dua beach hotel.

if u want to stay at kuta, be prepared to stay in a place like patong beach .. very commercialised and lots of shopping .. beach wise, alot of locals haggling u to buy this buy that at kuta...

may

hi vee kee,

Where did you go for white water rafting and how did you book it? Did you book it in Singapore or in Bali? How much does it cost.

omveganyogi

hi vee kee, you do white water rafting? wow u are very garang huh...i never dare though i think is fun to try and witness that but i just chicken out during my new zealand trip. is it dangerous i heard u will be throw out of the dingy? hwo is it like.

by the way i heard from the yesterday news regarding last yr bombing at bali i was so scared they will do it again since now media bring this up...shd i go or not ...i got to book trip soon

jag

A check with those who've been to Bali. Did you buy a lot of surf wear? Are brands like quilksliver, rip curl and stussy cheaper than in Singapore? If so, where did you buy from?

V

vee kee

Hi April,

Kuta area (ie the bombing area) is very convenient, with lots of shopping and food places. I stayed at Hard Rock Bali. It is a nice clean hotel.

Hi May,

oops...i can't remember where I did the rafting. I only remembered I rowed from somewhere to Ubud.

I booked the trip in Bali. Actually, the contact I gave in the previous posting helped me arrange it.

It is 300,000RP per person, roughly abt S$60+. Transport and lunch is provided.

Hi omveganyogi,

I oso very chicken one. Took a lot of convincing from my hubby b4 I agreed. Actually the rapids there I think is not very fast. If I am not scared, it shd be very mild.

I take it as a rowing trip lor... So for those who are more garang, you can give this trip a miss.

The bombing incident...hmmm... if the terrorist decide to bomb the place again, they will be pretty disappointed. There isn't much tourists there. I think it is pretty safe but you have to be comfortable abt going there...

Hi Jag,

There are lots of surf wear there... Prices...I dunno if it is cheap or not, coz I dun buy them in Singapore. I only checked out the surf shorts....Prices range from $40 and above for brands like Billabong, Ripcurl...

may

Hi Seabreeze,

When are you going to Bali? I was told that Garuda is quite full. SO in the end, I am flying by SQ this Thursday.

angelbb

Hi Jag,

You can get cheap surf wear at the Surf Factory Outlet. Located about 5mins walk from the DFS Galleria. I bought my genuine Oakleys there for $80. Singapore selling for $250.
22109.gif

This shop not really known to even the locals, so you'll have to ask directions from DFS staff. They will be able to give you more detailed directions if you lose your way. Can see my previous msg from this thread too. Enjoy your Bali trip!

seabreeze

Hi May ...

Me flying off on 11 June ... after my ROM heehee ... anyway the Garuda promo is until Oct right??

So which hotel u staying? Me booked the Hard Rock Bali ... strongly recommended by my frens ...

Btw ... those who have been for the spa recommended by Monica ... $50 is per pax or for the couple hur??

may

Hi Seabreeze,

I am leaving this Thursday and will be there for 4 days. I am staying in Bali Dynasty. Apparently, SQ does not have promotions with Hard Rock Cafe. I was deciding to stay either at Nusa Dua Beach Hotel or Bali Dynasty and choose Bali Dynasty cos it in Kuta area. When I get back from Bali will update you.

seabreeze

Hi May ...

Me booked with the travel agency ler ... think maybe hard rock the price is high compared to the rest lor ....

Tell me more when u back ... help me 'rack-ee' first ...

angelbb

Hi May!
I stayed at Bali Dynasty too! Found it very nice and rather grand. I heard SQ staff stays there quite often during their stay-over. The kuta Beach behind the hotel was a bit coral-y when I went in Feb, maybe due to monsoon season or something. If you really wanna enjoy a nice nice beach, can also take a cab to Nusa Dua Beach abt 15mins, cabfare will come up to around $5-6 (I think 30K-40Krupiahs).

Seabreeze, can you update me on Hard Rock? Cos my cousin going there, in June too, but he heard that cos it's near the bombsite, so they still have lingering smell of the tragedy... I told him I don't know anything abt it, cos I didn't go to the bombsite to have a look during my trip on Feb, so I dun know what to advise him. Hope you'll update us please? Thanks!!

seabreeze

Hi Jag,

Me booked the package for $570 per pax (include tax, hotel, transfer, breakfast, air ticket of cos!!)

If u stay in other hotels it would be cheaper lor ...

The Garuda promo is still on ... but the SQ one just ended last Friday.

Hi AngelBB,

Well heard that the bomb side is the more happening side ... will let u know when i am back ... me going 11 June ... when is your cousin going?

Maybe May can help us take a look first ... she is going in 3 days time ...

V

vee kee

Hi AngelBB,

I stayed at Hard Rock Bali. Din smell anything. So shd be quite okay.. The hotel is nice and clean and very colourful. Enjoyed myself there!

Hi Seabreeze,

$50 is per pax..not per couple...

may

Hi Seabreeze!

I will check it up. I intend to go to the bombsite as I heard from my colleague that it is already covered up. But anyway, just go there and look see look see.

Hi AngelBB!
Thanks for the information. Did you try the restaurant in Bali Dynasty?

Did anyone went to Ku De Ta Restaurant? Heard that it is very nice. Want some feedback.

omveganyogi

hi seabreeze, whch airline are u with? should i actaully book from the guruda airlines or sia directly instead for a cheaper rate. we dun really need breakfast provided cos i think is more fun to go outside and explore thier local food there.

what is the SQ and garuda timing ?any advise here?

estella

Singapore to Denpasar/Bali
SQ142 0935/1205
SQ146 1400/1630
SQ148 1640/1910
GA841 1815/2050
SQ150 1905/2135

Denpasar/Bali to Singapore
SQ141 0925/1155
SQ143 1305/1535
GA840 1445/1715
SQ147 1725/1955
SQ149 2000/2230

seabreeze

Hi omve,

I have booked with SQ. The 'problem' with Garuda is that there is only 1 flight in the evening ... which means that we will 'waste' one day ...

Must admit that Garuda's offer is very attractive for Hard Rock ... abt $100 cheaper than SQ ... but they dun have breakfast ... so +/- abt the same one lor ...

But the promo for SQ has ended ... u can check out what package they have now lor ...

lynn

hi vee kee,

the transport from hotel to spa and vice versa is it complimentary? where is the spa? is it in a hotel or a building by itself?

Lynn

angelbb

Hi Seabreeze & Vee Kee, My cousin going around 18th June... Do update us when you're back!

Hi May, yup! I triend the Chinese Restaurant. Food is quite good. And very clean too.

sakurasan

I'm intending to to go Bali next month. We hope to stay in Nusa Dua. I was thinking of either Nikko Bali or Nusa Dua Beach Hotel.

Would appreciate some recommendations!

gems

Anyone has any idea how much to tip in Bali? Rp5000? and also, if take a cab from airport to Kuta (Bali Dynasty) how much is the cab fare? Thanks

enya

i only stayed in nusa dua beach hotel & bali hilton before. personally, i think the beach at bali hilton is fantastic. but the hotel amenities, design etc ... i think nusa dua beach hotel is better. in any case, both hotels are of 5star quality, so i dun think you will regret any!