Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

matka, how long you take to walk to bukit timah nature reserve and macritchie? actually i'm interested to cycle there leh, but only got one bike leh...then hubby has to walk kekekeke...

yup yup, hdb stop building EA liao so 5-10 yrs down the road our units will be those near to extinction one...maybe dd for these will pick up since there're no more supply.

i think dun buy from novena lah...some of their products can be purchased from the neighbourhood shops at a cheaper price cos they all get from the same manufacturer. then their quality and service quite terok also. for sofa, depend on how many seater lor...but to get one at around $700 quite difficult leh.

Binbin & Wise

2 metres extra is a whole lot! I think can add an additional level already. ehehhe. I wld have loved the top level actually but our older relatives kept advising us against it because they say that it's going to be "hotter". Which I suppose, makes some sense... although I don't know how true that is! Anyhows, even if we wanted it, the 20th storey wasn't available anyways!

I haven't been to Little Guilin in ages! Think the last time I even went there was when I was in Primary School *gasp*

Hi Dingdong, it takes abt 2+ hrs to (leisurely) walk from BP to Bt Timah Nature Reserve. At Bt Timah, you'll have to cut through the hill to walk to the main area. Then around Hindhede, there is a route to MacRitchie. That's abt 11km... abt another 3 hours. When you get to Bt Timah Nature Reserve, you can go to the Ranger Station and ask them for directions. They have a map and will tell you how to get to MacRitchie.
Not sure if you can cycle the whole route tho!

If you want to check out the Tree Top Walk, then the best is to head off early because last admission is 4.30pm.

sorry, don't think it takes that long a time to walk from BP to Bt Timah. Prolly less than 2 hours. The route is only abt 6km

during the WIS, the 19th and 20th storey were still available for some of the blks but in the end din choose those. partly b'cos of the costs and partly b'cos of the unit number. keke but after that slightly regretted not getting one of those units liao.

it'll be interesting to explore these tracks somedays...
been to the Tree Top liao, took me 4 hrs to get there starting from macritchie...so tiring

Hi everyone!! Wah lau you all very productive today! There's actually enuff to archive away! yup I got my place at less than $300K but its on low floor.

matka: yup I think the school might allow pple to use the rockwall as long as its profitable for them I'm sure! If we can ensure safety (maybe those using can get climbing cert level 1 or more) and we pay enuff money I really don't see why they should reject? I think bottomline of more money for the school should be a strong motivator? But I think we can only use on sunday cuz sat ECAs will be using the wall.

... and I am still awake!

Dingdong, yeah! I went to Tree Top Walk on another trip to MacRitchie... and it was raining really heavily! Thank goodness we were equipped with our waterproof jackets. Cos once you're in... you can't go out! haha. better not scare everyone else. I mean, since it's 5-6km in and also 5-6km out, there's no turning back!

Hippos, I suppose somekind of arrangement can be made. There's this school around the area between Woodlands Rd and Senja Rd which I've noticed adults using the field for soccer... Wonder how much it'd cost to use their wall. I have my Level 1, but I'm still quite a novice at climbing! Then again, if I can climb - it means anyone else can!

matka, I've taken basic lessons back in NUS but at that time they didn't have the certification sys so didn't get level 1 cert.. sob.... as for school fields, its quite a common thing, lots of schools rent out their fields on weekends to outsiders, cuz long time ago my frens were into playing weekend soccer regularly and had to find such fields sometimes. But rock wall is a slightly diff thing cuz there'll be a huge issue of safety, unless say we have an qualified instructor involved and present, I doubt they'll have the peace of mind to rent it out? Cuz if any accidents happened there may be tricky issues of liability and all, eg they never maintain the wall properly causing the accident, etc.

zao ann,

for rock climing, shdn't there be somebody experienced around? at least there shd be a person holding on to the other end of the rope right?

wise, almost everyday still not so bad...i'm stuck to this everyday liao

Good morning everyone

Wise, looks like you're not the only one... i am too. Guess things will really start heating up in the thread from 11am. hehe

Hippos, that's true. Plus I don' think the top rope is set, and renting out the rock wall would probably mean additional manpower costs incurred from the school. So perhaps it's not so easy afterall. Guess it's back to SAFRA/Climb Adventure then! Have you been to Dairy Farm? I shld check it out sometime since it's so nearby... although I don't think I'll dare to climb in an uncontrolled environment.

hihi ah ger, ding dong

wow. did it take me that long to compose a message? i'm s o s l o w ...

Wise's 'good morning' message was the last one i saw when i started writing.. then after i hit "post", suddenly so many additional messages sprouted out. You girls are fast!

Hi Matka,
this morning am a bit free lah. had completed my part of the project. guess all the late nites paid off. now customer is testing the system so mi on "standy-by" mode. incase got problem then assist them else will surf net... :P

Hihi Wise

cool. at least your project's done. I'm also on "standby" mode cos everything that I have are with the clients now. I'm expecting an avalanche to happen later this afternoon... that will run into the night. *sniff*

hi wise... thanks. but paiseh, i'm not really good in my england. And i don't think i've displayed any form of creativity in this forum leh?

wise: yup I know about the aircon blog! Thanks for sharing! And nope haven't decided on air con yet, still got lots of stuff to plan! sigh... so have you decided on ID?

matka: I don't climb much at all, just a short stint in uni, (less than 10 times), but I guess you're right there seems to be quite a bit of logistics to be done in renting the wall, not so simple as opening a gate to a soccer field and then closing it later. Dairy farm has climbing? Or do you mean the quarries there? Maybe its possible to do simple bouldering or low level stuff, no need to climb high and hence no need rope and all the risks that comes with it?

Hi wise

thanx so much for your link on deferment of cert. But wonder whether it's more for WIS cos they have so much excess now.. they would be more than happy pple wan to buy.. so wont chase after them so much. But hope they can let mi delay too. Anyway, i don;t mind delaying collection of key if they can allow mi to...

helo ppl, first of all, Welcome to Ah Ger!!!
280453.gif

wise and dingdong, yah loh i also addicted everyday. i told hubby that the bp thread is getting active again hehehee....

wise, yep hdb stopped builing EA. the last batch was build in 1995, not any more hahhaa..thats why when we wanted to buy we realised thats all thats left, very happy coz it will be quite unique next time.

shelyn, 700plus for a decent lshaped sofa quite difficult. i wld think min 900 to 1K? but when u buy, need to ensure the company good repute and aftersales. and the sofa is stable and reliable. i know modern living under novena, not supposed to be good service. but i happen to buy my lshape suede like sofa from modern living park mall, from a very nice lady. the only l shape sofa we saw that matches the size we want, can customise material, and have wooden legs. think we paid $1.5k??? bought it during GSS. when they deliver, realise the L-shape wrong side. though its modular, but still dun want it that way. their service quite good, changed for us quite fast. but when it came the colour was not what we asked. we wanted 2 tone (top and bottom diff) but came in one-tone cream. but end up we like the new one more hehehe so din change.

wah u girls are so active! rock climbers? hikers...goodness....i very bad, the only sport i will ever do is volleyball and.....eerrr....cycling, swimming, aerobics. but i can't recall when's the last time i did either of these sports hahahaa....

matka, i fainted coz i din know we can walk to macritchie!!! to me, that is like so far, near thomson ang mo kio liaoz. the fact that we can walk there just shocked me. i told my hubby, he gave me this incredulous look too hehehee.... you are good man...

hippos, in order for me to climb, I need a good belayer. Quite often, I find it hard to reach becase of my height (or the lack thereof)! I haven't been to the Dairy Farm quarry before so I have no clue what they have there but it's unlikely I can boulder. hehe.

Binbin, no lor.. for me, i'm the most inactive person. But hubby enjoys all these activities and he can be quite ON, so I go along with him sometimes. My personal interests are in collecting... erm. All kinds of stuff. I can't play ballgames for nuts! No ball-sense. heh. So I admire people who can! Volleyball quite painful leh! Swimming, aerobics and running are big NO-NOs. I have no stamina. The only thing I'm probably good at is walking! haha... Perhaps the years of shopping has trained me up ;) Just kidding.

I never knew they stopped building EAs. That's a good thing I guess. Also, they must have realised that demand is lower for that. Hopefully the demand for bigger homes will grow in the years to come.

hi matka, oh so u follow you hubby to rock climb and hike...nice nice.
my hubby loves golf and i initially refused to learn, feeling its a rich man's sports, not suitable for us. but after wedding got time, so i gave in and we got our PC liaoz. come to think of it, i have been playing golf more than volleyball recently hahahaa...oh dear. nowadays i dun dare to meet my volleyball team mates in the face, coz i never go practice!!

actually swimming dun need stamina lah, u can splash water what heheheehe
280521.gif
. anyway i heard running not good for girls leh. coz girls who frequently runs will have lower cervix, higher risk of miscarriage. but then again, hubby has a cousin who runs often last time. she has a smooth pregnancy and her cervix dilation super fast! so maybe got pros too.

Hi Binbin, yup. I go because he goes. Leave it up to me - and I have no motivation for such body-strenuous activities! hehe. With the exception of cycling and walking, it's hard for me to enjoy sports.

How's your golf? My FIL kept asking us to take it up... but I can't even hit the ball at the driving range properly. Hubby used to just go there to swing balls after work. But I doubt I can ever appreciate the game tho.

You actually have a team! Impressive. One of my ex-colleagues also has a volleyball team of her own. Maybe you guys know each other huh!

Well, actually my hubby tells me that exercise actually helps with delivery... and apparently for women who work out regularly, they can get back to their original figure easily. So I guess here's one motivation to exercise. Although... i'm still kinda reluctant. heh heh

helo matka, its better to learn from a qualified PGA pro, before you even start to swing balls. coz once u develop bad habits, hard to kick. my hubby play for yrs before going for the course with me and another person. had to correct bad habits, but he much better now. me ah heheheee..initially hor, i hate the game!!! i drag myself to the lessons every week. but i concentrate lah, will do the motions but i dun enjoy it. but later i got my own golf set, ladies one, in baby blue, bery nice and light. and from then on i started developing the interest. aftr getting our pc, the first time we play on the green is a few weeks ago. now i very gian to play again liaoz. so maybe if u have ur own girly golf set and accessories (me got pink gloves, pink cap, pink/blue polo t hahahah) will like it hahaa..... silly right? :P

oh matka, my volleyball team is our company one lah, not our own outside hehee...
yep exercise helps women get back in shape, but hard to find an exercise that is good enough yet fun loh....

LOL! Binbin, your golfing outfit sounds very cute! So exciting. Well, actually as superficial as it might sound, all these 'perks' do add on to the interest. Here's a confession - I actually wanted to learn tennis because of the nice Nike and Adidas gear available! Very inspiring! hahahahaha... very shallow of me. Aiyah then again... the spirit is willing but the body is weak. Badminton gets me huffing and puffing, what more tennis? I'll probably get a heart attack from all that excitement. hehehehe. I sound like an old aunty.

helo matka hahahaha yes i understand about your tennis inclination due to adidas. hehehe why not try it out? badminton supposed to huff and pant mah, or else no work out. need to sweat hehehee.....

care to share who u appt to renovate ur hse in BP ? me waiting for my keys too ...

will be a newbie in that area...qing duo duo zi jiao...

hello everyone, and welcome interrace! I'm also waiting for my keys! which block did you book?

And anyone here has installed a swing seat in the house, those can you hook to the ceiling one?

halo...

today is a sleepy day *yawn*

welcome interrace...you wanna engage an ID or just a renovation contractor?

hoppinghippos, this the first time i heard pple installing swing seat leh...can't of much help to you.

Hallo, everybody. am hving a running nose.... ah chewww!!!

Hi Interrace... welcome. which area will u b putting up?

Hi Hippos,
know what. i was tolking abt having a swing chair last nite wif hubby... i remember mi neighbour used to hv one & mi njoy miself soo much... r u looking for the traditional rattan type or bubble chair.

enclosed pic.
281182.jpg

281183.gif
Hallo dingdong, binbin & matka.

hihihi everyone

Wot? A swing seat? Is it even possible in an HDB? I'm so paranoid that I think it could bring the whole ceiling down. Imagine if my neighbour below installed it one day and OOPS the floor gives way. Okay lah.. probably not so drama. hehe

But please check on the plaster. Cos at my old place, due to water seepage from the neighbours upstairs, the ceiling's plaster started cracking and we had small chunks falling down. Had to have them patched up.

But that's a very very nice looking swing seat, Wise.

Hi interrace, I got a contractor instead - friend of my in-laws'.

yeeeeee... the ball design for chair looks so uncomfortable leh, its like hunching all the time! but it looks quite stylo tho.

matka: your contractor helped to do the whole house? Would you recc him? price gd? May I have his contacts? thanks!

wise: yup there's rattan swing chairs around but other than that not much choice!

wise, yup. It looks great. Have you gone to Lorgan's The Retro Store at Pasir Panjang? Looks like something they'd have there. The ball chair looks mighty familiar tho... is it from that store along Katong? Think it's the same one that Sarah Jessica Parker was sitting in the movie Mars Attacks.

hippos, yep. our contractor did the whole house. There's good and bad if the contractor's a personal friend of someone you know. The price was pretty okay. We didn't compare much but he told us how much he was making from it - which wasn't that much. He only commits himself to one or two jobs each time. If you leave your email address, I can send you his contacts.

helo helo ppl!!
wah hippo, swing seat, sounds cool. it will be nice to have something rattan and resort like, then can pretend machiam in banyan tree yar? hehehee....
but mine ceiling cannot lah, coz all false ceiling. wait like matka say whole ceiling fall down leh! what have u sourced out?

wise, thats nice! very hip yet a bit retro looking. are u getting that for your house?

hi interrace! WEL The Come!

where will u be staying?

Me will be at segar 400series,looking forward to exploring the trail that you gals have been toking abt.

hoppinghippos, where will u be at? me collecting keys in june. u leh?
actually me also thinking of having a swing seat as i will not be doing any false ceilings.

Me looking at IDs, cos will have someone to do the coordination and advicing on the materials and colors...

Hi Hi... TGIF

these chair are design in the 60's!! even older than mi.... tat y is not surprised that it always appeared in movies or ad... the SK jewerly ad.

these design are patent.... & they cost abv USD$2K... toooo exp for mi..

Hi matka,
u hv the address for Lorgan's The Retro Store at Pasir Panjang or katong... dun mind go & look C C look.

Hi BinBin,
U got mail mail too. no lar... tooo expensive to buy a bubble ball.
281635.jpg

Hi Interrace,
mi olso waiting for key. when r u planning to do yr reno?

Hi Hippos,
mi still sourcing for ID. yet to shortlist any. will u b getting reno loan? any idea what the current rate?

hello...

today's hot topic is abt furnitures yah?

wise, nice bubble swing seat you got here
in fact, this can be use as a baby's cot isn't it? though there cld be a possibility of the baby falling out of the seat.

anyone know of any pet shops near BP, preferably those that sell puppies? I'm thinking of getting one.