Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

dewberry & Katgrrl
About the songs, yep, need to put some thoughts into it, trying to play DJ is not easy. Sigh, so troublesome! Thanks for the advice gals.

dewberry
Think your table looks great! Agree candles might be a good addition.
I have actually started a bit on my ring pillow already. Going to do a cross stitch to go on top, and Mummy has volunteered to put the end product together for me. Hehe. Think subconsciously, I might be a sucker for stress! Dunno what is wrong with me! hehe...
Aww, can't believe you are going back already! Best of luck gal! Am sure it is going to turn out beautiful!

Ribbit
Me not from SCGS! Hehe, won't do the uniform justice. Was quite muscle-y in sec sch, very tom-boy as well, haha, better suited for my sec sch uniform. How's Italian food?

<font color="0000ff">katgrrl</font>, hee hee yes, agree on the farewells being upbeat as well! although i've been trying to convince FH to be cheeky and play my fav cantopop tunes right at the END when everyone leaves. haha, stop cringing you guys... i know it's cheesy
but knowing our relatives.... even the sour-pusses who might have thought the evening was too weird and western would perk up at something familar.... oh yeah, norah jones and laura fygi, good call! they're on our list, as well as bebel gilberto. trying to go light on the norah jones, coz that's what we played during our little ROM dinner with some of the repeat attendees at our wedding this time.

<font color="0000ff">ashlee and maddcow</font>, thanks for your comments on my photo table! maddcow, you're not 3-8 lah, don't worry!
so excited, all your constructive comments are great, i'm going to try and incorporate into the actual photo table! eeee, exactly 1 week to go, this time next week i'll be stuck in a flying aluminum tube....

Hello! been very busy, popped in to say 'hello' Ribbit, Karen, Ashlee - welcome back to the forum!(*waves madly*)

Dewberry
When is your AD?

Speaking of teeth grinding...do u gals grind your teeth at night? FH remarked that I was grinding mine a couple of nights ago. A sign of stress!

Have a productive weekend everyone! (See what our weekends have become?? not a time to unwind but to run wedding errands!!)

i don't grind my teeth, but does having wedding-related dreams night after night count? grrr... makes me so mad at myself, why couldn't i have dreamt of striking the lottery or saving the life of Prince William or something?! LOL, maybe if i got enough mileage out of it, would become a self-fulfilling prophecy...

ditto katgrrl, have a great weekend!
i'm picking up my WG today! *punches fist in air* YES!

Ohhh Dewy you going to pick up WG today! Lovely! email me the photos if you got time (i missed out on the last round of photo related emails). I think you can play mushy cantopop song if you want to. One of my friends is playing the piano version of "Zhui" during cocktails at our French Wedding!

Ashlee, Italian food is normally great stuff - except for the food sold in my canteen! I think we are spoiled in Singapore with so much good and cheap food available. Today, I paid about 5 euros for oversalted risotto with unidentifiable meat product and a diet coke. Thankfully there are many Saturday morning open air markets, which I love, when all the farmers from the countryside come with their organic produce, and you can buy wonderful cheeses, meats, fresh pasta and veggies. I spend all week cooking after that! If you ever visit me in Turin, be assured that you will not starve.

Katgrrl, yes Mac user, like Dewy *high five back* and yep they are playing on 27th July Oslo - Vallehovin Stadium, Support Act: Razorlight/Paddy Casey more details on www.u2.com, and nope, I do not grind my teeth at night when stressed. I just become a raving insomniac! Have a productive weekend everyone!

Katgrrl
Apparently my fiance grinds his teeth too (I never noticed him do that though). And he din know it till the dentist told him he is doing it so much till his front teeth are wearing out and they might crack soon if he continues doing it! Oh dear, my fiance is going to be bo-gay. haha. But guess yours is only temporary due to stress, you'll be ok. Think you can wear a guard/brace kind of thing when u sleep, but that will be expensive and not very attractive. hehe...

Madcow
*waves back*
hehe... glad I am back. Must come and steal ideas from u again!

ribbit
The only Italian place we've been to is Rome. And even the simplest pizza with anchovies was the best pizza I've ever eaten in my whole life! hehe. You are unlucky that your canteen cook can't cook properly. Why dun u make ur own lunch using the fresh organic produce u buy? Saves money and nice food!

ribbit
"zhui" is such a great tune to play and by Dick Lee too! *melts,envious,drools* where can i get the sheet music? update us more on Turin's attractions! (uh, i only know the famous shroud - is it still there or in a lab somewhere?)

katgrrl
gosh, that's definitely stress! you should consider getting a mouthguard if it's persistent...

dewberry
i'm so excited for you! oh, i just received MS Spring issue and for the make-a-wish vase, the bride filled the bottom with shells/starfish. You can consider filling yours with flowers/orchids and get your bridal party to 'start the ball rolling' so it doesn't look 'empty' in the beginning
... okay, no more last minute blabber, i don't want to stress you out too much (oh did you remember Crest White strips?)

ashlee
yeah, so fun sharing ideas! most of my ideas aren't original anyway...have u thought of a color scheme yet?

where's dear snippy?

p.s. for jazzy girls, you can try Chris Botti !

hihi...happy start of weekend, girls! anyone got exciting happenings planned....?

<font color="0000ff">maddcow</font> - thanks! yes, for the wish table i'm using a sage green damask table runner and then filling the make-a-wish vase with mixed white and green pebbles, so that the wish cards can be "stuck" in there attractively. din wanna use flowers in case they stain the cards. but orchids would look very lovely indeed!... oooh, maybe if i find silk ones??? (stop it dewy, STOP!)
wow, you girls are all on same wavelength, snippy just mentioned crest whitestrips to me yesterday! i had almost forgot too... heehee, tomorrow i'm going to run all these shopping errands! hopefully there's still time to achieve pearly whities... 2 weeks, can lah!

hmm, had brief chat with <font color="0000ff">snippy</font> b4 she went for class yesterday (and no peep from her since... so she must be busy as well!) <font color="ff0000">*calling snippy! yoooooohooooooo!*</font>

<font color="0000ff">katgrrl</font> - good luck with your weekend errands! i know i'll be running around like a chicken with its head cut off... "look out, crazed dewy bearing down the aisles with a speeding shopping cart!"

<font color="0000ff">ribbit</font> - you've got mail! (from my prev gown fitting pix) mmm, i can almost smell all the yummy food wafting over from turin, heehee... you guys make me hungry! poor ribbit, don't eat too much canteen food lah, go cook up a storm, girl! i love the farmer's markets over here too (IF i wake up early enuff on the weekends!)... we even have kangkung here sometimes, oooh sambal kangkung! *salivate*

ok, sorry... i digress. anyhoo, have a fun weekend you guys!!!

Hullo everyone!

Ribbit, canteen food is notorious for inedible stuff, k? ;) Mine's really bad as well..how can anyone mess up mashed potatoes even?? I didn't eat at school for the first 2 months until I discovered that the next door Swedish school of economics has more palatable grub. With govt subsidy for students, a lunch costs 2€. Yup, how about bringing home cooked food for lunch? I would have, but the canteens don't have microwave ovens. ...For a particular reason, I believe

Dewy &amp; Maddcow, great ideas from u gals on the make-a-wish bowls! Unfortunately, shells don't jive with my theme... I was thinking of pink &amp; white jasmine flowers until Dewy mentioned about stains. Hmph, maybe I have to conduct some experiments before doing it.

Ashlee, gosh..I hope I don't grind my teeth so often that I need teethguards..u're right, not very sexy or romantic heheh... but seriously, i think your fiance should consider if his dentist says so.

Btw, I just went for my penultimate dress fitting today! They'll be making my veil and then everything would be ready by next Friday! Can't wait

Oh yeah! Crest whitestrips, good idea! Can we get those in SG?

Madcow
I am so proud of myself! Hehe, finally came up with a theme!!! Couldnt believe it myself! haha. I've decided on Feathers &amp; Diamante, Gold &amp; Ivory/Cream. Hehe... managed to make some invites to the solemnisation this weekend, a bit thick-skinned but am really proud of it! But ended up spending abt £130 on 25 cards, oopsie. Fiance got rather annoyed as he thot we could have save loads of money and trouble getting someone else print the cards. True lah, but it doesn't feel the same does it? hehe...

Katgrrl
Remember to bring your camera next Friday to take photos to share!

Er, I think you gals are probably going to kill me, but can someone just summarise what is the make-a-wish bowl abt? hehe...

<font color="aa00aa">hey hey hey!</font> hiya ladies... how's everyone doing?

was a very fruitful weekend for me, i'm done packing and shopping... but didn't get any jiemei gifts, no more space! so now i think i'm going to have to crack my brains in singapore for what to get for them.... anyone got ideas to share? i'm not having a full bridal party (no official groomsmen or bridesmaids), but of course we're still having the few good friends on each side helping us thru the gatecrashing and preps. so i need to get appreciation gifts for all the guys and gals...

<font color="0000ff">katgrrl</font> - yay! the dressfitting is so much fun, do bring pics to share, ya?! that was so fast, it's great you're getting your gown done early... mine was really cutting it way too close to when i leave... good luck on your experimenting for the make a wish arrangement! maybe if the flowers don't work out for you, can try filling the bowl with little pink origami hearts, or those aquarium accessories (marbles, glass "ice"), or even red beans? was going to do the red beans if i had a red theme... but decided on a natural/neutral palette instead for the cocktail area. think it matches the ritz colors better.

<font color="0000ff">ashlee</font> - no probrem, let me try explaining....(the make-a-wish idea was maddcow's, i think)... it was a great quote from martha stewart weddings... where you set up a table with a container, and provide lots of cards for guests to write their notes/"make a wish" for the couple, and "take a wish" (some kind of sweets or wedding favor)... some ideas that were mentioned on this forum included perugina baci chocs for the favor, fortune cookies, love notes from the couple, or stalks of roses... the list goes on. pretty much anything goes, you can customize to your own wedding theme... ooh, feathers and diamante, gold/cream... sounds like a divine theme! i'm sure it'll be lovely

hi ladies!! *waves wildly* i'm back! spent most of the weekend outdoors with the dog ... enjoying the good weather (finally!!!). also got some wedding stuff accomplished. managed to mail out our save the dates and also got FH's wedding band. he found the one he wanted at the very first store we went too. what are the chances of us girls doing that eh?
its a simple 4mm platinum band. zzz As for me I'm still on the prowl hehe. was thinking of an eternity band with alternating diamonds and sapphires. any one knows where I can get these custom made?

ashlee ..wah big progress!!! love your theme. fancy!! u gotta show us your invites. bet they are lovely
wow that's pretty ex! *gulp* hehe but well must say the cost also covers the convenience ..I'm sure your fiance wouldn't want to be the one sourcing for printers heehee ...made any progress on your corsages?

dewy ... hrmm bridesmaids gifts. I got coach card holders for mine. are there any factory outlets near you? they often have bargains on 'luxury' stuff? (I know its kinda late hehe)..or how about cami/PJ sets from vicky's secret or dkny etc? they are expensive in singapore and which girl doesn't love new sleepwear
... oh and easy to pack too! just shove it in your bags somewhere. I never run out of gift ideas for girls lol ..but as for the bridesmen

katgrrl!! u gotta share your fitting pix
... re the crest white strips from whatI rmemeber they don't have it it SG. I bought some for my friend ..though that was a while back. but must say that from personal experience it's really effective! I only used the treatment for a week and my teeth were noticeably whiter.

ribbit you are so LUCKY!!!! U2 tix!!! *faints* .. I tried getting them for their summer tour but its all sold out
oh well. btw have a question for you about the JP you used. Did you get to meet with him before the ceremony? I am uncomfortable wtih teh idea that some JPs just show up the day of the wedding. yup i'm a control freak ...

maddcow!! I got the latest MS... i feel like i'm her groupy or something haha. there was this really silly article in there ... did u see the one about practising your smile (different types..with teeth, no teeth) for the big day????? quote:'when you find the most complimentary look, keep practising until you can do it without thinking' hahaha coudln't stop laughing when I read it ... erh then starting practising! ARHGK sometimes I mortify myself.

ok lah gone on for long enough. where's sya???

Snippy
welcome back - i missed you! re MS weddings, haha...agree...i heard of the the tip of leaving a gap when you smile before...seems weird to me to be so mindful of my smiles. i think i read somewhere abt custom-made rings before - i'll check my little black book

ashlee
nice theme, very retro and `come-hither'! love it. what flowers are you planning? oh, re make-a-wish, dewberry has succintly summarized what's been discussed. www.marthastewart.com has pictures and write-ups on it too - click on weddings. or do a search on wish cards.

dunno where sya is? i saw a butterfly placecard idea that's really cute...easy to make too: a lavendar cut-out butterfly perched on a wine-glass. Thought she might be interested.

Madcow, snipsnap, dewberry
Thanks for the complement abt the theme. Hehe... hopefully it will turn out as pretty as I hoped it would be! hehe...

dewberry
Thanks for the definition for the make-a-wish! hehe... wonderful idea! I was thinking of assigning each table a cardboard, markers and embellishments and let them do a "project" for the well-wishes. But then that looks like class projects and especially obvious cos most of my guests are teachers! haha...

Think buying prezzie for sistas in Sg is a better idea, you get more for what u pay for! Any idea at all what u r gonna get for them?

Snipsnap
The cards were ex to make cos I spent money to buy handicraft equipment that I will probably never ever use again, like heatgun and hot glue gun. Hehe. Will try to put up photos on yahoo and send u gals the link later. Hehe...

Corsages end, am preserving some roses now (experiment) using glycerin and water. Dun look very promising, I have to say. If it fails, then might have to trouble u to get silk ones for me in US liao! hehe... *fingers crossed*
When are u getting your JP huh? I still havent sourced for mine. Oh dear...

Madcow
Talked to Woodsville in Dec about the flowers. Well, actually we are not too fussed about what flowers they use, as long as they turn out ivory/cream coloured! Hehe.
It says on the invoice: Ivory Roses, White Eustoma (No Lilies); Ivory theme.
(God knows what Eustoma is! hehe)
What flowers are u using then?

Hi gals! *waves*

The weekend had been quite productive...FH finally started on the reception playlist and I finished making 80 wax seals for my invites
All was well until late last night when I realized there are only going to be 3 more weekends before we leave for SG. Am I freaking out? u bet I am

Dewy, I'm giving my jiemeis an assortment of Mustard with Cognac and Raspberry/Strawberry jam with Liqueur. Sigh, that's another to-do on the list.... Btw, is it possible for u to help me buy a month's supply of Crest whitestrips and I'll pay for them when I meet u in SG? I don't think they're in the shops here.

Ashlee, glam theme! Nice!!

I contacted Sya last week...apparently, she's swamped with work. Poor girl...

hi gals!!!!
i'm still struggling to study for my exam tomorrow... i just need a PASS!!!! aarrrggghhhh... very distracted... haven't been able to concentrated... apparently preparing my wedding is lot more interesting compared with how to trade futures...
okie okie... this time tomorrow... i'll be able to read through the fast pacing forum and post long messages...

Karen
Urgh... futures, yucky. Two weeks ago, was having headache with all the definitions on swaps, forward contracts, options, etc. Now already forgotten what they are! haha... Good luck for your exam gal! I'm sure you'll do well. (whereas I am gonna fail for sure, for all the stupid careless mistakes, sigh)
Quick quick come back to bridezilla land!

Katgrrl
Can understand your stress. Me also got a lot of things to accomplish over the limited weekends we've got left.
Oh dear, you think diamante and feathers is a glam theme? Din wan it to be too glam actually. Just thought that is a cheaper option compared to the rest. hehe...

hi girls, this forum is looking busy again, yay! i love reading all your posts...

<font color="0000ff">katgrrl</font> - you've got mail, check it quick before dewy explodes from jumping up and down in one spot... like this bouncer here, hehehe
(don't worry, i'm not really rushing you as we have a couple days, i'm just raring to go coz i can't wait to get back to singapore where my plate of chicken rice awaits, drool!) ooh, those yummy edible gifts are good... i wish i had space for them. snippy's idea of victoria secrets PJ sets also very tempting... but i think i'll have to pass, one of my gals is 7mths pregnant, i don't want her to feel depressed about not being able to wear them now! hee hee, what with her hubby out of town and all.... hmm, no other ideas leh, but i was thinking something from tiffany's for them, or little coach wallets like snippy's are great too! or else, my old fallback, a mani/pedi voucher, so they can get ready for my big day.....

don't stress, <font color="0000ff">karen</font>! hang in there! trading futures can get rich eh, pay lotsa attention, you might retain something useful! maybe when you're rich and famous, the sgbride's overseas club can come to your private island and have a weeklong party! i'll buy the martini shaker as soon as you give the word!

<font color="0000ff">ashlee</font>, no lah don't panic, it can be glam if you really amp up on the feathers (or feather boas! haha...), but can also be a fun retro theme... it's all how you get it to work together... i'd say less feathers, more diamante. and the ivory/cream elegance will balance it all out.... (after all, we're not talking red feathers on a black theme... haha, with the diamante add together, would definitely look comically like "la cage aux folles" now wouldn't it?!) don't worry... do a mockup, show us your pics, i'm sure we can all help with constructive criticism! these girls were so wonderful with pointers for my photo table display mockup...

<font color="0000ff">ashlee</font> - btw, i looked up eustoma, coz i was intrigued by your woodsville florist comments... here's the link i found with a pic... not bad lah, looks similar to a peony or carnation... would add a full petaled look to the roses as well!
http://www.flowernz.co.nz/catalogue/flowers/eustoma/eustomawhite.html

btw, did woodsville ever mention how much your centerpiece is? dun remember if you said it was part of the hotel package, but even then sometimes they will tell you it's like, $100 retail worth, or something like that... just curious
coz i'm paying S$160 for a clustered fruit / flower centerpiece like this (orchids + roses):
271764.jpg

dewberry
Ya, will try to do a mockup if I've the time. But unlikely, given how much a last-minute person I am! hehe... No feather boa cos fiance against it. But think my evening gown's gonna have some feathers on it anyways. hehe...
Woodsville din tell me how much each centrepc costs. You are paying quite a bit for each one arent u?! Thanks for the info on eustoma, now i know how it looks like! Not bad, when paired up with roses eh? Oh, and I actually quite liked lilies but superstitious fiance thinks lilies are for funerals!
I really cannot tahan him lah... I had wanted to use black / dark brown ribbons and embellishments so to add colour to our wedding. But he ultra superstitious and rejected all those dark colours. And he likes red! Wah lau eh, never seen someone so pantang one.
Ok, enough b*tching. ;p
Your centrepcs are really really cool! Nice nice! So it is going to be ivory/cream or green?
Saw some orchid arrangement in Her World Brides magazine (the latest edition), they totally submerged the orchids into water/gel with some twigs (there must be a proper name for it). Very pretty. Maybe you can use that as an addition to your photo table? If you want, I can tear out the page to send to u...

Snipsnap
Hehe.. speaking of tearing out the page and send out... promise will send them out by this week! Found more purple theme setup in a brit bridal mag. Will send u that as well!

Why am I blabbering so much today?!

<font color="0000ff">ashlee</font> - hehe, yes i am paying quite a bit (sim-tiah!), lucky my wedding is small, we have only 10 tables. otherwise, sure cannot do this! the basic colors are ivory/cream lah, but some green cannot be avoided, think it makes everything look more natural and less contrived. adding fruit to the centerpieces was a quirky touch, i thought... more interesting than just plain flowers. but i think the glass platter is a bit too big for the round arrangement on top. hey, the submerged orchids sounds nice from your description... if only i could do my wedding over again, haha! aww thanks for being so sweet but no need to send me the page lah, prolly won't get here in time. anyhoo, i think i'm all set - i wanted to keep the flowers very simple for the photo table, maybe even use candles instead of flowers. as i think all the pearls and shiny marbles look busy-busy already. woodsville will be using any leftover loose flowers for the photo table... hope it turns out nice!

hehe, i'm blabbering a lot too... issit last minute nerves? i guess i am kind of jittery! sorry gals...

Dewberry
Silly me, of cos u are with Woodsville too! hehe. So u must have seen the standard centrepcs we are going to use! We've chosen the three pillar candles one, with flowers at the bottom. Simple, but quite ok lah. But I am going to add gel candles to the table. Err, don't quite match the pillar candles hor? Oh shoot.

We've got only nine tables, and yet we are so broke liao! haha... can't believe how much premium they charge for fewer tables eh?!

You getting your candles from SG then?

Oh dear, think I am hogging the thread liao. Someone come in and talk leh!

<font color="0000ff">ashlee</font> - hahaha, (fellow "hogger") i think we provide entertainment for the rest of these wedding-obsessed gals, welcome or no...

no leh, actually i haven't seen their standard centerpieces, as the florist choice was actually the wedding planner's pick and not mine... all the candles and everything will be gotten in singapore or from the florist... yeah, gel candles might look a bit odd with the pillar candles. i think pillars are nice, why don't you just add more? or else, tealights in glass holders will go with anything.... you can get even scented tealights if you want. hmm, yeah i know what you mean by the fewer tables premium... that's why we came up with a round number of 10 tables as most places start off with that minimum, and even then we're only getting a function room and not a nice grand ballroom. oh well, gives more of a blank slate to decorate! hee hee....

Dewberry
The only reason why I thought of using gel candles is cos I am going to make them myself. Those that we buy outside are not smelly enough. And gel candles are easier to make than wax candles. Yep, you've convinced me, will get scented cream/ivory votives to go with the pillar candles. Even though the smelly ones usually cost a bomb! urgh...

Ya, had so much problem finding a dinner place for our pathetic small guest list. We signed the contract for 90 pax, but now think the best we can do is 80 (as most of dave's friends pulled out, too ex to go that far). Cos of the contract, still die die have to pay for 90pax lor. Nvmd eh, cos raffles is notorious for not serving enough food! hehe...

You having chinese dinner then? Where are u going for honeymoon dear?

hi peeps! maddcow thanks in advance for the jeweller recs *practises smile showing teeth and gap*
... hey speaking of butterflies, I saw some really cute ones too at AC Moore and thought of sya. they're small and dainty and attached to a really fine wire so you can insert them wherever you like.

ashlee..love your invites!!! is it all diy? are you going to go with the gold or silver ones arh? think I like the silver ones better. hah totally know what you mean about the 'accessories' like glue guns etc. I just bought a $20 paper cutter from the craft store yesterday *thud* oh yah was browsing the silk flowers again yesterday. but as usual I had totally no inspiration on how to make anything lol. let me know what u need. I go to the stores very often.
... hey been procrastinating on the JP too hehe. what about you? oh yup e-mail me your address too. want to mail you something!

dewy ..here's another BM gift idea. I know its kinda late but bluefly is having a sale on kate spade items. thought the cosmetic cases were pretty cute and <$50. btw after much research (don't ask hehe) tiffanys is cheaper in the US so best to get your stuff here.

hah speaking of themes, I'm rethinking my purple theme for the dinner reception. don't think it'll go with the colors of the ballroom
might have to go with whites and yellows instead. (dewy...what do you think? since u've seen the ballroom? hehe...and how can you even concentrate at work now?? found myself daydreaming about the wedding again at a meeting haha. and my wedding is months away. what am I going to dream abt when its all over????

check out these shoes! what do y'all think?
btw zappos has the biggest selection of shoes..also free shipping and returns which is great. dewy ..can I tempt you into getting your shoes here?

http://www.zappos.com/n/p/dp/2850776/c/385.html

snipsnap
I already completed making the cards lah. Made 12 silver and 12 gold. Yep, completely diy, from design to the embossing and diamante! Ya,now I dunno what to do with the equipment.
So envious that u gals are living in the US, where EVERYTHING is cheaper and much much nicer than UK's obiang ones. sigh, if only I can go shop for silk flowers like u do.

Those shoes are LOVELY!!! OMG, seriously stunning! Diamante and gold colour fit my theme as well! Maybe I can diy shoes also... hehe, have turned into a diy freak!

ashlee
I have lots of white ideas from the mags. Do you want to look? I can send them to you. leave me your email address? (beware, files are huge but the pictures are incredible). I like white too, I'll have to ''disguise'' them cos my mom doesn't like them - i once received a bouquet of white roses and tulips and needed to bring them to the office - out of the house. Figured I don't want to fight that one peeve. I'm using coral/tangerine pannee orchids - http://www.orchidsasia.com/flowertrade01.htm and peach orange roses. For my cocktails, I'll have a variety of cymbidiums(red,white and orange)and casablanca (FH and I love the movie!) lilies floating in crystal bowls. I'll also have clouds of baby's breath and queen anne's lace in simple tall vases. My theme is white and tangerine/coral, accent color is aqua blue so I'm actually thinking of having square vases of neon tetras. My centerpieces are going to be tall and sculptural with willows and bamboo - should be pretty simple and cheap. My main requirement is that the flowers are as intact as stems as possible so I can donate them (and the fish) after the event.

snippy
here's the ring contact: www.weddingringhotline.com no (800)9857464 . this website actually has a store in New Jersey. (Hey, maybe we can meet up in New York in the summer!) I saw this from Bridal Bargains (written by witty consumer advocates and featured on Oprah) Owner Mitch Slachman has a loyal clientele, has ready custom designs and can get you price quotes for designer rings. He custom designs for you too. He was featured as a "Best Buy". Other site is www.tradeshop.com that offers custom wedding rings you can help design and they post pictures of your rings as it 'takes shape' while they are making it. I've never tried any of those. If you don't trust the websites, check out BBBOnline (Better Business Bureau) for feedback/consumer reports. Good luck!

dewberry
have a safe trip! as for the gifts...sorry, i can't help you...i'm getting lilly pulitzer's scarfs for breast cancer research. You should drop by TJMaxx or Marshalls, they should have great summer stuff now - may not get the coach bags but they should have great deals on XOXO, GUESS, Liz Clairborne and Jones New York. Or in Singapore, try Crabtree and Evelyn luxurious spa stuff and that aromatherapy candleshop (forgot the name) in Takashimaya. Or simply a foot reflexology treat/manicure/pedicure session.

<font color="0000ff">snippy</font> - omg, you evil temptress woman! *makes warding gesture with fingers* those shoes are danger-eous!!! wheewweet! too bad, there's not time left... but oh well, i refer back to my original rationale for comfy but boring shoes (no one's going to see them anyways, i don't intend to have my chubby feet on display, hehehee).... hmm, agree with you on the ritz ballroom, i think yellows/creams/whites/other naturals will look better with their room colors. besides, coz your wedding will be on a much larger scale than mine, i think the impact of colors will be a lot stronger. hence, the important of not clashing - remember the cowgrass green! kekekeke....

<font color="0000ff">ashlee</font> - yes i'm having the chinese banquet, but no official honeymoon planned (broke, leh!). if we can, we'll squeeze in a short trip with friends to HK and Shanghai... but if not, we'll just drop by Tokyo on our way back here. we're saving the official honeymoon for a europe trip next year! or, if you want to think about it, every trip can be a honeymoon, hee hee!

<font color="0000ff">maddcow</font> - hee hee, i know what you mean about the older people's pantang white attitude... my mom was even finicky about how much silver thread was in the kua as opposed to gold thread... i was like, duh? oh, your orchids and roses theme sound very pretty! and the sculptural willows and bamboo centerpieces are my fav as well - my initial idea was something like that, but we couldn't do it due to the small size of the room and low low ceilings... can't wait to see your pics turn out! i'm swooning already
thanks for the gift ideas... i plan to keep my eyes peeled in SG.... i actually did try tjmaxx and marshalls, but the crazy weekend crowds gave me a headache so i came away empty handed... did you know they have wedding gowns in tjmaxx now? incredible... nothing that this audience would probably buy, but i did see some vera wangs and reem acras in ridiculous sizes for pennies on the dollar. sheesh....

thanks for everyone's well wishes! *practises beauty pageant smile, adds sideways hand wave, waggles eyebrows, hehehe...* i think i'm more like that princess diaries girl anne hathaway BEFORE the makeover.

Heylos Girls! Hope your weekend was good!

How was your exam Karen? agree that wedding girly talk is miles more interesting than futures!

Dewy I checked my mail and you look Booootifull!! love the bustled up train !

Agree with Ashlee that buying generic jie mei pressies tend to be cheaper in Singapore. I threw my Jie Meis a mani-pedi party and little hand soaps and creams from L'Occitane in Singapore. Depends really on what your Jie Meis like (mine were not fussed at all).

Snippy - congrats on FH getting ring. Simplicty rocks! and he sounds like he has the same kind of taste as Fabien. You can custom make your diamond/sapphire ring in Singapore at most Chinese jewellers. Just check with your mom or aunties, and try use a jeweller known to someone in your family. This avoids any criticisms later on that you "you could have gotten a better deal if you had gone to so-and-so's".

Yes, I knew the JP who did my solemnisation. we had at least 2 meetings beforehand, and we discussed the format and so on and so forth. If you gimme your email address, I can send you my "ROM script". But even if you just call up someone on the ROM's list, you can still discuss what you want and so on. take a look at this link? http://app.rom.gov.sg/internet/reg_info/rom_day_solemnisation.asp

Ribbit
Yes please! Do send me your rom stuff. Am totally hopeless with that!

Dewberry
Oh ya, remember you telling me abt going to HK &amp; China. Lovely! Seems like we are in the same shoes, totally broke after the wedding! ha! But I am sure you can still afford lotsa shopping in HK &amp; Shanghai! Love Shanghai, but only been there once and that was like 15yrs ago. Lovely place, and cheap tidbits! Haha, remember to buy lots of that rabbit brand nougat-like sweets (da4 bai2 tu4 nai3 tang2, if you know wat I mean)
Ashlee <<=== super cheena! haahaa...

Madcow
Thanks for the offer! Yes please, send the pix to me! My email address is given above.
I have actually decided on one of the standard centrepcs the florist has, but I am sure your pix will come to be of use somewhere!! My mum can be quite pantang too, but believe it or not, my fiance is worse! So that is why we decided on gold/cream/ivory colour theme.I guess we can always make modifications to the floral pcs you gonna send me. Cheers.
Your colour theme is most interesting! Unlike mine, rather boring. And love your ideas! Which florist are u with gal?

ribbit > you probably have my email but here it is again '[email protected]' ..send me the script
btw who was the JP you used?(he looks like the same guy a friend of mine used) were you satisfied with his service? checked out your webby again ... thought your registry was very cute and thoughtful. good choice on the le creuset though I find them very heavy...oh and they cost an arm and a leg here hehe.

ashlee> HAHA how funny I love da bai tu nai tang!! hey guess what decided last night that i'm swapping my theme to gold, cream, yellow or a peachy color. kinda similar to yours
to match the ballroom. guess I shall have to eat all my purple kisses now ... bummer! haha

dewy> HAHA u and I share the cheesiest taste in movies. Princess Diaries??? thought I was the only sap to watch that

harlows, my beauties! heehee, with each passing day my anticipation mounts... and today was no exception - i suddenly got paranoid feelings about what if i fall sick when i get back?! gasp! *knock on wood*.... coz it occured to me that it's been a long while since i had a cold or flu, whatever.... *chills down my spine* hope it holds out till AFTER the wedding, man!

anyways, <font color="0000ff">ribbit</font> - thanks! i love my bustle too! (altho recently i've been thinking it makes my backside look extra big! or on the other hand, it conceals my big butt...) i finally have the dress in hand today, yay! had a surreal moment and found myself just staring at it and staring at it, hahaha.... silly dreamy dewy. but nothing's perfect, there was this verrrrry tiny little spot in front, where i was still not happy about how the dress falls (there's a little unevenness around the seams at one side of the waist "V"), but oh well, too late to agonize over minutiae... anyways, the seamstress kept saying it'll steam out when the gown is pressed again upon arrival... sigh. i sure hope so. my only consolation is at least i won't be wearing it in full harsh daylight, and that the wedding is at night so hopefully, it'll be dark and candlelight is really forgiving on all the flaws. HA! *deep breath* sorry, sorry, i'll shuddup now...

<font color="0000ff">ashlee</font> - i love the rabbit sweet too!!! in fact, we get them here in some asian grocery stores, hehehe, i think i have a stash of them in my office drawer. oooh, have you ever tried those japanese "hokkaido milk" soft candies...? very similar to the rabbit ones, and less sweet, so yummy! hahaha, i've always thought that if i ever lost my job, i'd open an asian tidbits shop
... snippy, you game?!?

<font color="0000ff">snippy</font> - nope, you're not the lonesome sap, i watch them all... my fav were Ever After and Princess Diaries, i have this soft spot for cinderella stories, hehehehe.... glad to see you convinced yourself on the ballroom colors... no worries, i'm sure the purple kisses can be put to other good uses
... or if you're feeling altruistic, how about making up pretty goody-boxes/care-packages, and stuffing them with the kisses among other yummies? can give away to friends, or your jiemeis, whatever...

Dewy, u've got your dress already! wow-whee! really excited for you. I know what u mean by the tiny spot in front because I'll be just like that, I'm afraid. But if it isn't a huge area or a teeny spot of red wine, I won't let myself fuss over something that's probably a)not going to turn out in photos and b)no one else will notice. So don't worry alright? Just enjoy your beautiful dress!!

Sigh...Pricess Diaries..*faint*...I thought its main audience was teenage girls?

Btw, I just heard that our best man has a busy work schedule that may require him to be out of the country during our wedding
Now I'm at a dilemma whether to put his name down on our church bulletin that I was intending to print this weekend. Any advice?

hihi, yes dewy's Got the Dress! *catcalls and whistles* i'm so excited! thanks for all your encouragement on the dress, girls... i promise not to fuss TOO much about the dress. it's not a very large area, but it is down one side of the V seam.... so makes it look a little asymmetrical. but oh well, i'm sure most will not notice, sometimes the lighting will also make it look different. you girls can all scrutinize my photos and tell me if it was bad or not okay??? hee hee....

haha, katgrrl are you trying to tell me i'm a teenage girl as well???
mmmpppfffhahahahahaha..... couldn't help laughing at that.... but you're not far off the mark, i do think i'm like a silly romantic teenage girl sometimes, hidden under all the layers of ahem, maturity?! kekeke... not quite. anyways, i think the movie was quite popular in the US, with majority of the female audience above the teen age group.... just like Legally Blonde was... hahahah! did you guys see that one as well? okay, i know, i'm a sucker for chick flicks. you can just see FH rolling his eyes....

awww, that's a bummer about your best man, katgrrl... i ran into the same problems printing our wine selection on our menu cards, and in the end opted to wait a little longer to print (needed more time to taste &amp; choose our wines). finally, couldn't delay any more, so i just left it out of the printing. we're now having a separate wine menu printed on individual tent cards. (no place cards for us) .... as for your dilemna, hmm, can your printing wait any longer until he's sure of his schedule? are they printed inserts, or on the actual card? especially if it was just printing inserts, i know that printers can rush them out within a matter of days if you tell them ahead of time. or, if it REALLY bothers you on the timing, it'll be a bit more expensive but worth it on the "ease of mind" factor to just go ahead and print now, worry later. (worse case is you will have to get a reprint)... if in fact they are inserts, i know of a quick reliable place that can print them up in days, 200 pcs for about S$120. don't stress okay? this is only one of the many juggling matches that come up in everyone's wedding... it'll all work out in the end....! at some point we all have to let go and say, well if it costs more but we want it/need it, it'll just have to happen. haha, spoken like a true experience.

Arrrggggghhhh!!! The Wedding Paparazzi is driving us nuts! We've been emailing all this time and the person whom we're in contact with is just so technically incompetent! First, it was the resolution, then the ability of the new camera to shoot in HD (high def) without dropped frames, and now she doesn't know what she's talking about for compression. How does she do her job when she doesn't know these technical details???

Honestly, I've only met 1 other videographer who deserves to be called professional. (Such a joy to be communicating with him!) And this also sadly affirms my belief that too many folks in SG are technically underpar for their jobs......I would expect that if you are in a certain profession, u find out all there is to it, inside out.

I'm back!!! After having finished my stupid exam. (More like it proved that I'm the one who is stupid... looking at "unreal" results from my calculation questions... which that alone takes up 50% of the total mark... my hope of getting barely a pass is slim... ) But then again, who cares (not like I have a choice now..)!!! I'm back here... back to my favourite topic... wedding wedding and wedding... So right after the exam, I quickly go home and play with my DIY invitation cards material. Trying to do a mock up one. BTW, got all my materials from SG and it's cheaper than in Sydney. Previously, I thought of having paper flowers on top... but then decided not to 'coz I can't find cheap ones in SG and if I send them by post...They will get squashed!!! Thinking of using the "double happiness" sticker instead!! But it doesn't look nice at all
... so have to buy those "going to be squashed by the postman" paper flower from the craft shops.

Hi katgrrl: thanks for the DIY webiste... will check it out this weekend... see if i am capable on doing any of these things...
BTW, I used to get problem with teeth grinding. The fillings kept dropping off from the teeth and I was wearing the mouth guard thing for a while... but stopped it after awhile... too troublesome i suppose... And when I stress, I sleep talk as well... HAHAHAHAHAAH... luckily my FH is not a light sleeper... he can sleep through any kind of noise...
Hi dew berry: ur church decor ideas sounds good!!! better than boring roses with tutu...
ohhh... so u've got your gown now... care to share the pics with me... i love looking at wedding gown pictures...
Hi Maddcow: HI HI HI HI HI... long time no talk!!! how's things!!!!

Talking about music... I sort of decided what i'm going to play... you guys might want to check this out...
1. A new Standard - Steve Tyrell
2. This guy's in love - Steve Tyrell
this guys sings beautifully... light jazz... nothing too heavy and i think it's perfect for weddings
3. Love Songs and Lullabies - Jim Brickman
my favourite song is Love Never Fails - Jim Brickman featuring Amy Sky... going to use it in my slideshow...

anyway... will write some more tomorrow... i think i'm catching a cold... having headache now... not good...

Hey Katgrrl, oh dear, don't stress! I am sure it will come out in the wash. For the photographer, try talking to them Very Slowly and Nicely (yep can hear you gritting your teeth) and see how that goes. Failing which I can tell you that I quite liked my (techinically competent)photographer from pentaserve, so I dunno if it is too late for you to consider changing to Kuang? As regards the bestman, either consider Dewy's double/later prints idea, or change the format of the church bulletin so that his name is under the "general credits" section or something.

Ashlee and Snippy, I will send the ROM script to you guys this weekend. It is in hubby's thumbdrive. The JP's name is Jamshid Medora - was he the same one as your friend? He is really sweet, and attended the wedding dinner as well, with his wife.

Dewy and Karen -- plenty of fluids, vitamins and rest! Agree that colds do not have any part to play in a wedding AT All. I dunno what supplements you are taking, but zinc and echinacea works great for me to give my immunity a boost when I know I am entering a period where I absolutely cannot get sick.

Sorry for my earlier post... I just needed to vent
Anyway, I'm determined to settle this matter by calling her on Sat for answers. No offence to anyone getting TWP- they're good if u want their standard packages.

Ribbit, thanks for consoling
I saw Pentaserve's galleries and like their pix a lot! But unfortunately, I was looking for a videographer.

Dewy &amp; Ribbit, thanks for your ideas on inserts and 2nd prints.... I'm getting a real simple no-fuss 1-page bulletin..or should I say, program? Plus it's gonna be DIY.. plus I'm trying to get it done before I return to SG. Option 1 is to leave the Best man out entirely; option 2 is to get another friend to be the Best Man. Sigh..will pray about it

Karen
I think your playlist sounds great so far. I like Steve Tyrell too. Pianist, I think Jim Brickman is great, but I'm an old fashioned-Charlie Brown-George Winston fan. I'll head to Borders over the weekend to hear out your Brickman-Sky pick

KatGrrl
gee...don't have to apologize for anything, that's what we are here for - sounding/venting board(s). Let's see...(a)re bestman, give him a deadline to commit, if he simply can't and if he's a good friend, I'm sure he'll really want to be able to make it. In that case, I'll put him down in the program - I think he'll be touched. I won't go for a back-up though, too much hassle. But check with FH if he's okay with not having a best man or wants someone else. Don't worry about 'superfluous'info (i.e. including a bestman that will not be there) - No one will really remember the program after the wedding. (worry more about omission
) Reason why I won't choose a back-up is that people are sometimes sensitive about being a 'b-lister'.
(b) re the videographer, you are paying for the 'goods' and 'services', naturally you'd need to demand your $'s worth. But I think with time, even the lady helping you will learn the ropes. If you really like TWP address your concerns with them, bear in mind that you'd also want a happy relationship before the wedding itself to ensure working bliss during the wedding. I think it's a competitive (bridal) industry. Consider taking your business elsewhere, part of negotiating lies in information-gathering, if you know someone better, drop the shoddy service and move on. Always make sure you feel confident about your choice of vendors. Prayers always help - I'll pray for you too. Hope you feel better soon.

thanks everyone! *dewy is leaving the building....*

about to head to the airport in an hour or so... but just wanted to drop by and say adieu (for now!), you've all been so sweet and supportive of each other, i'm very touched to be part of this little online community. take care, and try not to pull your beautiful hair out from all these wedding stresses - you'll want to save those goldilocks for the MUA!

will check in whenever i have time in singapore (first week is prolly going to be crazy for me, but i'll be thinking of you guys!)

katgrrl - sounds like you've had good advice from all these "jiemeis", so i won't add. but take a deep breath and let it all "flowwwww", dealing with crises requires a clear mind!
... it'll help keep you calm when you talk to TWP as well. i share your gripes about the service and quality levels in singapore, main reason why i am still so jittery about our wedding, coz it's so risky we won't know how it'll really be until the real day comes, and there's no assurance of standard of quality (in my expectations!)... but there's no choice, we're already picking the best-in-show vendors - sigh, the general quality is just not what we overseas brides expect &amp; want. sorry, don't mean to sound so snooty...

anyways, bye everyone! XOXOXOXO cheesy inflight movies and bad smelling airplanes, here i come!

Karen
Totally understand what u said abt the paper flowers, cos I wanted to do that as well but was worried that it would get squashed. So scrapped the idea and went for something flat. How about skeleton leaves? Simple and sweet, and flat.

And totally understand the unreal no.s bit for the exam, i got the most bizzare no. for answers in my financial math paper. Sigh...

Got a CD from a wedding shop called confetti for the solemnisation without trying first. Luckily it turned out ok! Well, it is the traditional type, but ok lah, want it to be formal for the solemnisation itself anyways.

Ribbit
Thanks in advance for the rom script! For JP, my fiance asked for the architect (so the both of them have something in common to talk abt - buildings and construction *yawn*), but we havent contacted him yet.

Dewberry &amp; Snipsnap
*5 for DA BAI TU NAI TANG!!! haha... what is this hokkaido milk sweet? Oh dear... now I got craving for sweets liao. Think must go Chinatown later to get some rabbit sweets.

Katgrrl
Oh dear, u sound frustrated. Well, I am sure they are going to be on their toes now that they know u actually know THE stuff! I'm sure they'll buck up a little, they've got quite a reputation to keep! Cheer up!

Snipsnap
Then u still want the purple setup on the magazines? Got some white setups but not cream or gold one I think. I go look some more. Peach is nice! Saw some peach coloured mulberry paper roses, pretty! Now think gonna use the paper roses instead of the strange looking "preserving" flowers I've got in the kitchen now. aiya, so fickle minded! haha...
Try www.epaperflowers.com

Hello girls..*hugz* for being so sweet...

Maddcow, Dewy, Ashlee, thanks for the perspectives..sigh,I know what u mean about maintaining a happy working relationship and that's why we'd been really tactful and patient with TWP despite the hair-tearing emails. Sigh, I'm now sourcing for alternatives because the last straw was when they increased their price of the DV tapes once again. Long story short (pun intended ;) we wanted the raw footage uncompressed in the DV tapes..they cost a few bucks btw. First, they quoted us $100 for the 1st and $50 for the subsequent ones which we were quite resigned to pay, well... After the latest round of emails, they have jacked up the prices to $125 &amp; $60 respectively. WTF? I find such practices objectionable... and they don't do much to further a trusting client relationship, do they? I'm taking my business elsewhere if I can help it.

Okie really..I feel quite alright now

Maddcow, u made some really good points about the Best man. U're absolutely right about the b-list. Maybe we'll ask another friend to be a (local) groomsman in addition to the Best man....as a back up, if u get what I mean.
Basically, I'd like a local boy to be part of the groom's party because after all he'd know how to address the local crowds better. We'll still have all the names down as well. Do u think that's alright?

Enuff about me! Ashlee, that's a cool site u got
Speaking of skeleton leaves, I know a place in SG where they are really cheap. 10 for S$1. It's at a ethnic shop at Centerpoint. Sorry, I don't remember the exact address nor the name but I know it's at a corner, beside Marks &amp; Spencer (I think), along the same row of shops as Sanur. And it's either on the 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor

The shop sells all sort of asian bric-a-brac from pashmina shawls, to furniture and trinkets. I got a couple of sheets of handmade paper from them too. Ashlee and Karen, maybe u wanna get a friend to mail u the leaves. I think the cost savings will justify the trouble and cost of postage.

ps. My invites consist of handmade paper, vellum &amp; our seal. Would you believe that I saw a similar album selling here for Õ30?
273904.jpg

Katgrrl
Agree that jacking up the price like that is totally out of order, very unprofessional! Which videographer are u thinking of hiring now? We are hiring a media uni student. Very very good, no joke. What he lacks in experience, he totally make it up with his professional editing! If you are interested, I can pass you his email?

I dun need the skeleton leaves lah. Hehe, was only recommending Karen to use that. You mentioned Sanur, yummy...

Can share your invites? Sound really interesting! I made ours with vellum paper, ribbon, feather, diamante and normal card paper.

Finally gonna send out the invites this weekend! Woohoo! One task off the list! Am gonna try making candles this weekend. Well, if you gals dun hear from me next week, that means I've burnt down our house with all that candle making!

Dun burn down your house, Ashlee! Where is the cute Ashlee gonna stay? ...I mean your doggie..
Heheh, sounds like me last weekend, I was melting the sealing wax in my aromatherpy burner and trying not to make a mess with all that goo :P

Oooh, know what u mean by Indonesian food. But it appeared that Sanur's quality has dropped somewhat when we went with my parents last year. I much prefer The Rice Table and its buffet.. u gotta try it when u go back!

Okie, I'll send u a picture of my mocked up invite.. And please do send me the contact of your videographer too!

KatGrrl
i get what you mean re your groomsman(best man back-up) idea, it sounds like a good resolution!

<font color="ff6000">ashlee (and dewy!)</font>
<font color="0077aa"> thanks for your</font><font color="ff0000"> compliments</font><font color="0077aa"> regarding my choice of colors/flowers...</font>

ashlee, Snippy and Katgrrl,
i've a picture-glossary of flowers that you might wish to take a look at - categorized according to your color scheme (white, pink) and ashlee, i've also found a bouquet of white lisianthus (eustomas)and feathers. I'll zip up the files and send them over the weekend.

Karen/ribbit - what're your schemes, u want me to help you look out for ideas?

oh i need advice on gowns
, (it's like the last thing on my mind but people are always asking me about it). I'm exploring the talents on our shores - i need comments on Tan Yoong, Kai, Dang, and Silhouette (sp?). Help!

hi ladies! tgif tgif tgif

ashlee> good luck on the candles
my creative juices have dried up. and I am still contemplating my color theme. so far leaning towards peaches and cream (sounds yummy too) arhgk hard to get anything done with out a theme *sigh* anyway I have a photo of the ballroom we took while in SG last so I am using photoshop to try and add in different colored centerpieces to see how they go! I am such a dorkus haha

maddcow..ooh thanks for thinking of us!!! the picture glossary will be super cool. TIA! re gowns, we have the same taste in designers
I checked out both dang and silhouette when I was in SG last. (I hadn't heard of kai at that time) the designer at silhouette was really nice (i met a guy named heath?? reminds me of heathcliff?? whatever) ... but they were not very accomadating with time. they couldn't arrange a first fitting during the 2 weeks I was back. that said, i have a few friends who used them and they really liked their service. I ended up going with Dang. Her work with lace is exquisite. Did I send you pics of my evening cheongsam? lemme know. I managed to squeeze in a first fitting in the last week I was there and the final touches will be done when I am back in SG. as for tan yoong, he's a little too fashion forward (think couture) for me ;)

how much time will u be working with?

katgrrl..I created an editable list of makan places on my webby to hit when we're back in SG. I'll send it around this weekend. u guys can add your fav places
think it'll come in useful for all us foodies

Yesh! Foodies unite!
seriously, I dunno how I'm gonna keep to my diet..... oh dear... Btw, Snippy, would u believe that just yesterday I was trawling the net for 'new' places that Mark &amp; I haven't been to? The text file was appropriately named 'Makan Time!'

Maddcow, sorry I'm not much help on the SG designers. I thought I couldn't do the gowns at all in SG so I didn't bother sussing them out. But I think the question of whether they could turn out your dresses within your timeframe may be the 1st limiting factor. Perhaps if u've narrowed it down 2-3, u could make a whirlwind round of visits in the 1st 2 days of your visit to SG. Btw, when will u be going back?

I'd also recommend a few visits to the bridal shops in US. Your prime objective could be to try on various gown designs to decide what works on u to aid your decision in SG. And if u find something really nice at a reasonable price, u could even purchase it in the states and all u need to do in SG is to make the alterations.

Speaking of gowns, I 'collected' my gown today! Yippee! It was finally done after 5 fittings
Apparently, every panel was different so the poor lady spent a lot more time than she planned. I'm mighty pleased with the result considering it was a design I found cold on the web. But gotta say that after trying on a dozen gowns last summer, i'd a pretty firm idea what I wanted and what would make me a meringue.

Thanks in advance for the Glossory on flowers! Highly needed....That's 1 dept I haven't done much research on!