Bali

shanie

no prob

i got a rude shock when i was trying to book the promo tickets with them

kisetsu

Hi all, thanks for providing all these useful info., esp Estella, Monica...will absorb all and note down all the places/spa/salon/food that u recommended or avoid...

To KPO for sharing your fotos....they are very nice, esp the sunset at Kuta 3...

krabbi

juz a note for u ppl out there...the Krabi tics @$100 per pax is indeed sold out but if u really want, u can request to be put on the waiting list... i did that on Monday and by Tuesday afternoon, the tour agency called me to tell me that I got the tickets! yay!

So no harm trying lah....cos i think being s'poreans, sure got a lot of ppl just book the cheap tickets first, then later realise no time or cannot take leave, then have to cancel the tickets....so sure got a few last-minute cancellations.... :p

krabbi

just for the benefit for all interested here, the Silkair promo airfares are as below. Conditions for travel are as what Shanie has posted.

Destination Prices in SGD

Chiang Mai 180
Kunming 180
Krabi 100
Macau 180
Manado 180
Medan 100
Langkawi 75
Padang 75
Palembang 75
Solo City 165

krabbi

Yup, erowen, it's a 2-way ticket.

U can check out www.silkair.com for the contact no.

Alternatively, u can just call up the tour agencies that advertise in the Classified Ads. Last I checked, there's still a handful of them still advertising the promo rates. So just call them up and ask them if the promo tickets are still available. If they are not, just request to be put on the waiting list.

aiyah..most of the tics sold out already lah..i've called numerous agencies
luckily i managed to grab tickets for the earlier lombok promotion! airtic + accommodation3D/2N is $245!

enya

i'm thinking of going to bali .. and probably avoid staying in the kuta area .. thinking of the nusa dua area - either nusa dua or bali hilton. anyone has any recommendations on where to go and visit during my 4d3n there? is 4d3n sufficient?

no name

hi enya,

how abt staying in ubud area? That's their cultural and arts centre so think there're more things to see/do. But it's not at the beach. so if you prefer to stay near the beach, you might want to consider making a day trip there.

lynn

hi enya

U can visit the kintamani area and mt batur a volcanic crater, and tanah lot at sunset, hire a driver and see bali's spectecular rice terraces and country side.

Go to ubud area for local arts and crafts, nusa dua for the expensive US$ priced 5* resorts, kuta/legian/seminyak for shopping, entertainment and food.

V

vee kee

I will be going to Hard Rock Bali end April for 4D3N. Was wondering if there are any good spas in Bali that is recommended?

Do I need to make a booking here in Singapore before going there?

thx!

guy

Hi Vee Kee,

I went to the spa as recommended by Monica Eng. You can get more info by looking at her postings. By the way, there's great pool in Hard Rock. If you like to laze around the pool, you need to allocate more time to stay inside the hotel.

V

vee kee

Hi guy!

Did u book your spa experience there or when you went to Bali?

Did u stay at Hard Rock too?

enya

is hard rock hotel as fantastic as the 5* hotels at nusa dua? but can't enjoy the beach at hard rock .. heard many horror stories about street peddling at kuta!!

behappy

hi vee kee,

which package did you book ? Is it the garuda one ?
I tot they limit to travel by 31 March ?

sorry for so many questions, bec we would like to go there too....

guy

Hi Vee Kee,

I booked the spa when I was in Bali. They came to fetch me. Local calls are not that expensive, so no need to worry about that. I used credit cards there, & the rates are quite similar to the exchange rates in Sg. I stayed in Hard Rock, & it has a fantastic pool. Another great pool that I saw was in Bali Cliff, though it's a little small. If you stay during the weekends, be sure to go to the Kuta beach. You can see lots of ppl enjoy there. If you go during weekdays, the beach may be a little too quiet.

Hi Enya,
Don't worry about the ppl in Kuta. I was a little worried initially, but got used to it quite easily. It's just their way of doing business. Didn't cause any harm to me.

Hi girlgirl,
Good news for you. Garuda extended their package until end-May.

V

vee kee

Hi Guy,

I am so looking forward to it!
I will reach there on Thursday, depart on Sunday.

Any good makan places to recommend in the Kuta area? Are places like Jimbaran, Ubud very far from Kuta? Did u book any of the day tours there? paiseh...a lot of questions...

Hi girlgirl,

Guy is rite! they extended the package until 31st May! I booked the Garuda package

guy

Hi vee kee,
Since you departing Sunday, you should plan your Kuta beach tour on Saturday. I went on Sunday later afternoon, & quite enjoyed it. Well, in Kuta, we didn't really tried a lot of makan places, as we have 1 complimentary dinner in Hard Rock, & prefer to spend more time exploring the places rather than staying in the eating places. But there are 2 cafes along the road towards Matahari Square. Don't try the once nearest to Matahari Square, as the food is not that nice, & quite ex. Btw, Mac is not bad, compared to KFC, if u need to take fast-food.

Ubud is quite far. About an hr's journey. Btw, who are you going with?
Jimbaran was quite a good place for seafood. About 1/2 hr from Kuta. I didn't book any day tours there. Quite ex. Rented a car to bring us around.

V

vee kee

Hi Guy,

thx for the info!

My package dun come with any meals leh...
So we have to eat out most of our meals liao... BTW, I am going with my hubby. I gather that you are a guy? How did you enjoy your spa experience? My hubby like not very keen leh...

The seafood meal sound really good.. yummy..feel hungry already!

How much did you spend there?

travelhappy

Guy,

I've stayed in Bali Cliff many years ago. Aside from the pool, which is cool, there's nothing much really. Expensive and bit remote. Give me Sheraton at Nusa Dua Anytime. btw, Melia Bali is really so-so only but better than Bali Cliff w/o pool.

Vee Kee,

Do try KU DE TA!!! I missed it as I was really sick on my last trip. But according to everybody, it's the place to be at right now, located slightly further from Legian, near Oberoi area. Real cool place and food supposed to be great too. Check out their website (can't remember the site but can try search). It's a cool site.

Enya,

I too dislike the peddlers which is why I rarely stop to look at anything even the ones in shops. I find bargaining tiring and therefore prefers to shop at Matahari. I love Bali but people wise I prefer the Thais.

enya

hi everyone!

where is Ku De Ta? i think we are really torn between hard rock cafe and nusa dua beach hotel ...

girlgirl: SQ has a promotion now .. 3d2n 478 .. staying at hard rock cafe! call up fivestars for more information!

guy

Hi vee kee,

You are right. I'm a guy. I went with my wife. Intially, didn't really like to try spa, but my wife sort of 'forced' me to. 'cos I don't think I'll try it in Sg. Anyway, it didn't feel that bad. In fact, quite relaxing, as there's massage first. Btw, if you having the spa with your hubby, they will arrange a room just for the 2 of you. And there's a floral bath just inside the room, after the spa.

The seafood in Jimbaran was quite nice. Fish, prawns & squid about S$30, for my wife & I. Initially thought it seems quite ex, compared to their cost there. But if you compared to Sg standard, definitely worth it. There's two part of the beach. One looks more romantic, as the beach is cleaner. The other side was quite dirty, with dead fishes on the beach! I had my meals at the cleaner side, but my colleagues went to the other side & said it's quite nice food too. & cheaper I assume.

Kudeta is quite nice. Try http://www.kudeta.net/. The website is quite slow, but just bear with it. Price is about the same as restaurants in Sg, but atmosphere is much better (than Fullerton).

Hi enya,
I'm not sure abt the hotel in nusa dua, but HR is quite gd. But it's not really a very big place though. Initally, my wife & I were quite disappointed, as it's not as grand as we thought. But the pool is easily the best in bali (more so after we've seem pools in other 3* hotels that we stayed in later). Try to surf hard rock website to find out more.

V

vee kee

Hi Guy,

Thanks for your feedback! I will try to coerce my hubby to go for the spa... Sounds like you really enjoyed the Bali trip rite?

Kudeta... I went to see the website liao..looks really upmkt... will not miss it if I have the time...

enya

anyone tried bali intercontinental or bali hilton? are they near to any seafood restaurants? dun think we want to have hotel food everyday!!

helen

I'm planning a Bali honeymoon trip in April. Understand current promo 3d2n S$348 @ Hard Rock. Called agency, said cant extend stay @ other hotels, oni Hard Rock if take tis promo pkge. We intend 2 stay there probably a wk. Hard Rock's rm charges bit ex. Wanna try Hotel Matahari which Estella recommended. How d yr bk yr trip 2 Bali?? F&E pkge or juz buy air tix & bk hotel there? How do yr extend yr stay if take up Hard Rock promo? Thanks much for any reply.

guy

Hi Helen,

If you not really want to stay in Hard Rock, you can just buy the airticket from SQ at $290, & book a week's stay in Hotel Matahari ($20 a day). Total only $430. And you get a better airline. If you take 3d2n HR at $348, it's by Garuda, an evening flight, & u reach there at ard 9pm, which sort of wasted a day's hotel stay.

U can also take up 3d2n HR by SQ at $448. In that case, u can extend stay in other hotels.

estella

Hi Helen,

We booked on www.indo.com. It's US$20 per nite's stay at Hotel Matahari. We flew on SQ too (tickets at S$290). Really had a great time there.. do read my previous postings ok?

enya

can book thru fivestarsonline. 438 per pax - 3d2n, fly via SQ, stay at nusa dua beach hotel. includes airport txfer, daily breakfast, + one optional half day tour!

helen

Hi Guy, estella & enya:

Thank u so much 4 yr prompt reply. Oh SQ so cheap? $290 can go leh. We not necessarily must stay @ Hard Rock. Cos check papers cheapest is Hard Rock pkge $348 3d2n. But cant extend at other hotels so very disappointed. Hey Guy, Matahari is US$20 not S$20 so add up ttl 1 person S$416. Oh if stay HR by SQ can xtend other hotels..but got 2 pay addnl S$200.
Estella,
Yes, i read yr earlier posting abt Matahari Hotel & other places. Tat's y we wanna stay there since yr cmmt so gd

Another ?. Heard it's very hot there. Stay there 2 days cannot tahan liao. Is tat true? When is the best time 2 go Bali?

sleepy

For ur interest...NATAS Fair happening this weekend...I saw one on 4 days 3 nights + 1night free @368...do u think it is a good promo? I'm planning to go Bali for honeymoon in July. Do u think it's too early to book...I got no clue abt traveling...

Is it necessary to have guided tour in Bali?

travelhappy

For those keen to stay in Hard Rock Hotel, just a word of caution. Some ads here says that HR is 5 stars but many international tour sites claim that it's 4 stars (tho I've seen a pic of the room and looks oh so comfy).

The last time I walked past the hotel (side entrance) with intention to check something with security guards, noticed that there's a counter selling swimming tickets. Meaning that non-staying guests can pay to access and swim at their pool. I don't quite like this idea as the pool will therefore be very crowded. Seen quite a few locals buying the tickets to go for a swim.

Talking abt pool, Sheraton Laguna has this wonderful lagoon area that seems to run all over it's public/garden area. If you stay at the 1st level rooms (probably a deluxe suite) you can jump into the pool right from your balcony. Imagine swimming there and your partner feeds you strawberries and champagne from the balcony.... hahahahaaa so romantic... The beachside pavilions are also super stylish/classy/romantic.

enya

heyo

i checked out natas fair today!! SQ has this great offer .. $438 for 3d2n, flying by SQ, staying at bali hilton, plus one complimentary half day city tour, plus 1 free 50 mins massage thrown in!!! extension at 65 / nite!!!! includes daily breakfast + airport transfer!!!

travelhappy

Heard that Hilton's a great place. Are u booking? Have a fabulous time there.

enya

is hilton good? have u stayed there before? i wonder with the current war situation, is it still safe to go to bali!! but i have booked my fne package ...

angelbb

Hi Hi!!

I just came back from Bali since Feb. Stayed at the Bali Dynasty Hotel, Kuta beach area. I think if you're actually staying along the Kuta Beach, and your main enjoyment is gonna be suntanning, then its not very neccessary to stay at a Hotel with Kuta beach at the "back yard". Cos Kuta beach very coral-ly... the sand very rough, not very enjoyable to walk on. But you can always get a cab to Nusa Dua beach - about 10-15mins ride away from the Kuta area. Cost you about $5-6 SGP dollars... around 30000-40000rupiah. The Nusa Dua beach very very pretty!! Go to the main area where Hyatt Hotel is... got very nice, clean toilets for you to use, bath & stuff, but you may not be allowed to use the hotel's chair unless you're a guest staying there. And beware of the COCONUT!!!! Costs $9 SGP !!!!! PER COCONUT!!! Argh!!!!

Oh, and if you like cheap surf stuff, there's a surfwear factory outlet between Kuta & Nusa Dua area. Can't remember the road name liao (something like JL BYPASS - NGURAH RAI), but you can take a cab (make sure it's the meter one hor!) and go to the DFS shop called Galleria. Costs you about $4 SGP to go there from Kuta - maybe about 5mins ride. Then ask directions from the DFS... it's about a less than 5mins walk from there - like walking from Tangs to Paragon like that lah... Rather cheap stuff,got my Oakley sunglass there for SGP $80 (SGP selling about $200+++)

The Matahari Art market is nice - but beware of hard selling merchants. And if you buy bikini from them.... colour will run a bit one... but okay lah, cheap lor.... about $8-$12 SGP per set, sort of cotton material kind...

Oh, and if thinking of buying DVDs, there's an aircon shop near the 7-Eleven near the Matahari Art Market that sells DVD. Quality not bad, and can test b4 you buy, so just make sure got English diaologue, got subtitle very good liao... about SGP$5-7. But be careful of customs.... :p

Last of all, if you wanna go for any guided tours, personally I booked my one day tour in singapore. costed me additional SGP$30 per person. Most packages I see that are offered at Bali hotels are USD$25-30 per person... so just take note hor... but this one not guaranteed ah.... if you find very good lobangs there, CONGRATS!!

eh... can't remember anything else much liao, cos getting abit late. Heehee, but pleeeease, dun sun tan too long - I got so bad a burn that I was peeling from face to ankles for 2 whole weeks! And I only tanned for one day....

Cheers! Enjoy Bali!

angelbb

Oh yah, something about the street vendors... they're actually very nice people, just very harden with a difficult life... you may wanna start chit chatting with the not so agreesive ones if you like... If you can pass off as very young, just say you're still studying, and went Bali during school hoildays or something... These people have so much about their lives that they want just want a listening ear sometimes. But in any case... still.... practice caution yah?

enya

sounds like u had alot of fun at bali!!!! did u check out hilton hotel at nusa dua? i'll be staying there .. wondering whether issit safe to travel to bali now!!!

mnm

hi enya,

jus back from Bali yesterday. Bali is very safe, not to worry. jus tat i went to the Kuta beach, those Bali beach girls (those sellers) r too "friendly", always pesting u to buy their stuff. u really need to bargain w them.... as i try to bargain 1 bracelet Rp20,000 which usual price is Rp80,000. they will ask u to buy more & give u a better price which i took 3 bracelets cost Rp50,000, oso bought 2 pairs of slippers 4 Rp50,000 (sew w those small shells etc). u need to bargain everywhere.......

btw, now Bali is very hot abt 31 degree, apply more lotion or u will bcome "charcoal".

their massage oso good. jus let u noe tat their Cream Bath (Rp60,000) actually is their hair cream treatment + hair massage + back massgage. at 1st, i thought is sum tin like milk bath but after reading their brochures is hair treatment. HA HA HA.

enya

hi mnm

where did u stay at bali? any good eating places to recommend? any good spa places to recommend?

mnm

hi enya,

i stayed @ Club Bali at Jayakarta Bali Residence (Legian, Kuta) which tat time i bought from the Time Sharing.

i didn't go for any resturant, juz eat those local food @ road side cafe which is their food taste good too.

the spa which i went so so only lah due to their massage is good but soaking in the bath is not so good bcos of the enviroment ;(

keep u inform tat now Bali oso fashion those Time Sharing Package. jus tell them u already buy from Singapore or else they'll pester u & u will b wasteing ur timing w them. (did u watch Channel U last nite??) jus dun buy from them... even they telling u or ur partner tat u hv win BIG prizes...

zen

hi enya,

when will you be going? i have also booked a bali package for departure this weekend. now with the SARs, I have doubts of whether to proceed.

enya

i'm flying this friday, back on monday ..going to equip myself with masks on the plane. i think shld be okay, singapore isn't that safe anyway. the no. of ppl with SARS is increasing too!
in any case, if u are flying by sq,there will be no penalty charges for cancellation, oni for the hotel rooms .. so it's really up to u!

where will u be staying at bali?

zen

hi enya, i am still waiting for the travel agent to revert.

i took the SIA holiday package with hotel at Bali Dynasty. ya, i was also thinking of arming myself and hubby with masks and disinfectants etc. if we are really proceeding.

enya

i am really thinking hard about whether to go, travel agent told me cannot cancel tour, cos sq onie waives penalty charges for those flying to affected destinations. heard there are suspected SARs cases in Indonesia, is it true?

angelbb

Hi Enya,
Dun worry too much about the SARs... enjoy yourself, and just take care of your overall health.

I just look on the bright side - out of so many people in Singapore, more than 3million has not contracted SARs (heehee, is that our population count?
). And out of the hundred odd people who had SARs in Singapore, more than 30 them are healed liao, and more than 60 of them are in the process of healing....
Just my personal point of view....

zen

hi enya,

you are suppose to travel this friday right? i have the same problem. after several days of contempleting, we were suppose to have decided to go ahead but last night things seem to be changing after my mil insisted that we should not go. sign.. not sure what to do now. i called the agent, both the airline (SQ) and agent will charge cancellation fee.

was so looking forward to this break.

helen

My wedding juz over last Sun & havent decided where 2 go 4 honeymoon. Original plan was Bali but now wif Sars, dunno whether safe 2 go. Also, cos of war now Bali no "ang mo". Those who r going, pls feedback yr experience here. Thanks much. We tinking of going 2 Thailand instead...seems like the safest place.

enya

i think thailand also not that safe, sARs outbreak there too rite?

in anycase, i'm flying there tomorrow!! wait for my update when i'm back on monday!