Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

hi sya n ashlee,
me staying in manchester, NW. i thk it hard too, i have been read forum to get infor.

sya, are u have traditional malay wedding? i attend my x-boss dinner in hotel, he had traditional malay performance.

ashlee, u so steady order gown from china?

suzxie, do u wear kebaya for ur wedding? i tot of wearing it as EG, any comments?

piyo, can u share ur nice PS w me? [email protected]

jay, agreed w you.me oso planning my wedding end 06. now waiting for tongshu to be out. which part of uk are u staying?

hi ladies..didn't know the MTM cheongsam on ebay is so popular
i have a friend who ordered one for her wedding too. she should be receiving it soon so will let you all know her feedback on it!

sya..i'm going to need the ICE COOL spray too ..and FH is singaporean hehe
can only imagine the uninitiated. hey speaking of venues i was toying with the idea of having our solemnization at the SAM (tho it might already be booked??). you were considering it at one point too right? what happened? ... i'll be back from 7/9 to 8/4 so we definitely have to meet up for food of course! ..that makes it katgrrl, snippy, sya, ashlee...did I miss anyone out?

ps..sya what is your wedding band going to look like? i haven't gotten mine yet ... and the date draws closer and closer

karen ... i'm in boston. your FH sounds like he has a fun job with all the traveling though I'm sure it gets old for both of you with him not being home for long. so are you working in australia now?

*waves* hi lilo !

popped in for a quick 'hello' - lilo hi welcome, the more the merrier!

Sya - JSTOR/ABI-Inform/PROQUEST are all online systems to access published journals in the social sciences.

bye for now!

lilo
Haha, not steady, a bit worried as well! But it has an ebay store and the feedback is quite good. I think it is actually a rip-off as they charge quite a bit, but their stuff dun really look like mass production. Or at least, I haven't seen another website that sells the same dresses as them. Sigh, a risk I've taken. Hopefully it is going to be alright. Will keep u informed when I get the cheongsam!

How long have u been in Manchester? There was another forum gal in Wirral - tootsieroll. But think she has been so busy that she doesn't seem to come in anymore.

snipsnap
SAM, that was where goobergrape had her wedding! hehe... u must have been inspired by her pix *wink*
But I thought you are having your solemnisation at ritz?
Which ebay store did your friend order her cheongsam from?

i'm starting to do my homework and is very blur dunno how to start n what to list for preparation
beside venues, brides shop, any advise? clipart{sad}

hi ashlee,
i have been here since 31 dec 05. which part of e world are u residing?

hihi ashlee not sure what store she got it from. will ask her again tonight. don't worry too much, with the good feedback I'm sure the gown will look fantastic
..aiyah you smartie..busted lah. yes its coz I saw her pics and I was in love with the SAM..was thinking to forgo the ritz for solemnization kekke

maddcow,ashlee> thanks for the theme suggestions. I like em! think I'll go with the creams/ivorys with hints of deep reds/burgundy. I love rich red colors!! maddcow..funny you mention frank lloyd wright. i visited a house he designed in PA ... thought the low ceilings were because people were shorter back then haha

hellooo me ladies,

I have one of those days in the office today where I would desperately kill for a good long massage.

Maddcow: thanks for clearing that for me. I should have known that considering it did not have any 'wedding tone' to it.

Girl: whereabouts in Machester are you? I used to live up North in MCR for about three and half years first in Salford then in Withington. I do visit up North occassionally to visit my friends and do my shopping! :-D When planning for a wedding, I've learnt that venue should be your upmost importance (this is assuming you've set the wedding date). then the dress, the reception, the photographer, the videographer (if any), the invites, the cake, the shoes, flowers and perhaps a theme to set the tone/colours of your wedding.

I went from black and white to having ivory and deep red to now just pretty pastels with butterflies. i've changed so many things that now I am still worrying about my venue! :-D

Snippy: I did think of SAM but my mom was not too keen as she'd like to have a two day celebration as oppossed to just having one being held at SAM. It was beautiful though coz my dad went over to see the venue and talked to one of the coordinators about the prices and the possibilities.

I didn't realise Goobergrape had her wedding ceremony in SAM. Maybe she did tell me but I've forgotten all about it. typical me!

as for the rings, I gave them about four designs with one of them being called 'channel setting'. I am having a platinum band and might be having diamonds on them but have not yet decided on how many diamonds as he's going to figure out how many I can have with the budget we gave him. Ben is having a titanium band and I think we gave about 3 designs. I haven't saved any pictures of the ones I've printed but two of the designs were from tiffany's website. wedding bands are much easier coz unless you have an intricate or a special design of your own from sratch then chances are the rings you'd want are probably available and just waiting to have it resized to fit you and FH. not to worry chick, you've got time for the rings.

Ashlee: babe, good luck with the cheongsam. I had a look on their ebay website and some of them were pretty good. do you know when you will receive it? oh! when are you arriving home? we definitely have to set a date girls and do a serious makan session.

I am liking 21st or 22 july... let me know what say you.

ps girl: FYI: Manchester has got Koreana which is my all time favourite korean restaurant. excellent food! and there's also an authentic malaysian eatery just behind Manchester Met. It is really good as the owner and the chefs are all malaysian-malays.

Maddcow, thanks for offering to help with the articles! u're so sweet
..but I wouldn't wish to bother u what with all your wedding planning stuff. When all the dust of my wedding has settled, I'll be getting my prof's help in contacting a prof in NUS who will hopefully be able to get me library access. Keeping my fingers crossed :P I need something to occupy my nearly 2 mths in SG and my research is way overdue!

Ashlee, I was just thinking of your CS today and wondering if u've placed your order! Gee.. are we all developing some kind of telepathic abilities from all the empathy we get here?
Btw, when will u be back?

Sya, so cool that u'll be custom making your rings! Are they a lot more expensive than buying off the shelf? Pray, what's the diff between titanium & platinum? The wedding rings is 1 of the several must-dos I gotta settle next week before FH jets off again. (yeah, he'll be coming with me on a buz trip)

Girl, welcome!

Hello Lilo_stitch -- I see you like cartoons! I am emailing you the website to take a look now.

To the rest of the lovely brides on this forum page, I have missed you (and regular internet access) I am busy moving out of our service appartment (www.residenceduparc.com) and further down the road into our new Permanent (or what passes for it these days) appartment in Torino. I do not have internet access yet. Heck - I don't even have a phone!

Katgrrl, Ashlee and Sya - you are perfectly welcome to visit and explore this interesting city together with me. Really ILOVE entertaining.. I am currently figuring out antipasti cookbooks (food is a universal language and enough of a motivation to figure out foreign words!)

I am trying to get my church booklet printed in Singapore, and have all my wedding guests in Singapore carry it in their luggage to France! BTW Katgrrl -- sorry I haven't kept up to date, but did you eventually resolve your problem about the name of the bestman to be included in the church bulletin?

hi sya,
i'm staying near city centre (abt 15min bus) to town. Korean!!! where is it, can give me e add? the malay food is it call 'Jati'? been there once, but still cant fight w our local taste ....(not spicy enough)
talkin abt theme for wedding, tt wat i blur abt. is it abt deco of e venues, are they provides by e hotel eg. flower or ...
are u wear gown too? i thk of having ivory gown (not very keen on white) but sure if it look funny on me as my skin is not fair, alots pp mistake me as malay or e fair indian
do u have any idea how much will it cost to have photographer for OD shooting as i thought of lake n peak district

gals, do u have any idea where can i have outdoor wedding w chinese sit down dinner beside sentosa beach, mount faber( very x n menus dont look yummy)

hi ribbit,
nice apartment n oso come w nice closet n ensuite bath which hardly to be found in machester apartments
. u bought or rent? I thought u had your wedding liao ... correct if i'm wrong

lilo
I am in Billericay, Essex.

Are u here in UK already? hmm... did u mean 31 dec 2004?

snipsnap
Hehe... was actually considering SAM last year, but then we havent got enough guests to fill up the room! haha. And their smaller room is pathetically small. So gave up on that idea. Then we sort of decided to do it at the chapel at Grand Corpthorne waterfront, but quite silly leh, have to go two hotels in a day! haha...

You better quick quick check with SAM to see if they still have free slots or not. Yours Saturday right? Quite popular leh... and think they also charge a premium for weekend bookings.

Sya
Apparently, my dress will take a month or so to be ready. Still rather "China" in their approach eh? Where's the efficiency??? hehe, but hopefully I will receive it sooner than that!
Gal... sigh, will be back on 16th July!!! Can't meet u in Sg. How annoying!

Katgrrl
hehe, telepathy, I like that... Will be back on 25th June, Wedding on 2nd July, Honeymoon 4th July to 11th July and back to UK on 16th July. You leh?

Ribbit
Really??? We can go visit u??? That will be nice! Can we stay at yours though? haha...

lilo
Here are a few places that I really liked when I researched into outdoor dinners, but catering wise you have to sort out yourself I think:
- Bukit Chandu (Museum)
- Burkill Halls, Botanic Gardens
- Chijmes

But can I encourage you to drop the idea of outdoor dinner and go for the Blue Room at the Arts House??? It is GORGEOUS!!!!! If we hadn't book the hotel for dinner, I would have it there, without a doubt. Go take a look, I am sure you will go "ah...."
http://www.theartshouse.com.sg/virtual_tour.html

hi ashlee,
Me sotong ..... am already here in 04. Where is Billericay, Essex? Thanks for e infor! Art house look nice, will ask them for details. Botanic Gardens n Chijmes rent can kill me!!! for Chijmes if use own cater they charge x-tra
. me fussy girl .... right

lilo
Billericay is a town in the county Essex, which is right next to London. It is about 35min on train from Central London. Nice little suburban town.
Ya, totally agree with you on the rental charges. That was one of the reasons we decided not to do an outdoor event in the end. Too much hassle and too expensive. Hotel better, do everything for u! haha...

hi lilo! welcome to the forum! agree with you and ashlee, the rental chgs for these locations are really killers. i also looked into the ones chijmes, art house, tyler print institute (nice urban loft setting!) and a private b&w villa in sentosa... but the rents were crazy. the blue room in the art house is nice but very small leh! unless you are having a small wedding... the layout is also a little difficult to work with, but depends on your intentions for decor lah....

got our photos back from the photographer, i die already!!!!! sooooo many to choose, makes us a little cross-eyed, how to choose? aiyoh.... i need to take a hiatus from meeting friends, and just sit down one night to go through them seriously. hahaha, critical eye, eliminate all the ones with my double chin, muahahahahaha.....

ribbit - good to see you back, my friend!
glad to hear you're settling in, wow the food route is definitely the best motivation to learning new languages, hahaha, i'd do the same in your shoes.

sya - hey custom making your rings is such a great idea! i love the channel set look too, decided on that for my wedding bands back then.... think it goes well with my princess cut solitaire. what does your engagement ring look like (or did you guys not do one?) i know some people don't really follow the engagement ring + wedding band thing... it's big in the US but doesn't seem to be as much in other places.

dewy > many sets of eyes here to help choose

ashlee> my friend got her CS. turns out she got it made by a store in HK instead of the ebay store because they didn't have the material she wanted. I'll send you the pics. btw u are right ...the blue room is lovely!!! *droools* but SAM only $500 to rent leh hahah. btw what is the capacity of SAM? There website is broken!!

sya>
which tiffany ones did you pick out? i have my eyes set on this channel set one with with alternating diamonds and sapphires hehe. my fingers are really small so the channel set rings have to be custom made
maybe it'll be cheaper since it'll requrie less diamonds kkekekek ...hot damn the korean and malaysian food sound delicious. the only m'sian chain we have here is called Penang. its ok ..i guess..satisfies the cravings hehe.

Do show me pictures of the gowns/CS that you've ordered from ebay!!! [email protected]

Here's the link of the dress that I intend to get custom-made in China.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=8187037442&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1

What do you guys think? It's supposed to be made according to my measurement so no alateration should be needed. And I intend to get them to made it in pink...

Sya: Well... at least you have someone to dance with you with frigid move!!! I can't even get my FH to go and TRY learning with me... *sigh*
Yeah... maybe when my FH is here 2 weeks beforehand... we'll go for those weekend pre-marital class... funny that my 2 friends are required to get a "pass" on the course exam before they can get married in the Catholic church... And they actually failed!!! Was quite a bit of stress when they made the 2nd attempt... =P
I had my rings done in Sydney. I picked the design from the shop and only know that it's a Tiffany design afterwards... But my mind was only set on the price that I was quoted. AUD$350 for 2 rings (engagement + wedding ring) including the setting of the diamond. I got the diamond from HK.The best thing about getting them custom-made is that those 2 rings will then fit perfectly leaving no gap in between if u know what i mean...

Lilo: hello!!! I'm from Sydney... originally from HK... worked in SG before... And I'll be having wedding reception in both Sydney and SG... Good website to check out in regards of wedding planning... www.theknot.com... maybe you can copy some of their ideas... are you going to make your gown and take pre-wedding shots in SG? If yes, then maybe I can give you some recommendations... I did my pre-wedding shots in SG with Milan. I felt that I haven't really made the right decision... but then I had a really tight schedule because me and my FH only had like a couple of days together in SG to do the photoshoot... and my FH really push me to make quick decision... Well... the shots is not bad... but I would have thot that it could be better... =P
Can't really suggest any place for outdoor wedding... But my friend did have one and you know what... all the guests keep heading to the toilet... the only place that has air-con!!!

Ashlee: no... the ebay place that I am thinking of getting the gown doesn't have a ebay shop...

SnippySnappy: yes yes... I'm working in Sydney, Australia now... my FH is told me that he'll have to delay his trip to Dubai but to go to the States first... Houston, Texas... thot of joining him but the air-ticket from Sydney to that place is EXPENSIVE!!! AUD$2K... thinking that I could use it better in my wedding... hhhhmmm...

BTW... where is SAM? Just remind me of the post office self-service machine... =P

DewBerry: saw your pics!!! Aiyah... I agree with ashlee... no need to pick lah... just TAKE THEM ALL!!! Hehehehe...

Karen
That dress is pretty! How come only AU$50 leh? Hmm... the merchant has only two feedback though and their purchase items are "private", a bit risky. But the dress IS really pretty...

Karen gal, can show me your pix taken by Milan please? Did you take the bridal package with them then?

SAM = Singapore Art Museum

Snipsnap
The exact same spot as Goober's seats 150 I think. Here's the link:
http://www.nhb.gov.sg/SAM/Information/Facilities/Facilities.htm

ACM is also quite nice, but I think pricier.
http://www.nhb.gov.sg/ACM/AboutACM/RentalFacilities/

But the pages take so long to load up, it's like watching paint dry...

Just went to this trendy conveyor-belt-style sushi bar last night for dinner. Totally stuffed my face with sashimi... hehe...

ashlee, ic ... when i go london can go find u?
ACM rent also kill pp go x .... arthouse too small as i looking for abt 30-35table

dewberry, can share your nice photo? love to see photo
when is ur AD? which BS u signed up with?

karen, hihi!!! thanks for e website. can see ur nice photo too? how much u paid for ur BS? why din u go hk or sydney for your PS? s'pore is so boring for OD. i thk most guys they dun have much patients like we girls

gals, anyone of ur friend had their wedding at sentosa, Sapphire Hall? i have their packages detail if u wan let me know
http://www.sentosa.com.sg/sales/sapphire.htm

see this website, like the OD photo n style, it a JB BS
http://www.idoweddingcollection.com/

me feeling very blue blue today ...

ashlee - me going japan on wednesday next week. wah! so fast, can't get enough of singapore yet!
eh, i also ate sashimi yesterday... but can't wait to get the real deal in tokyo, muahahahaha.... *salivating*

hehe as for my photos, can't just take them all lah, need to print an album that people will actually look at and not yawn through the repetitive photos, mah!

snippy, you sly woman yes yes i get the hint (you wanna see them ALL, hehe)... thot of asking you all to help, but can't upload them leh, there's so many that i have to sift thru first.... approx. 1300 pics leh, all hi-res one, see until pah-jiao, i tell you...
anyways, will have them done soon, and then try to upload as many as possible. we're actually considering paying for a service like flickr or whatever, just so we can upload them all. $24.95 per year, quite worth it lah.

lilo - my AD was on 23/04... what's your email addy? i'll send you the link to some photos my friend took, but the actual photographer ones are still on CD, not uploaded yet. i didn't sign up with a BS, i cobbled together my own items such as gown bought from the US, found my own outdoor and AD photographer, etc. we had separate photoshoots in San Francisco as well as in SG. i just went JB a few days ago, saw that "I Do" wedding place while driving past, they're quite big eh! and a few other ones also all along the same main road... dunno what's it called but they all look pretty decent, and cheaper than SG for sure!

ooh! looks like we'll have our videos back in time before we leave *keeps fingers crossed*.... met up with TWP today and had only minor changes to the editing. only pet peeve was they didn't linger long enough on the details of the decor! we spent so much time and effort, i'd like to emphasize on the video a lot more!!! so she's gonna try.... think we can get it uploaded next week, so will share with you all when i get the link... hehehe.

dewy
did I tell u we are going Japan for honeymoon as well??? hehe, I am also drooling on the thought of sashimi already! This gal from the other thread was telling me to go to the famous fish market in Tokyo and you'll get to try all the freshest fish in the market itself! Cool... really can't wait...
Which part of japan are u going? How long for, dearie?

Oh ya, tell me more about that web service you are talking about! Would like to do that for uploading the actual day wedding photos as well!

dewberry, where is ur dinner held? ur ps at San Francisco must be beauitful, make me so eager to see
.do u know where is e location for 'I Do' as e website onli have s'pore add. looking for JB BS not onli it cheaper than s'pore but also more nice OD location to take PS. email me [email protected]

ashlee, just feel a bit down as my past experience as an interior designer seem diff to look for job here tot i had bit admin experience
. how long have u been staying in uk? why u will end up staying and working uk? kapo hee..e...ee

u gals make me want to eat jap food too yummy yummy ...
just bought an jap cook book will try to cook.

are decor for e dinner provided by hotel and wat do they include when we sign up for e packages?

lilo
Have been in the UK for nearly two years now. Came here cos my fiance lives here. So bo bian lor. Like my mother always says, I am love crazy, giving up all I've got in Sg for a man. hehe...

How abt you? What's your story?
If u come UK, of cos can come and visit. But our house is unbelievably tiny so u might end up sleeping on the floor or can pitch a tent in our tiny garden! haha...

ashlee, kapo ..so ur huddy is ang moh? how did u noe him? me abt e same as u

before that i had been away for cny to visit my hubby (b4 tt my bf la) as he had been here 4yrs to study and found nice job here so i no choice. wat chinese say jia ji shui ji

me not fussy got place to sleep can liao... dun mind tent i never try before. house here are killing pp ... so small n expensive. i'm so eager to take key for my apartment

lilo
Ya, me spg. hehe.
Got to know him in Sg actually, when he was travelling. He went to Australia after that for a year-ish, and during that time, he came over Sg about four times, and me to Oz two times so we could see each other. Expensive business... When he came back to UK, he bought a house and we moved in.
Which univ was your fiance in? My bro was from UMIST. So ur fiance's Singaporean then? What visa are u on now?
Btw, I meant when u come to essex, not uk, u can pitch a tent in our garden. hehe... ya, houses here, especially in the southeast, are ridiculously expensive. Are u renting the apartment in Manchester or have you bought it?

ashlee, so ur hubby is ang moh la he..ee..hee.. he studied in UOM and graduate last yr. he oso s'porean. me holding independent visa. currently we are renting house w his friend. we had bought an apartment but onli be really next yr sept
. Is ur bro still stuying here?

oh ya .... do u gals chat on msn or yahoo?

lilo
Nope, my bro graduated from UMIST quite some years ago, and then moved on to Cambridge to do his PhD (very clever hor? Dunno why I haven't got half his brains leh). He is now in the US working. So I am sure your fiance haven't met my bro before lah. hehe...

What is independent visa? hehe... sorry, a bit ignorant on this.

ashlee, hee.e.e.hee.. not u ignorant, is me!!! my hand n brain sometime dun work togethere
. i'm holding work dependant visa. dun be sad .... my mum say me not clever .... my hubby study so much i so little
as he just got approval for his phd

lilo
haha, I am not sad lah... He just works 100 times harder than me. Hehe, never seen anyone so obsessed and hardworking towards what he studies.
Cool, your fiance is clever, and so will your kids!

Aiya, my fiance went to watch Chelsea match and still not back yet. Must be getting himself drunk in London!

ashlee, when i know him that time he very playful no studies dun know wat make him like to study so much now
. aiyo ... seem like we sometime are in same boat .... todae he go out w his company friend for drinking
n i'm home alone

where have others gals .... onli we two been chatting

Helloooo

Ribbit - Good to 'see' you again! I can only imagine how much you have to get accustomed to. No internet/phone line - I've taken all these convenience for granted. But moving can be a nice experience, imagine new furnishing ideas.

Snippy - Wow, glad you've decided on your theme. I've some ideas for you and I'll send you the red flowers glossary. I saw this strawberry (red!) pyramid in a mag that's to die for, if you like strawberries perhaps the chefs in Ritz could do it. Some of the ideas are overtly extravagant, but I'm sure a smart cookie like you will be able to modify them to suit your taste. I'm still busy - I'll send you an email end of next week, yah? Ooo - did you go to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater, PA? I wish I could go someday... he's pretty big in Madcity, must had been an eccentric Wisconsinite.

Dewberry - are you picking your cherries now? I can be your 'ruthless' eye if you need one - haha! But seriously, your pictures are so pretty, I want to see them all before they reach the censorship board. (hahaaaaa - Snippy is not the only sly one here

ashlee - are you next? i recall you are two weeks behind KatGrrl right? btw, are you done with the candles? How did they turn out?

hi lilo - when's your wedding? Share with us your ideas/theme.

hi maddcow,

hmmm.mmm.... plan toward end 06 or early 07 haven decide as wait for next yr tongshu to be out.
i looking for OD wedding but so far yet to decide any. as for theme me quite blur abt that yet to do my homework till there. any suggestions?

maddcow
Yep, I am a couple of weeks behind Katgrrl, same location as well! hehe.
Candles, sigh... they are really pretty, but not as smelly as I want them to. I bought the wax from this british online store, they are opaque when cool (very much like normal candles) but turns clear when it is hot. So it burns gorgeously, but somehow, no matter how much fragrance I put in, I can't make it strong smelling.

Hehe, so, I've put in another order, soy wax this time. Apparently, they are good for intensive scent throws. *fingers crossed*

How are your preps coming along dearie?

Lilo
Seems like you've still loads of time to make your decisions! Good on you for starting early! No last minute panic for u eh!

hihi ladies! abt 36 hours before liftoff, no time for a lengthy post... but just wanted to drop by and say i'm still reading all your posts!!!!

sent you guys an email with a link to my wedding video.... and the pics will be up very shortly. no worries for all you sly gals, hahaha.... everyone also wanted to see the full uncut version of everything, so we "ka-ka" ("daring daring go and put") posted all our stuff online.... all 1.2gigs of them, have fun downloading when you see them, hahahaha... i'd recommend slideshow mode to minimize lagtime.

just hope they won't be too boring, multiple shots of me doing one action, kekekekeke.... i laughed a lot so there were some pretty kooky "killer chipmunk" takes of me and my front teeth....

ttys!!!!

dewy who are you calling sly?
*snarl* j/k heheh .... hey saw your video ...loved it!! glad i'm getting TWP too. *smug grin* as for the pics ... i'm glad I have broadband. heehee

ashlee ... send pics of your corsages! aiyah my planning is in shambles. the guest list is a nightmare, invitations yet to be done, schedule for the day is a big question mark. (all becaues brilliant ol me wanted to do the solemnization at SAM!) and I haven't even gotten a JP yet because I have no idea what time our solemnization is. oh and not to mention the budget. thinking about it is making me nervous. probably good that I don't know the total cost YET. Just needed to vent! and I still have another 20 page business plan due for my class in 2 weeks. *sigh* hey do we need to give ang pows to the vendors?? (videographer, photographer)

maddcow .. yep I have a photo from falling water that we put up in our apt hehe (FH is a photography enthusiast). the house is perched atop a waterfall..fancy! anyway thanks for the ideas
no worries i'm sure you're mad busy with exams and all. guess what I picked up the latest Martha Stewart aniversary edition! Didn't realize it cost $10 urhgk. Anyway it has more pretty pics for ideas. Will share when I'm done perusing the mag.

lilo ..btw i saw some pics of other brides from the JB BS. They looked pretty good ..heh not what I expected! hey you have a background in interior design? perhaps you can help us girls out when we buy our first homes! hee (not that that's happenign soon for me ..no$$)

ashlee, me now not working so ma ... so very free
. i find a bit kaisu
but i saw some forum got pp prepare for 2008 wedding liao

derry, u n ur hubby got fu qi xiang. how much u pay for e video clip? one of ur gf in white wat her name? she look like one long time friend.

snippy, when is ur wedding? did u enaged s'pore BS? want to look for JB BS as not becos it cheaper more towards e OD (deseru, tioman)shooting as i dun fancy any OD in s'pore. do tot of having in uk but e price can kill me
. how is ur preparetion?

help u gals design no problem

Snipsnap
Err... u sound stressed out... Hehe, dun worry lah, actually, I think a lot of things can be done later. I think the most important thing now is getting your invites out. (and your business plan done lah, haha)
Since u have not decided on your solemnisation yet, why not send out invites for the dinner first? Doing dinner and solemnisation invites separately might be more practical (as you are not inviting everyone to the solemnisation right?). Solemnisation invites can go one month or even less before the day itself, leaving you loads of time to make up your mind how you want it done. hmm... or is that what u are doing anyways? hehe

The third JP I approached has turned me down like the first two, sigh, what luck eh? Just have to keep trying.
I think need to give token angpow to the vendors present that day, just for luck. Small red packet is sufficient, say $28 or $38? We already paid them for their services liao anyways. hehe..
Dun stress, breathe in.... out... in... out... hehe

dewy
REALLY good video!!! We loved it! Dave is impressed as well and he seemed to be tempted to engage TWP (mind you, we've already got an newbie videographer), until I asked him, "Err, have you got that kind of money to spend???" hehe...
And the videographer really captured the details of your wedding setup and decor, very very posh wedding eh?! Lovely lovely.

All that gate-crashing action looks fun... unfortunately, we are not going to have that. Going all sedated angmoh style, father walks me down the aisle and gives me away. So boring... ;p

lilo
not kiasu lah. It is better earlier than later when it comes to wedding prep. Look at me and snipsnap, still got tons of things not done yet! haha. You now have the luxury of time to slowly choose all your vendors. Enjoy it!

Arrrghghh! There are like 4 weeks left to wedding in France and I need to (1) alter length of dress, (2) prepare church booklet (3)settle table decorations and menu printing. That's just the top 3 in terms of priority. There is STILL no internet connection in my home but (YAY!) found a wireless service provider to connect me in the next (sigh) few weeks. Sorry I missed all the earlier postings, WELCOME BACK DEWY!! and yes you are all welcome to stay in my home whenever you like. I live in Torino - the city of the Olympics 2006, home of the invention of Gianduja chocolates! Ummm will be more settled after the wedding, and would LOVE some company, so for all the Europe based people, check out ryanair and easyjet for really cheap Turin flights and come over in August. (I am going to be in Lebanon and Israel in July). Sorry for the nutty ramblings everyone I am really in a sad state right now in terms of floral arrangements. The original theme flower planned was the Orange flower (which is white) for the beautiful scent. The only problem is that we cannot get hold of it in France! Apparèntly it is not the season or something. Sooo... does anyone know of a small, white or orange, pleasantly scented flower readily available in Europe? Jasmine as a last resort (lugged all the way from Jothi's in Serangoon Road)

ribbit
Ok, you've completely sold Torino to me! Will definitely pester Dave to go for a long weekend at the end of the year!
err, I dunno if you can get them anywhere in the shops (you might have to grow them in the gorgeous Italian sun youself), but some herbs do produce little white flowers and they do smell gorgeous, I know thyme snowdrift for one definitely produces nicely scented flowers. Sorry, it is a lame suggestion! ;p

hello gals, just a quick post here -
Ribbit - hope I can be of more help. flowers-wise, you want to consider stephanotis (small, great scent)? (It's a traditional bridal flower since the victorian era and I think it belongs to the jasmine family - the jasmines I've seen in Singapore and Thailand are of the smaller variety) This is also the season for lily-of-the valley, I've already seen some blooming here but then again, I'm not sure if Europe has the same growing season. Price-wise, both are on the higher end.

gotta go...

ashlee, wat is Torino?
when is ur wedding?

ribbit, wooowooo ... u got 2 wedding dinner, remember to show us ur nice photo

any gals going back to s'pore end of june?

Madcow and ashlee, thanks for your floral suggestions. I do not even have a florist yet! And yes, you are both completely welcome in my home (after our respective weddings I guess!)

check out this http://www.floramorstudios.com/ for some inspiration too! Lilo - will show you the nice photos (and only the nice ones where I don't look fat!!) gotta run now!!

Both of the bosses are out so chances of me doing any work is virtually na-da. :-D This will be a good time for me to catch up with you girls. Just wondering if any of you girls is still thinking of a theme for your hen night – well, I went for a Desperate Housewives theme party where everyone had to literally dress up (think cross dress theme of Desperate Housewives and Stepford Wives) and you can create cocktails and have games as well. I know one of my friend’s sister will be having a Desperate Housewives themed hen night party. The party was superb! One of my friends came in wearing a beautiful black dress and her yellow rubber gloves! :-D

Lilo: When will you be moving into your apartment? Mcr is growing rapidly and the new developments happening near the city centres are really nice. At least, you have more time planning for the wedding and all the minor details since you are not working as yet. The Korean restaurant – Koreana is behind Kendals …literally just behind Deansgate. It is opposite the multi storey parking behind Kendals. It is really good and I bring my friends there when I come up to visit. The malay restaurant is indeed called Jati. It was good enough for my idea of comfort food. There is another Malaysian restaurant called Penang in Chinatown but it is quite overpriced. Don’t think much of the décor but the food is just alright. I hope you are settling in nicely up north. You’ll find the people up north are much friendlier so it is much easier to make new friends. Just be more careful when you are out and about on your own. Safety first when you are in Manchester England. :-D

I am wearing a gown, still shopping for ideas with the three traditional outfits (one of them being worn for the solemnisation) and contemplating a cocktail dress. The Lake District is beautiful indeed… what you can do is find somebody like a student who is doing a media/photography course and pay them a small fee to take pictures for you. Ben and I went up for a weekend break once and took some pictures ourselves and most of them do come out really nicely.

Ashlee: From the sounds of your schedule, we are going to end up missing each other by literally a week. What a shame! I hope you are all set and ready to go. It won’t be long before you leave the nest. Heheh Will you be receiving your cheongsam back home in S’pore or here in the UK?

Katgrrl: How’s it going at home girl? I can only imagine a tight schedule of things to do people to see on your end. Fill us in!

Right regarding the rings… Karen, after reading what you’ve paid for your rings, I am beginning to think that ours is way overpriced! Gulps! What I wanted was just a simple oval sized diamond think Cartier www.cartier.co.uk or .com or the oval shaped engagement ring found on tiffany’s website. Snippy, which ones are you choosing for your wedding band? I’ve chosen the channel setting with either diamonds all around or depending on the engagement ring, I might go for a simple platinum band with 6 diamonds scattered round (if you know what I mean). For three rings ie engagement ring and two wedding bands we’ve put a budget aside for £1500. I am beginning to think maybe I should just get one from back home in Singapore. Why things are expensive here I just do not know! Ben and I are doing it in a different way as engagement rings is not like a must in my tradition. Ben thinks it is better for us to pick the rings together as he'd hate picking out a design I'd hate. :-D fair point there!

SnipSnap: In a way, you are my consolation.:-D I am just like you. My wedding invites is still no where to be seen because my parents will not be able to confirm the venue for Sunday as application for it can only be done two months prior to the wedding date. Which basically means that they can only apply for the community centre/void deck on 29th of May..that’s the week I was intending to send my invites by. The list does go on … Don’t worry too much chick ( I keep telling myself that) I’m still loving my butterfly theme but clueless with what I want to have in keeping with the theme ie flowers and etc. What I know is I can’t have the dream of having long tables.

Dewberry: Oh sweetie! Your pictures are so fun and the video was hilarious. They are really beautiful and everyone looked like they were having a lot a lot of fun! I am still trying to convince my mom that it will be a good money well spent. I don’t think she quite see it the same way. Looks like I will be sticking to a boring wedding video. ;-D Hubby Edward sure looks like he’s enjoying it as well. Can’t wait to see the rest of your wedding pictures. You must be in Japan now… have a fantastic honeymoon!

Ribbit: Your apartment website looked absolutely gorgeous. Thank you for the invite. Torino sounds like beautiful place and I will be more than happy to come and visit you. I wonder if there is a flight to Torino from Bournemouth. Italian chocolates are yummy… I used to work for Café Nero and I hate to admit this but the number of times we ‘stole’ those delicious Gianduja chocolates! I was constantly singing “yummy yummy I’ve got chocolate in my tummy! “

This is becoming a really super long post! Gonna try and do my work now. I shall pop in later! xx

Hi people,

I'm back... haven't done much in regards of the wedding preparation as I don't think there is much for me to do at the moment... Maybe another 2 to 3 months then I can start making my invitation/order of service/place cards/table arrangements. In terms of decoration, I'll probably see my florist 2-3 months beforehand which I pretty much know what I wanted. The only thing is the centrepiece. I'm thinking that maybe I'll just put candles (cream and red ones) with different height and have petals scattered around. What do you think? And the large vase will be placed at the reception and photo tables. And copy Dew's idea for the photo tables!! I saw some silver color frame at $2 shops and they don't look cheap at all!! Maybe I should start stocking up!!! Hehehehehe...

I was thinking of wearing a traditional Nonya outfit to send the guests off. I think the outfit can be quite sexy in a way.
But my FH thinks otherwise. So maybe I'll stick with another evening gown or cheongsam. Hhhmmm... plus I'm not in SG now, it would be hard to get a Nonya outfit.

Ashlee,
I just realised that the ebay gown is now gone (exceeded the bidding time frame). Will keep looking I supposed... :P I don't have the pre-wedding shots yet. Everything is still with Milan. When I've got it, I'll definitely upload it and let you gals have a look. Yes, I took the bridal package with them but then I have exchanged a lot of things that I don't need with photos. E.g. Groom's suite, WG, day makeup, car decor, flowers. Actually not really worth the exchange 'coz these things cost probably more than the additional pictures. But then again, don't really have a choice.

Lilo,
I paid S$3.3k altogether for the package and includes additonal pictures that we purchased. I didn't buy much 'coz I'll be be having another PS in Sydney. HK mah... not nice... all backgrounds are fake ones. And the style/makeup is not very natural. Not my style I suppose... I tend to like the new contemperory Taiwanese style. Milan is having similiar style as well.

Dew,
Thanks for sending me the links to see your photos and video!!! The video is GREAT!!! Now I'm asking my FH if he wants video done on our SG receptions. But then i guess we don't have much to take for just a reception and the speeches will be the same as the Sydney one... But I really like yours!!! And the photos... gee... that's A LOT!!! But they are really nice and sweet!!
BTW, if you are still in Tokyo... u HAVE to go to their Fish Market. Don't know how to "spell" the pinyin. Direct translation is "bamboo land". But you have to be there early in the morning like 7+, 8+. The seafood is just sssssoooo fresh. It's the only place that I had Sea Urchin roe which is "sweet".

Sya,
My friend got his weddings bands tailor made in SG having the same design of Cartier rings and paid only a fraction of the original ones. What you can do is to buy the diamonds from a wholesaler in Europe (try Belgium maybe?) and bring it back to SG for settings. Let me know if you want the contact for setting your rings in SG. I'll get it off from my friend.

Anyway... gotta run... talk soon... =)