Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

elo wise!
yah submitting defects got time limit one....try to do it faster. though sometimes can drag a few days lah hehehee....

think JC oredi paid for the SK flat. JC, happened to see ur posting in another thread on WIS. sounds like ur first choice was BP but u din wanna wait coz the WIS taken off the mkt... so which area in SK did u get?

Hi Bin, actually there were no preferred unit between the two. Both have their Pros & cons. However, HDB helps me to decide by withdrawing BP last month.

Mine flat will be in Anchorvale Lane. :D

Tks for the advice on the HPS thingy.
Think will probably look out for more information on the coverage diff btw CPF and insurance plans.

cheers...TGIF!!!

Hi matka!!

Hi hippos & Bin,
yeap. by right should b 7days after collecting of keys. but by left had told town council we r submitting late.... even the HDB folks told us it ok to submit late but need to info town council & explained y loh...

Hi hippos,

BTW, had HDB came & "correct" the defects? how is yr contractors hunting?

Oh yes, u need lobang in printing weddin card & red wine? mi printed mi cards @ Hi-tech & red wine from Winebos.

ciao.

Hi wise, well some defects were very quickly corrected and some others well.... don't seem to be happening very much!! sigh... but the HDB lady handling the defects is very nice tho!

Have yet to start contractor hunting tho, still finalising dimensions and plans that I want.

You still want to later get electrical appliances together? Have you targetted any appliances?

thanks for your lobangs, are Hi-tech and winebos cheap?

btw there is a thread on closetworks here which you may want to refer to!

Hi Hippos,

Have u shortlist any ID? Or u going ahead with ur plan to engage contractors direct?

May I also ask, how long did u ppl waited to collect ur keys after submitting the application & paid the $2K?

JC

Hi hippos,

Tks tks. just saw that thread this noon. got hubby to call the sale person. keeping finger crossed!!

got hi-tech to printed the wedd inserts for us think paid abt 80/90 for 300pcs with mix colour & golden threads provided free. Winebos they provided consignment, meaning only paid what ever amt of red wine that was "open/consume".

Hi JC,
think 1.5mths. think u can "hurry" 'em.

Jc: I"m gg to contractors direct. Cuz not doing much arty farty stuff anyway. and as wise said it can be very fast, but ours is an old flat so maybe that's why, as in its WIS but been arnd for a long while, maybe newer places need more time to get everything ready? donno.

wise: you paid CW downpayment already? And thanks for the info, will certainly come in handy!

helo all,

JC, congrats on getting your new home but it's a pity u'll not be staying in BP.

hippos, my place also done by a contractor, recommended by another person in this forum. you're still sourcing for one? or you've already made your choice?

bin bin,

can i trouble you to check your newsletter from Made with Love on the exact date for the next double stamp day? I think the double stamp day cld hv been the day when i'm out of town.

thank u very muchie.

dingdong: yes pls!!!!
can I have your contacts? What kind of contractor is it (not ID rite?) does he do wetworks, plumbing, elect, carpentry? Thank you!!

hi hippos,
my contractor do all as mentioned by you. it's mainly a supplier of tiles but they do renovation. i can't remember how much i spent, need to refer back to my quotation.

not ID. you need to come up with your own design, colour combi, electrical points, etc.

will email you the contact tonight.

helo helo!!!
Jc, yep, pity u wun be staying in BP.
anyway, to ur qn, i recieved letter to collect my keys about a mth from my booking ($2K) date. but the date of collection was about 1.5 mths from the booking date. so same as what wise said.

hippos, u need lobang for printing invites? can also recommend www.theweddinggiftshop.com.sg. the lady owner (Junedy) is very nice, their prices quite reasonable and they sells wedding favours too. check it out, they are at delfi 3rd level near escalator. used to be at marina.

dingdong!!! its funny but this mth i din get their newsletter for june. but so happens i went down to their shop on Monday and got one!
just checked for you, the first one was on 6 June leh.
the next one on 20th june, is that when u are overseas? have u got your frequent shopper card yet? if u do and u know what u want, maybe i can help you buy..... oh and i also booked a class for scrap&go#6.

huh??!! i missed the double stamp day again! arrrgh!! and i'm not in Sg on the 20th.

i hvn't get my frequent shopper card yet cos i hvn't purchased anything yet. aiya, i think i'll forgo the double stamp and purchase whatever i like first. maybe i'll scout around for scrapbooking shop while i'm in perth. i've been trying to find nice albums and those in MWL limited.

helo dingdong, australia got a lot of scrapbooking shops.
the craze has caught on there long before singapore, my first internet purchase was from there. have fun shopping. an idea, why not u surf scrapbooking websites, and locate their suppliers and authorised dealers based in perth. then when u are there u know exactly where to go.
anyway, if u want me to help you buy from MWL i can do that coz my office near. can tell them i buying for friend so ask them for a new frequent shopper card in ur name. but u need to meet me before that to tell me what u want to buy lah.
its up to you, me no prob.

Hi hippos,
U r most welcome. yah loh paid some downpaymt liao. Hubby now tryin to reach CW!!! sigh!!
think lesson learnt!!

Hi BinBin,
the shop had moved to Delfi liao. mi rented mi kua fm her. :P

hi binbin,
yeah, been searching the website for scrapbooking shops as well but i have no clue about those street names in perth.

well, what i need now is an album, embellishments, papers and cardboards, acid-free glue, markers...what else do i need? me no problem in meeting but i'm quite pai seh cos you need to carry those stuffs for me back home. gonna be quite heavy.

Its a pity we cannot be neighbours. Since my parent stay in Hougang, it make better sense for me to stay in Sengkang.

You guys here are very friendly. Hope you guys dun mind me hanging ard here. :p

helo helo!!!
dingdong, yah beginning scrapbookers have alot of things to buy ah... hhhmmm.... i dun mind buying for you but u must show me what exactly u want.
like which album, what colour pens. and u need 12x12 papers too, that will be difficult to tell me what colour. and u need photo mounts too. when are u flying off? i have an idea. lets say u fly off on 19th, then u go to MWL on 18th and choose all the things u want to buy. ask one of the girls to keep it for you first, tell them your friend want to add on to your purchases, so she will come back another day to pay for the stuff. put it under your name... it may be better to pay for one small item first so that u can get ur frequent shopper card. u pass me the card in BP then i go and get the stuff from MWL on 20th.
how you tink? u can either pass me the $ when u give me the card (coz u know the prices liaoz) or internet transfer to me. me just felt that you are a very eager scrapbooker and i know the feeling, so dun mind helping lah.

wise wise, yes i know they moved to delfi.
junedy is a very nice lady, i still go visit her shop when i happen to be there.

JC! of course you are welcomed here anytime.
u feel like a bp-ian to us oredi, feels wierd if u are not here.

oh btw dingdong, wanted to tell you, for those photos that u want to preserve but dun intend to make into scrapbooks, u can pt them in acid-free photo albums, those with normal slots. but not a lot of plcs sells acid free photo albums. there is a shop at novena mrt that does, but i think i bought down all their albums liaoz the last time i was there, but they shld have replnished hehee. and i recently saw such albums in precious tots. check it out, it saids "acid free" on the cover one.

hi binbin,
haha, i think it's time for me to engage myself into the creative aspect of life rather than facing dry, boring data and concepts everyday. besides, i wld like to preserve my most treasured pictures (which contain my youthful look and slender body....:P) cos my hubby and i hvn't had our wedding photoshoot yet despite being wedded for more than 2 years.

i'm flying off on the 18th. perhaps i'll meet you during one of the evenings on 16-17? are you sure that i can choose the items and ask them to keep for me without making payment first?

there's also acid free box that you can store your photos in. the shop's located at takashimaya building right above kino.

helo dingdong, i am not sure if they allow that but they are nice girls and they own the shop, so i tot it may be possible. another reason i can think of is u tell them ur friend wnt to buy those things as present for you, but she not able to come down that day.
hehehe..... why not u call them and ask now? tell them this reason and say u only need them to hold for 4-5 days? i am okie meeting on 16 or 17. lets communicate through sms about mtg times? u still got my email addy?
hey thanks for the acid free box info!
i am thinking of getting one, coz my photos now stord in ikea boxes that are not acid free.
and i wanna buy acidfree envelopes too. will prob go check out today. u know the shop's name?

hi binbin,

i don't have MWL number with me.

i still hv your email addy...will email you my contact tonight.

i did not take note of the shop selling acid free box but it's easily identifiable - laminated flooring, dimly lit lights, displays albums, notebooks, papers, boxes, etc. they also sell other acid free stuff.

helo dingdong, oops i also dun have the number right now. just tot its better to call them to check if thats possible, or else later we plan liaoz they dun allow then we ganna bang head heheheee.. :P

Hi binbin and dingdong, instead of buying acid free box why not buy acid free paper and line a cheapo non-acid free box? And as for acid free albums and all, I'm not sure if its worth the money actually cuz:

1) nowadays its easy to keep digital copies to print anytime you want a few yrs later
2) depending on your photo, it may not be well processed and all, so may not last long by itself anyway, so acid free also no pt.
3) now its possible to scan old photos and digitally touch it up and re-print like new.

elo hippos!
hehehe yah good idea to line the box with paper... as to ur other points, here's my thoughts.

1. digital copies to me is always not as real as hard printed copies. even cd-roms are supposedly only keepable for 10ys, after whcih i am not sure if the data can still be read. thats what a photographer told me before, so its better u burn into a new cdrom some yrs later. as for keepig in harddisk, touch wood but there's always chances of something happening such as bugs or virus. :P

2) for those photos that i intend to keep in acidfree albums are not long long ago photos. but our wedding photos and paktoh ones, that are meaningful to me. and precisely coz its meaningful to me, i usually go the reputable developers and i pay more for per piece developing.
and also, maybe i gave the wrong impression lah, but the acid free albums are not that expensive. a 300 photo one is about $26.90 i think, not much diff from a normal album.

3) yep its possible. but why wait til 10yrs later when u realised the photos got spots, then u pay more to touch it up AND print again? with the inflation, the amt of money spent then will be equivalent if not more than what u spend now to preserve the photos from day one.somemore now when u have the time, intent and emotion to do it.

hehehehheee....hope u dun mind my long long loh sor post. just my tots lah. :P aiyah, all that being said, i buy the albums liaoz i also have not time to put the photos nicely in .:P

binbin,

I agree with what you said, tot the acid free stuff is way more ex, but seems a bit more ex only so might as well hor. but I have doubts on your "reputable developers". All labs use machines to print. so no matter how reputable, you don't know the quality of the development. The issue here is the photo may still contain some chemicals even after its washed and dried (within the machine), and these chemicals cause it to fade, change colour, etc later. so even if you pay way more money to a reputable printer, you may actually be getting some quality back. (but of cuz the printing may be nicer but that's a separate issue).

helo hippos. yep u are righto about not being able to know what the photos will become after some yrs. :P. but one thing that is a fact is that one of the reasons photos fade and turn yellow over time is contact with acid chemicals and harmful substances during storage. that is why scrapbooking materials are labelled as acidfree and archival quality. there are grounds to that claim. as for paying money for reputable developer hor, well....i must admit the most visual quality affirmation is the vibrancy and colour tone of the photos. as to the durability of the photos, well........i can only tell you that 10yrs down the road.
but for now, i dun mind spending a bit more to better ensure the proper storage and display of the precious photos, without taking into account the long term reaction of the inherent chemicals existing in the photos themselves which i can do nothing about. :P

aiyoh why are we arguing about this huh? makes me think twice about saying so much about scrapbooking. anyway, its a hobby and its not necessary for anyone to believe in it ah. me not opening a scrapbooking shop leh.
290485.gif

hehe. binbin and hippos having a friendly debate.

well, there's one thing i wld like to reinstate...scrapbooking is not just about preserving photos only nia. it's also about hubby and me spending our free time piecing those photos one-by-one on a piece of paper and with some creativity (helps to squeeze out whatever creativity left lah), decorate the page with sweet little stuffs. For example, when both of us went for a holiday, we'll pick up something memorable or peculiar such as a little bit of sand, a tweak of leaf, few strands of fur from animal (ouch...joking nia). all these can be used as decorating materials. also, doing scrapbooking together helps both of us recall the place we had visited when pak toring or help us relishing our youth :P

it's an interesting way of storing your photos lah. not like everytime slot, slot, slot the photos into the albums after u develop them....so boring right?

Dear dingdong and binbin, no lah I not arguing, just sharing views and also learning at the same time from binbin's views mah. And I think scrapbooking is very meaningful actually, its quite similar to what pple have been doing with those photo albums with sticky plastic sheets, you know you stick the photos inside album and each page has a sticky transparent sheet to hold the photos in place kind? I"ve seen frens do up their holiday albums using that akin to what you described with scrap booking, but of cuz only limited to whatever they can stick on lah, like bus tickets, museum tickets, odds and ends, montage of photos, descriptive captions, etc. can be quite meaningful and great as a means of remembering the whole trip.

But I still think its really quite an expensive hobby! I wonder if there are cheaper alternatives. like is there really a need to use acid free stuff? The way I see it, if you can somehow seal in the photo in some way that's still transparent, eg sprays (which are available) or some plastic that's acid free, then it really doesn't matter that the book and paper you use is acid free cuz it won't affect the photo? And there is no pt anyway cuz when you stick odds and ends inside, these objects may also leach acid anyway? If you don't use acid free stuff, you can simply buy many many cheap alternative stuff in any stationery shop/spotlight/etc?

helo dingdong!
hehehe so ur hubby intends to do the scrapbook with u yar? thats so nice!
for me, i am usually the one who does this, but i will happily show him each page that i completed and am so proud of hehehee....he supports my hobby after he realise its not another of my 3-min hot temp kind.:P. yes i do agree just slotting phtos in can be boring. and a way to preserve and view photos in a way that can bring back LOTS of memories is through scrapbook. coz in scrapbooking u put the bits and pieces (those things u collected are called memorabilia in scrapbooking terms) into one page, coordinate with nice colours and embellishments. and next time at one glance u know the story the photo is telling.

hippos.....hehehee...yah its a friendly discussion lah. well, i do agree with u scrapbooking is an expensive hobby. i reiterated that at the beginning sme mths ago loh, coz i dun want ppl to start doing it then realise gota spend money buy this buy that. BUT, we started off this discussion talking about acid free PHOTO ALBUMS, not scrapbook albums right? when i mention acid free albums, its only $20-$30 one. for scrapbooking albums, its def more than that. so putting photos into those normal slot acid free albums are a cheaper alternative to preserving ur photos compared to doing up an entire scrapbook. yes i know the sticky albums that u mention. in fact, that is the kind of album that turns photos yellow the fastest. i have an album at home thats like that. one of my honeymoon album also lke that, before i started scrapbooking more. so i am praying it will stay for longer. not sure if theres sprays or plastic that u mention that can seal the photos. u never know leh, next time may have!!! eh, u love photography right? can explore this.
as for the odds and ends, just for info the embellishments that u buy from scrapbooking shops eg. tags, cards, buttons, letters, ribbons, metal stuff are ALL Acid free. even down to the glue, papers,pens,photo mounts,albums. but the things u put inside (memorabilia) are not of course. so u try not to have it come into direct contact with ur photos lah. but then again, dun need so kua zhang. at least u make effort to have most things acid free right?

btw, spotlight has a section devoted to scrapbooking. its a cheaper range but its all acid free.
they have stickers, papers, albums too. hehehehe.... as for stationery shops, u know theres this shop called book binders? they have nice trendy albums and papers one? well, their albums are acid free, so is their glue and photo mounts. but the last i asked, their papers and pens are not. so you can see....this acid free craze is not really a subset of the scrapbooking craze. even a shop that does not sell scrapbooking materials sells acid free stuff. its just a simpler way of storing ur photos.

binbin,

There are sprays which are sold at photography shops or art friend (@bras basah) to seal photos. you may like to explore using this if you have really precious photos.

hhmmm but that's my pt, unless you manage to ensure every single thing in the scrap book is acid free (including pen ink, and stuff you put in as souvenirs), it may not be useful to invest in acid free stuff? Its like ensuring a room is totally odour free, then later putting a durian in it, there's little pt then in ensuring anything else you put in is odour free. So if you could say seal the photo (eg by spraying or simply wrapping in acid free plastic which can be easily bought at comic shops) which alreadys ensures that the photo is protected against acid, then you are free to use all kinds of cheaper alternatives? And in effect this may be ironically even more useful than the normal process as the photo is actually even more exposed to acid stuff due to the inevitable introduction of acid stuff into the scrap book?

don't get me wrong, I"m not saying scrapbooking is ptless, I think its great and meaningful and I am just wondering if it can be done in a cheaper way. I always feel for lots of hobbies, the industry will always create lots of hype on what you "really" need to do your hobby and as hobbyists we need to see beyond the commercial smoke and see really what is needed. But I know nuts about scrapbooking hence now am just throwing up rubbish ideas for fun!

helo hippos! hehehe i think i mentioned just now that scrapbooking shops sells acid free PENS as well. EVERYTHING u put into a scrapbook can be acid free EXCEPT from your memorabilia (ur own momentos). and some scrapbookers have creative methods of putting the memorabilia into clear vellum sheets or pockets, so that u can view them but they dun come into contact with the photos. theres endless ways to experiment. and like what dingdong and i said, scrapbooking is not only about preserving photos loh. its about displaying them in a beautiful layout, about the feelings you get when you do a scrapbook page, abt a meaningful hobby.

yes i agree with u about putting a durian in a room haaha. but then again, ones knows that smoking and excessive drinking, eating unhealthy and exposing urself to toxins possibly lead to health risks and cancers. we can avoid drinking too much, dun smoke, eat more vege and fruits. but how do we avoid the toxins we get through the chemicals we use in our everyday lives? the shampoos, the harsh soaps, the air we breathe, the food with preservatives that we eat. but we know we are doing our part to influence the things we CAN control and our lifestyle habits. if one still falls sick due to external or internal (own body's makeup) aggravators, at least he knows he has discharged the responsibility for his own health, and possibly (?) delayed whatever happened.

yes u can always do scrapbooking in a simple way by keeping ur pages simple. then u dun have to buy much embellishments. thats a sure way to cut cost. actually hor, i do agree that commercial agents are cashing in on this scrapbooking craze. they are coming up with more and more things that you never thought is possible. well, its all within the scrapper's control as to what she wants to put in her page.

good morning,

hippos, i don't think other hobbies are cheap as well. it all depends on the extent the person wants to pursue his passion. for example, a stamp collecter who collects only stamps extracted from mail envelopes to another stamp collecter who actively seek to purchase stamps which are of limited edition, then definitely stamp collecting is a very expensive hobby if you're looking from the latter point of view.

for scrapbooking, there's no need to spend on unnecessary items so as to reduce the cost of this hobby. you can also make your own embellishments from leftover materials.

i think not all scrapbooking need to be done on paper. you can also do online scrapbooking right? as i think i saw the link stated in Tue's ST's Digital section on scrapbooking stuff. so kinda save you money on embellishments, photo mount and stuff and you don;t have to worry about whether these materials used are acid free or not. hehe.

frankly speaking, i wld rather spend my money on something meaningful rather than waste my money on branded goods such as Gucci bag or Tag Heur watch (hope i'm not offending any one here). but i respect that each hv their own interest in mind lah. some pple like to splurge money on material stuff whereas others like to spend theirs on spiritual stuff.

binbin and dingdong, I agree with you, well I guess as long as it makes you happy then its money well spent! But acid free pens! I"m speechless, didnt know there was such a thing! Well other hobbies I've tried like freshwater planted tanks, marine tanks, diving, photography, etc etc, there's alot of hype as well, lots of "you gotta have this" kind of marketing and products. Hence I"ve come to realise sometimes we need to see beyond the marketing to see the real "need".

Maybe I should start selling acid free toilet bowl seats.... sure got market...

anyway, happy friday everyone, hope you have a lovely weekend!

hello hello

marine tanks. i hv thought of that when i was planning for my renovation. i hv intended to ask my contractor to build a full height cabinet cum fish tank at my foyer. but after further consideration, i just shelved this idea cos of the need to maintain the tank once i hv it. kinda troublesome.

Hi dingdong, I'm going to incorporate a marine fish tank into my new flat concept also. Have been in this marine fish hobby for a few years and think its gona be a long term hobby. hehehe

helo hippos hehehee....hey i must say our discussion have been quite intellectually stimulating, rather fun! eh, but hor ur acid free toilet bowl seats a bit out of context right?
. anyway, yes vendors will tend to tell you you need this you need that. but at the end of the day, u are holding the wallet so can decide what not to buy.
there are many a times i have to stop myself from buying somehting i dun need from the scrapbooking shops too heheheeeh....

JC and dingdong, marine fish. heard they are really beautiful but hard to maintain coz u need the right temp and lighting conditions hor? but i have a colleague who has beautiful tanks and tanks of fishes in one of his small rooms, fully equipped with books and hi-fi. and his relaxation hours are spent there. quite a good way to enjoy life.
me, i am more a doggy person hehehee!

yup. marine tanks are voilatile. If one thing goes wrong, your whole tank can die overnight. but it's definitely very pretty. That's the consideration my hubby had so he's stuck to a freshwater tank - although, it is also quite a toughie to maintain!

Btw, did anybody get to read today's ST? They've released the artist's impression of the revamped Bukit Panjang Plaza in the advertorial they placed today. It's got a new verandah or something like that... to be ready in early 2006 (crossing my fingers that there'll at least be a new coffee joint like CBTL). Pity their ad wasn't too eye catching tho. Lemme see if there's a picture of it in the Capitaland site or something.

matka: but BP plaza seems to be undergoing only minor facelift work? so its prob just exterior change more than anything else?

I started with planted tanks for a few years, tried out all the stuff, lived in fear with a CO2 tank in the house for a while too before switching to marine. Comparing both, marine is a lot more fascinating, esp as marine animals are alot more expressive, quirky, active than freshwater animals. They are more colourful too. But freshwater has its own beauties in terms of plants and fishes. But the thing that did me in was the maintenance required, and I didn't have time to handle that and photography (my other hobby) so it had to go. but at least no more mixing of buckets of salt water overnite, no more worry of high powered MH lights dropping into the water (I DIY-ed mine). No more constant testing of every little parameter in the water.

Now I only have a small 1 ft tank in the office with shrimps, lots of plants and some fish. The shrimps constantly mate, so off and on you can see cute tiny baby shrimps!

I think the danger of incorporating fish tanks as a permanent feature in the house is what if years later when you have kids and all and you want to give up the hobby? you can't just take the tank and throw away, now you have a permanent huge hole in the wall!

hi hippos, from the picture and the advertorial, it seems that they're adding a new annexe to the frontage of the building - more shops and a partial outdoor area as well. Not sure if it's going to be used for alfresco. The artist's impression was a little too small to scrutinise unfortunately.

Anything beats the red tiled flooring with the fountain outside! heheheheh. I heard from a friend that CapitalMall makes retailers do a facelift once every 2 years. I wonder how the small retailers survive that way. So i guess they shld lead by example.

Ya, i suppose any tank takes time and effort to maintain. The planted tank at my place too... not easy. Don't scare me abt the CO2 tank! LOL.

matka, you have planted tank too? cool! How big is it? Once its established its very easy to maintain, only trim trim plants and change a bit of water now and then. CO2 tank should be safe lah, but I just never really felt safe with it around, always imagined a rocket blasting a hole in everything in the room. But the effect of it on the plants is like woaaaahhhh... very pretty!