Bali Trip

jayonghs

I will be goin to bali in Jan 05. I will be staying at kuta. anyone been there recently? I need advice on where the place of interest and how much per person spent there.......I have book the resort and air ticket for my honeymoon trip........

Hi Jayen,

Where will you be staying? I know of lots of good restaurants there I can recommend for nice romantic dinners.

- Ku De Ta (my fav place there. By the beach. Great vibes. Food to die for)
- La Lucciola (also by the beach. Nice ambience)
- Warisan (nice setting by the padi fields)
- Le Terraza (terrace dining overlooking padi fields)
- Jimbaran seafood

Go to Kintamani where you can sit by the volcanos and admire the scenery. Take a day trip up to Ubud. Ubud is a quaint little arty town where you can walk around and enjoy the culture and pple. If you and your hubby are the fit and adventurous sort, take a dawn hike up Kintamani or Mt Agung to catch the sunrise. View is divine and very romantic.

And of course, go for a spa together. Tonnes there so I'm not even sure where to start.

My all-time favourite place was Bebik Bengil aka Dirty Duck Diner, Ubud. I went last Oct. and this al fresco restaurant a la balinese style was breath-takingly peaceful (in the middle of the paddy field with balinese sala for you to have your meal at.) It's recommended by several guide books so you can't go wrong. It's perfect if art and crafts are your thing since all the little stores and galleries are nearby along Monkey Forest Road. Try their specialty, some roasted duck entree and for dessert, the apple streudel a la mode. I loved the food there and stayed for 4hrs just eating, relaxing, and taking tonnes of pix.

I've got the address if you need it.

A good place for buying cheap art and craft and souvenirs would be Pasar Ubud. Tonnes of good deals if you can bargain... but do it nicely!

As for Kuta, there's a restaurant called Made's Warung. It serves Indonesian food there and I tried the nasi goreng. Quite nice too and the ambience's pretty unique.

I also agree with Pink panther. Kintamani's view is gorgeous and the air is so fresh and cool. There's a really strange village across the lake where the local customs dictates that the dead are not to be buried. Instead they leave the corpse under a special type of tree and the stench of rotting human flesh is supposedly absorbed by the bark. You can only get there by taking a little boat though but you can see it when you're at Kintamani. It's straight out from Tales from the Crypt or Twilight Zone. May not be advisable to go there...

I'm not sure if there are day trips to all these places coz what we did was hire a driver for SGD40 a day, if I remember correctly.

Yup, there are day trips there. Havent been to the corpse place but would defintely do it the next time I go. Best thing to do is hire your own car and driver. Doesnt cost much. They can plan the day for you based on what you like to see and you can do things at your own pace.

Hi Jayen,

I just came back from Bali. .It was really beautiful. We stayed at Melia Benoa Hotel at Nusa Dua which has a pte beach, so it was quite nice and romantic.

A visit to Ubud to view the rice terrace is a must and seafood at Jimbaran Bay too.

We got a driver/tour guide who charged us about 40 dollars a day. His name is Dewa and u can get his contact at www.baliexplore.com . He seems more quiet and knowledgeable than the general tour guides I met.

But if u are travelling by Garuda, let me warn u about the flight delay. For both trips (to and fro), we had to wait over two hours of delay!!!

Have fun and u will love Bali.

i'm rather interested in the following hotels. let me know if you've been there or heard any comments abt them.

1. kuta - harris
2. legian - padma
3. legian - courtyard
4. nusa dua - conrad

Hi D.O.G,

Sorry for the late reply. As I am a member of time share, the resort is booked under the yearly time share. For my airticket, I booked the SQ flight which currently having promotion at SG$248 excl. tax.

Hi iamschizoid,
Do yoo hire any driver/tour guide when you are in bali? If yes, can you let me know the rate? Thanks for your information.

Hi may,
Is the $40 in US or SG dollar? Thanks for your warning for the delay but lucky i will be taking SQ for this trip.

Jayen

Hi Jayen,

Can i know where u booked your SQ airticket from? I'm looking to purchase 1 SQ ticket to Bali.

Hi edksd,

I stayed at Kuta Harris when I was there in Jul 04. I would say that the hotel rate is reasonable and value for money, but don't expect too much in terms of facilities or room amenities. However, the location is pretty centralised, as it is pretty near Poppies Lane which enables you to cut thru to the main shopping street.

Hi Jayen,

Initially I engaged the services of Dewa Parwita, the guy from Baliexplore.com but apparently he was double booked and had to leave us in Ubud to pick up another client that was just arriving on the same day. The next day, Dewa sent his friend Billy Riwan over as our driver for the day. Turns out Billy was a lot more easy going, cheerful and a caring fellow. Both their rates are the same which was SGD40/for 8hrs of driving and guiding incl of gasoline. Lemme know if you want Billy's contact ok?

Hi iamschizoid,

Can you give me the Billy's contact? I think the rate is reasonable. I may want to email him before I leave for Bali.

Jayen

Hi all, I'm toying with the idea of visiting Bali for a break in January or February also.

May I know how long did you guys stay there, and how much did you each spend for the trip? Other than the beautiful beaches and padi fields, are there any cheap shopping lobang available also?

Hi iamschizoid,

can i know how much you spend there? I need to estimate the amount of money I need to bring and spend there. By the way, how much is the food/drink cost in Rp$? as this is the 1st time I am goin to a country with the curreny in thousand n million.

hi i just returned from Bali one week ago. i have a driver's contact that you might want to use.
I Made Sumerta
hp. 081 755 2846, email: [email protected]
tel. (0361)751 660
I stayed at Legian Paradiso, he is one of the many drivers who stand along the rd everyday to get business. he speaks english, drives you around, and gives you ideas if you are not sure what you want to see.
he charged us 150,000rph for a half day tour. you can contact him to pick u up from airport. my airport transfer missed us, in the end we have to take own taxi to hotel.
i brought 500sing dollars but in the end spent only about 300sing. dun worry about the money part, you can always change currency there. the rates they put up is better than singapore, but must ask them how much is their commission 1st before you change.
monsoon is from about nov to feb actually, but i think it will not flood. the 4 days i were there, it actually didn't rain at all, so it was quite ok. even if it rains, it is over quite fast, somewhat like singapore weather.
just my experience to share.

Hi Jayen,

Forgotten to check back on this thread. Thousand apologies.

My fiance and I brought about SGD 900 with us and we still had quite a bit left (SGD 200-300) after shopping. Mind you, we didn't patronize any of the up-market galleries or boutiques. We spent mostly on nick knacks at Pasar Ubud and on our meals.

Breakfast should be included so you needn't worry about that. Just to give you an idea, my meal at the Bebek Bengil Diner and Made's Warung ended up being SGD 20-30 for two. But these are proper resturants. I'm not so sure about side street stalls (which I really don't recommend. Apparently, the hygiene practices in Indonesia is one of the worst in Southeast Asia. One more thing, try NOT to to use their ice cubes. Get cold drinks in a bottle or a can.

Oh, remember to keep some money for your airport tax upon departure.

Have fun!

Hi Jayen
Ubud is a lovely town that's not to be missed! Aside from the dirty duck restaurant mentioned earlier, there is also Lamak, where the food is simply fabulous too!
Don't worry too much about hiring drivers from here. There are plenty in Bali and you can get very good bargains, if you don't mind haggling at Kuta.
We DIYed a road trip for about 5 days. Chartered a car which brought us around Bali for those days and it costed us only S$30 per day (if I did not remember wrongly).
The Mount Batur sunrise hike is only for the super fit. Starting off about 3 in the morning and reaching crater at about 6+ to catch sunrise. Temperature is low at about 10-15 degrees and can get colder if it rains.
You can try white water rafting there. Fun and not too strenuous!
If you love to cook or love Balinese food, there is also no harm in taking Balinese cooking lessons! I spent one morning learning to cook some basic Balinese dishes! ;P

hi zzee!! u manage to learn some cooking skills over there?? i am interested. urs lesson from the hotel? thanks

Hi DaBee, I took lessons from a restaurant called Bumbu Bali at Ubud, along Monket Forest Road. Lessons start in the morning with a trip in the market to learn how to choose the fresh ingredients and spices (we skipped that cos we didn't have time), followed by the cooking session. We learnt to make 4-5 local dishes. All ingredients, recipes and an apron were provided. We watched the chef, helped him out at making some dishes and got to eat the food as we went along. The group was very small, only me and my friends. If I remember correctly, we paid about S$30 each. It was a good change to the normal travel routine. Have fun! :P

hi zzee:

thanks that's sound cool. fun!!! do i need to book these cooking lessons from the restuarant in sg or go bali then book with them on the spot?

Hi DaBee
We just walked into the restaurant and booked our lessons. I suppose if you book there, you can bargain on prices a bit as well as get them to customise the menu items for you.

is it safe to go bali ? I havnt been there in yrs, was wondering if its safe. gals who been there recently can help? thanks, kinda paranoid cos planning to go for honeymoon after rom.

Anyone know whether it would be tough to walk in to book any accomodation in Bali during March 2005 period ? My wife and I are planning a trip to Bali. Had already booked our air ticket but not accomodation. Couple of friends said it pretty easily to walk in and book the accomodation over a Bali. Do not know if this is true!

hi jimmy,
we r also planning for bali trip in feb..

we r still contemplating to book villa or hotel resort.. cos' the villas seem so tempting but of cos' more ex.. we might settle with alila ubud & alila manggis.. 2 nites each.. so will be there for 5D4N.

how abt u?

Suelynn,

I am clearing my Krisflyer mileage. So got 2 free tickets. Travelling with Singapore Airlines.

duffybuff,

Will be there 4D3N. How much per night is alila ubud charging ? And by the way where is alila manggis ? Is it far from ubud ? Think of spending 2 nights at ubud and 1 night over at Kuta!

hi jimmy,
checked asiatravel.com, they r hvg a promo of 3D2N land package (w/o airfare) for alila ubud at US280 and alila manggis at US220 for 2nites.. so all in all, US500 for 4 nites.. i'm writing to the hotel to check if we can hv special rates since we are patronising their chain of hotels. Manggis is somewhere along Karangasem, seems abit far from kuta though..

how many point to go to Bali on SQ?

We're thinking of going to Bali as well...hehe, lazy to check...

for those who hv been there to bali.. approx how much did u spend all in all?

we r planning to go for 5D4N, for airfare & accommodation, we are spending approx. 1.6-1.8k, is that too much?? cos' we are staying at 2 diff places.. alila ubud and alila manggis.. any views?
pls share. tks!

thanks, jimmy...I read that redeem online got 15% discount!
Now we shall ask if any of our friends wanna go.

anyone juz came back fr Bali?
Wednesday there's was an earthquake.. no casualty nor injured..
Were the bldgs there damaged?
Going to Bali this 13 Feb.. not sure is it safe to go...

I'm planning a trip to Bali in March n wondering if anybody noe of any good spa (not too ex also)ard either nusa dua or kuta area?

Hi Duffybuff,

was reading this thread when you mentioned about alila ubud..
I stayed there on my last trip last year..
The year before, i stayed in Maya Ubud and personally i prefer maya over alila..
But also becos i got a villa for maya while for alila i did not..
Both are of high standards of cos..
Y don't you check out Maya ubud since you are willing to pay for this price?
If at the end of the day, you pick alila, try out their mandara spa. World renowned apparantly. But me stingy then. never try..

Puiggy: For spa, i've tabulated the following as not bad..I've not tried them. Only seen reviews about it..
1. Martha Tilar
2. Melasti Beach Resort (popular among ang mo)
3.Wisata Spa (i tried this. ok)
4. Zen ( but this is in ubud)

Don't have too high an expectation for spa in bali..diff from singapore. Unless you doing it at some high end hotels of cos..

hey all. I'm planning to go bali in mid sept. U guys seems to be doing F&E.... is it not worth it to do package tour? It costs ard $518 for a 3D3N package w Garuda Air staying at nusa dua beach hotel or 418 at bali dynasty hotel. It incls airport transfer n free afternoon tanah lot sunset tour and seafood dinner at timbaran beach. Please advice.

Hi cookiemonster,

I went to Bali in Nov. I highly recommend Tegal Seri www.tegalsari-ubud.com in Ubud. Very good service and if you are lucky to get the newer rooms, it's very nice. All their rooms faces the padi field. You can go spa, shopping, sea sports, sun tanning in bali. It's a nice getaway and you can spend most of your time lazing around. Their food is also cheap and good.

Jeannie,

for Bali, i would recommend F&E because you can arrange all the tours yourself depending on your schedule, weather, etc. tour agents are available everywhere in Kuta and other towns, or you call them (just get the brochures at the airport when you arrive), or get your hotel to recommend... thats what i did

Planning a trip to Bali in April. Any idea if it is the monsoon season? How much does this cost per pax anyone know??