Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

Need you guys' advice on the bouquet!!!! Should I go for fresh flowers or silk flowers bouquet... my mum said I should go for silk flowers 'coz then I can keep it and make it a keepsake thingy.... But I'm not quite sure about the effect of having silk flowers...
All the other buttonholes, corsages, centrepiece are going to be in silk flowers!!! So I can use it in both Sydney and Sg... hehehehhe... =P And they cost the same anyway...
I really like my florist... she was soooo patient and detail... we were at her place from 8pm till 12am last night doing all the design!!! I'm having a pink soft color theme for the flowers... my FH will have 3 sets of buttonholes to go with my 3 different outfits!!! Very much looking forward to see the flowers... =)

Let me know what you guys think re silk flower bouquet vs. fresh flower bouquet

ummm, karen, i think silk flowers can look equally gorgeous - i saw a picture of a bride carrying calla lilies and thought they were real - they were silk. In france, they have shops totally devoted to the craft of making silk flowers.

That said, I prefer real flowers for myself - you can never replicate the fragrance nor the weight and textures of the real thing and to me, that's important for my memories of the day, which I doubt any keepsake can subsitute. For keepsake, you can always have a closeup of your flowers or you can press a few florets in your album.

The compromise is to go for fresh flowers in one locale and then silk for others (hee). Whatever you choose, go for only what you truly want. Good luck, gal - I'll be praying for you!

Hi hi ladies,

Have been reading all your thread but too busy to write. It's crazy this week. Busy! Busy! Busy! At least I got my make-up settled in a way.

Hi hi Karen,

I think silk flowers should be ok, more practical. Maddcow is right. I think it's your preference. I prefer real flowers too esp when in Netherlands, there's so many types of flowers to use.
Added u to my msn.

HI hi Maddcow,

Feeling excited for you! I'm also feeling excited even though it's only an engagement. Listening to my friends practising the song, I can imagine myself walking down with FH. A month more and he is down in Singapore. There's so many things to finialised! Bit by bit, getting there. Just have to take care not to fall sick. Fh is coming down with a cold n cough and me ear pain. Ai yo!!!

Hi hi to ashlee, Ribbit, dewberry, snippy, miss talking to all u ladies. Yet to chat with some though.

ashlee ... hehe pretty entertaining huh? thought of sending it to you right away. anyway I'm sure his wife has seen it already lah, just don't say it's from me haha.

karen ... how about using fresh flowers for your own bouquet and silk ones for the rest? this way u have the best of both worlds! hee
btw which florist are you using?

liz..u found your MUA? update us!

hi to all u ladies out here!

ok gotta run now.ttyl!!

madccow, relax dont give urslef too much stress.

karen, u can use two diffrent types of flower as u having 2 functions. then not so bored hehee,,ee...

Thanks gals!!! Your advice really helped!!! I think I'll still use fresh flowers for me and my Maid's bouquet. Others will be in silk flowers. Thanks Maddcow for the flower pressing tips!

Snippy: my florist is in Sydney and I only need flowers in Sydney... silk flowers items can be reuse in SG. =)

Ya snippy! Tried my Dutch classmate who is MUA. Not too bad but will get her to use brown eye linear instead of black and discuss with her more. The other MUA still thinking of whether to try or not. Bought female bride mag, has some tips on make-up, so will use that to discuss with MUA.

will post again So many things to do! have to get back to work.

Haven't check the board much this past week. Been busy with work.

Elizabeth and girl, think the email I used for MSN should read: jmelah@hotmail instead of my yahoo account. That's the reason why you can't find me there. Know I shouldn't be posting message at past 1am in the morning. Sorry about it.

dew berry
My FH is in Hawaii, so yes we are doing the long distance thingy for now. So how's your search for a job in CA getting? Hope you get something soon. It's so hard to be apart ain't it?

ee-ling, that's what everyone tells me when I told them where I will be moving to. But the standard of living there is high compare to the mainland state. I am afraid me and FH can't afford to own a house there. Oh well, guess like they say there's a price to stay in Paradise.

Ok, I better stop here and catch up on the messages that you gals have posted.

Have a nice wkend everyone!

hihi folks, hope everyone is doing well!

jamie - yeah loh, long distance is quite pathetic, we feel like such star-crossed lovers sometimes. job search is slooooow... i get quite a few recruiters calling but the work visa is sometimes a problem. oh well, i'm still giving myself more time, trying not to panic yet. so when will you get to see your FH next?!

lilo - mine longer than you leh, hehe, we've been apart for 6 years already... on and off we did get to live together, but always not for long. sibeisianz!
like chang-e on the moon or something... sheesh!

karen - on the silk flower bouquet, here's some tricks my friend told me she used for hers: try to use smaller flower blooms than the large ones, they tend to look more "realistic" and will blend in nicely. and make sure the handles are well wrapped and look similar to yours/Maids real bouquets... that way it'll all look homogenous.

lilo - hee hee, yes and the record is still counting leh... i came online today (morning USA time) because i didn't go to work today, but usually i'm on at night USA time (6 or 7pm)... that's why never catch you guys on MSN! coz it's morning for you guys in singapore when i come online.

darn that time difference!

Hallo Ladies

You have been busy on the thread! Darn that time difference also I say. My husband is currently in Turin, and I am in Seoul right now, so we cannot phone/skype each other without a great deal of planning.

Welcome Maniac - some of the girls here are planning their wedding from outside of Singapore. Some are like me - an "old auntie" who enjoyed the entire remote control experience, and lived to tell the tale. I spend time being kaypoh on this thread whilst adjusting to my new life overseas. So, why so much travel in and out of Singapore?

ribbit - wow, seoul! how did you end up there? land of K-dramas, if i was there, i'd be glued on the TV everyday. just hook me up an IV, i'm not budging from the sofa, haha.

welcome maniac! as you can see, this thread is a jetsetting crowd, quite a few of us are always travelling too, hehe (US, UK, Italy, Netherlands, OZ, SG, etc)

hello dewy

nice to see you around again. yeah - am in land of k-dramas which are have neither dubbing nor subtitles (everyone is assumed to speak Korean here) so you can forget watching or understanding anything. Although that being said, the plots are pretty thin so I guess you don't even need advanced language skills... Heh.

It's the weekend, so I guess everyone is kinda quiet on the thread. I'm sure it will pick up later..

ribbit -
how did you end up in korea? mmm, i love the traditional korean meal and shabu-shabu!!!! and there's a lot of shopping in dongdaemun and namdaemun (sp?) i don't particularly like the place since language is such a problem but it certainly is interesting to see pooches being killed for meat (oh snippy, i hope you are not reading this...)

we just met the priest this morning and kick-started our marriage preparation - man, I feel so good - i think being apart does add some strain to the relationship - so lilo and dewy, hats off to you gals, you are so strong to survive being apart for so long, not a small feat! and thanks to all of you for being 'there' for me on my blah days...i wish we will have a chance to meet up - someday...

hi all!!

wow... thread is moving fast...

maniac
welcome! when's your AD?

maddcow
checked out your page. nice!
will you be adding more pics? heh.. i very kaypo.. ;p

ribbit
er... sorrie, but i really dun like seoul. bad memories and trauma from 2 weeks of overnighters spent there in -12deg C winter, working my a** off trying to do due di. yech... although, there is this really good place that serves up real yummy bulgogi/hot plates/casseroles/etc... it's called Mini-Mani or Mani-sth... it's just round the corner from KB Bank at Myeungdong. near Namdaemun there is also a traditional porridge place -.. my fav is the mushroom/oyster porridge. it was my comfort food when i was feeling miserable... heh.

btw girls, i went to try wedding gowns on Thursday!!!

Tried a few Monique Lhuillier dresses and they were so pretty!!! love the lace and satin sash look.. *drool*

then went to Harrods and they had 2 designers that i liked very much - Peter Langner and Atelier Aimee.

none of them allowed me to take pics tho, so i can't post them. but you can find the Peter Langner dresses at www.peterlangner.it and the ones i tried are "Iris" and "Kim". one's "ruched" silk tafetta and the other is diamante and beaded sheer crushed organza overlay on duchesse satin.

there were so many designs and after trying them, i'm not 100% sure about a full-lace mermaid gown anymore. i still love the full-lace idea and the cut, but the fuller skirt silhoutte seems really pretty too. a bit more dramatic effect i think. hmm... maybe i have to go try more to decide... heee...;p

Hi hi ladies,

Been reading the thread! Been super busy!

Hi ribbit,

Wah! Korea! How come u are there?

Hi E,

The gowns are so gorgeous! So beautiful! Got some idea for my shawl!

Hi dewberry,

Ya! So tough to catch u online! One day! Ya!

Hi Maddcow,

I understand how u feel. I'm going berserk having to be apart! Ha ha ha! Great chatting with u! One more month! Waiting period is such an agony! Praying hard I get my visa! Two more weeks to get my answer. Fh is going to cal them everyday to chase them. They said they will start processing it hopefully this week. Hope so man! I'm getting very excited to our engagement. Going to finish up the bits when he is here together.

Going to be busy again with props for a big production! Our VIP is the Prime minister! Stress stress stress! Director still hasn't finalised the script. How to get the props ready!!! ARGGHHH!!!!! Hahaha!!!

maddcow, Elizabeth - hang in there gals, only just a short 'wait' more and you will soon be in total bliss!! :-P The 'agonising' wait will be oh so worth it. Patience brings good things! I know, I've been there, done that :-)

e - checked out the Peter Langner website. They have gorgeous classic gowns. There is an Atelier Aimee boutique here too and they have unique floral gowns, v pretty. Have fun trying on the gowns!

Hi all, well, due to work nature, I have to travel a lot. Sometimes really get quite tiring with all the travelling.

I havent decided on my AD, just decided to get married is thought of getting a wedding planner. Anyone here got a wedding planner? I think a wedding planner would be very good, esp when I don't have much time here. How did you gals juggle with the preparations?

Hallo Hallo Girls!

Yeah, I came to Korea to spend some time with my family. My parents are Singaporean, and my Dad is posted here to work, ans since Seoul is considered a pretty tough posting (for all the reasons you mentioned - langugage barriers, high cost of life etc..) and for a variety of reasons, mum has been feeling a bit down, so I came here to cheer them up a little (or maybe bug them so much that they can't get depressed- hahah!)But no don't worry Snippy! I have not seen anyone eat dogs (yet)...

E, Elizabeth and Maddcow
- I feel your excitement through online (even the keyboard is tingling!!) Yah, I remember that when I tried on the wedding gown I finally bought, it just "felt right", and I knew I HAD to get it. So keep trying those gowns and when you put on the one you want, it is kinda like meeting the man you want to marry - you don't have to justify anything you will Just Know that it is THE ONE...

Ooops, meant to say hello to Red&PinkRoses

Yes, my photographer was Kuang from Pentaserve Photography for the Singapore wedding, and I totally recommend him.

What happens is that you get to meet him a couple of times before you enter into the contract. He will assess your style and requirements and it gives you a chance to see if you can get along and work with him or not (remember he will be around you 24/7 for one of the most important days of your life!) so it is important that you feel comfortable around him.

His prices are a bit steep compared to the average Singapore photographer, but I would say he is absolutely worth it. He does not do posed shots, because he is an exclsively journalistic photographer. If you want a special "extra" (posed or b/w photos) he can get hold of a less well-known collegue to do it for a small top up in fees.

I offered him drinks and dinner, but he prefered to shoot all through dinner, and took photos all the way from morning to midnight.

Extremely professional and hardworking dude - Two thumbs up for Kuang.

PS - no, he doesn't gimme a commission for this, but I just had a great experience with Kuang that I want other pple to benefit too.

PPS - if you and your hubby like smooching in public he does great kissing shots

Haha! Ribbit! Kissing shots!

Kuang as in Yew Kuang? U did an outdoor shots with him? U mean the whole day of photo taking? Can't remeber have I seen your outdoor shots? can send to me pls? [email protected]!

Ya ya! I'm eacited, now trying to get over the blues of having to wait another month! Ai yo! So tough!

redpinkroses
got your message. Peter Langner gowns I tried cost about £4999. I think that's approx. S$15K plus. No off the rack though. It's all made to measure - takes a few months. They recommend brides to go in for measurements 6 mths before wedding date.

ribbit
oooh.... smooching!!! ;) loved the one of you and Fab kissing while dancing!

lilo
was in Cambridge over the weekend and visited the Unis too. Also attended a choral evening service at Kings College Catheral. Service was beautiful - the whole church was lit only with candles and the singing echoed beautifully throughout the sanctuary.

Ribbit,

Thanks for the fast response. I've read great reviews about him, as well as Terence. I think you got great photographers for your wedding
I'm all for paying for quality and sounds like he has a great working attitude. Thanks, I'll follow up on this.

One question though, what are "posed" shots?

Oh, and what you wrote about knowing the dress is the one, there's a scene in "Shopaholic Ties the knot" that reads almost like that!

~e~,
Thanks. Wow, that's really way out of my budget. But his dresses are really lovely. I only need a wedding gown made, and I'll buy a tea dress off the rack. Trying to keep my clothes budget to under S$3000.

Thanks ladies. I read this thread cos my situation is similar, though reversed. My fiance is based overseas and I'm in Singapore, essentially preparing for our wedding by myself. Mum helps of course. Thank goodness for skype. But being apart for too long is no good.

hihi girls, wow this thread is at high speed today... can't keep up, but the peter langner gowns are divine! of course with that prohibitive price point, it might be a bit of a budget challenge! no problems, take a leaf from snippy's book - get it made from a SG bridal shop, copying the "model" from the catalog?

maniac - on the wedding planner, i did use one for my wedding. Jonathan from Wedding Acts did a wonderful job on executing my "decor dreams" within budget and the best thing was we didn't have to deal with any logistical issues at all. everything was in great hands on the actual day so we can actually sit back and enjoy our wedding without hassle. i would say the expense was definitely worth it! if you want more info, pics of my wedding etc, drop me an email at [email protected]! i can show you samples of his work. (you can quote me as your friend, and ask for special treatment/discount, hee!) another wedding planner that i worked with and was very impressed with, is Chris from 1PerfectDay. she was great too, and has exquisite taste but for various reasons we didn't end up signing with her (so no name dropping with her). no regrets though, i would recommend both of them to anyone.

alrighty, gotta dash off since i'm supposed to be working and not surfing! keep up the flurry of activity, everyone! it's so exciting to watch it unfold... hee hee.

redpinkroses
haha.. it’s out of my budget too. I’m only trying on gowns here to get an idea of the designs and fabrics. will be getting a MTM gown from a BS in Singapore.

dewy
FH met up with Jonathan from Wedding Acts during one of their pro bono sessions. he was quite helpful and willing to share ideas even though it was for free. and he showed FH pics of your wedding! ;p

maddcow
how’s marriage prep coming along?

liz
wow, what event are you planning? sounds exciting!! but cos PM is around, there’ll be lotsa security right? when exactly is your engagement (sorry, I’m sure you told me but I forgot the date) – sometime in November? Any pics of invites/dress/anything else to share? v kaypo.. hee…

btw,
does anyone have recommendations for MUA? how soon before AD should I be booking one?

~e~,
If you need help or have any queries, let me know, I recently made some visits to BS and the information is still fresh in my head

Ribbit,
Kuang is already booked on my wedding date. Which is too bad. Oh well, I'll keep looking.

Elizabeth,
Hi, sorry didn't see your message earlier. Yes, I'm on the Catholic brides thread too

Hi Red&PinkRoses-

are red and pink roses the theme flowers for your wedding? You read the Shopaholic series! I have always wondered whether to buy them at the airport bookstores - any good?

It is a shame that Kuang is booked up, but I am sure you can find you like. The really important part is that you can feel comfortable with the person. I actually made that mistake with my France wedding photographer, but I don't want to slime him publicly here on the forum, so if you want to know my own views, please email me at [email protected] fortunately most of the photos he took are okay, but it was not without some effort.

"posed shots" as opposed to journalistic photography just refer to anything artificial or not part of the actual day itself. My husband and i were dead against having "studio" or "outdoor" shooting, so any of our wedding photos were all taken in Real Time (i.e. only AD photography). I guess it just boils down to the personal preference of the couples. Some pple quite happily realise their "American's next top model" fantasies. I even had a friend who brought their entire wedding wardrobe to some European destination (and MUA and photographer)to shoot their "posed" wedding photos...

Liz
- I posted my wedding website on this forum some time back - www.sharonandfabien.weddingwindow.com - better look at it quick becos it is expiring soon. (another desperate attmempt to raise my Hit Counter

E - You should book your MUA when you have your wedding dress design confirmed. Most MUAs want to see your dress, or at least photos of it, so that they can style your face accordingly. Popular MUAs can be booked up quite far in advance, so ideally, you should try to arrange your trial make up sessions as early as you can.

redpinkroses
would love to hear your comments/experiences with the BS. I'm currently thinking of visiting the following: Silhouette, Wedding Present, Bridal Veil, Ted Wu. Are there any others you would recommend?

ribbit
which MUA did you go with? and do you have any recommendations for others? I've heard names like Freddy, Jasmine, etc... but not sure what their style is like

hi ladies..i'm floored by the number of posts lol

e...will tell u about my Bridal Veil experience next time on MSN
... I thought they were rather snooty. I checked out Ted Wu too. Really nice if u like embroidery. Though personally I'm not a fan.

my 2 cents about journalistic photography. hehe ours were all journalistic too. many wedding photographers have really canned poses (u'll soon realize its the same for every wedding). my only gripe was that we didn't have many photos of us as a couple since we were mad busy on that day. I wish our photographer had tried to set up some of those shots or at least reminded us haha. I know I know ..it's not true to journalistic photography but whatever I like to have my cake and eat it.

btw ribbit ..i really like that smoochy dancing pic! my fav of the set. oh yes and what was the issue with the photographer u used in france? i very kaypoh.

pink roses..haha i really enjoyed that shopaholic series and the devil wears prada too

dewy> how's the week progressing? i had to pry myself away from the wedding planning section at B&N last weekend haha.

~e~,
This may be a long post...

These are my personal opinions and I hope I don't offend anyone.

+Silhouette
I was quite impressed by their advertisements in bridal magazines and they've been around for a long time. But I didn't think very much of their gowns when I visited them. The designs are too flamboyant for me, and not in an artistic or appealing way. If this makes sense at all, it's flamboyant but also old fashioned. I think a gown from them would look dated if one were to look back 10 years from now. I also felt the designer that I met was not knowledgeable enough. When I visit bridal studios, I wear clothes that outline my body shape so that the designer has a good idea of my body shape. I asked him to select some gowns that he thought would flatter me, based on my preferences, and I didn't like his selection. For example, he chose an empire cut for me which is wrong cos I'm already top-heavy. Still I tried it on and it didn't look nice and it made me look shapeless. Service is okay. But I didn't feel there would be much refreshing design ideas forthcoming from the designer.

+The Wedding Present
I think you should visit them. They have a good and pretty selection of gowns. I think in the recent year and a half, this BS has done very well in terms of delivering on design and service. The TWP thread on the forum is very active and they have many satisfied customers. I think the designers there have good opinions so I was able to engage them meaningfully when discussing fabric, details, and design. The staff also picked out gowns that looked good on me. Their designs are also quite unique. You won't get the feeling that the gown is run-of-the-mill. I would suggest that you make an appointment with Patrick specifically, the boss and main designer. He has competent and friendly staff, but speak with him cos he has more experience. My personal feeling though is that with greater business volume, TWP will need to work harder at distinguishing itself and maintain personalised service. Call it a hunch, but I can see little signs that they are growing a little too big too quickly. But I hope I'm wrong and wish them every success

+Ted Wu
A recognised name in the market. You are assured of a relatively high service standard. He is well known for his beading work, so if you like beading on your gown, you should really visit his studio. I felt his current collection was okay, but it didn't make me go "wow". The colour scheme was muted, tending toward grey and off white. And I want a gown to look alive and vibrant, so to speak. I'm also not terribly fond of beading work. The two times that I went there, I was attended to by his staff. Nice pleasant girls, who are knowlegeable enough. But because they don't design, I can't get an immediate response on design suggestions. I'm not sure if you can call and specifically ask if Ted will see you at the first meeting. He does have themes for his collections, so it could be just that his current collection doesn't appeal to me. Yes, I would say, pay his BS a visit.

+Bridal Veil
I didn't visit them. I read the thread on Bridal Veil and rightly or wrongly, I got the impression that service standards weren't consistent enough and I didn't want to take a risk.

I think it's very important that I can click with the personalities at the BS that I ultimately choose. A wedding is a happy occasion. I want it to be as stress-free and pleasant as possible, and I want to be able to trust the designer. That's why where possible, I want to speak with the designer/owner directly.

Others...
+I would recommend that you visit Margaret Brides, especially if you like lace. Margaret is definitely very knowlegeable and can give you suggestions on design and cut. She expresses her opinion with conviction, but that's just because she knows what she's talking about. I learnt a lot about fabric and lace from her and she was helpful.

+If avant-garde, statement dresses are what you are looking for, you can visit Frederick Lee's bridal studio cos he's very daring in design. But I don't like such designs cos I'm not a loud person. And I could tell straightoff that I did not click with the service assistant, so I didn't stay long nor try any dresses.

Other boutiques that seem popular are Dang, Divine Couture, Amanda Lee... but I have not been to them yet.

I've learnt several things about wedding gown shopping. I must really go and try the gowns in person and get a good feel of the place. Don't trust adverts too much. And I must go with some idea of what looks good on me and what I like. But always ask the designer for his/her inputs too. It helps to narrow down the options. It also helps to go with a friend who can give you an honest opinion.

Gosh, that was long. I hope it's helpful.

~e~
Do you have an idea as to what you're looking for in a gown? I can keep it in mind as I go about my shopping

Ribbit,
Haha! I had chosen other nicknames but they were all taken. So I glanced at the red & pink roses bouquet that my fiance had sent me that day, and ta-dah! Sorry for the long nickname. Let me try to abbreviate it. Now I actually am thinking of pink and red as my colour scheme.

I really enjoyed the shopaholic books! The first time I read it, I found myself laughing out loud several times. I think there's a bit of a shopaholic is most girls. Read it for what it is, a light-hearted chick-flick. Something to read on the plane, or on holiday. Read the first book "The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic" and see if you like it. Anyway, it's very pretty book to have on a bookshelf

My fiance and I don't want wedding shots that are too contrived either. And nah, I really cannot see us going to some lallang field or beach. In Singapore it's just too hot! Plus, we're not outdoorsy people. That said, I do want some simple studio shots with us in bridal clothes so we have something to frame up. I rather like B&W shots. I need to discuss this with the photographer cos logistics will be an issue, since we are in two different countries at the moment. I think like what snippy said, I would like some couple shots on the actual day, and also some family shots.

Oh, well I confess... I did have the idea of taking my wedding gown with me on my honeymoon and have some simple shots of me taken by my fiance against a mountain backdrop cos I think we'll be going to a cold climate. Till my gal friend pointed out that the gown would take up one suitcase in itself, and that I'll be freezing

Snippy,
Oh, I haven't heard of this book. Shall check out "devil wears prada"

redpinkroses
thanks for your advice. found it very helpful. have made appointments to visit silhouette and wedding present already when I get back to Singapore.

I’ve actually always wanted a full lace gown in a modern mermaid cut – not so hugging on the hips through to the legs, but softer, and flared out with a not-so-long train. something like louise bonsall’s (Michael owen’s wife) dress. see here: http://www.fmforums.co.uk/forums/lofiversion/index.php?t32244.html

but after trying some gowns last week, I am now more open to other designs. and also considering that full lace will prob be very expensive, I might have to compromise and go with just a lace bodice or something like that. but I think I definitely want either a bustier or very very thin spaghetti straps – not too much into halter/toga for the day gown.

which other boutiques are you thinking of visiting? can let me know what you think of them? thanks!!!

also, have you seen franc*s cheong’s stuff? I heard they’re really nice too, but very expensive tho.

oh no... i realise that link doesn't work anymore!!! sniff... i'll try to look for the pics elsewhere....

wow - too many posts to keep up with... but i'll give my 2 cents worth about photographers. tuck hong from Tucky's Photographhy did a great job on mine as well (not "celebrity" like kuang, of course!).

snippy, yep yep me did that just last night! got stuck in the bridal aisle as well, looking at the latest issues, oh so pretty! hehehe. edward thinks i'm nuts.

Hallo Dewy - well, my 2 cents worth was that your photos were lovely! I loved your gown both bustled up and let down! You and Edward looked radiant and sweet (and sometimes a little sweaty.. heheheh) overseas brides who become used to cooler climates tend to sweat buckets each return to singapore (the cruel voice of personal experience speaks - fortunately help is at hand in the form of Evian water spray!)

Red and Pink Roses - I like the story of how you picked your nickname for this forum. I am really envious that you get flowers from your fiance. In the 5 years with my husband, I think I can count on the fingers of 1 hand how many times I got flowers from him! (*eyeball rolls*)

Snippy - err i don't really wanna publicly slime Terence becos I REPEAT -- his photo-taking talents are excellent. So why don't you email me and I can tell you why I feel that good wedding photographers are not only about technical ability? This is becos it is also a highly personal experience, and perhaps not everyone else feels the same way as I do.

Ribbit,
He's romantic like that and I really appreciate it. If I have a son one day, I will tell him stories of how his Daddy courted me and how I hope he'll make some girl happy too by doing the same. Hey, I emailed you, did you receive it? The sharon_fabien address generated a delivery failure, so I tired fabien_sharon instead

Dewy,
May I view your photos too please?

~e~,
I've taken a bit of a break from gown shopping for now. Trying to sort out photography and videography at the moment. I figure if the dress takes 4 mths to make, I can make a confirmation on the dress in Jan and still have time.

Personally I don't like spaghetti straps. Think it makes a gown less grand and a little more girly. And well, I ain't in my early 20s anymore! Haha! Doesn't look nice on me. But there's nothing like trying on dresses. Initially thought I wouldn't look good in a ballgown skirt, but to my surprise, I look better than in a narrow A-Line. Any more gown-trying at Harrods? Must try Harvey Nics too okay?
I remember 5 years ago, I saw a wedding gown that was so beautiful there.

Actually, I did take a quick look at POIS at paragon, the shop facing Mt Elizabeth hotel. There are two POIS shops at Paragon. They have a very small selection of wedding gowns. But what they have is quite classy. I'll check in there soon to see if there new arrivals. The other POIS shop has very nice evenings gowns and tea dresses if you need one.

And if I can muster up some courage, I want to go to the LINK Weddings at Shangri-la and try a Vera Wang gown.

Need to ask you... how do you bold the text?

red&pinkroses - you've got mail! i sent you our album proofs which are a small selection of all his pics. if you want to see even more (if you're not bored already, that is!) let me know and i can send you the link to the entire collection of pics. tuck hong really went trigger happy for our night.

check out the text formatting list here, for bolds and other neat effects:
http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=formatting

ribbit - awww, thanks! i loved your photos just as much too, think both our photographers did wonderful jobs. hehe, yes my bustle was a personal favorite, and it's done so rarely in singapore! some bridal shops didn't even know what a bustle was... and yes, we sweated a great deal even indoors. when you're rushing around so much, and you have a "rotund" couple, guess it's unavoidable. good thing i still looked happy despite the sweaty reality. ha!

don't feel bad about the lack of florals from the men... i can also count how many times i got flowers from edward. not complaining or comparing though, red&pinkroses has a really sweet FH!

oh wow
so many posts! can't keep up - hello roses (haha sorry abbreviated your nick) welcome to the thread! i see you made yourself comfy already - so where are you now? Singapore?

ribbit- awww, you are so sweet to be there for your mom, so 'guai' and understanding, fab is definitely a lucky man. and yes, smoochy shots - i've never seen better!

e - the marriage prep did wonderful things to us, it got rid of the craziness of focusing on stuff and just made us very whole (ooo, i have an epiphany - we feel wholesome!) there's more to come next month.
wedding dress - ooo, keep us updated, it's interesting to see how each bride-to-be comes to her decision.

eeling and liz - *hugz* thanks for the assurances. i feel so good to be able to check into this 'rehab' and know that i have a support system here

snippy and dewy - haha, i think the two of u should SERIOUSLY consider entering the wedding industry "complex"

for wedding photography - i consulted annabelle williams' and sarah frances' books - (yes, i'm a bookworm) their styles resonate with me the same way my photographer's style (gabriel mendes) does and they have very good pointers about how wedding photography is influenced by the media and that in turn influenced the bride's innate desire to want to look like a 'model' or a more glamourous version of herself. They gave tips on make-up, timing and itineries. I'm influenced by americana, so I seek out photographers that are members of the WPJA (Wedding Photojounalist Association), which has a prominent profile here, it is however an international organization - Dewy, I think Tucky is a member.

Hihi ladies,

Been reading the thread. Not busy and tired to reply.

Very interesting! Hee hee! Don't want to add spice, salt and pepper. My FH also sends flowers to me until I told him not to Singapore to save up, too expensive. I love flowers. He can send all he wants when I'm back. I even took photos of the flowers he sent here. Forgot to do so for the last one.
Once I was so mad with him, he sent me a three dozen roses. I was so shocked when the florist came. Never in my life first to receive flowers, not to say a huge bunch!

Anyway, he is the very first guy to send me flowers, the other guys are so unromantic. hahaha!

I'm getting very excited! One more month and FH is here. Can't wait lor! A real torture! I'm also very excited over the engagement and tea ceremony. Been sourcing photographer to do couple's photos. Headaches!

Chat with some of the ladies here! So fun! Hope to catch u again online someday. Still didn't manage to catch some due to time differences. So sad! One day I hope.

Red pink roses, do u have MSN? We can chat someday. Ribbit, do u have also? manic, do u have also? So far, I've maddcow, e, lilio, snippy, dewberry, karen, jamie. Did I miss out anyone?

GTG! Till later ladies!

Hi ladies!
Just a quick one cos I'm so tired. Couldn't really sleep last night and woke up early cos my fiance flew back this morning! It's a last minute trip, squeezed between his heavy work committments. So here he is. Yeh!

Elizabeth,
Hang in there ya? One month will pass by soon. Don't have MSN, but I have skype.

Ribbit, dewberry, got your emails, thanks! Will reply later okay?

Okay, eyelids getting heavy. Will check back soon.

Hi ladies!
Just a quick one cos I'm so tired. Couldn't really sleep last night and woke up early cos my fiance flew back this morning! It's a last minute trip, squeezed between his heavy work committments. So here he is. Yeh!

Elizabeth,
Hang in there ya? One month will pass by soon. Don't have MSN, but I have skype.

Ribbit, dewberry, got your emails, thanks! Will reply later okay?

Okay, eyelids getting heavy. Will check back soon.

Liz
Your FH truly pampers you - I belong to the dewy-ribbit camp

it's been a while since someone posted a picture... i can't resist this one- they make me laugh

318133.jpg

- i stole this picture off a webpage, i will put them in my reception bathrooms, especially now that my wedding plans are leaning towards really stuffy-traditional-boring-matchymatchy - *shudders* - time to up the kitschy element!

ha! maddcow, that really made my day.... i laughed out loud when i saw the duckies! i actually like rubber duckys myself (my shower curtain is currently fabric and terry duckys).... hey, one could buy a whole bunch and line them up on the sink counter, mommy duckys and baby duckys....