Aromatherapy

Hmmm... think the problem is where to get Lye (sodium hydroxide)?? Library books says can get easily from hardware stores or supermarkets...
but these are US books...

As for lard, we can opt to use vegetable oils for a vegetable-based soap instead of animal fats soap.

& of course... personalising our soap by adding all sort of ingredients to it. Almost anything can be added: from essential oils, to honey, herbs and dried fruits.

cynthia

oh yes, I think so that she can even buy some for us cos the places that she is going actually do sell these stuffs... but she may not make it through the customs at the airport. hiak hiak hiak..

Wah, Cynthia,

You are ready to make the jump ??? Yes, some oil can be taken in minute quantity for medication purpose. You can read more in Maggie Tisserand book, now availiable in Kinokuniya....I saw it on the bookshelf last week.

Aiyoh, no lah...Just read that in a library book I borrowed. Curious mah... since heard no one saying that before.

That Maggie T.. book - ex?

Hi SSL,

What kind of EO are you adding into your aroma spritz? Are you using it for "killing germs" in the air? Read that Eucalyptus has anti-viral and anti-bactericidal properties leh...<BLOCKQUOTE><HR SIZE=0><!-Quote-!><FONT SIZE=1>Quote:</FONT>

A spray containing 2% eucalyptus will kill 70% of staphylococci in the air. ~~Jean Valnet (father of aromatherapy)<!-/Quote-!><HR SIZE=0></BLOCKQUOTE>For room spray during cold and flu time: add twenty drops of eucalyptus to 50ml of pure water. Spray serveral times a day throughout the house, particularly in the living areas and bedrooms.

Ladies, is there such a thing call tea tree essential oil? I have seen lots of tea tree stuff e.g. tea tree lotions, tea tree shampoo, tea tree soap etc... but never really come across tea tree essential oil leh...

4504.gif
cynthia

hi cynthia

Tea Tree is also one kind of ess oil, which like lavender, u can apply neat on your face. Some may keep it as one of the item inside a first aid box.

Yes yes, i intend to create spritz and spray into the air in kitchen and living room. maybe office is there are too many "germs spreader" around. heehee

Read some of these blends from a book from lib (cant remember the name) Give it a try lah. For me sure will try the squeaky clean for kitchen. As mentioned by Jessica in the earlier post, we have to use distilled water!! Are we able to get from the supermarket??

1. Squeaky Clean (Kitchen and bathroom)

Lemon + Eucalyptus

2. Pep-up Plus (studyroom or living room)
(increase alertness, relieves anxiety)

4 drops Orange + 1 drop Cinnamon + 1 drop peppermint

3. Bliss Blend

5 drops lavender + 2 drops lemon + 1 drop lemon

4. Relax Away

5 drops lavender + 1 drop chamomile + 1 drop Ylang Ylang

5. Meditative Mood

8 drops sandalwood + 1 drop rose

6. Southwest Holiday

5 drops lime + 1 drop bergamot + 1 drop juniper

7. Bouffant Bouquet (emotional boost)

3 drops lavender + 1 drop bergamot + 1 drop rose geranium

HI.....

Dun know if it's too late for me to post this now, but I would like to check the response. I got this Privi Plus (from Parco Bugis Junction) flyer in my mail yesterday.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">basic d.i.y aromatherapy facial workshop</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">F A C E S is proud to introduce Mrs Veronica Yap-Phua (MIFA, MISPA, AOC Registered, MRAC), a full-time Clinical Aromatherapist, to conduct a hands-on Basic DIY Aromatherapy Facial Workshop at F A C E S' Service Center located at Mandarin Shopping Arcade.

With this unique hands-on workshop, you will understand the use of aromatherapy oils for your face, and custom blendinf of aromatherpy oils into facial cleansers, scrubs, moisturizers, oils &amp; clays. You will also get a practical lesson on DIY mini-facial plus self-massage! Not to mention bringing home your very own creation of facial oil blends.

Workshop Outline :

1. Types of Skin and determining your skin type
2. Aromatherapy oils for your face / Function of Hydrosol &amp; your skin
3. Formulas and Measurements
4. Custom blending of facial preparations eg. cleansers, scrubs, moisturizers, oils &amp; clays
5. Hands-on practical - DIY mini-facial plus self massage
6. Special eye treatment (partner facial massage) for eye bags &amp; dark circles
7. Recommended reading, Q&amp;A

*All workshop materials, apparatus and oils will be provided.

Date : part (1) 16 April 2002 (tues) &amp; part (2) 17 April 2002 (wed)
OR 21 April 2002 (sun)

Time : (tues/wed) 6.30 - 8.30 pm OR (sun) 2.00 - 6.00 pm

Venue : faces @ mandarin hotel shopping arcade #03-08

Fees : S$80.00 (S$50.00 redeemable for faces products or oils)

For booking of seats, please call Ms Lynnette at 9478-8800 now. Limited to 10 persons per workshop!</FONT>

I did call Ms Lynnette, coz I can't make it to these dates. Asked if I could gather enough pple, can she organise a class for us.

She say can but needs at least 6 pple to make the class worthwhile and it takes 4 hours. Usually weekends the speaker has other commitments. We could either do it in 2 weekday evenings or 1 shot 4 hrs on a weekday evening.

She will also update me if they do organise this class again. She mentions to me that they do organise other kinds of classes, but did not tell me specifically wat.

So i would like to know anyone interested?? Do u find it too expensive to go ($80)? Would u like to organise one and we go together??

Hi SSL, oic...

Anyway, the squeaky clean for kitchen is for spraying in the air (to kill germs)? It sounds like some sprays for cleaning. Hee hee.

I went to Scent Shop today and bought Lavender. Yes, yes, I finally bought the must-get EO. Was having problems sleeping these few days, so thought maybe should get Lavender to "promote deep sleeping". Hmmm.... that sales assistant is pretty knowledgeable leh. Wonder which Scent Shop did Lynn and Angelia went? Me went to the one in Hougang Festival Market.

Found a cheap way to diffuser the EO... I dropped about 6 drops (is it too much? onto a facial cotton and clip it to the air-con blower. Soon, the room was filled with the fragrance. But, i thought it smell a little like medicated oil. Is it supposed to be that way? I supposed Scent Shop will not sell diluted/blended as pure EOs, hor?

btw, for Bliss Blend formula... did you miss type the formula? coz you wrote "2 drops of lemon + 1 drop of lemon"...

Thanks for the info on tea tree oil. Now that I own Grapefruit and Lavender (not counting the sandalwood lah - not even sure of its origin), what would be a good one to buy next? What would you recommend?

4513.gif
cynthia

Hi Twinky,

Thanks for the information on the workshop. $80 is expensive. Anyway, I think I feel safer leaving my face in Daphne's hand than to DIY. Wait, dunno what would happen to it... hee hee...

Thanks anyway.
4514.gif
cynthia

HI twinky

yaya, i also rec the news from privi card. tot it's kinda exp so didnt tell u all. i seldom use ess oil on face unless it's already inside products that i buy or lavender (neat) if i have "going to come out pimple" (i only used once and it works!)

Hi cynthia

OPps, did i miss out another oil for the Bliss Blend? :p soli will check out tonight and reply u later cos now i'm in my own house and the notes are in my mum's place.

Haha, i also read about some tips where u can put ess oil onto cotton buds and leave them at a corner of your kitchen to keep off pests (cockroaches, ants, etc.)

Didnt really had a chance to smell the lavender ess oil from Scent Shop. I bought their Lavender+lilac wooden balls and refresher oil for office. very nice to smell. heehee. Not exp too. (for the balls)

Yes, cotton or tissue method is another way. i used tissue method in office where i "shred" tissue into glass candle holder, and add my fav oil into the tissue shreds. i will put the holder beside my telephone+PC so when i type or talk, can smell the lemon. Usually put lemon (to wake me up) haha and ocassionally i will also add lavender to it.

Medicated smell?? mmm.... dont think the one that i bought from Jessica has that smell leh?? Maybe diff country/brand of lavender oil will have slightly diff smell. They will normally indicated in the label if it's blended with some other oil lor.

You can try lemon. Makes one feel "fresh" (well, at least it works this way for me) I dont like the smell of tea tree so didnt buy though it seems to be very good. Just bought Rosemary from Jessica, intending to do foot bath using that + lavender. heehee. Rosemary smells like medicated oil (similar to eucalyptus but not so spicy compared to eucalyptus) (lynn can second that cos she's with me that day) heehee

Probably u can see what "experiment" u want to make before deciding what oil u want to buy. Normally i will buy ess oil when i need them for certain purposes.

Oh yes, have u been into amazon.com to see what books u want to order? i intend to place the order for the book "Secrets of Aromatherapy" which i had borrowed from lib last time but already returned and Singapore dont sell it.

Find quite a no. of things very useful inside there which i didnt copy down the last time cos i know i want to order. so now, like abit handicap when i want to know more lor.

let me know.

Hi SSL, =P sorry kinda forgotten about that...

Okay, I want to get this book called "The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy" by Valerie Ann Worwood

It was stated on the bottle that it is pure essential oil leh... Made in England... Otherwise, not much things on the label itself.

Will you be getting those blending kits from Jessica? Just wondering, is it necessary to get precise measurement of how many mls of EOs to add to distilled water. But your recipes mentioned drops leh... btw, did I reply you on the distilled water? It can be bought from supermarkets. At the mineral water section, just look for distilled water. Have you seen the measuring cup that Jessica mentioned? How much is it?

cynthia

Hi cynthia

Just got home. OK checked the bliss blend. the last ess oil is 1 drop of rose. Maybe i didnt jote down the oz. required for the distilled water. So was kinda surprised when Jessica told me that i have to add half the amount of ess oil.

Anyway, Jessica havent get back to me about the prices and her stock for the blending DIY kits. I need to see how much is it lor. if too exp, then will try to estimate myself. Probably getting from her at one stop is easier rather than i gather the items separately.

Yap, she showed me the measuring cup sometime ago when i was there with a friend. Not sure if it's the same one, but the one she showed us is for blending massage oil. Will let u know once i hear from Jessica ok.

I guess then the oil should be pure cos it didnt say blended lor. maybe u can check with jessica??

Thks for the book order and i will let u know when i rec them. Do u need me to let u know how much it will cost u to order from Amazon.com??

Was reading the Health Digest magazine which i bought on friday. They happen to share a couple of aromatherapic usage of some ess oil. tot it would be nice to share here. some of which u may have known or heard.

For Minor Cuts &amp; Wounds
- add few drops of tea tree oil in lukewarm water
- swish with your fingers and clean the wound

Tea Tree
- Antiseptic
- Antifungal
- Anti-microbial
- Antibacterial
- Mostly used for fungal infection, digestive complaints, genital urinary infection

Menstrual Cramp
- add 2 drops of basil oil onto a neutral tablet and three 3 times a day after food to ease menstral cramp

Basil
- soothes gastro-intestinal spasm
- ease digestion and calms gastric pain
- extremely useful for stomach pains and cramps

Sinus &amp; Running Nose
- diffuse a blend of Eucalyptus Radiata (10 drops) and Siberian Fir (10 drops) and deeply inhale this diffusion blend for 3-5mins.
- For younger children (under 12 years old), do a max. of 1.5mins, 3 times a day

Eucalyptus Radiata
- Specially used for upper respiratory tracts
- acts as decongester, an expectorant and excellent respiratory antiseptic

It's me again. saw this aromatherapy salon in the health mag too. so maybe u would like to take a look. if anyone interested we can go together to try. heehee. website is :

www.thelilybud.com

Another one (not aromatherapy related) if on health matters. Quite good too.

Pertaining to my earlier most about the aromatherapy salon.

I'm interested in the sole Reviver and head massage.

But i guess the only concern is the location lor. i dont drive so kinda inconvenient probably.

Hello SSL,

I sent you a reply mail liao... check it out!

Robinson Raffles City is having a promotion on Pureness essential oils leh... Buy 3 bottles and you get the lowest priced FREE. I just bought Tea Tree, Eucalyptus and Lemongrass. Average out about $8+ per bottle. Tot of buying ylang ylang extra... but so expensive. almost double the price of Eucalyptus and Tea Tree.

Tried the tester for the Tea Tree, indeed doesn't smell quite nice but since it has antiseptic properties... so, I bought it

Besides the EOs, fragrance sachets are going at 5 for $10. Ermm... they have lavender, ocean breeze, bergamot and geranium and summer something... Scented candles are also on sale. 2 packets of 9 (or was it 12?) candles for $11.90. There were also burners, pot pourri and incenses there.

Those interested, can pop over for a look. It's on the third floor.

4523.gif
cynthia

Hi cynthia

yes, i rec the email and will go ahead.

WHA, u make me drool........ with all the robinson promo .
okie okie will go there to take a peek!

SSL, eucalyptus is good for cold and flu, right? Will it work for blocked nose too? If cannot breathe through my nose, then how to take it the smell...

Cynthia

hi cynthia

eucalyptus helps to "decongest" blocked nose. i guess it's through the sniffing action that the nose will be gradually "unblock" lor.

try sniffing it for 5 mins and see how's the effect.

I intend to check out the tea tree cos it sounded cheaper mah

Okay, thanks. Guess I'll try that tonight. Sniffing from tissue.

Btw, I am pretty interested in the head massage at Lilybud too. Braddell Heights is pretty near to AMK, but must walk a bit from the bus-stop.

cynthia

Hi SSL, it's me again =P

You tried the head/hair massage at Devotion, right? How was it... U like it? Did Karen use any essential oils during the massage?

4530.gif
cynthia

hi cynthia

if there are more people (say 4) we can probably meet somewhere and take taxi in.

since it's a new place, tot it would be safer to try together with people we are familiar with. in a group. lor.

heehee

Hi Cynthia,

The book by Maggie Tisserand book is $17 plus and I have the book that you are ordering with SSL. Got alot of nice blends. Definitely worth the money...

Aiyah the sale at Robinsons over, right ?? I missed it then..so disappointed leh.

Hi Cynthia,SSL,Sushi,Cool and Trihok,

I have placed the order and they replied that they have ran out of the singapore plugs...So if we are to wait for the next shipment of plugs, we will probably receive our vaporisers in June. Is this alright ?? If not, can cancel order...

Hi Lynn

I can wait too.

Hi cynthia

wha after what lynn said i'm also tempted to buy the book. haha will see if lib has it and read first before making the choice

Hi Lynn

But the one that Cynthia is ordering is from a different author. I checked the lib site and only got 5 books under the author u mentioned. which is the one that u are saying good??

1. Essential oils for lovers : a sensual guide to aromatherapy

2. Aromatherapy for women : a practical guide to essential oils for health and beauty

3. Stress : the aromatic solution

4. The 14-day aromabeauty plan : how to look better, feel better in 2 aromatic weeks

5. Aromatherapy for women : how to use the remarkable beautifying and healing qualities of essential oils

Hi SSL,

I am talking about this book : "The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy" by Valerie Ann Worwood which is about $32 plus. It is available in Borders.

The book, Aromatherapy for women : a practical guide to essential oils for health and beauty is available in Kinokuniya for $17 plus.

How warm should the water in a foot bath be? Cannot be boiling water, right??? &amp; How many drops of EO to how much water???

Thanks to whoever answer me

cynthia

Lynn,

It's fine with me. Can wait till june.

I saw this shop in bugis selling very nice glass burners. A bit tempted to buy. ceramics burner better or glass burner huh?

SSL, tea tree STINKS... never try to use it in the bathroom with door closed, and never use too much.

Tried soaking my feet in foot bath (20 drops in a large basin of moderately hot water) for 10 min... Alamak, I near died from SUFFOCATION from the stench...

*faint* cynthia

I did that to my FH and he commented that he nearly passed out in the toilet cos the lavender is too strong for him to take..and I use only 4 drop... forgot he got acute sense of smell unlike me.

Hi cynthia

i think 20 drops maybe too much right?? it should be warm water. u could add lavender to neutralise the "stench" next time heehee.

Oh yes, i went to robinson yesterday to check out the ess oil stuff. heehee guess what i bought the following:

- tea tree
- citronella
- Orange

(Paid $11.90+$13.90 only)

- lavender scented candles (2 for $11.90) but sharing with my sis who chose ocean mist/breeze (cant remember which)

- Geranium
- Peach

(from the 3 for $9.90 range) sharing with my sis who bought geranium too.

I find that the geranium from this range smells nicer than the other range lor.

The peach not bad leh.

Hi Cool

Is the shop u mentioned near to mac?? If yes, ya also think that their burner very nice and classy look (for those glass ones)

didnt buy cos at that time not an aroma freak!
Do they sell incense sticks there too??

Hi Lynn and SSL...

Perhaps 20 drops is really too much
but that's what it says in Aromaweb.com.

Hahaha... Lynn, your FH so funny... *straight face* actually my family cannot tahan the Lavender too, when I use my aircon to diffuse the fragrance out... all of them ran out from my bedroom... So, does he still dare to try whatever oil you intend to use on him?

SSL, thanks for your tip. Will try it out tonight.

cynthia