Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

Ya. I started with goldfish -> arowana -> Parrotfish -> Planted -> marine..... No choice, I started off in kampong thus got to play with fish alot. :p

Marinefish is all abt passion and understanding their needs. To be frank, for any hobby, if the passion is not there, it will nvr last. I'm now going to hard coral like SPS. Take a look if interested, http://solonavi.multiply.com/photos/album/3

I'm not so worried abt having a fish tank incorporate in the concept because if I want to give up marine, can always go to those low maintenence tank like plant. CO2 is safe lar. U can even try DIYing.

JC

Hi JC, did you start SPS recently? Very nice frags you have, once they grow your tank will look very nice and lush! Yar passion is impt, but $$ is even more impt!!
And marine is awfully ex!

I agree CO2 tanks are technically safe, but still there's always a fear of what if for me, I mean, that's the whole of accidents isn't it, its precisely because you don't expect it to happen yet somehow it does happen and hence its termed an accident. But in any case it is still possible to have very nice planted tanks sans CO2, maybe some plants have to be left out, but still its possible to have a nice aquascape!

good morning....

i like to view both freshwater tank and marine tank. both are equally fascinating to look at. but ask me to maintain it...no no. i'm not a 'fishy' person :P. i still prefer furry animals

JC, been through your website. Your marine fish tank is so BEAUTIFUL. you also keep chins? so cute.

hihi good morning

JC, your marine tank seems so extensive! It's very beautiful.

Hippos yup, it's a simple planted tank. The tank's about 4 x 1.5 x 2ft, acting as a divider from our doorway into the main hall.

Hi Hippos, me start SPS abt a yr ago thus still very new to them.

Hi dingdong, thanks. Yap. I have a family of chin. The baby was born a month ago. :D

JC: I really peifu your starting on SPS, really difficult to keep, I only dared to keep LPS last time, already difficult to maintain. Do you dive as well?

matka: oh come on a 4 ft is NOT simple!!! Its humongous!!
I'm sure its really pretty! And I'm sure you or your hubby always end up with wet arm pits once in a while! heh....

Ya. SPS not easy. I still have difficulties keeping some of the more sensitive specimens. Will love to dive but can't find the time to go learn.

Actually, I like planted also. :D

helo helO! hehehe we are talkig fishy business now!

JC, wow beautiful marine tank and corals! i think u cld sit there for ages and just gaze at them yar? hehehe and u have chinchillas too.

JC, u have two major hobbies, marine fishes and breeding chinchillas, is it busy on weekends? how long do you have to spend washing the tanks ah?

oh btw, what is planted? me still catch no ping pong...

purple star, life is beautiful and green here.
u have to stay here to know hehehee..

binbin: wash tank no need do so often, but need to change water and clean filter regularly, say every week or every 2 weeks, depending on tank life (how many living things kept). planted tank refers to those freshwater aquariums where plants are used inside to form a "garden" and the focus is more on having a nice garden (also known as aquascape) then only keeping fish. So you worry about stuff like fertilisers, trimming and planting plants, enough light, etc etc.

Btw can I check with you on 2 things?

1) For your MBR, is your seat extended all the way to the window wall? If so, how did the carpenter manage to cope with the depression in the wall? the seat is also cut to fit the depression? And how often do you use the seat?

2) For your kitchen sink, I presume its placed next to the window at the kitchen/svc balcony wall. Is the cabinet attached to the wall? ie. the back of the cabinet nailed to the wall? Or is there a gap btwn the back of the cabinet and the wall so the cabinet is actually not supported by the wall? Cuz I wanna hack the wall down and form like an island top but one contractor I spoke to say not gd idea cuz no support from the wall, he'll usu nail to the wall for support, but I always tot kitchen cabinets are usu a distance away from the way anyway so donno who's rite?

Hi Bin, cleaning is still ok. Everyday need to topup their water bottle and food bowl. Twice a week have to change their pee-pan (yap, I pee-pan train my chins). Once a week, I'll clean their cage. But hor.... Me no breeder lar. Just wan them to be happy. A baby is just a bonus. :D

As for my fishtank, I'll try to change 10% water once every 2 weeks.

Hi Purple star, what u wan to know. I may be able to help u.

JC

helo helO! wise, so hows ur defects reporting?

JC, oh need to change 10% water only? sorry i dun rear fish so dun know this. tot u need to relocate them while u clean out the while tank or something...... and wah u pee pan train ur chinchilla. was that difficult??

hippos, soh dess......i see, so planted tank is like ths neh...... it must look beautiful.
so is urs a planted or marine or what?

the indention in our mbr wall was plastered over, so its smooth. the seatee i dun usually use, but i put decorative stuff, plants and hi-fi on it... as for kitchen cabinet...yes leh, mine is right until the wall leh. there is no space between wall and cabinet....

good morning gals...

i'm also back from MC...but still feeling unwell. dunno whether i shd take half day leave and go home to zzz....

binbin, i placed my reservations liao...sms u later to arrange for a meet up k?

helo dingdong, u flying overseas right? better go home rest or else u wun be well to travel. when are you thinking of meeting up? today or tmlw? okie we comm through hp.

Hi BinBin,

we email to HDB last week. & next day they fix appt. So yesterday, meet up wif 'em.

everything ok, they willing to chg most of the items... so keeping finger crossed they really fix the things!!!

wise: I called the hdb contractor yesterday and he say will start next week, donno if he really will or not tho, keeping fingers crossed!

binbin: Thanks for the info!

hihi everyone

sorry to digress here. I'm looking for a freelance copywriter (with experience in advertising agencies) urgently. If you have any contacts, could you pls drop me a note at [email protected]? Thanks!

Hi hippos,
hmmm... tat strange. when i told him abt yr complaint he (might be pretending) start searching for some numbers to call & said will call u.... anyway... keeping fingers crossed for you too....

btw, do we need to apply license the reno work?

Hi matka,
will help you to ask around.

wise: hhmmm that's most dodgy.. sigh... I presume we have the same guy rite? K---? nevermind, if he don't do gd job, we can complain together!! heh... licence wise he will apply where necc so must give him floor plan copy. Other reno works, contractors will also apply on your behalf.

Interrace: The usual HDB defects like flooring, rusty stuff, spoilt stuff, etc.

Hi hippos,
fyi, just heard fm a colleague... some contractor steal his showerhead!!! when they came to do reno....

he is asking for a new replacement.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.... that's the funniest thing I"ve ever heard!!! hahahahahhahaha.... your colleague must be ultra sian!!! Goodness.... of all the things to kop...

If that happened to me, the next time the contractor comes, I"ll steal the tires off his lorry!

Wa, the contractor so cheapo? shower head also wanna steal??
so funny...

My floorings also have some cracks and hollow ones, wonder if the hdb pple will change.
if they do, will they only change those default ones ? will the hacking affect the other tiles then?
knock on my toilet tiles, also seem to be hollow, hippos, u encounter such hollow tiles for ur toilets ?
My kitchen windows are full of bird shits,wonder if is safe for us to hang clothes outside...are you gals getting dryer ?

Hi wiseharmony,

the dryer from citygas is expensive leh, how many kg huh?
cos i am eyeing the one from f&p can invert the dryer, save space in my tiny kitchen,also is cheaper? the citygas one is 499? f&p one i can get at 395,still thinking whether to get dryer or not leh..due to the utilities consumption.
Is ur hanging clothes area dirty with bird shits too?

I actually bought only fridge and washer, that's abt the elec stuff rite ?U leh ?

interrace: toilet tiles I never check for hollowness actually. I guess should tho. as for floor tiles, how HDB deal with it depends on the severity of the prob, how widespread it is.

wise: how much is the dryer from citygas?

helo interrace, ur windows got bird shit ah? prob coz they knw no one's staying there so they tend to hang out outside ur window. once u move in shld be okie? i have no problem with birdshit, but my neighbours keep cooking with charcoal and stinking up the air on precious weekend afternoons with the bright sun.
i am not buying dryer, at least not for now, coz hubby used dryer before and he hates the way they spoil the clothing..... for elec stuff,how about your tv and sound system and oven and thermopot (if any)?

Hi hippos,
as wat interrace quote promo price 499.

Hi interrace,
we will b getting that coz using gas is cheaper & faster. est time require to "dry" clothering is an hour which will cost 0.60 cents. the demo set placed a pair of shoes & the shoes dun "fly" all over the place when it spining. so i guess for clothes should not be tangle too.
http://www.citygas.com.sg/products_rd600cg.htm

so meaning wouldnt b installin a elec heater but using a gas heater.

as for other elec stuff besides those Binbin added our to buy-list r : TV & air-con. kitchen elec stuff rice cooker, hob & hood....

mi only hv a washer ....it a dowry from mommy.... ha haaa.

other liked steamer, toaster oven, & PC, laptops, mini TV & mini fridge r our own... :p

Hi binbin. *~wave~*

Hi Binbin,
my upstairs and downstairs no neighbour yet, so i guess i can still hang my clothes out,but hor, can we ask the town coucil pple to wash that hanging area huh? it is really very very dirty loh.
ur hubby used to use dryer and say it spoilt the clothes ar ? in what ways huh? shrink the clothes ?

my electrical stuff only comprises of hob & hood, washer and fridge.

tv, rice cooker, kettle and the rest, will get later..no $$.

btw, me a saggi.

Hi wise,

where do u get to see the demo, actually we are using the gas heater too,cos ID say save cost,she did mentioned to get the gas dryer also, but expensive leh ..near 500bucks.
maybe will get later, see the bird shit situation first.

btw, do u gals have problem with the location of the hanging rods inside the kitchen?
cos my hanging rods position are at the same place where i will be placing my kitchen cabinet, so abit headache leh.ID recommend to change the position, nearer to the window and shorter,however i still feel is very squeezy.
my kitchen really very tiny leh..

Hi Interrace,
same here. no $$$. buying thing bit by bit. parts by parts... ha haaa..

Oh, we saw the demo @ citygas somerset. we will get hob & hoob fm them too. yeap. we heard gas is cheaper so wanna to try. & besides we hv a small kitchen so if the gas tank is taking up a cabinet too.

we got a service calcony. so dont hv the problem. but kitchen is still small leh.... u got floor plan? will upload mine too.

hleo wise, wave back!
292996.gif
. oh cool, u mean theres dryers working on gas. i am so sua ku i dun know that. so they work faster as well? is the technology the same apart from the energy source?

interrace, our home layouts are diff right? for us no prob with hanging clothes coz we din hack down kitchen wall, so got seperate wet area for clothes. my hubby use dryer when he overseas last time, say clothes spoil and shrink very fast. my friend showed me the deposit from her dryer, a lot of flint and fluff from your clothes. that shows how much the dryer takes out of your clothes, so prob explains the shrinking and thinning? but in our country, weather so unpredictable esp in yr end, i really wish i have a dryer then.

wise: if you use gas heater, that means your piping will stretch from the common toilet all the way to the kitchen? I saw one of the flats and you have to have gas pipings running along the top of the beam on the balcony/kitchen wall. I decided on normal storage cuz of the way hdb already planned the pipings.

Binbin: saggi sounds like saggy... anyway no lah, I"m a scorpius... supposed to be very secretive and all.... sssshhhhh.... if I tell you more I"ve to kill you!!!

interrace: is yours a 5 room flat? maybe you can use of the normal rooms to hang your clothes to dry cuz I"m sure at least one room won't be used much for a new couple? And yar lah, you pay so much for conservancy, better use it and get TC to clean up your place lah.

Hi BinBin,
ya loh! ya loh! mi olso didnt know there is such a dryer!!! mi olso sua ku...

they even teach us how to "clean" the inside "disc" coz of the fabric of our clothering tends to trap inside. & think there is a indicator will lights up after X number of drying & remind to clean the dryer.

mi planning for future BB clothes got so many so wif dryer will speed up.

Hi JC,
wah! u olso a hacker yah!!! ke keee...
liked to hack walls.

actually we plan to hack. but after hacking we still got problem placing the bed & closet & study area etc. so we decided to leave it.

U got any suggestion?

Hi Wise, ur layout can "play" alot leh. :p

Off my mind,
- Study rm wall at living can hack to make bigger living or convert to cosy area or just change to glass wall.
- Bdrm 2 wall to make way for curtain or sliding door. Place bed in BDRM 2 and convert MBR to WIW with study. Close the door fo BDRM 2 and have a nice walkway.

Actually these are wat I plan 4 my house also. :p

293077.jpg

JC

Hi JC,

YOur layout olso beli good wat!!

wow! u got a bowling alley kitchen! 7M! think u can do the wet & dry kitchen concept. or have a open concept kitchen since your dinning area is near by.

You can olso bring forward your BR3 door. since you will be sealing up BR2 door & access via MBR. and even built a WIW.

BTW, JC your is @ Sengkang huh?

Hi Wise, ya. Thinking of having a L shape kitchen with wet & dry. Its in Sengkang and I have headache hiding the Household shelter door.

Have u approached I.D yet? Me thinking of looking 4 a gd contractor/coordinator instead since roughly we know what we want.

What abt u?
JC

hi all !!

MIA for quite some time... now making my appearence again.. hehhee

Just wanna share my experience with you all regarding the HDB contractor... Puke blood...

He promised us to get everything settled by June.. then couldn't make the deadline... push forward again to middle of June... couldn't make it and now we are giving him till the end of June to complete dealing with the defects... (keeping my fingers cross, he just completed the flooring.. there are hundred and one things still waiting to be done)....if he still cant complete it... hmm maybe i should withold my payment...

Now my ID waiting for him to complete the job before he can start work...

bell bell: uh... don't tell me we got same contractor!!! His name ends with ..."Y"?? he also tell me by end of june, now say first part of july finish. SIGH..... jialat lah like that.. I no hope liao...