Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

It's so fun chatting with some of you. It would be nice if we can all chat together.

Hi ee ling,

Ya! I'm moving there and I've been learning Dutch and still is back here. Managed to find a Dutch native teaching it. Have to! No choice!

hey hey hey... hope everyone had a nice relaxing weekend... i sure did, slept a lot, haha... *yawn*

eeling, thanks for sharing your pics with us, everyone looked really happy and having a good time... it's so fun to have multiple events, hor... hee! your red cheongsam is very lovely, Ted Collection's work is always exquisite, makes me want one too

maddcow - what's your MSN? mine's the same as my email addy: [email protected]

been busy this weekend, but will try to catch some of you online when i can!

hi gals! monday morning blues here zzz. i think moxie suffers from it too. she gets all depressed and hides in her crate on sunday nights hehe
maddcow yay u got msn! i recently switched to using trillion so it doesn't matter icq aim or msn. yay!

ee-ling ..thanks for sharing your photos! they're lovely. agree with dewy, the red CS was stunning!! I thought your WG was really lovely too. simple yet elegant and I'm partial to little bows hehe. oh and italy looks so beautiful too *sniff*! very romantic hehe. the ring pillow was my fav too! it's made from baby mums (i can't spell heheh).

alright catch u gals later

Hi dewberry,

Added u already but never seen u online.

Great chatting with Snip, maddcow, lilo, e... hope to chat again with u and the rest.

Maddcow - I have an exotic look?? Haha actually sometimes it gets on my nerves cos nobody thinks I am Chinese except for the Italians who think all Asians are either Chinese or Japanese but back home people often think I am everything else but a Chinese especially after I get a suntan. Oh well....

SnipSnap - I love my red CS too and I am hoping to have an opportunity to wear it again here but I think I have to akan datang for some time cos autumn is starting mid-week and it's already brrrrrr cold. (Ribbit,enjoy the sunshine whilst you are back!) As for my WG, I actually had it done in 3 weeks! Express service. I had looked around the boutiques here but the gowns were really expensive or they were mostly of a yellowish tone which seems to be a really popular colour here so I decided to hunt for my WG whilst I was back in Sing in Jan for the CNY. It was kinda stressful cos I only had a few days to search for a gown before the boutiques closed for the CNY. Thank goodness I found what I wanted on my first day of searching and they were able to MTM the WG for me within two weeks. Yah simple and elegant was what I was looking for and yep!that little bow got me 'hooked' :-P My ringpillow? Actually it was decorated with little white silk roses I found at Spotlight.

ee-ling
haha, that's what i mean by exotic - you just can't pinpoint the "origin" (lack of a better word) so, you can only stare and stare at this person's face forever...i on the other hand look totally chinese, people in Sgp even asked if I was from Taiwan! (close, my grandpa fought for chiang kai shek) But FH thought I looked Latina sometimes! (how can that be?)

dewy - i added your addy to MSN!

liz, maddcow - hope to chat soon too! i know our times probably clash... whenever i'm online and look to see you're all offline... feels like a left out kid who comes to the playground early but no one's there to play, hee hee.

snippy - wake up, sunshine!
yawn.gif
actually my monday blues last till wednesday, and then it's time to look forward to the weekend, kekekeke. i'm SUCH a slacker.

maddcow - re. freedom fighters/chiang kai shek, my great-grandpa did too! but when everyone was leaving china for taiwan, he got on the wrong boat and ended up in malaysia instead of taiwan, he was sooo pissed about that. haha, i could have ended up a taiwanese! eh, come to think of it, i still haven't seen any pics of you yet... got any to share? let's see if i can spot the latina resemblance, haha. people in the US are generally clueless... i don't think i look anything but chinese, but i've had koreans speaking korean to me, and vietnamese trying to yammer at me in rapid fire viet as well... not to mention the myriads of caucasians politely asking me if singapore was in china somewhere?

dew, u must wake up early to catch us haha... like snippy when she at work we are all online hheehe ... eee if u got problem w msn, try to login in from their website.

eeling, how i wish can have 3 weddin hehe.ee... thanks for sharing your pix, i'm still thk if i want to take ted collection mtm. do they show u design before u sign up w them or after?

elanie, maybe u can consider ted collection, do mtm WG, EG, CS for 2.5K n can keep

lilo - aiyah, cannot leh... i cannot connect to instant messenger programs at work (i work for a horribly paranoid company, they block all kinds of internet mail and chat programs)... so no choice i only come home at night and get online.
oh well... one of these days/weekends i will see y'all online, i'm sure!

harlow...

i've got tuesday blues. so dead tired! flight arrived at 11-ish last night at stansted. was hoping to catch the midnite stansted express but the immigration queue was horrendously long! after surviving THAT, i rushed to the train station only to find that stansted express not operating due to "urgent engineering works" *roll eyes* and different pple gave me different directions to the replacement coach service. in the end, managed to jostle my way onto a nat express coach which, if i'd missed, i'd have to wait another half hour. got home almost 2am, by time i settled down to sleep, it was about 3am.. had to drag myself out of bed today. sniff...

sigh.. enuff whining...

how's everyone? hope you had a good weekend?

lilo
where's ted collection? it is different from ted wu? is there a website?

btw, my FH has made appointment for me at 2 BS when i get back!
We are going to check out Silhouette and The Wedding Present.

ashlee
who was your contact at TWP? FH called and he said it was this lady who sounded really sian... so he didn't get too good an impression and when he asked who will be attending to us, she said "see lor, whoever is available when you get here lah"... erm... sounds quite different from your experience leh... should i ask for someone specifically?

e, poor girl... think abt ur joy during e trip, it still worthwhile. they are different shop, ted collection is not a bs,www.tedcollection.com.u can also try 'jnmdesign'(add com.sg, dont why if i add dont let me post reply),the designer work is great too, only thing i dont like e photographer work. what is 'TWP'?

liz - uk to usa is about +8 hrs ahead for me on "central" time... (snippy is different becoz she is one hour ahead on "eastern" time) so 12noon for me will be 8pm for UK.... s'pore to usa is about +13 hrs ahead, so 12noon for me will be 1am in the morning for s'pore... such a pain to communicate with the time difference!

lilo - fyi, TWP = The Wedding Paparazzi (videographers) yep, even msn also cannot, they are dragons with internet security and viruses and all (we have a lot of patient sensitive and medical records info inhouse, so it's a liability and legal decision, i guess...)

e - aww poor girl! get lots of rest when you can... travelling is so tuff and stressful, i dunno how i did it constantly for my job, 2 years straight. hey, i used TWP as well, and you're right, they don't "promise" a particular person for your actual day (but you can ask closer to the date) for me, since blossom answered all my emails from the beginning, she ended up being assigned to me as well in the end (already got some "rapport" i guess)... the 3 girls are very sweet, don't be put off by the initial phone conversation. blossom, eva and i don't remember the last girl's name. snippy and i had a wonderful experience with them leh, try asking for blossom, and tell her you're june & edward's friend... (we had our wedding in april) or if you like snippy better, you can use her name too, hahah (sorry snippy, i become your "lao da" already, anyhow give people your name) kekekeke...

dewy
oops. i meant TWP - as in The Wedding Present - the BS, not the video co. I know Wedding Paparazzi. Blossom is my fren's sis.. heh..
btw, dun u think eva's such a babe? ;p

e - oh haha, sorry kenna wrong number
eh, snippy, weddings are are a small world! my photographer ended up flirting with some of my friends too, haha... apparently he's army mates with edward's classmate, and so it was totally weird. and he took like a thousand pics with all the pretty girls in there, we were all laughing at the obvious "choices" of faces.

ha! that's funny, flirting etc... i'd love to see such action, however, i'm an above-average bride (as in age) so most of my guests are already taken, even my photographer!

oh e, hope you are feeling better, my weekend was burnt playing hostess to a friend I'd not seen in 5 years, but it was a fun albeit tiring break for me. i don't think i've talked so much in 5 years!!! Gosh, and I realized I've forgotten tonnes of acquaintances!

Snippy and Dewy - it also seems that some of my wedding ideas are 'not the norm' (?) and my guest list is 'tiny' - do you feel the same way when you went back? I never dreamed of my wedding when I was in Singapore, so all my ideas are influenced by the media here - uh-oh, I hope people would find my wedding refreshing instead of it being um...'odd' (self-doubting....)

Hi I am new here. Hope you gals don't mind me joining in. My husband to be is Ang Mo and we'll still waiting for my mom to pick our wedding date for us before actually doing any planning.But in the meantime, hope to join in the chat.

Ciaos.

maddcow,sure will get inlunced by their style, it not only u feel that me too... bring e ideas back home i think not cheap n also our friend n relative may not really enjoy too

jamie, welcome on board! kapo .. which part of world is ur FH from? ladies here 90% married ang mo, so far onli i think e, karen, snippy, me married to chinese ang only
. if u have msn messeger feel free to drop in , most of us can be found there

Hi Jamie,

Welcome! Where's yr FH from? Mine is from Netherlands. Ya! Like lilo wrote ladies chat over the MSN. Do join us. What's yr MSN?

hehe maddcow don't worry i'm sure they'll find it refreshing
at least i do. as for the old uncles and aunties they will complain regardless. it's your wedding so you can do it any old way you please! at least that's what I told my mom when we disagreed on stuff hehe. anyway i don't see how your wedding will be odd lah? unless you are planning some kind of half time show involving bared bodyparts or something lol.

oh snippy
you are the best... i kinda got over that. It's just that an occasional comment gets me doubting about my choices - but hey! I got to stick to my guns and be stronger than that. got to keep that indie spirit going! As for the guestlist - I don't think I'd budge, why do I have to invite people that I've not spoken to for 6 years? btw, have u got most of your wedding pictures back? I remembered I only saw some table shots and of course the lovely SAM ceremony.

hello jamie
welcome to the thread. when's your AD? who's your intended?

maddcow - don't back down! think of those comments in a different/positive light (i tended to take it as, "wah your wedding is going to be so unique, singaporeans don't usually bother to do that...!", rather than "har? we never do it like dat before leh!") as for the guestlist, yeah i guess our numbers are considered small (i called it cosy + intimate), but totally agree it's kinda meaningless to invite people we haven't spoken to in years (unless they are really close longlost friends).... i bet some would feel awkward to be there as well.

haha, snippy you got wild imagination... if maddcow's arranging for any show involving bare bodyparts, i'll be the first to be there, self-invited, kekekeke.

jamie - welcome to the thread! tell us all about yourself :-) and check out snippy's wikipage for details about some of us...
http://overseasbrides.jot.com/
Click 'edit page' at the bottom to add your detail!

oh thanks dewy! i love my guests on my guestlist and shudder to think of 'diluting' it ... i for one always thought it odd to be invited to someone's wedding whom i hardly knew the bride nor the groom well. it was an honour nonetheless... hee, now i'm tempted to incorporate a belly dance so that you'll be there!

i just realized that i was the only recalcitrant poster who did not put my info on snippy's wikipage.

okay people!
i think my simple, low-tech wedding website is finally ready (no more obsessing on my part) thanks to my wonderful quality-control tribunal (yes, you know who you are!)

I don't think I have all your email addresses, but if you are interested, leave me your addys? snippy and dewy - I added some 'goofy' stuff!

Maddcow,
I have added my details on the website too if that's ok with you. With regards to the guest list, as Dewy said,it's meaningless to invite people you have not met or heard from in years. That's what I did for my wedding. I kept the numbers really small and told my parents during the preps that I had no intention of inviting relatives whom we had not seen or heard from in years. Luckily they didn't kick up a fuss about it.

Dewy, you belly dance? I tried that for a few months and then I gave up. It sure is harder than it looks although it's great fun and good exercise!

Hi Jamie, welcome to this thread and let us know a bit about yourself and your FH.

haha ... maddcow if u having bare bodyparts, can go see? stand one corner also can la ... abt 8-10yrs back we went w our parents for dinner at Neptune Theatre Restaurant, after e dinner was told anyone age below 18yr need to leave e hall as they are having performance w not suitable for them (if i'm not wrong Neptune is one of e restaurant does this performance),maybe will shortlist them as one of my venue hhee..ehehe. ..

Thanks for welcoming me.

Hmm ... let's see where to began

My Fh is American, working and living in Hawaii. Met him when we're both studying there. I am currently in Singapore, waiting for my visa to be approved. Will be moving there sometime next year.

As for my wedding, hope to have a small one over in States and later a banquet here in Singapore. AD is still pending ... waiting for my mom to give me one.

Paiseh, I am not too IT/internet savvy, can someone add me to the MSN messanger. My email is [email protected]. Thanks.

ee-ling - haha, no lah of course i don't belly dance! you don't want to see my bacon fat wobbling limply... good for you to have tried it, it sure looks hard!

maddcow - yay! *doing the victory chicken dance* the webby looks wonderful, now you can send it out the world... i'm sure your guests will be thrilled.

jamie - welcome to the US brides "inner club"... is your FH in singapore with you, or is it long distance now? my hubby is also long distance with me right now, got married in april but we currently live in different states (he's in mountain view, ca and i am in nashville, tn)... i'm trying to make the move as soon as i find a new job in california!

happy wedding planning, everyone! have a great weekend... i may not check in for a while... tomorrow's my birthday, and i'm a little delirious now thinking about how fast the years went by... urgh! hope i don't wake up too depressed in the morning....

jamie, i thk u have not create an account at msn messeger, have added u but u need to create using ue existing email. hmm.. so now u having long distance relationship, must miss him alot
. will ur wedding be next yr or 2007?

dew,
happy birthday to u!! hope all ur wish come true. (so lao tao

hihi gals...

internet now working at home but sporadically. have been disconnected umpteen times tonight. so very frustrating....

dewy
Happy Hatch Day Dewy!!!!
Is hubs planning anything special?

jamie
welcome!

maddcow
yah, feeling slightly less tired but would be better if no need to go to work and can sleep in! heh.. am just glad it's going to be the weekend soon...

btw, anyone got recomm for MUA? heard Freddy Ong is good. do y'all have his contact details?

ok.. sorry if this is really abrupt, but i'm trying to send off this post before the internet gets d/c again... will try to write more next time.

thanks!!!!

*cough cough* *sneeze sneeze*
Think I'm falling ill...

How's everyone??? Hehe, MIA-ed for quite some time. Hope everyone's been fine.

e
Abt The Wedding Present, hmm, the girls there are really really nice. But I have to admit that they are much friendlier when they get to know you better. Give them another chance lah, make an appt and go see them when you get back to SG.
Eh gal, Germanwings to Cologne only £41 return leh. Wanna go? hehe... why dun u stay in London and not go home???

Hello eeling and jamie

snippy
saw your photos liao... very well taken leh! And you look really really sweet in your WG! (er, have I said that before?) *feeling groggy liao*

Dewy
OMG! You're as old as me now! hehe...
Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to Juney, Happy Birthday to you!

Harlows gals!

It is becoming a habit to drop in here once in a while to see how everyone is doing. So strange that you can become friends online - my husband teases me by asking how my "imaginary friends" are doing.. I tell him that I am pretty sure that everyone here are flesh and blood Singapore brides (untill we morph into bridezillas)

Happy Birthday Dewy! Welcome back to the forum Ashlee... so nice to see you here
agree that E should stay in London longer but I think her FH might have differing views on that!!

Show me photos pls Snippy!!
send here leh..

maddcow
harlow.... would like to see your website too... can email me at [email protected]? Thx!!

ashlee
wah.. finally....haven't seen you in ages! hope you're feeling better? I find that Echinacea helps. It's some herbal pill you can find in Boots. It builds resistance.

ribbit
hi dearie... good to see you around!!
and yes.... FH does not agree with you and Ashlee... haha...

ashlee - u feeling better now? good to see you back here - though, not much is happening.

e and eeling: you got mail!

dewy - hehe...how did your birthday go? are in CA? or is prince charming in nashville?

i'm really getting nervous about the wedding, it's 3 months away, but i feel really ssssccccared - gosh!

thanks ribbit and ashlee... the bday was fine, nothing earth shattering, but ate lots of cake, haha!

maddcow - no lah, i stayed in nashville, didn't go to CA this time. been really busy with work these few weeks... hurricane katrina aftermath and now preparing for rita, aiyoh so many natural disasters in one season! stay cool about the wedding countdown, it's normal to start feeling anxious about settling all the details, not to mention the emotional buildup to one of your biggest events in life.... just remember to keep it all in perspective, and remember why you're doing it in the first place... and when in dilemna about anything, this may help you make those difficult decisions: think about how you want to feel about it after everything is done, make your decision based on the big picture perspective. because after all, the wedding is only 1 day but there's the rest of your married life that goes on afterwards!
everything will be fine, life is great on "the other" side! (haha, old married aunty talking again, sorry sorry...)

have a great week ahead, everyone!

*BIG HUG* to Maddcow

Don't worry about them nerves - that is what this forum is for - lots of moootual support. Everything will simultaneously be a crises and elation. In other words - just perfect.

Just another old married auntie..

Haven't talked to you guys for sssssooooo long... yeah... my big day is just 3 weeks away from now... sorted out most things... even though I still have long list of things to be done... X)

MSN is the best thing ever... so please do add me onto your list... [email protected]. We'll talk then...

BTW, lilo told me that someone from Oz is looking for me... Lazy to look thru the postings... so whoever that is... email me!!! Or msn me!!! =)

hi gals! *waves* so much activity

ribbit > I sent you the links to my pix. hopefully u don't find as many common friends as e hehe

ashlee> yay welcome back! btw i sent u a forward. think u might find it interesting hee

dewy> how? hung over arh? hehe

karen> omg 3 weeks to go
so exciting!!! let us know if you need any help. i remember being all stressed because of all the things that needed to be done.

hi karen *waves* - oooo, i'm feeling the excitement! i think the someone who was looking for you kind of went away? or may be 'phantoming' right now.

ribbit and dewy *hugs*...it's fun watchin others get married (haha)... yes the proverbial jitters...it's like a ghost - confront it and it goes away, problem is i don't know the source of it - it just springs on me - a paralyzing fear (sounds scary...it's actually more subtle) FH and I talked about it - we feel the same thing - but then again, since we are of two minds, how can we be sure we feel exactly the same thing? anyhoo, i need to fly to Virginia for the marriage prep course so it will be a good break for both us - we resolve not to talk about wedding planning and take time off just to enjoy each other's company. i'm having a strong urge to postpone the wedding
- (not totally serious though)

maddcow - have a safe flight! good lah, have some together-time, and just enjoy being with each other. be careful about the resolution not to talk about wedding though, haha edward and i tried that failed miserably.... we both couldn't resist. kekeke. yes, it's FUN watching others get married, why else do you think i'm still hanging around this forum???

snippy - huh, hung over? nah, didn't drink all that much... (okay, maybe just a teensy bit groggy, hehe)

karen - good luck on this last stretch! it'll be here and over with before you know it... and don't forget to relax and ENJOY the moments!

snippy
I nearly flipped over and died when I read "stylish outfit and poster boy goodlooks"!!! He very decent looking but think they went a bit far on the description. Maybe the writers fancied him! Must tell his wife! hehe...

I am going to forward it to our gang of friends so the rest can taunt his wife for me! haha

ribbit
{{hugz}}

maddcow
Dun even be tempted to postpone the wedding! I am sure you guys are gonna be so charged up and looking forward to it all over again after the prep course! Look, we are ALL excited for you here. It's a good thing isn't it?

e
feeling better liao. sigh... thought I might be able to get a day off... hehe.

Anyone going home for CNY next year?

ashlee sweetie *big hugs* thanks for the booster and vote of confidence...I'm still feeling blah, but better since I'm taking time off - thanks for the emails too - they make feel warm and fuzzy