Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

interrace,
oops actually i mean senjarian. actually not much staying at our side leh. most of them stay at senja. u mean u wan to conduct courses at the cc? wat do u teach?

looks quiet today....

Hi pekochan,

guess the rest are busy at work..

i dun teach anything, taught of learning stuff from cc then in turn help to teach the next batch and maybe earn some extra bucks ? hee...

hihihihi everyone.

interrace, so fun. In order to teach at the CC, you have to be a registered instructor with the PA. So maybe you can enquire with them. But I'm not sure how much extra you might be able to earn though... because courses at CC are really quite low-priced.

hi pekochan,
glad you enjoyed it...

hi Interrace,
tat is a cool idea. to teach @ CC. think the teacher are paid by the no of students enroll... this is wat mi jewerly & abacus teacher told mi... no sure if applys to all..

Hi matka.
today, no mood to work... noon got company lunch then off to movie loh. our boss is treating us to watch Star wars!! Yipee!!!.... Welcome to the dark side....

helo morning morning! wah wise, ur boss so good! star wars!!! today is the premiere, he must have gotten tix pretty early, they are selling like hot cakes! eh, ur plc good welfare leh hehehhe..

hubby also wanna watch, but dun think will squeeze with the crowd now yet...

hi interrace, wow....u are very you shang jing xin leh...impressed. u like teaching? think like what matka said need to get some certification if u wish to teach. but good luck!!

binbin, sorry missed your message. Yah! Some stuff can reformat. Funnily, only all the rubbish information can stay in my mind for a very long time. LOL. Projects are still ongoing. But taking a breather for a while. heheh.

Wise, well, it's almost the end to your half day! Cool... at least your boss is a Star Wars fan too. So can ciao work. What's the occasion? how come on a thursday and not a friday tho? Boss going on long weekend tomorrow?

Hi BinBin & matka,

Coz today is the so-called premeiere. Actually every year we always hv a movie day. So far had watched 5-6movies ever since joining this company.

Star war 1 was mi 1st movie together wif the Company folks. Hubby olso joining mi to watch today... am counting down... ke keee... 45min then go lunch liao...

ohh. ha. forgot. Kept thinking the premiere was yesterday. Cos the first screening was at 4pm. Guess that was the sneak peek!

Hi gals!!!
Good morning!!
Me is more $$ minded then anything else..hee..
matka, register with PA ? PA stands for ?
binbin, need certificate ar ? hmm..for areobics also need certificate ? then maybe will drop the tot liaoz.
me thinking of ways to make more $$ loh ,not really shang jin xin lah..hee..
tok is cheap mah.

so good can go watch star wars....me long time no go see show at cinemas liaoz...very broke.hee..hee..ur company very good leh wise!!
happy watching!!

Hi matka,
actually u r olso right. mi friend watch it yesterday.

Hi interrace,
Our company no D&D so spend $$ on others. Mi sisters company better they every year send whole company to travel. last year to korea. & this year shanghai!!!

Hi matka,

tks for the link, will check them out.

Hi wise,
maybe you should ask for transfer to the sister co...hee..very good liaoz..is actually better to have such movie events than a co d&d with the standard kinda lucky draws and stuff.

Interrace, no prob! not sure if you can find the info you'll need.

hehe. I'm quite a spoilsport. Not sure how you guys feel about incentive travel, but i'm not that keen on it. Can you imagine... I already am seeing my colleagues day-in and day-out. And because I did well for my job, I have to spend time round-the-clock with them in a foreign country??!

I must be the HR Manager's worst nightmare. Do also not good. Don't do also not good. heheheheheh.

good afternoon everyone,

incentive travel with colleagues? well, it all depends on your relationship among them. if all work in a cohesive environment, i think going on a trip with them shd be bearable hor. if everyone is at dagger heads with one another, then a trip with them will end up as a disaster.

hehe, i'm also eagarly waiting for the cc to be completed. looking forward to yoga, pilates, aerobics classes to trim down my tummy leh.

hehe.. dingdong

just in case. mebbe i shld put a disclaimer lest everyone thinks i'm such a disagreeable person. LOL. I've always gotten along with my colleagues well. Guess when it comes to travelling for leisure, not one of my first choices I suppose. kekeke. No doubt, I agree it's good for bonding. But if i had a choice, I'd rather not go. hee hee.

Any idea when this CC will be completed? It'd be so much more convenient than having to go to the current Bukit Panjang CC.

For me, we(colleagues) organized our own trips at our own expenses leh , that was when i was with my ex-company, current one, too many politics, dun see myself gg on such kinda trip in the short run.

dingdong & matka stayed near the new CC ?
we should all go together for the activities, will be very fun leh!!!

before my group of kakis resigned, we also organise our own trips and book chalets to spend our weekends. now everyone of them are occupied with their own schedule which makes it difficult to organise for such events anymore

i can either walk or take lrt to get to CC from my place. i find that this CC take quite a long time to build...been waiting till my neck long long

helo matka and interrace, sory interrace, i am not 100% sure abt the certificate thingie, i am just assuming that in orderto register with PA to teach, they prob put u through some tests or training or what? then u will get cert, no? its just what i tot, not saying for sure, so hope i din spoil ur idea of teaching leh..... *pull own ears*.

lucky wise is watching star wars...so good....

wah ur sis co really good welfare, what company u working in? got free trip to korea and shanghai.....*blow whistle* me ah, dun have such free goodies leh..

hey it sure wld be swell if we can go for classes together! as a matter of fact, we can also book badminton courts and play badminton together right?? burn fats and get fit.

Hi Binbin,

segar area got tennis court rite? can learn together ?cos i dun noe how to play haha..
*pat binbin's head* is okie, i went to check out liaoz, need certificate.hee..me just wanna be a illegal teacher haha (wishful thinking on my part).

Dingdong,
think soon ba, i saw the structure up liao, very trendy, was telling hubby how excited i was abt the CC being so near to our flat.
plus hor, the empty field in front of our love nest also very crowded, can see pple flying kite, playing soccer on sundays. very nice environment loh ..

looking forward to joining activities with u gals, hope we will make it come true...cc..here we come!!

hi dingdong, were u the one who said your rom photos a bit white spots? i happened to find out theres some photos shops who does restoratoin of old photos. and saw on the web, its those old faded phtos, some with white spots one. if u are interested, go check out www.fotohub.com.
call them up to enquire. i like fotohub, their print quality usually quite good, though they are a bit on the exp side.

binbin,

today i drop by singapura plaza and went to the shop that sell scrap book. it's quite expensive so i'm considering whether i shd buy it or not. the salesperson told me that they're having a promotion - the second scrapbook gets a 40% discount.

Anybody interested?

helo dingdong.
oh you went! nice shop right? i can spend hours shopping there! that also means money...

i din buy my scrapbook from there. the squarish one i supposed is the 12" x 12" one? do not buy the landscape one coz most papers comes in 12 x 12. they have 40% for 2nd album? thats funny as my newsletter says that for May if you buy 2 albums u get 15% and if u buy 3 u get 20%. din mention 40% for the 2nd one....though it comes up to about the same as the 15% discount. sorry i dun need another album or else i can help you. give u a tip, when u buy anything from the shop they will give u a Frequent Shopper Card, and they will stamp on the cards for every amt u spend. accumulate one card ($200) and u get either a free lesson worth ($30+ to $45) or a 15% discount off your next purchase. in order to cash in on this, buy your items or albums only DURING the Double Stamp Day. during this days, if you spend $100 on something, they will stamp $200 worth of stamps.
its very worth it, thats how i got all 3 cards stamped and obtained my scrapaholic membership. from my newsletter, thikn the next double stamp day is 23rd May. so do try to buy that day. the next one will be in june, but i have not got the junes newsletter yet so i dunno which date.

actually i was thinking of helping you buy the album if you want, using my scrapaholic 15%+5% discount. then u wun have to find a 2nd buyer. but that means u wun get the stamps on your own card, so not very worth it....

matka, thanks for your signing of my webby guestbook!

good morning binbin

nice and classy shop. but apart from cameras and scrapbooks, what else can be bgt there? i didn't linger long in the shop, just went in to enquire abt the scrap book but i notice that the cameras look classic, not the type the we usually use, rather more for the photograhpic enthusiasts.

i did not pay attention to the measurement but yes, i think the squarish one shd be 12" x 12". but when i asked the shop attendant, i was told that the scrap book is non-refillable. so it doesn't really matter whether it's square or landscape type? well, the shop attendant told me 40% off the second book, my colleague can vouch for that :P the promotion ends this month.

where else to buy the scrap book?

what is the lesson about?

helo dingdong....eerr...me starting to wonder is this the same shop? is it Made with Love, beside best denki? actually i said wrongly earlier,its not on level 4 but on 5 i think. Made with Love don't sell cameras leh. and besides scrapbook albums, they have many many many accessories like shelves of papers, embellishments, buttons, eyelets, brads, stickers and many more. if u din see all this, that means diff shop oredi. andmost of their scrapbooks are refillable. it comes with plastic clear slots that u put 12x12 papers into. can u describe the shop u went to?

oh as for the lesson, here are the details.

Class Descriptions
JUST GETTIN’ STARTED
This is an introduction to scrapbooking and the basic tools to get you started. Please bring 7 photos pertaining to one theme and we’ll provide the rest and get you started! A Step by Step booklet retailing at $10.95 will be thrown in as well. $35 Tues. 10 May, 9:30am – 12:30pm or Sun. 15 May. 3pm – 6pm or Sat. 21 May, 3pm – 6pm or Sun. 22 May. 3pm – 6pm or Wed. 25 May, 2pm – 5pm

BOOK OF LOVE
Attend this class if you’re searching for a great way to express your love to a loved one or if you’re looking for a fuss-free way to preserve your precious moments. Leave this class with a gorgeous mini-album that you’ll be proud to present as a gift to a loved one or treasure as a keepsake. With 4 colour combinations to choose from, you’ll have a mini-album suited for every occasion. $45 Thurs. 5 May, 6.30pm – 9pm or Fri. 13 May, 6.30pm – 9pm or Sat. 14 May, 5pm – 7:30pm or Sat. 28 May, 5pm – 7.30pm

HEAVY METAL Have a rockin’ wild time with an array of metal embellishments. Not for the faint-hearted, there’ll be lots of banging (not head-banging though) and hammering as we fool around with eyelets, brads, hinges, jump rings and lots more. With a class like this, you’ll never have a headache pondering over how you can incorporate lovely metal embellishments into your future scrap pages! $50 Wed. 4 May, 9:30am – 12:30pm Sun. 8 May, 3pm – 6pm or Wed. 18 May, 2pm – 5pm

SCRAP ‘N’ GO (Series 6) Desperate to add yet more pages to your scrapbook collection in a snap? Then sign up for our latest series of fun-filled pages that are not only simple to do but highly versatile. $45 Sat. 7 May, 5pm – 8pm or Tues. 17 May, 2pm- 5pm or Thurs. 26 May, 9:30am – 12:30pm

TAG PARTY Let your hair down and look forward to an exciting time as you learn to make lovely tags of all kinds with a variety of embellishments. Guaranteed to help you doll up your pages or cards, these tags are a must-have! $35 Tues. 3 May, 9:30am – 12:30pm or Sat. 7 May, 1pm – 4pm or Thurs. 26 May, 2pm – 5pm

SHAPE IT UP! Create attention grabbing pages by playing around with different shapes. If you like minimum fuss but maximum impact, then this is one class you shouldn’t miss. $40 Sun. 1 May, 2pm – 4pm or Sun. 29 May , 2pm – 4pm

SEW MUCH FUN! Curious to learn how you can incorporate needlework to your scrapbooking? Have loads of fun as you experiment with different ways to make use of silk ribbons, embroidery and lots more to add that magical touch to your scrap pages! $40 Wed. 11 May, 2pm – 5pm or Sat. 14 May, 1pm – 4pm or Fri. 20 May, 6pm – 9pm

SCRAPBOOKING FOR KIDS Young minds will be taught the basics in putting together a scrapbook page. All they have to do is bring 7 photographs and we’ll teach them to do the rest. Start them young in the preservation of memories. It’s a wonderful class for kids with nifty hands and active minds and an activity that’s not only fun but meaningful.

sorry, digress...

saw the word "banging around" under Heavy Metal and just like to say... STOMP is coming back!

Was a little disappointed when Kylie's Showgirl tour was cancelled.

Get your tickets!

http://www.sistic.com.sg/SOPApp/SOPPortal/portal_proxy?uri=5_AaX!d50iNUEbxF7mC2Xm3@4bdMTsJFM

binbin,

hehe...to think that we're talking about different shops :P

i remember that you mentioned that the shop is on the 5th floor but i can't remember the name of the shop that u wrote so i just went straight to the 5th floor but couldn't find one that sell craftworks except for spotlight. so i went to the 4th floor and happen to come across this shop...i think its called Photoxxx (can't remember the full name). it's a dimly lit shop with glass casing exhibiting different types of cameras and cameras accessories.

no wonder when you mention about your purchase, i kept wondering to myself what's there to buy :P

helo dingdong, sorry about the wrong floor. its beside best denki.
from the description of where u went to, its definitely diff shops. Made with Love is brightly lit with many many things to buy... the 3 nice owners are very helpful and knowledgeable in srcapbooking. and helpful with newbies. why not try again?
do you work near plaza sing?

*gasp*... $100 bucks for a book... that req more work to be done on it.... woah... and I tot photography was expensive...

hhmm donno but just wondering, would it be cheaper to buy thru internet and get it posted here? Cuz sometimes you can get quite good prices from US for certain goods which are very popular there.

binbin,....it's fine. i did some shopping there too

i'm not working very far away from plaza sing...a few bus stops away. i'll pop by some day.

matka, you watching STOMP?

today is friday *yeah*...long weekend ahead.

helo hippos, check my posting above.
its a diff shop lah. the shop i go to, with actual refilable scrapbooks, starts from $40+ if i am not wrong. all my scrabooks and some accessories are obtained from internet, either US or australian sites. coz when i buy them the scrapbooking shops in singapore are very new and i dun know them. wel.....it is not exactly cheaper, unless u happen to get steals when the internet sites are having promotions. otherwise, u will get one album prob at $30-$40 aus then postage shippig another $15 or so, ends up about the same. unless u get bulk purchase with ur friends.

dingdong, my office is also one mrt stop away from PS.
me just feel bad loh, somehow or other result in u going wrong shop. if you want, u can always tell me if u are going down during office days, i dun mind dropping by during lunch, then we go walk walk in the shop. if u dun need the frequent shopper card, i can let you use my discount.
scrapaholics usually get better discount.. they open at 11am, so maybe later i check with them if i can use my discount but let u get the stamps instead.

helo matka, i dun have a pic of my own scrapbook, but here's two examples of a 8" x 12 one.
just got it off a site.

286602.jpg

286603.jpg

and something using 3D cutouts and fibres.
286604.jpg

binbin, it's really really ok. cos i'm also doing my shopping there and eat my favourite takopochi.

i can't drop by during lunch cos though it's only a few bus stops away, the time spent travelling ate up most of my lunch time. so if i use my lunch time, i'll be able to see u for 5 mins then say bye bye liao :P

i'll visit the shop again to see see look look. probably i'll be so attracted to the stuff there that i'll spend more :P. but if i need to use your discount, sure get from you.

hippos, online purchase still have to wait leh.

matka, i'm thinking of watching too but afraid that i may not appreciate it :P

Binbin,

Thanks! Ohmygoodness. The third one is so beautiful.... but it's sooooooo elaborate!!

since you girls (binbin and dingdong) work so near each other, guess you can meet up after work! heheh. Made With Love sounds like a really nice place... but knowing my history with craft shops, stationery shops, et al, I'd probably buy back a whole load of stuff and not do anything about it thereafter! need... res... traint...

dingdong, ah! Herein lies the difference with Stomp. Like Cirque du Soleil's performances, it's so generic that anyone can appreciate it. As long as you like rhythm, I'm very certain you'll enjoy Stomp! I watched it the last time they were here... in 1998 (i think) and it was really good!

helo matka, i also attracted by STOMP leh. i like watching such things. last time there used to be a similar performance right? i forgot the name liaoz....some yrs back. oh yah! think its RiverDance! its excellent. but now i saving money, so i give it a miss. :P

dingdong, okie then.
happy shopping. do let me know if u need my card.
keep me updated on what you bought hor? hehehehhe!

hiya Binbin

Think a similar performance to Stomp would be like... COOKING by a Korean group. Stomp uses anything (eg: garbage bins, basketballs, sticks) but instruments to make 'music' and rhythm.

Cooking, on the other hand, uses kitchen utensils.

Riverdance is an irish dance performance... kinda like the recent Michael Flatley's Lord Of The Dance. Never did watch Riverdance except caught some excerpts on TV... hehe

Anyone enjoy Chinese music? I'm considering going for Cai Qin. But it costs so much $$$.

matka, yep appears that dingdong and me works pretty close yar?
me can meet her after work hehehe but i think i dun pressure her lah, wait i go with her she feel pressure to buy something. let her shop shop slowly...

yah the layout so nice hor? there are nicer ones! its quite easy to do, its just tedious and needs time. so now u know why i can take up to 3hrs to do one page. but mine is already much much more simpler than theirs...not that nice too.

wah, u are really a performance-lover. u actually remember those producer's names and can spell them out! hehehehhee.....no me not into going to concerts now, no money ah. eh i ask u ah, u watch CSI right? that episode many weeks ago, the one about the baby being left in the car. what happend ah?

hehehe. that's true... guess shopping for such stuff shld be done leisurely.

Yup! The layout is really good. but when you guys stick so many things inside the book, doesn't it become very bumpy or thick? how do you ensure that the pages don't get spoilt as a result of the pages getting pressed against each other?

Performance lover... so so lah. I enjoy going to the theatre occasionally and I like live performances, but usually only those that I'm familiar with. Plus it's easier to remember since their ads are flashed on TV so often. hehe. Those obscure, cheem cheem shows... like plays by Theatreworks... heh heh. Don't quite catch my fancy.

Yup I watch CSI... but sorry, i must've missed the ep with the baby in the car. You can ask me about The OC! I just watched it last night. hehehe

helo! scrapbook pages are usually slightly 3D after doing. the 12x12 sheets are placed into a clear holder, usually 20-50 such holders per album, meaning 40-100 12x12 sheets. these holders protect each sheet from scratching against one another.
and scrapbook albums usually have spines that are flexible and allows for expansion. so there is allowance for thick pages one.

hahahaha hubby also happend to watch OC last night. so i also watch abit. have not been watching it for a long long time. used to catch a bit of it when it first started. that was a nice 20th anni celebration hehehe.
but its funny, why the 2 kids so old oredi, but the mum is always so worried about them being with girls? i tot in california thats the usual practice?

hihi, wow. so many components to doing one scrapbook. I am curious. Cannot visualise. Maybe i shld pop by Plaza Sing one of these days too. but.. can... not... buy... must... re... sist...

Ya ya... i love The OC. I'm such a sucker for 'teen' angst flicks. But the OC is somewhat... different from the usual. I still try not to miss it still. The mother was worried cos Seth was going out with a "bad" girl and Ryan was going out with her new-found half sister. They weren't so worried when Seth and Ryan were with Summer and Marissa respectively last season.