Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

hello hello hello

sounds like everything's getting up to speed for everyone

Who's planning to buy a dryer? I have decided to finally get one. Mayer Marketing has a promo for an Ariston Dryer (6kg) @ $560 (or something like that). The additional rack to put on top of my washer is $99. Any other recommendations?

Hippos...

Think so leh... his name starts with "K" right??
Initially I thought its because we didnt give himn alot of things to do... cannot earn money from us, thats why dilly dally here and there...

Luckily never let him do the painting job... if not think I can move in in Dec..

You change ur tiles to Homo?

Hi wise,

am not able to upload my floor plan leh ..how ar ? mine is in adobe format.

Hi bellbell,
mind sharing what are the defects u reported and are they changing everyone of them?
my wall tiles cracks, and both toilets tiles sound hollow and floor tiles in entire apartment have some cracks, chippes and hollow ones, any chance they might hack and replace those or the entire flooring leh ?

Hi matka,
how much energy consumption does that model utilise? cos my FH mentioned that the citygas one is really much much cheaper than the electrical ones.So you might like to take a look at the gas dryer(me might be also re-considering since is a long run thingy).

Bin bin,

tks for the tips, still have decided whether to buy dryer or not, maybe dun even have space to put the dryer.haha

Hi hippos,
mine is EA, room very far from kitchen, and the rooms are not facing the sun, only my MBR is.

Hi interrace, u can cut and paste the flr plan into paint and save it as a jpg file. Make sure that the attribute is within 600 x 600.

JC

elo interrace. space for dryer shouldn't be a problem. u can get front load washing machines and u can put your dryer on top of the washing machine.

bell_bell: sob sob, yar lah, same same, sigh.... how long did he take to finish flooring from start to end? but once he finishes flooring the hdb plumbers can come in and start work too rite? so at least you have concurrent works gg on, should be faster from now on?

Interrace: you can check with TC who will be your officer in charge and the email address of your officer. Then just email can liao, no need to travel all the way there!

HiHi interrace

Am not too sure how much energy consumption it takes up. But i'm a little paranoid about gas tho... only relying on piped-in gas for my stove. That's also one of the reasons why I didn't opt for a gas heater for my water as well. Will there be a logistics problem for the piping in for me, since I'm past the reno stage?

Morning everyone!!! TGIT!!!!

Hi JC,

tks for the offer, will email u shortly!

Hi hippos,

okie, tks for the tip, will call them this wkend.

Hi matka,

I am not too sure if there will be logistic problem or not leh...can check with my ID for u .
cos for me, the ID mentioned that if we are using the gas pipes for the dryer as well, then they will have to do the piping and stuff for the dryer, gas heater and the stove.

I like ur layout. Can have a gd separation of living and dining area. Can even have a breakfast top in the dining area like those in condo. :D

Hi Interrace,
hmmm... suggestion: may b can hack down the wall infront of the kitchen to create a open concept dinning cum kitchen together.

or still hack away the wall & extend yr kitchen size. & can olso act as a divider to block pple from looking in.

the store room is big & eating into the kitchen.

then yr study room can make into a dinning area.

btw, hv u tried lookin for ID? search for some ID & steal their ideas. they should hv better idea then mi....

happi planning!!!

Hi Jc,

tks for helping to upload.

we placing dining table at the dining area as stated, no breakfast top loh , no $ leh. keke.

Hi wise,

Actually one of the IDs did sugguest that and we did tot of hacking at least half of the wall, however since our tiles are done up, is quite impossible, also cos of the cost of hacking and stuff.
however now will be submitting our defects list to hdb, if they allow to hack the entire apartment flooring, we might consider hacking the kitchen area ba,all things not confirmed yet.

tks for the sugguestion and advices pple!!

hi guys!
i long time din log in here.... come back fr my hols liao.

interrace, u got ur keys liao ar... remember our cycling date... hahaha....

jc, alamak y u go buy sengkang flat, still thot can go ur hse to c ur pet chinchillas.

interrace: at first I tot wah how come your wall got so many recessed area, then realised its the scanned creases and stuff! heh... I agree with wise that maybe you can extend the kitchen wall towards teh main door, then you can partition your kitchen into wet/dry area by means of a kerb, can do laundry there. Or have open kitchen but have sliding/bifold doors to act as "walls" while cooking, then when not cooking can open up completely.

Hi pekochan,

welkum back.where did u go for hols? good hor, can go hols..i also wanna go for one.
of cos rem our cycling date, till in 2-3 more mths time ?

Hi wise,
tks for the ideas and tips...will see how th defect lists goes, if they are willing to change my entire flooring i will surely wanna extend my kitchen... tks yo!!

hello all,

must be excited planning for your renovation yah? hehe...i wish i can do that over again cos i'm tired of the layout of my home already

i think besides stealing ideas from IDs, another gd reference wld be the interior design magazines. they serve as very good reference and some more you can show your contractor or ID exactly what kind of designs you preferred.

happy researching

Hi Interrace,
u r most welcome. tat is wat happen after visitng so many ID.... then behave liked 'em liao... kekeee.. anyway, good luck to yr defects list. :p

Hi hippos,
they start hacking yr floor liao. then was shock they hack part of our flr w/o informing us... so i suan him.... then he said hack it together wif yours!!!! OMG!!! snyway, must monitor 'em....

Hi dingdong,
got fotos to share boh?

Hippo,

Eh... don't think there is HDB plumber... every repairs to the defects will be done by our fast and efficient Mr k---Y. We pester him already, and he said he will complete his job by coming Tuesday.. keeping my fingers cross..

Interrace,

I have cracked floor tiles too. But the contractor ran out of similar tiles, thats why he offered to change all of our tiles and lay new ones. the other defects we spotted are:

1)rivets of the metal gate and windows.. all of them were lose.

2)Cracked walls, kitchen floor and wall tiles.

3)Rusty screws (those on the wall plugs)

4)Horribly scratched and chipped window grills.

5)Rusty/Dirty door knobs, shower heads and taps

6)The rubber on the door of the household shelter (it was coming off)

7)Concrete on the bottom of the toliet bowls

My friend bought a similar unit in the opposite block.. he is an expert in uncovering all the defects.. he even got HDB to change all the window panes for him !!!! *clap clap*

hehe.. care to reveal where you girls are staying? Mine is on the 9th storey.. floor plan the mirror image of Hippo : P

hmm...by the way, we're suppose to change the rivets of our casement windows right. anyone started to engage a contractor to do it?

TGIF!!! finally is friday ....

Hi bell bell,

My list are as below :

„« Windows frame¡¦s nails for both location are very RUSTY.

„« Sliding of the windows are STIFF, not very smooth

„« Floor tiles for the Foyer, Living/Dining, bedrooms and toilets are CHIPPED, STAINED, SCRATCHED, POCKMARKED and HOLLOW.
„« Floor joining to the bedroom frames are CHIPPED too.

„« Lots of CRACK can be found in the bedroom.

„« CRACK and CHIPPED tiles can be found in the both Master and Common toilets.

„« CRACK and CHIPPED tiles can be found in the kitchen.

All the screws are RUSTY.

„« Vanity sink has a SCRATCH and WHITE RESIDUE that CANNOT be removed.
„« Shower tap is fixed SLANTED and with a HOLE on the wall.
„« The sliding glass door is SHAKY and NOT SMOOTH.

„« Seat cover is MISSING 1 Rubber Stopper.
„« Water stopper in sink is RUSTY and TARNISHED.
„« Shower tap is fixed SLANTED and with a HOLE on the wall.
„« Sliding door for toilet entrance and shower area is NOT SMOOTH and produce a SQUEAKY sounds.

I din really look at the window panels though.
the hinges of the window looks okie, not rusty, so is also a must to change those ?

me staying in segar, u and wise are at senja ?

Hi dingdong,

u can always give ur home a face lift with little $ involved, i saw from home and decor they have those face lift thingy, very major change in the look. u may like to consider ?

interrace,

that's really a very long list of defects!

regarding home facelift, which issue of home & decor publicised this? I hvn't been buying home & decor after my reno completed.

Hi dingdong,

think being KS over my defect list, lol.
but i wish they can redo everything loh.*wishful tot*

June's issue,i think u want ? can borrow u ?

interrace: rem to ask them to change rivets to stainless steel ones.

dingdong: re rivets, hdb replaced mine free under defects! heh heh... maybe should report flat too small, then they change and give me bigger one too...

bell: mine's also the mirror of wise! And no leh, the hdb lady said once "Kuikly" finishes tiling, her plumber can start rectifying toilet defects? Wah, if its the same then next time I have high tide, have to run to senja grand!

wise: hey you should be thankful, it took me almost 3 weeks before he started hacking my floor and it took you less than 1 week? wah lau, you should buy 4D! Let's hope he's equally quick with the tile laying.

interrace, Jun's issue still in the mkt right? i'll buy one lor. if not, then hv to get from you liao.

hippos, u are damn lucky man. so many things HDB willingly replace for you FOC/at minimal cost. wah, somemore bgt the flat at a much lower price than mine. aiya, i shd hv wait for two more years lah *heart pain*.

eh, u met up with the contractor already?

Wise

I got my keys in March.

Hippo.. aiyo.. that means I must wait somemore before my ID can start work ah...

Interrace.. yap.. me in Senja

BTW, My hub insisted on HDB providing us with rivets (or screws of the windows) with the marking that states "3.5 stainless steel" (something like that) to confirm that it is the kind of steel HDB wants all the window rivets to be made of...

dingdong: aiyah but you got higher floors what, my floor's really low, wish I could get higher ones. I'll willingly swop all the freebies and stuff to get your flat! And yep I met up with the hdb contractor already...... 3 weeks ago.... and he just started work... sigh...

bell: so you got free replacement of rivets from HDB as well? For me as long as HDB replaces it, I don't care SS or not cuz its their responsibility mah.

Hi Hippos,
tks the tips, nearly forget the window rivets thingy.

Hi dingdong,
sure let me noe if u wanna borrow ya.

Hi bellbell,

U got ur keys in march, defects till now have not been completed ar? tat's like very long time leh..

hippos, i din stay on a very high floor also mah though available to me at the time of purchase but din choose lor. a bit regret lah.
u decided on this contractor ah. so fast start renovation already?! i dilly dally for mths then finally confirm on a particular design.

dingdong: no lah the "contractor" I"m referring to is the HDB contractor supposed to rectify my defects one!! I haven't chosen my main reno contractor yet. Your floor no matter how low is prob still much higher than mine lah.

Joke:

A small boy is sent to bed by his father.

Five minutes later....."Da-ad...."

"What?"

"I'm thirsty. Can you bring drink of water?"

"No, You had your chance. Lights out."

Five minutes later: "Da-aaaad....."

"WHAT?"

"I'm THIRSTY. Can I have a drin k of water??"

I told you NO! If you ask again, I'll have to spank you!!"

Five minutes later......"Daaaa-aaaad....."

"WHAT!"

"When you come in to spank me, can you bring a drink of water?"

any idea hw to get rid of the foul smell in the bomb shelter? izzit becos i din open to air it so the smell is always there? and also i've got a featured wall to cover so the smell can't go away?

interrace, i went to swiss n italy. tell u smthing i've just learnt hw to cycle, went chalet last wk so my hb taught me. went to buy a bicycle yesterday so when u officially move in we can go cycling.

wise, haha...that's funny.

hippos, ok ok..let u win, urs lower than mine :P

pekochan, i also wann join u gals for cycling. my rusty stead waiting to shine it's armour again.

peko: is your HS totally sealed up? ie the ventilation outlets all closed up? maybe you can try cheapo solution of putting air freshener inside? Else you need to find some way of ventilating it? your bicycle got put the 2 training side wheels one?

wise: heh... thanks for the joke!

dingdong: thanks... *ssshhh* I pay you later... you accept credit card?...

helo helo! dingdong, welcome back, how's ur trip? so did your friend managed to get what you want from MWL?

do we need to change rivets? think hubby called hdb, flats after a certain yr dun need right? not sure i rem correctly.

hi pekochan, i have the problem of bomb shelter smell too! it can be so bad that my eyes water when i go into the store for more than 10seconds.
tried some means like putting pandan leaves (supposed to absorb smell), putty thirsty hippo, leaving it open for longer. i think the leaving it open solution is the more effective. just air it for some hours a day?

i want i want to cycle too! but i no bike...

MATKA! sorry, need to ask you something. u are a tv fan right? did you watch the 2nd season of Eye for A Guy, with Denise Keller? I am very sad coz i missed the final episode, my friend supposedly record for me but record wrong timing.
i know she din choose Howard but I want to know how the whole episode went. Did you watch? Can share?

hippos, i accept all kinds of cards - credit cards, atms, diners, ....kekeke

binbin, the trip not bad. we did a lot of sightseeing but minimum shopping
. the place is very laid back and relax. even tho we stayed in their CBD area, there's not much hustle and bustle - very unlike Sg. we joined day tours and the guide told us that the weekends are very quiet but the streets will be busy during weekdays. come weekday, we're expecting to see lots of cars and pple along the street but eventually not what we've expected. the streets are still relatively quiet compared to SG or HK.

the sun sets at around 5 pm and it gets very boring at night cos all shops closed very early. the weather was very cold, sometimes the temp drop to 7 deg cel...brrr. haha, but we managed to take about 290 pictures :P

yup, got the materials and stuff. but i have one problem - i do not know how to get started.

i think need to change rivets. that's what stated in the notice board at the lift area. flats reaching 5 years and >5 yrs old need to change to stainless steel. otherwise, HDB wld impose a fine on us. sometimes, i wonder why HDB don't install the SS rivets when building the blocks.

hehe, my HS smelly too. but usually i'll open the HS door to air the insides. then not so bad.

Hi JC,

I try lah!! Hope the meaning is still there....
:p.... if not can somebody pls correct for mi...

Two mans named TRUTH & LIE went for a bath at a river one day.
LIE on the shore took & put on THRUTH clothes
And stubborn TRUTH refused to wear LIE clothes
So in the end, the TRUTH went back home naked

Since then everybody choose to believe in LIE who is disguised in TRUTH clothing
And cannot accept the naked TRUTH!

hahaha the saying is so cute, and the translation is cuter!

MATKA!!! calling matka....... did u see my posting to u above huh? i really wanna know the outcome.

Hi all, I do not know if any of you had the same problem of a rude contractor banging in your door demanding to be let in to inspect your window to check if the rivets need to be changed.

I was at home on wednesday when this contractor banged on my door and demanded to be let in to check on my window rivets and change them. I mean it was like close to 10pm and this rude guy is outside of your house demanding to be let in like that would you even entertain them? I refused this contractor entry and he kept demanding to be let in even threatening me that should i not let him change HDB will fine me $5000 or throw me into jail for 6 mths ... this is not my idea of gd sales tactic. I refused him entry and he was still standing at the door showing his black face.

And when i called the town council today they apparently have a recommended contractor and HDB do give an allowance till Sept.

This is just a forwarning to all that who may get shocked with these contractors banging on the door demanding to be let in.

Hi BinBin...
u make mi shy leh!!! Oh dear!!!
but the fact is Truth sometimes hurts, that y pple choose the other. :p

Hi Porkchop,
Gee, tat rude man! did u "feedback to town council?