Aromatherapy

The grapefruit essential oil is $15 for a 10ml bottle, which I bought from Jessica.

wah, u all respond so fast in this thread. Can't catch up with u all liao.

hi cynthia and lynn

so busy today
just pop a short note. will reply longer ones tonight.
saw the link that features the vaporiser
think it's very nice and cute.
probably will get one. count me in.

Hi all, I found an interesting website called Aromaweb.com. Lots of information in there - oil profiles of 90 types of essential oils, harzardous oils to avoid, recipes of blends for various purposes.

Below is the information on <FONT COLOR="119911">DIFFUSION</FONT> - something pretty confusing to me... hee...

<HR WIDTH=75% SIZE=2>Diffusion is the process of dispersing essential oils so that their aroma fills a room or an area with the natural fragrance. From the simple to the elaborate, many different methods exist for diffusing oils into a room. Three easy methods exist which can be done with things you probably already have in your household. In addition, there are numerous diffusers and diffusing devices available for purchase from aromatherapy vendors. This article will detail the different types of devices and methods that may be used.

<FONT SIZE="+1">Methods That Can Be Done With Items Already in Your Household</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Simple Tissue Diffusion</FONT>
<UL><LI>Place 3-4 drops of essential oil on a tissue. Place the tissue near you. As movement occurs in the room (i.e. as you move or as someone walks by), you will notice the aroma. <LI>Advantages: This method can be used anywhere and is quickly transportable. <LI>Disadvantages: This method does not emit much aroma into a room.</LI>[/list]<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Steam Diffusion</FONT>
<UL><LI>Boil 2 cups of water. Pour the water into a bowl and add up to 10 drops of oil to the water. Use fewer drops if you are using an oil that may cause irritation to your mucous membranes (i.e. cinnamon, eucalyptus, rosemary, pine, thyme, cajuput, etc.). Use of energizing or relaxing oils can make this method useful any time of day or night. The steam will heat the oils and cause them to evaporate quickly into the room. <LI>Advantages: This method will quickly diffuse the oils into a room. <LI>Disadvantages: The aroma is not exceptionally long-lasting. Additionally, the heat may alter or destroy certain constituents of the oils and thus the therapeutic benefit may not be as optimal as using cold-air diffusion methods.</LI>[/list]<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Candle Diffusion</FONT>
<UL><LI>Light a candle and allow it to burn for about 5 minutes. Extinguish the candle, place 1 drop of essential oil in the melted wax (not on the wick!) and then relight the candle. Essential oils are highly flammable, so great care must be used. <LI>Advantages: This method can be used most anywhere that a candle may be used. <LI>Disadvantages: Essential oils are flammable, so great care must be used. The aroma is not long-lasting. The heat may alter or destroy certain constituents of the oils and thus the therapeutic benefit may not be as optimal as using cold-air diffusion methods.</LI>[/list]
<FONT SIZE="+1">Diffusers and Diffusion Products on the Market</FONT>

The descriptions below are generalities about the different products that are available. Always check the specifications, requirements and safety comments supplied with the particular product you are interested to confirm that it is suitable for your needs and expectations.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Lamp Rings</FONT>
<UL><LI>Lamp rings are a terracotta ring that sets directly onto a light bulb. It has a grooved lip that goes all the way around it. This lip holds essential oil. The heat from a light bulb heats the essential oil in the Lamp Ring and the oil is then gently diffused into the room. <LI>Advantages: Lamp Rings are usually very inexpensive. <LI>Disadvantages: If any essential oil gets onto the light bulb, the light bulb could break. The heat may alter or destroy certain constituents of the oils and thus the therapeutic benefit may not be as optimal as using cold-air diffusion methods.</LI>[/list]
<FONT COLOR="808080">Clay Pot Diffusers</FONT>
<UL><LI>Clay pot diffusers go by many names, but they resemble small terracotta pots. They also can be found in various small shapes such as pyramids. A clay pot diffuser contains an opening for adding essential oils. Usually a cork is the method by which the opening is closed. The oils permeate through the pot and then diffuse out into the room. The intensity of the aroma depends on how much essential oil is added to the clay pot. <LI>Advantages: Clay pot diffusers are very inexpensive, easy to use, and do not require electricity or batteries. <LI>Disadvantages: The aroma is strongest shortly after adding essential oil to the clay pot and then dissipates as time passes. As such, it’s hard to keep the same level of aroma in the room.</LI>[/list]<FONT COLOR="119911">Candle Diffusers</FONT>
<UL><LI>A candle diffuser is a diffuser that utilizes a tea light or other candle to gently heat the essential oil to promote diffusion into a room. A candle diffuser is usually ceramic or metal. The diffuser has an opening or space for a candle and a little bowl or tray for storing a tiny quantity of essential oil. Candle diffusers come in many shapes and colors from the modest functional piece to the piece that acts both as a work of art and as a candle diffuser. <LI>Advantages: Candle diffusers can be inexpensive, depending on the style and design. Candle diffusers do not require electricity or batteries. <LI>Disadvantages: One needs to be as careful with using a candle diffuser as with using candles in general. Also, one must be sure to keep replacement candles on hand. The aroma generally diffused by a candle diffuser is very light and it does not usually diffuse an entire room. The heat may alter or destroy certain constituents of the oils and thus the therapeutic benefit may not be as optimal as using cold-air diffusion methods.</LI>[/list]<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Fan Diffusers</FONT>
<UL><LI>Fan diffusers come in a variety of sizes, shapes and styles. A fan diffuser uses a fan to blow the essential oils into the air. To use a fan diffuser, essential oils are usually placed onto a disposable absorbent pad or into a tray. The pad or tray is placed into the unit and then powered on. The fan then blows air across this pad or tray and carries the aroma throughout the room. Since fan diffusers come in a variety of sizes, some fan diffusers will only diffuse a small room whereas others can diffuse very large areas. Some fan diffusers require the use of an absorbent pad (the pads can usually be reordered from the retailer or directly from the manufacturer). In others, the use of absorbent pads is optional. <LI>Advantages: Fan diffusers are available in a wide variety of brands and styles. Depending on the brand and model, fan diffusers can fragrance a large area. Fan diffusers are generally easy to use. Some fan diffusers are powered by both electricity and batteries making them quite portable. <LI>Disadvantages: Some fan diffusers, depending on the brand and model, require the purchase of replacement absorbent pads. Some fan diffusers are noisy.</LI>[/list]<FONT COLOR="ffff00">Electric Heat Diffusers</FONT>
<UL><LI>Similar to a fan diffuser, heat diffusers use heat and a fan to gently heat the oil and disperse the aroma into a room. <LI>Advantages: Electric heat diffusers may fragrance larger areas, depending on the brand and style. They can also help to more efficiently disperse the aromas of thicker oils such as Sandalwood and Patchouli. <LI>Disadvantages: Heat may alter or destroy certain constituents of the oils and thus the therapeutic benefit may not be as optimal as using cold-air diffusion methods.</LI>[/list]<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Nebulizers</FONT>
<UL><LI>A nebulizer is a device that takes essential oils and breaks them into separate molecules before dispersing the smaller molecules into the room. It is said that these smaller molecules can be more readily absorbed by the lungs and thus create greater therapeutic value than by use of other diffusion methods. A nebulizer is a small (perhaps 8" x 4" x 6") device that consists of two main parts: the plastic base that contains the motor and a very unusual, clear blown-glass looking device that holds and "nebulizes" the oils. Instead of the use of the unusual glass piece, some nebulizers use a special bottle that looks like a boston round bottle. <LI>Advantages: It is said that nebulizers can supply greater therapeutic benefit than the use of other diffusers because they break the oils down into smaller molecules. <LI>Disadvantages: The glass piece is breakable and expensive to replace. Compared to other methods, cleaning the glass between different oils is time consuming. Depending on the style nebulizer, thick oils such as Sandalwood and Patchouli usually cannot be used as they can clog certain style nebulizers.</LI>[/list]<HR WIDTH=75% SIZE=2>

Hi cynthia

GREAT JOB!!!
think u the best lah

yes, the info are basically what i've read about in the little book from library that i wanted to buy at Amazon.com lor.

But it's very good. will check with web out at home tonight.

cant wait to finish my dinner liao

haiz me still working in office.
tomorrow half day off so trying to finish as much as i can lor.

Hi Lynn

Of course not so comprehensive but i like the compact and colour and pictorial presentation lor. And it's not expensive too. haha

I bought a book at Borders, which is priced at $11.99 but i paid $1.99 cos my friend gave me a $10 voucher. haha so happy.

Sure sure and i will take my time to see which one i want. Also checking with sis cos she uses electric ring now. last time she uses burner.

Hi Cynthia

jessica's diffuser uses "shoek" wood and it's very porus. U cant "see" the oil coming out from the bottle. After two days, the ess oil that u drip into the bottle will then be able to emerge it's fragrance from the "pores" of the wood.

The more u use the bottle, the darker the colour. which means that the ess oil is well "sip" inside the bottle.

It's a pure grapefruit oil, not blended. Grapefruit is useful for relaxing, encourages appetite and aids in overcoming frustration.

I wont mind going to bintan and not staying there but i would think after massage sure very shiok and relax. and after paying the ferry there, why not try the resort facilities as well. heehee.

Think lynn replied u on the grapefruit price liao.

We just keep each other in touch about the ordering ok.

Hi Lynn &amp; cynthia,

I also want to buy. let me know which one you all getting. I'm interested in the french lilac and the blue one with yellow rim.

Hi all... french lilac is a nice colour
but my new room is painted cucumber. So, thought a darker/ brighter colour suits better

I can't resist not joining in the fun on this thread.....and by the way....i do sell electric vaporisers (pretty similar to the ones on the web or is mine prettier????) The retail price for mine is only S$62.00, u got a 20% discount from me so u only pay S$49.60. I have changed all my electric vaporisers plugs to suit our country so there is no need to buy multi-pin plugs. Btw, aussie electric plugs are round-pin, not like us.

I only left about 3 or 4 in my salon so let me know if any of u gals want to order from me...heehee....i am spoiling Lynn's fun...hope i dun see lynn with rotten eggs at my salon tomoro...

SSL...I also do sell traditional burners...i use to carry alot of them but i sold them mostly during bazaars or in bulk to organisations. There are some left in my salon which I retail at only S$10.00. When I rec'd a large order, then i will indent more burners and u will have more to choose from. Drop by my salon and I show u what I have left...

I also do sell gel-candles.....just a couple left so anyone interested in gel-candles, u can get them at a very good discount from me. I will check what is the blend of the remaining gel-candles and let u gals know, if anyone is interested.

Hehe....I also sell SMOKELESS tea-lites, for those who have sensitive noses and cannot tolerate smoke. It is made of 100% organic bee-wax but the cost for 10 tea-lites is $3.00.

Anything else...u gals required??

Yours Truly

Jessica Choo
Beauty Inspirations
#04-64 Far East Plaza
Tel ; 6 7355055
H/P : 9 0478676

Hi Jessica, good to see an expert here... You seemed to have everything we want to buy, hahaha...

Hi SSL &amp; Lynn, want to meet up today at Jessica's shop? Me really interested in seeing her stuff leh... If today cannot, then please suggest another date... Maybe more people, more discount?? =P

4368.gif
cynthia

Hi all, another piece of interesting information
Found it in Aromatic Science website. Below is only an extract. For the full article, please refer to the link.

<HR WIDTH=75% SIZE=2><FONT SIZE="+1">Guide to Buying Essential Oils</FONT>
Some guidelines for buying good quality essential oils:

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Sufficient label information: </FONT>Good brands should include at least the following information:

Botanical species: We must know the species of the plant used for distillation. For example, the name "lavender oil" is inadequate because there are so many species of lavender. A defined botanical species gives the name of the genus in Latin. This is followed by a qualifying adjective and in some cases the variety and the chemotype. The combination of the genus or generic name and the adjective defines the botanical species. This is the minimum requirement in identifying the correct oil to use.

Examples of different types of lavender are: <UL><LI>Lavendula angustifolia or true lavender is the most common lavender essential oil used in aromatherapy. It has a balancing effect, sedative in small quantities, and it is useful for insomnia, stress, headache and burns, among others. The main constituents are linalol and linalyl acetate. <LI>Lavendula Latifolia or spike lavender. Its main chemical constituents are cineol, camphor and linalol. The effect is not as sedating as true lavender and the smell is more camphoraceous.</LI>[/list]Recent research at Purdue University found that many of the oils sold in the market as lavender is in fact lavendin, a hybrid developed by crossing true lavender and spike lavender. Lavandin is significantly cheaper than true lavender.

Another example is Eucalyptus. Because there are many species and varieties it is meaningless to speak of " Eucalyptus oil ". For example, there is Eucalyptus globulus, Eucalyptus radiata, and Eucalyptus citriodora, among others. A high percentage of cineol is found in the globulus and radiata types, but not the citridora type. Oils with a higher percentage of cineol tend to be better expectorants.

It is not surprising that many fail to get what they expect from an essential oil. One of the factors is the lack of technical information. The next time you want to buy an essential oil of lavender for relaxing, make sure you get Lavendula angustifolia.

Country of origin is very useful to know for the plant being distilled or expressed. For example Clary sage from Russia has a different chemical composition from the species from Israel. The Russian type has a harsher odour than the one from France. And the best quality sandalwood oil is from East India and not West India.

Producing Organ. It is also very useful to know which part of the plant was used in extraction. For example, the best therapeutic effect comes from the berries of Juniper, not the leaves. Therefore aromatherapy quality oil should be labelled Juniper berry, not just Juniper.

Safety Information.The Aromatherapy Trade Council of the UK states that safety information should be included in the packaging. These include: For external use only, Do not use undiluted on the skin, Avoid sensitive areas like the eyes, and Keep away from children.

Responsible suppliers should include the above information, but many oils are sold in the market without it. This is because few suppliers are fully qualified in aromatherapy and do not know the best sources. The tendency is to select essential oils on the basis of cost rather than purity, known botanical source, origins, and safety. <HR WIDTH=75% SIZE=2>

Hi cynthia

i'm fine to meet at jessica's place.
just sms for the date and time lah
soli busy so gota short and sweet

Hi Jessica,

Aiyah, I won't get angry one.. very excited to see them... hey, it's a very good bargain leh. Next time you have new stuffs here must tell us earlier, we are very good customers one..hohoho!!!

Hi Cynthia and SSL,

Can meet but must make it fast cos I am meeting a long-time friend from Canada today at 7pm...

hi cynthia

actually today i half day running errands
will be at Novena square
can confirm later
if i cant go, then u and lynn go ahead

Hi Lynn &amp; cynthia

So how's the meetup at Jessica today? soli i was unable to make it cos i couldnt leave the place earlier.

Let me know or probably if u want we can meet up at her place another time.

Hi SSL, sorry I din SMS u last night. Me too tired plus din check my phone... =P

Anyway, we saw Jessica's wares... Me bought the grapefruit and diffuser (like yours) but still have not decided where to hang it yet... Lynn bought sweet almond oil. We still like the electric vapourizer from the website better, so probably getting that. U still interested?

Hi Cool, have u decided between the french lilac and the rich blue with yellow rim? Or U getting both?

4382.gif
cynthia

Hi Cynthia,

Think i better get the french lilac one. goes better with my room colour scheme. Let me know when you gals are getting it.

Have anyone tried the lavender shower gel from body shop? It's very nice. Also can also try the lavender + tea tree oil shower gel from origin source. I personally like that too.

Hi cynthia

Guess what? my sis is giving me her burner and her tealights (not alot only about 15pcs) cos she's using electric ring now.

I need to check with hubby if i can order a vaporiser cos i will then have three burners/vaporiser at home which maybe too many.

Will let u know later. As for my sis, she's not in singapore so can only check with her when she comes back.

Am sure u will enjoy your diffuser like i do.

Also checked with Jessica about ess oils for foot bath. Probably buying rosemary from her. Will not be buying chamomile cos it's too exp. and jessica told me i can also use lemon too. heehee.

So since i have lemon already, i will both oils as foot soak. see how's the effect

Hi Jessica

Not sure if u are still reading this thread. just want to check with u what it mean by "essential oil blend"? how different are they from ess oil?

today i saw at spotlight and also one shop and they got sell this type which they labelled "Chamomile &amp; Jojoba Blend"??

Lynn or Cynthia, do you gals know??

Another question for jessica or anyone who knows.

To do a aroma spritz (ess oil + water). can use plastic spray can?? or must be glass??

How long should we keep the spray??

Hi SSL,

Can you tell me how big an area that diffuser can cover? Wanted to hang that in my office... but me sharing that room with 2 other colleagues. Dun want to "suffocate" them, yet still hope the fragrance will hover around my space leh... Greedy me, =P

btw, your questions very chim... amateur like me cannot answer... hee hee... better leave it to the expert and the grand masters.

cynthia

Can anyone please tell me where's the cheapest place in Singapore to buy all kinds of essential oils?? i kinda intend to buy a whole range of different kinds, and was wondering if there was any mail-order service or internet company which would supply such oils for a lower price...please let me know!! Thanks!!!

Hi $aver, u want to buy all kinds of essential oil? u setting up a shop? have u tried searching the net for information?

can u advise me as to where can i get pure lavender oil for my face...which brands r better and how much? currently, i am only using tea tree oil for my pimples...
i got it from renewal day spa...quite good..

Hi Lynn, SSL, Cynthia,

Can you let me know how much do I have to fork out for the vaporiser which you gals are talking about? That means plus the cost of air-freight too. Thks. I am interested, and may want to order too! The french liliac one looks pretty.

Cool,
I have tried the lavender showere gel from Body shop. I like everything lavender. It's nice!

Sushi

Hi Jaslyn,

I have the sweet almond oil which I bought from Jessica. It has got a faint smell leh. So I am wondering if there's problem with my nose. Can hardly smell it. Usually, I mix with my lavender oil, so can only smell that.

Hi Sushi,

Here's a rough calculation... hope my maths doesn't fail me =P

<TABLE><TR><TD><FONT SIZE="-1">French lilac vapourizer =</FONT></TD><TD> <FONT SIZE="-1">A$42</FONT> </TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT SIZE="-1">After 5% discount =</FONT></TD><TD> <FONT SIZE="-1">A$39.90</FONT> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> <FONT SIZE="-1">(Coz Lynn &amp; me &amp; Cool are also getting one each)</FONT> </TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT SIZE="-1">Plus shipping =</FONT></TD><TD> <FONT SIZE="-1">A$10</FONT> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> <FONT SIZE="-1">(Total shipping for 4 is A$40. Just nice to divide by 4)</FONT> </TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT SIZE="-1">TOTAL FOR ONE PERSON =</FONT></TD><TD> <FONT SIZE="-1">A$49.90</FONT> </TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT SIZE="-1">In Sing Dollar =</FONT></TD><TD> <FONT SIZE="-1">S$51.28</FONT> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD><FONT SIZE="-1">(using the rate Lynn quote above - 1.02774)</FONT></TD></TR></TABLE>

cynthia

Hi Bebe,

You can get all kinds of essential oils from Jessica at Beauty Inspirations. This is also the place where some of the gals here go for facials and peels. Jessica is very much into aromatherapy and thus essentials oils.

Her lavender oil is this brand called Simply Nature, costs $19.20. She may be carrying other brands as well, not too sure though. I think it's quite a good brand.

Alternatively, you can also buy from the Scent Shop. I got mine at $13 plus. Frankly, I dun know which brand is good. Important thing is that it must be pure, so that it's good enough to put on the face.

I was just reading April's Her World mag, which says that ...

"Aromatherapy can be used with good results in the treatment of acne, regardless of cause. Essential oils are beneficial because they help clear infection, reduce sebum, minimise the extent of scarring and promote the growth of new skin tissue. Both teatree and lavender have bactericidal properties. Lavender is soothing and healing and promotes the growth of healthy new skin".

Sounds very encouraging to use more essential oils huh, especially lavender and tea-tress to combat poor skin, which I have!!

Hope this is informative to all.

Sushi

Hi Cynthia,

Good morning, you are also on-line! Thks for your calculations. Will let you know soon!

-Sushi

Hi Sushi, to apply essential oil onto the face, is there a need for massaging? or we just apply like a toner? Thanks

Great to find out abt this forum topic today! I'm also a aromatherapy fanatic!

I'm using the BEL'AIR diffuser and their special Botanicool oil, saw the logo in the recent NKF charity advertisement?

I really enjoy using the product so much and my favourite oil is Green Tea, followed by Eulcalytus and Ginseng.

The scent really stay just by abt 2 hours of diffusion and u do not have to worry about open flames cos it does not use fire nor electricity.
Very special right? It is not in any of the above different ways of diffusion stated in the aromaweb.com. My friends introduced to me only in Jan this year and I have been a faithful user since.

Talk to u again as I'm rushing to church now.

Bye Gals
Chu

Hi cynthia

I put the diffuser inside my office cabinet. so when i open the cabinet the smell will "diffuse" out from the cabinet and lingers around my cubicle. Dont think your colleagues will be suffocated lah.

I'm also using Lavender+lilac scented balls from Scent Shop. I hang it at my drawer handle and the smell also lingers around my cubicle area.

You should "top up" once u feel the scent is losing. and remember that the ess oil will take sometime to "soak" through the diffuser to allow the scent to come out. so be patient. probably one to two days u should be able to smell the oils.

Thks for providing the calculations for us for the vaporiser. I will also take a look at what Jessica has at her shop.

heehee. paiseh for asking so chim questions. LYNN where are u?????? able to help me????

To use ess oil on face, if u are using for "going to pop out pimple", u just dab the lavender oil directly on ur "pimple lump" (well at least that's what i do)

Hi $aver

You can check out this shop called Lavender located at City Hall Basement 1 (besides the up going escalator where the ATMs are)

I saw that they sell in package of ess oils. but i think they are only in small tubes, more for travelling usage or if u are "collecting" them for the scents.

Got package for travelling, yoga, etc. But if u are looking for bigger ml, like 10ml, then i think they sell in individual bottles.

Or you can check with Jessica from beauty inspirations where some of us here buys our oils from her.

Hi Lynn

Sorry for the delay. Hubby prefers French Lilac so i'll ordered that. Sis doesnt want it. So i guess there are 3 orders for french lilac (if sushi is ordering).

Me into this kinda stuff just recently. Bought lavender the other day and love it very much, so as my hubby.

A friend told me that aroma wasn't too good for pregnant woman. Me not pregnant yet lar, but thot of asking you gals if you all know anything about it?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cynthia</FONT>
the Bel'Air diffuser is similar to the Lampeberger diffusers u mentioned. my uncle's selling, that why i said maybe (maybe only) can try to get at cost price....

hi sapphire

only certain essential oils are not suitable for use during pregnancy. can check for u when i go home cos my "notes" are at home. think rosemary is one of them. but cant be 100% sure. soli

Angelia, it looks like that one ah??? guess it's not for me then
I don't like the appearance of the Lampeberger diffuser =P

Hi Jaslyn,

No, it does not have a heavy smell, but a very delicate nut smell. I think the base oil with the heaviest scent will be olive, hence, olive oil is not a popular choice as it overpower the smell of the essential oils. Almond oil does NOT keep as well as jojoba oil, so make sure you don't keep it for too long.

Hi SSL,

I will tell you what I know lah... hope these helps.

As chamomile is so expensive, some shops choose to sell them diluted, eg 3% dilution in jojoba oil. Jojoba oil is usually used as it does not go rancid and can keep for a long time. Same applies for rose. You have a choice here, either get 2ml of the pure stuff or 10ml of the diluted stuff. They are about the same price. I find that the diluted stuff works too just that I may have to increase the number of drops though....

Some plastic may be melted by the essential oil, so you maybe want to use glass.. but I think those plastic containers sold in essential oil shops should be safe to use.

Hi Cool, Cynthia SSL and Sushi,

Yes, I am collating orders.. usually mia during the weekends if I am at my new place as I haven't apply for phone line or SCV... So the rest are fixed except wating for Sushi's reply ? Please check whether I got your orders correct. I am not too sure whether the credit company uses the same exchange rates... to what I know they don't cos I used it to buy books from Amazon. Hence, the rates may be off by a few cents, which may mean that you gals may have to pay $4-5 more in Singapore dollars just in case. Is this alright with you gals ?

Cool - 1 French Lilac
Cythia - 1 Aztec
SSL - French Lilac
Sushi - Frenck Lilac too ??

Hi Sapphire,

Some essential oil encourages or hasten " time of the time" so it is not advisable to use for pregnant women. Lavender is by so far the most gentle and versatile oil, so no worries. You may choose not to use it for massage during the first four months of pregnancy though, just to be very sure.

hi lynn

i'm fine with the price. doesnt matter. probably they will take the exchange rate as at the time that they bill u lor.

this wed orchard lib got two talks on contact lens and laser vision correction. any one interested to go?? the first one starts at 7 and the second will probably continue from 8.30 onwards. most probably will go unles i'm tired.

hi lynn

i can meet u for dinner first before we go cos the think probably end 9+/10.

tot of going to jessica's place before heading there. what do u think?? we sms one another on this ok.

heard from radio that Tan Tock Seng Hospital lately open a new unit for such eye laser services.

My hubby did his with a doc at east shore long time ago. very good. i think cost $3000+ per eye. But that was quite long time ago lor.

heard got $1000+ one but it all depends on your power i guess.

wha u thinking of doing?? hubby ask me if i want to (he pay) i told him NO WAY!! scared me at the thought of it.

found this while searching for more electric vaporizers...

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Aromatherapy in Pregnancy</FONT>
by Annie Warburton

<FONT COLOR="119911">Annie Warburton created the Œaromatherap.ie range of oils and soaps for Fragrances of Ireland. Visit www.aromatherap.ie for more aromatherapy tips and ideas. To receive the aromatherap.ie ezine, email [email protected].

More and more women are using essential oils during pregnancy. As a holistic approach, aromatherapy is a good choice during this period of tremendous physical, mental, and emotional change. As well as easing the minor discomforts of pregnancy, essential oils help balance emotions and maintain the well being of the mother. Safety, however, is crucial. As not all oils are appropriate for use during pregnancy, ensure that you use safe oils at a suitably low dilution. Read the section on safety below and, if in any doubt, seek the advice of a professional aromatherapist.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Nausea</FONT>
To help prevent morning sickness, diffuse petitgrain and mandarin oils in an electric vaporiser overnight or sprinkle the oils on a tissue to place by your bedside as you sleep.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Exhaustion</FONT>
If you’re feeling exhausted or very emotional, choose balancing lavender, geranium or bergamot oil for your diffuser.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Massage</FONT>
A ten-minute daily backrub can make a huge difference to your mood. Throughout pregnancy, encourage your partner to give you regular aromatherapy massages to keep your body supple and relaxed and your emotions balanced. During the first trimester, simply use plain sweet almond oil or another carrier. Later, mix in lavender, chamomile, sandalwood or frankincense, using a maximum of one drop essential oil per 5ml carrier. The diluted oil can also be added to your bath for a soothing soak.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Stretch Marks</FONT>
To prevent stretch marks, massage your abdomen, thighs and breasts daily from the beginning of the second trimester with the following blend: 2 drops frankincense essential oil and 2 drops mandarin essential oil diluted in 15ml sweet almond oil and 5 ml wheatgerm oil.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Safety</FONT>
Many essential oils are unsuitable for use during pregnancy. Only use oils that have been recommended by a professional aromatherapist as safe to use at this time. Always check the label for safety information first, choose high quality pure essential oils, and avoid using 'fragrance oils'. For use on the skin or in the bath, dilute essential oils using a maximum of 2 drops essential oil per10ml (two teaspoonfuls) of carrier oil. Do not use neat essential oils on the skin.</FONT>

also saw a couple of vaporizers...

http://cgi.aromatherapy-online.ws/acatalog/__Vaporisers_69.html

Hi Angelia,

Can I know the price for a Bel'air diffuser ?? Does it works by electricity too ?? May want to get one of this to try out if the price is not too much for me.. Many thanks in advance.

Hi SSL,

Okie, sure meet you for dinner. On coming Wednesday, right ??

btw, juz bought eucaplytus last nite. boy, it smells like the "tiger balm" oil rite?! anyone thinks the same?

hi angelia

yaya, it smells like "feng you" heehee
it's very diff from the smell from eucalyptus incense sticks.

but if u mix with lavender it will cover up the "medicated" smell

btw, anyone knows when jessica's salon will be closed for the reno?? not sure if wed she's leaving or not wait go all the way there her shop close then sianz