Aromatherapy

I am using it neat on his ear now... cos there is some infections there after an insect bite and medications doesn't seems to work at all... but can really see result sfter the applying lavender on his ear for the first time. It soothe down the redness in less than 30 minutes !!

Any of you see any shop in Singapore selling geranium bourbon from Isle of Reunion ??? I want to buy but can't find it.

Hi SSL,

I haven't got time to take a close look....I saw some Ylang Ylang super extra..don't know is tis the one that Cynthia was talking about... looks good....will go down again to see again. Which Robinson did you go to btw ???

Yes, that's the one I saw too - Ylang Ylang super extra. Cost $22.90 leh... U girls thinking of getting some more EOs?

cynthia

Lynn, regarding the geranium bourbon from Isle of Reunion...

Is Isle of Reunion the brand or the origin of the geranium bourbon?

Clarify first, easier to look out for you mah...

cynthia

The origin... the best geranium bourbon comes from there.. Yes, I will be getting some more if I don't have those oil... is it pure essential oil har ??? Not some fragrance oil right ??

Yes, it's pure essential oil, brand called Pureness.

Robinsons also selling fragrance oil as well, but packaged under another name (can't remember what is it now), the packaging very colourful (bright orange, bright blue, bright green etc...)

cynthia

hi lynn & cynthia

I went to the city hall one.
opps, that means the other ones are fragrance oil?? i bought "peach" and "geranium" shared with my sis who also want "geranium"

tot they are ess oil. :p

so can they be used like the way we use ess oil for burners??

Hi SSL,

Went to the Pureness link, some are fragrance oil and some are essential oil. Fragrance oils can be used in a burner but not for therapeutic purposes.

okie, thks lynn

as long as it's also usable for burner is alright for me.

u may want to check out their lavender scented candle. quite nice smell too.

i saw this camomile reviving eye mask from body shop. Do u think it's ok to use on sensitive skin?? cos eyes more sensitive right?

btw, going down to daphne's place to ask her something and she's showing me something so might as well i kapo with her. keke

Chamomile supposed to be alright for use on sensitive skin but the rest of the ingredients ??? Have tester right ?? Try some on your hand first..

hi lynn

i replied in the other thread. i went to body shop to smell the chamomile. bery smelly leh. so probably not buying. still thinking whether to buy the one from daphne. but so big a tube!!

Hi Cynthia and SSL,

I went to Robinson yesterday.. also bought some essential oils, ylang ylang, cypress and marjoram. The cypress and marjoram not nice smelling but intending to use it for massage loh..will be getting juniper from Jess when she's back..

HI lynn

wha i think we all get diff oils huh?
my sis wanted to buy tea tree and bergamot but dont have liao

when i took my bottle of tea tree still have stock. but i kiasu scared no more, so i took the three bottles of ess oil and walk around while waiting for my sis to come.

heehee

Hahaha, SSL, you really kiasu.. I still saw bergamot and Teatree yesterday.. did you ask the sale assistance ?? Maybe they keep stocks ?? Anyway, yesterday was the last day.. so you will have to get from Jess liao. I find the ylang ylang very nice, makes me feel happy !!

hi lynn

no one was there to assist leh
only a "kiasu" SSL walking here and there and around the area (like security patrolling) keke

Wah, you sure you were not locked inside the Robinson ?? Oh, I know why, yesterday the assistant was there to remove all the sale items and tags...

actually tempted to buy more but hubby warned me not to overspend...cos I bought other stuffs also...hehehe. Anyway he's paying cos I'm using his card.

I find that the geranium smell sweet that geranium. It is probably rose geranium... I thought you did't like rose ?

Hi ladies!

Aiyah... the sale at Robinsons over liao ah... Thought I could get some more

btw, is the brand of EO important? I mean, Robinsons cannot be selling some diluted blend as pure essential oil mah... So, we can safely trust that the EOs are pure EOs? The Lavender I got from Scent Shop doesn't even comes with biological name...

another btw, where can I find Eucalyptus Radiata? Heard that it's better than Eucalyptus Globulus (the one I bought from Robinsons)...

cynthia

Got to check around for you first... probably plant planet or essence vale carries it.. how about checking with Daphne, remembered that her range of essential oil which is very pure does not cost too much for eucaplytus..didn't bring the list wif me today..

Some of the oil still not cheap cos Jess offer a better bargain. Furthermore, essential oils also have expiry dates one, esp the citrus ones... so if you buy from Jess, still can exchange if you find that the oil has expired....

Talking about expired oils, read that if only for fragrance purposes, then should not matter much... but if for therapeutic purposes, then matters a lot...

Hi Cynthia,

essence val is at Emerald first floor, I have 15% discount for this shop.

plant planet is on the second floor of Orchard point. When you go up the escalator, the shop should be on your left hand side.

hi lynn

asked ur colleague to go for tea break and "steal" abit to smell. :p

duno leh. i smell geranium at diff places and they all smell abit diff. some quite smelly leh. but the one at robinson (i think is fragrance oil) smells nice.

i tot i read somewhere before that it's better to buy ess oil with "botanical name" written. Is it true??

Hi SSL,

cos all essential oil have family such as eucaplytus.. some have better smell, certain medical properties and so on..but people like me still not able to differentiate maybe bluffed cos they do smell alike and the prices are different too.

The geranium you smelled in Robinson should be rose geranium..more floral and sweeter, right ? Jessica do sell it but it is not on the list.

Hi cynthia

no one responded saying that they are interested in the aromatherapy salon near braddel. so are u still keen to try??

cant remember where i post it. heehee

hi EO experts

Can anyone tell me whether tea tree oil (100% pure EO) be apply directly on face?? Read the label on the bottle, saying "dilution is recommended"

Anyone recommendation for tired, stressful mind & body?

Hi Miu,

Yes, you can. Lavender and Tea Tree can be applied neat (i.e. undiluted) on our skin.

For relaxing, try burning the following (recipes copied from Arousing Aroma by Kay Cooper):
- 2 drops Lavender + 1 drop Bergamot, or
- 2 drops Geranium + 2 drops Orange, or
- 2 drops Lavender + 2 drops Grapefruit

For major unwinding, add the following blend to your bath (that is if you have a bath-tub at home) and soak for 10 minutes:
- 2 drops Vetiver + 2 drops Chamomile + 1 drop Lemon, or
- 2 drops Lavender + 2 drops Chamomile + 2 drops Geranium

But for myself, I just drop about 6 drops of Lavender on a facial cotton pad and hooked it to my air-con blower. Find myself fresher after a good night's sleep... anyway, I dun have that much different types of oils to begin with... hee hee

cynthia

hi Cynthia,

Thanks for telling me and for your recommendation.

I tried applying some T3 on my face and I sort of feel a bit numb on my tongue. But now was ok.

Is Lavender EO the most expensive or if not expensive amongst other EO?

Not a frequent user of EO but this discussion is really interesting. Hope to learn more from your gals!

Hi Miu,

Hmmm... dun think Lavender is that expensive, coz Ylang Ylang super extra seemed to be selling at double its price. I bought mine from Scent Shop at $13.90. Saw the same price during the Robinson sale too...

I also just started using it... Din really thought it would work, but then it has been real effective so far

cynthia

btw Miu, if you are applying Tea Tree oil on spots (pimples)... Arousing Aroma (the book mentioned in my earlier posting) recommends the tea tree oil be dab on the spot itself. Apply them with a cotton bud to target the affected area.

Alternatively, you can try a tea tree rinse. After your usual cleansing, half-fill your basin with water, add 5 drops of tea tree oil and rinse your face several times.

Err.. U can tahan the smell ah?? I tried a foot bath with only 4 drops of Tea Tree and 6 drops of Lavender. It smells better, but still a little stinking, coz of the tea tree =P

cynthia

Hi Cynthia,

If I am not wrong, the super extra will mean the grade of oil... ylang ylang has many grades. So I think this should be the top grade.

Hi Miu,

If you want to watch out for expensive essential oils, it would be Jasmine, rose, neroli, Roman chamomile, German chamomile... These are the more common EO in market.

Hi Lynn, oic... But Robinson only sell one type leh...

Quoted this from the book:
Ylang-ylang (Cananga odorata) is a small tree which grows in Indonesia, the Phillippines and Madagascar. Ylang-ylang means 'flower of flowers' and you can find pink-, mauve-, and yellow- flowered varieties. The best oil comes from the yellow flowers, which are picked very early in the day, in early summer. The oil is produced by steam distillation. The flowers may be distilled several times, and the oil varies in quality, depending on the distillation. The first distillation and the finest oil is know as 'extra'. Only this 'extra' has the required properties for therapeutic use.

Lynn, meaning if I want to get Ylang ylang for calming effects, I have to get the super extra... correct?

4581.gif
cynthia

Hi Miu

Lavender is a very useful and common oil. There are diff lavender oil produced in diff country. so there may be slight difference in the smell and price.

As what Lynn & Cynthia has provided above, you can give a try on some of the oils to see its effect on u.

If u are unsure if an essential oil is ok for ur usage, u may want to do a patch test. ie. to test the oil on your hand before applying the necessary dosage on any other parts of the body.

But generally, lavender and tea tree is the safest to use (as assured by many aromatherapy books)

hi cynthia

i always tot there's only one type of ylang ylang?? only till i saw the one at robinson. anyway, does most ess oil sellers carries only the normal ones without "extra"???

Hi cynthia

For the aroma salon, would u want to ask ur FH to go along?? (does he drive). would u want to ask anyone else to go (your friends) I may check with another one or two friend but if u dont want then maybe i wont. let me know

Probably going on sat afternoon. ok with u?? or u prefer sun afternoon?

Hi SSL & Cynthia,

The different grades will mean that at which part of the steam process was the oil obtained... For higher grade, the scent will smell sweeter.

Maybe this will affect the therapeutic effect ?? Well, I'm not too sure, but I know that it really smells good and I used only 2 drops...cos really scared that it may overpower my folks...

You gals enjoy your massage and do update me about the outing...I can't join you cos I have alot of schoolwork to do...

Hi SSL,

Same like you, I also thought there is one type... anyway, think the one I saw in Scent Shop also got 'extra' behind...

FH? he dun go for this type of things... I'm okay going along with your friends. No problem about that. As long as they dun mind me loh....

I'm okay for Sat or Sun afternoon next weekend (27-28/4) and the one after next (4-5/5).

cynthia

I thought so too until I saw a website selling 4 different grades of ylang ylang....don't even know whether did I bought a good one ??? Kena cheated also don't know cos how to know which grade should smell like wat. Even same oil also smell different at different shops also....