Aromatherapy

HI cynthia

i've actually emailed them to ask do they allow FH to wait there while wife do the treatment. haha. and also if got parking space. if all ok, then at least can ask my FH if he can drive us there since there's only two of us.

i also ask them for directions how to go. if it's easier to go ourselves i wont want to trouble him too.

so u also interested in the head massage too is it?? i will update u lah. Oh yes, i've placed order for the books and probably be able to receive them by end of the month. will also keep u posted on this

Thanks, SSL

Lynn, do you normally get your EOs from Jessica, other shops in Singapore or from overseas websites? Which is better - in terms of range and prices?

cynthia

I am thinking of getting from oversea cos Jessica don't carry it and I do find other shops selling but the price is horrible though...of cos at oversea, the range is so much wide and cheaper also..but cannot say the same about shipping.. 1 lb for US$42...So I must make my choice very carefully.

Hi cynthia

yes i usually buy from jessica. lately only bought the robinson another range. For me, normally i will calculate if its cheaper to get in spore or overseas lor. unless spore dont have and we want then will get it from overseas.

i hope i can tahan not to buy anymore for the time being cos i have so many bottle now. :p

soli, one suggestion maybe u can seek jessica's help to order in from u. maybe she has lobang (wholesale price??) so cheaper??

Maybe loh.. check with her again when she's back.. any of you know when ?? I am eyeing on the CO2's rosehip oil at US$15 for 30ml, fine lavender at $7.65 for 30ml..so much more..

maybe u and cynthia can combine order and bargain for bulk discounts??
any problem for importing into spore?? need to go through custom checking?

I think there should not be any restriction for essential oils though...went through the list many time already.

Lynn, the CO2's rosehip oil and fine lavender... are you talking about importing it yourself (i.e. buying over the Internet) or getting Jessica to source from her supplier?

hi cynthia & SSL,

I can hardly tahan the smell of T3 2. Wow..

Thanks for the xtra advise (so nice of you). I am using a cottonbud for application

I just bought 2 bottles of Lavender EO from The Scent Shop (TSS) @13.90. I took a smell at all other EO. Wow...only Lavender smell nicer. I heard from the sales staff from TSS that their Lavender sells very well and the stock comes weekly. I am goin to try Lavender tonite
Before that I am using Bergamot from Body Shop ($9.90 for 5ml). I like the smell emitted from the burner. Can really calm my mind and make me feel more relax

I think TSS sells the cheapest Lavender EO. Maybe it is of a lower grade (as what SSL said).

I am keen to buy Ylang, ylang too but I can't tahan the smell. Am I the weird one?

Hi Miu,

I supposed Lavender sells better as it has quite a nice smell (much better than most other EOs) and is quite a magical oil itself too...

"Restoring balance is what Lavender does best, in mind or body - it will attempt to balance you - whatever state you're in. Sometimes it may relax, sometimes it may uplift, but it always works towards balance."

Hey, anyone tried Lavender for uplifting before??

I do not have Ylang Ylang EO yet, so can't comment on the smell. Anyway, tried smelling those tester bottles in Robinson... ended up one smell becomes similar to another =P

Read that using ylang ylang is good for lessening tensions or anxieties involving sexual matters. Try cotton wool balls with ylang ylang in your lingerie drawer. For him, use sandalwood to scent underwear.

cynthia

Hi SSL,

I think I am hooked on the tea tree foot bath liao... Din use as much tea tree drops as the first time, somehow now can tahan the smell much better now.

cynthia

hi Cynthia,

I am using lavender EO now, really like the smell emit out from the burner. Smell so nice....

The smell kinda remind me of my facial session. hehe.

Hi Cynthia,

I don't think Lavender is very uplifting. It make me so comfortable that I feel drowsy... I will check my office mail tomorrow. Okie??

Hi Miu,

Ylang ylang can give you a headache if you use generously in the burner cos it is too heady.. for strong scents, it's better to put one drop on tissue or cotton bud and wave it in front of your nose to take a sniff..

You can try grapefruit, lemon, orange and rose geranium.. these oil smell heavenly and is easier to accept.

Hi Cynthia & Lynn

May i know what is rosehip oil good for??

Cynthia

I havent got time to relax and try my rosemary+lavender as footbath. So did u add lavender to the footbath to neutralise the T3 smell??

Hi Mui

I also cant tahan T3 and ylang ylang so u are not alone. But i bought T3 cos its supposed to be good (like lavender).

I find that the oil that body shop carries is very expensive hor. $9.90 for 5ml. any difference??

For me, i love the lavender incense sticks from TSS. $9.95 for 50pcs. Sells very fast so one time i usually buy 2 boxes.

Maybe u want to try burning grapefruit alone or with lavender. also smells very nice.

Hi SSL,

Did you see the posting that sushi made ?? Rosehip oil is good for healing scar..

You really like incense, right ?? Everytime, buy incense by 2 boxes..

so ya hor, now that u mentioned. suddenly remembered.

yaya me an incense person. but till now, only those from jessica's place and those from TSS are the best that i can find. the rest that i bought not nice to smell one when burning them. either too strong or too smoky. so still sourcing out. got lobangs.

sorry should be 3 boxes. cos 3 for $10 mah heehee

Will spook out the older folks if I tell them that my friend like to sniff at joss stick, hehehe.. too bad, I am not so keen on incense now cos my house will be very dusty once the wind blows.

just now was dripping some geranium that i bought from robinson. kinda diff so overshot some on my hand and the smell very strong. very which i felt dizzy lor.

Copy and paste from web

Geranium: Sweet, heavy aroma, somewhat like rose. It is analgesic, anticoagulant, antidepressant, antiseptic,and insecticide. Calms anxiety, lifts the spirit, assists with depression. Useful with premenstrual tension. May assist with menopausal problems such as vaginal dryness and heavy periods. Assists with breast inflammation. Helps clear the body of toxins which may be helpful with addictions. Stimulates the lymphatic system which keeps infection at bay. Eases neuralgia.

I think you overdose on it lah...luckily you didn't use ylang ylang, else you sure looking for panadol now if you did...hehehee

i overspill it lah, not overdose!!
the website that u mentioned earlier on that u want to order the rosehip oil. got sell incense stick?? heehee.

For me, i only burnt the sticks inside my bedroom so no wind to blow off the ashes. next time i go to my own house, i think can only use burner esp inthe living cos very windy there. maybe kitchen can use stick lor. but intend to put a burner there. so that after cooking and washing, then light some ess oil (lemon and eucalyptus) to "lighten" the "after-cooking" aroma.

No, they don't sell leh...Since you need more burner, then you can buy from Jess and she selling her normal candle light burner very cheap... kitchen one don't need to be electric burner lah..

nope the electric one putting in my master bedroom
i have one from my sis which i will put at the living room or studyroom. got another one i will put in kitchen. heehee. saw one nice one at jessica's showcase. but didnt want to buy that time cos tot i already have alot.

actually should buy an electric one to put in the living room but i dont want to waste money first lor.

see how lah

oh just to let u know that the geranium smells good inside my office cabinet. maybe just now really overspill too much causing the dizziness

Hi SSL & Lynn....

Haiz... today so busy. Lynn, I answer your email tonight, okie??

SSL, yes... now I always add Lavender to "neutralise" the T3 smell. But I really find it effective as an antiseptic.

Me haven't use the Eucalyptus and Lemongrass though...

btw, is Orange the same as Orange Blossom? Heard Orange Blossom smells good and people traditionally use it for weddings leh...

hi cynthia

i bought orange recently at the robinson sale. also saw mandarin but didnt know which to buy. but mandarin smells abit stronger so ended up buying orange lor.

hi Lynn,

I tried grapefruit before..Not bad. Maybe shd try some fruity EO next time as per your recommendation

Anyone knows the difference btw lemon & lemongrass?

hi SSL,

glad that you feel the same way toward T3 & ylang ylang (YY). But I am still keen to try out YY. Maybe when I am more courageous.

I also burn incense sticks. I bought them from Jessica too. I have Lavender, rose, peppermint, rosemary, sandalwood, ylang ylang, lemon, herbal & romance
The smell emit out from the incense stick is very mild (you think so). I got not reaction towards the smell emit out ylang ylang. My hubby is very sensitive to all these smell so he is more suitable for the incense stick.

I find that TSS sells a wide range of weird smelling incense stick. haha...perhaps I prefer those more traditional smell. Which TSS you often buy your stuff, I have been Suntec, Centrept, Bishan, Woodlands pt...so far, the incense sticks quantity there.. is always very pathetic, guess they don't replenish very often.

HI Mui

u can mix abit of lavender with ylang ylang to burn. then u dont have to be "courageous" to try. heehee.

I know lemongrass can act as insect repellent. whereas lemon is for "waking up"
Smells different too cos i dont really fancy lemongrass. Was looking for ess oil for mosquito before my citronella incense stick runs out. so jessica let me smell that one. i told her i dont like the smell. haha

So u are also loyal customer of jessica's incense sticks.
by the time i'm esmerised by her sticks, i only saw sandalwood, citronella, eucalyptus. which i started out buying sandalwood and eucalyptus and fell in love with both. only lately started to try citronella as i want to have some insect repellant stuff.

Wha got lemon ah!!! i want to try tooo.. bought this lemon from the stall at Lao Pa Sa but doesnt smell nice and got too much smoke.

My hubby chinchai one. as long as i dont suddenly introduce a foreign smell to him, it's ok. If he smell something he doesnt like, he wont want to use it anymore. so i took him to jessica place once when i want to buy a diffuser to put in his car. let him smell grapefruit and orange. he nearly (actually he did )doze off on jessica's sofa.

I buy the brand called Esteban with the chinese word "xiang" on the box. it's $9.95 for 50pcs. lavender is purple in colour and sandalwood is brown in colour. my sis uses sandalwood but i prefer the sandalwood from jessica's place.

didnt like those weird weird incense sticks cos my mum very allegic to smell. anything with fragrance that i buy home has to be "approve" by her nose.
Bought a couple of other incense sticks but got rejected so i bring them to my own house to burn instead.

U can check out at bugis (basement one. in between foodcourt and supermarket) There are some stalls. i bought strawberry incense (hubby likes strawberry) cones from one of the stall selling incense sticks.
you can give them a try too.

I frequent the TSS at Suntec and City Link Mall. Ya agree with u that their stocks bery limited especially lavender. I checked alot of branches that time and all no stocks.

They have a sister shop called Wanabe which is located at suntec city. the shop is just diagonally opp their suntec TSS branch. (next to the hair band brand "evita peronis"?? (duno spelling)

hi SSL,

Woww....you are really knowledgable.

So far, I'm using just one EO for burning, don't dare to mix. But since you and the rest of the kind souls recommended, I shall pluck up my courage to try. erh..which EO is most suitable for mixing with other EO?

As a matter of fact, I was attracted by the colorful incense sticks in Jess's place. heehee...unbelievable rite. My $$ is the most easiest to earn one cos' I tend to buy things w/out proper thinking. So my hubby has to be at my side to stop me. I just brought 3 t-shirt of the same design but different colors. haha..

erh...side track liao. So you are the one who buy all the eucalyptus incense sticks in Jess's place. I searched the whole basket for that and couldn't find even one packet!!

The last time I went, which was last Fri, there is still a lot of lemon ard, it is green in color. funny har? lemon shd be yellow in color rite?

I actually have strawberry incense sticks too. I bought them from Spotlight (for trial). I don't really fancy the smell leh, like very weird cos' strawberry shd be for eating. 20 sticks with 4 variety for $1.99. The sticks are much longer than the ones Jess have. Maybe double the length.

Will check out the places that you mentioned. Hey! thanks for the info

Hi Miu

I'm not knowledgeable as compared to Lynn & Cynthia. Cos they know more and read more!!

If i know a particular oil is not nice to smell but die die have to try, i will mix with the oil i like. of course, i will not add too much cos it will defeat the purpose of trying out the oil!!

SO far, most of the people feels that lavender is the mildest (ie. almost all people can take the smell and it's a very neutral and harmless oil) and so i would normally suggest lavender.

but most importantly, try not to cover up too much of the other ess oil that u want to try cos u will never know if it works for u. when u are ready to try it after a couple of trials with some lavender added, then try doing it without lavender.

Oh,i think the one u buy and the one i buy different. mine is not those in the basket. Mine is at the wooden shelf which has all those tea bags. those in the baskets still have alot. those that i buy no more liao. i think only got two or three packets left. :p (all kapok by me)

the ones i buy is 3 for $10 and has 9 sticks in one box. you can give a try when jessica replenishes her stocks. (hopefully soon)

how's those in the basket huh?? i think vaguely remembered jessica told me the smell is a bit different.

the ones that i buy from LaoPa Sa also green in colour. heehee.

wha so long ah!!!!! are they smoky? didnt really see at spotlight leh?? hmmm....... heehee. my hubby uses strawberry airfreshner for his car so he loves strawberry smell alot. so i tot since now i replaced those air refresher with the diffuser with grapefruit oil, probably i should give him some "strawberry" back. :p

TSS at Citylink mall also has many types of incense sticks. there are some which are very long but the sales girl told me that those are more smoky than the short ones.

ya ya, we share share our lobangs. if u see any good aroma spots, remember to post here ok.

Hi Miu,

All EO should be ok to mix together but some synergise with a few particular better.. It also depend on the mood or effect you want to achieve.

Anyway, I just mixed a few of my favourites also can get happy so don't really care whether they go well wif each other as long as I like it.

It does matter however if you start to used them externally or internally... better to consult someone wif experience and borrow a few books to read up before you try..

I have lemongrass but cannot tahan the smell.. hehehe..I used it the deodorise my kitchen after cooking lah.. I think it is important that you are able to accept the scent, else you may not want to used it at all. I have quite a number of EOs.. some not for smelling but for therapy uses..

SSL,

Very nice indeed !! I will go check it out when I am nearby.

Hi Lynn

i think it's actually the shop that i was mentioning in one of the earlier post at Bugis that i've been before. (near to mac)

Hi Miu

Maybe u can check with Jessica when she's back from her trip end of the month.

Hello
4620.gif
here's something to continue on DIY aroma-soapmaking...

I just came back from Spotlight. They are selling this soap-making kit for $27.95. It comes with a clear glycerine soap base, soap scent, soap dye and a mold. It's those melt and pour type - no lye needed...

Spotlight also sell the ingredients separately... Clear Glycerine Soap Base (500gm - $16.75, 1 kg - $27.95), White Opaque Glycerine Soap Base (same prices), Soap Dye, Soap Scent, Molds...

The glycerine can be melt using microwave or double boiling method and such soap can be easily done within a day.

I also borrowed a library book about melt and pour soapmaking. It has many creative ideas in making these DIY soaps. All recipes include the use of fragrance oils in the soap. Guess it's cheaper to use fragrance oils than pure essential oils. btw, fragrance oils are going at $3.75 in Spotlight.

So, you girls still interested to make your own soap?

cynthia

Hi Lynn & Cynthia,

The Bel'air diffuser I am recommending have the following benefits:

1)sterilising and removing air of pollutants for a healthier and fresher living environment.
2) purifying the air by eliminating bateria, odours and smoke.
3)improving breathing function by preventing asthma, flu, sinus and other airborn illnesses.
3) reinforcing the body's immunity system
4) relaxing the mind by relieving pressure, maintaining state of serenity and encouraging vitality.

They have 19 different types of essential oils for various purposes. The most popular one are the Green tea, Green bamboo and Ginseng which u can't get from anywhere else.

It uses a special catalytic burner to diffuse the essential oil without naked flame. To be frank, I do not think it is expensive judging from the benefits that it offer. The lamp u just need to get one and it can use for lifetime. If you girls are interested , I can just show you my lamp and u can also try those oil that I'm using.

I always diffuse it when there are visitor to my house, it can really create a hospitable ambience, I also diffuse in the bathroom to create a feel of forest bath. I personally think it provides much more benefit than the typical way of burning thru candles or vaporiser. As those only provide thereuptic benefit but not sterilising the indoor air.

Feel free to ask me if u have any questions : )

hi SSL,

I didnt see any incense sticks on the wooden shelf (near their cash counter rite). Ok, will take a longer glance at that wooden shelf when I go for my next facial appt. I will buy some for my next trip
(hopefully, my appt is before yours, otherwise, all kapok by you again)

The ones I gotten from Spotlight is abt 25/26cm long. I do not know whether the ones you bought is the same length as the basket.

Erh...smoky? I think quite ok lah.

Sounds like lemongrass is another EO with a not so acceptable smell. hahaha.

Nevermind, I buy lemon EO instead but gotta wait until Jess is back.

hi Lynn,

What kind of EO are you using for therapy purpose?

I think I can ask you or cynthia, you all are like a walking dictionary to me. Very knowledgable. hehehe...

I am very interested in getting the electric vapourise that you all order form australia (??). Can I chip in?? or too late liao...*aiya*

hi lynn,

have u ordered from the australia website already?? if not i would like to longbang u to buy some of their pure essential oils. have any of u tried their oils before? can it be applied directly on the face??

Hi cynthia

Wha, u are so nice! yaya i still want to learn how to make soap with u gals. But where to find the pot?? erm... dont think using microwave oven is hygienic right?? cos it's for food usage.

Hi Miu,

You didnt see the incense sticks cos all bought by me liao mah. keekee. probably left only citronella which is in pale green colour box. It's 16cm (including the wooden stick)and i think is shorter than those in the basket. right??

My next appointment with Jessica for back massage+scrub+mud is on 4 May at 2pm. I only have apt with her once a month. But i usually go her shop "ad hoc"ly to buy ess oil and kapo and chitchat with her. (when she's not busy) or meet cynthia and lynn at her place and take care of ourselves there. haha

Ya, lemon smells nice. very citrus. U are too late liao. I think Lynn oredi placed order for the burners liao. not sure if can add orders or not. Cos our burners will only come in June cos they dont have the plug for singapore usage. maybe u wait and if lynn replied ur post lah.

Hi lavender

You must be a lavender lover.
Soli, i've not heard about it. maybe lynn & cynthia may have.

just to let u all know (maybe u all already know) that the sister shop of The Scent Shop called "Lavender" which is located at Raffles City Basement has a new branch at Causeway Point. (level 2) near the escalator.

Was there just now and saw it. so excited and went in. i think they have more stuff than the shop at cityhall (maybe shop space bigger lor).

Bought a grapefruit crush body scrub very nice to smell. hmmm.... used it liao. very small grains. very good for my sensitive skin. They also have lime one but i find it too "limely" heehee

hi SSL,

So it's you again....leave some for me leh.

The ones at the basket is 15cm long (including the wooden stick)

My facial appt is usually on mid of the mth. So you beat me again. Dun kapok everything hor.

I am so sad...I think I am really "too late liao". Lynn shd have aredi placed the order.

:D solli Miu. cant control leh
but i know those that i want to replenish jessica has no stocks!!

dont worry wait for lynn's reply lah. if u are not only looking for electric ones. u can check out the link that i posted above on the burners by "Talking Scents" very cute burners. They have a branch at bugis.