Anyone Migrating to Australia?

hi fern, brisbane is lovely. i spent alot of time at the gold coast, went in the winter, it wasn't even cold, nice weather all year long! are you there for good?

hey buddy, i miss Harry's Cafe pies down by Woolloomoolloo Bay! whenever i am there, i must have my beef pie with mashed potato, peas with cheese sauce and beef pastie! yummy! are you working here?

Hey Lafleur,

I'm glad to know some one that know Harry's De Wheels. I actually love their chilli dog more than the pies but their pies are really the best!

I run my own biz here in Spore n in Sydney so I travel alot.

I am an OZ PR. Had intended to stay in Sydney for good in 2003 but decided to return to Singapore for a while more. Why? Because it's so damn difficult to get a good job there. Well, maybe I have a Masters, so I have my pride and don't wanna lower my standard. It's really hard to secure a good job without actual australian experience.

BTW, I have stayed in Perth before for 7 years and Sydney for 2 years (studies). Always dreamt of staying permanent and working in Australia but it is really difficult. hmmm...

Still trying

Hi Porcu,

O i'm surprised that you had trouble finding a job when you have the PR. Its usually the other way around that pple can't get a PR so they can't stay.

With you high education, you should look into running your own biz. No matter how educated one gets, I've never heard of anyone that just work for pple all their life and retired wealthy. Dun let your education go to waste. There are plenty of opportunities to start biz there.

Hi Porcu

Have you considered starting your own biz? I believe that Aus is very small business friendly . I have come across all sorts of immigrats there who have started their own home biz. I remember staying with a Sri Lankan couple who started their B & B in the Blue Mountains..so there are lots of opportunities, just need to take that first big step.

Lafleur, yah man....i miss Harry's pies.it's really shiok to eat piping hot pies with cool wind blowing..heheh...there's a cafe that sells really nice fried Mars bars at Bondi as well..yum

buddy, cake,
you guys are making me drool! one thing i noticed about pies in australia is that the pies are fully stuffed with fillings! chilli dog is another "must have" of mine too! i am a pie lover so i will say this, i like Cole's steak bacon and mushroom pie too. fried mars bars, sounds delious, never tried but will do so next time!

hello ladies,
may if i join in the chat? i have OZ PR but still havent decided when to migrate there. is it that diff to get a job there?

Hey Lafluer,
OK checked out some Maxwell and Williams stuff at David Jones today. Ranges from about A$5.95 for a medium sized square plate to about A$11.95 for a big plater. The all white 40-pc dining ware shd be around the A$70 mark (from memory)...

Fern!
Good to know you're settling in well. Hope to hear more good news from you.

Sunnygirl,
Heard about this deep fried mars bars at bondi. Sounds eeewww... Hahaha! Its like calories plus more calories!!!

Hello Mspiggy,
As usual the issue of job security always comes up. Its recommended that you start applying for jobs in Aust, and securing a job offer before actually moving over here.

Mspiggy

Yah.must get a job.it is not easy..i think have to be prepared to take jobs that may not be in your industry. My best fren tried lookng for job in Mel, but didnt wanna settle for a "low" job coz she is degree holder..in the end came back to SG to work..but she hated it so much that she left and went back . So it all really depends on what you want. I am sure if put in a situation, can find ways to survive and earn $$, but sacrifices must be made and expectations lowered.Afterall IMO, Aus attracts ppl not becoz of high paying jobs etc...but rather coz of its laid back lifestyle and focus on family.

Having some problems, does not seem to update the forum very well......huh???

I missed my Harry's de wheel hotdog. It is the best, used t go there everyweek for my treat.
Double bay anyone?

Hi Mspiggy,
Yes, you have to get a job first before you make the big move. Have to start somewhere first, may have to start as a junior all over again. Get some experience and move on from there. The first 3 years are the toughest. Good Luck to you.

Hi galz,
i've got a problem here. as you all know tht the new immigration law states that inorder to be sponsored by your relative in australia, you must have an assurer at the same time.
The assurer acts like a guarantor, who must have an earning taxable income of at least $39-$42K/annum.
Can anyone suggest how to go around getting an assurer? Infact, my sister has already paid agent fees as we thought she might have found an assurer. Guess wht? the assurer backed out last minute, and now my sister is left stranded.

Any suggestions?

Are the TV shows the same in all the states or are they different in different states? I find Aussie TV shows sucks! So much Simpsons and more simpsons. They can show 3 episodes just in one night!

I miss all the reality shows in Singapore! Amazing race, singapore idol, big fat obnoxious fiance....din get to finish them...boo hoo!

Also miss the channel u and channel 8 serial shows!

melbz,
the pricing seemed very affordable! gosh, i can't wait to shop for them! thanks for the info!!

anyone, any idea if UGGS (boots) can easily be found in OZ? or just in big cities?? i have been lemming for a pair since i saw it on Oprah's show. i might be making a trip to OZ soon so i thought i will just get the real thing. thanks!

Hi Fern

So nice to hear from you. Glad you are settling down well.. ya the AU shows are ALL about SIMPSONS.. so sickening.. and my BF is totally hooked on SIMPSONs then and he was always watching simpson the moment he woke up and before he went to sleep *roll eyes*... hahah

Hey all,

Yah too much simpsons. I think Big Fat Obnoxious Fiance was aired last year. I think the the reality shows here are shown quicker than Spore though. Like The Apprentice was shown here before Spore.

Good TV programs huh... Queer Eye for the Straight Guy on Monday nights, Jessica Simpson and Nick Lachey's Newlyweds (she's a real dumb blonde. hahaha!) and Nicky Hilton's Simple Life.

Lafleur,
UGG boots are not that commonly found. Similar ones can be found everywhere but not that particular brand. UGG boots dont come cheap either. Actually UGG boots are only worn around IN aussie homes, until Kate Moss (or was it Gwyneth) started wearing them outdoors...

hello ladies,
actually i did try applying for a job in Australia now. but somehow most of them rejected me becoz i'm still physically in singapore. quite sad.

Mspiggy> sorry, may I ask what field are you in? Cos for me, I am also opting to get PR first in Singapore, and then look for job via internet before moving over. Seems like it is difficult.. how long have u been trying?

I've just sent out a few job applications this morning...wonder how the response will be like. Will let you girls know again...

HI Fern

Glad to know that you are settling well in brisbane .....
Brisbane is a palce were i also like most apart form mel ....cos i study in brisabne and went down to mel twice

I really missed those days there think will visit aussie again soon

haha by then can meet up with u too ah

take care and allt he best to job hunting

Jo

hello apple and fern,
i'm in accounting and heard that it's in demand but i think they will take you only if you're currently residing in OZ.

but i have to admit that i'm not so much into applying for the jobs yet. just that once awhile when i see something i like, i will apply.

good luck Fern!

Hi Mspiggy & Fern,

A friend of mine is in the same shoe, got his PR, still in SG applying for melb jobs via internet. He intends to apply for jobs in Sydney instead, as there are alot more jobs in Sydney, get some experience and relocate to Melb.

I heard most Singaporean here are accountants. Are you from the big accounting firm in SG? You may want to ask for a referral or something. It is true that the companies consider their locals first...unless the foreigner is recommended by someone. Then they are willing to give the person a try.

I guess you have tried these website
CareerOne & Seek
what about the accounting recruitment consultant like Stokesconsulting, Accountancy options, Hays, Link recruitment and Dixon?

Don't lose hope and good luck.

Me oso thinking of migrating one of these days. Haven been to Australia before. I have stayed in the States for 3 years and my friends said Aust is quite similar to US. How's life so far in Aust?

mspiggy/ sorbet> i din know that after applying PR, it will still be difficult to get job

mspiggy> i am also in accounting field
are u currently a certified public accountant? i am currently waiting to hit the 3 yr working exp by next may so that I can apply CPA and PR at the same time. w/o the CPA, i will lose 10 points

recently, i receive an email from an AU website that accountant has recently been placed in demand list.. so i guess u shld have a better luck in getting a job..

Anyone interested in starting a biz in Sydney? I'm looking for partners. If you are interested pls email me at [email protected]

I'm looking a couple of biz opportunities. I'm travel between Sydney n Spore monthly. I'll be flying to Sydney on the 18th Sept. So if anyone in Spore is interested, please email before the 18th, if u r in Sydney, we can meet to have a chat when I'm there.

Accountants have been in demand in Aust for the last 4 yrs due to changes in the company/tax laws. But I guess if you're still not physically in the country, then they will employ someone else... I personally feel that the recruitment process in Aust is very tedious... or is it just me?

Hey Blueblue,
Have been to the US as a tourist before, and the feeling is totally different. Aust gives a different feel. Dont know how to explain. But you should visit Aust to see if you like this place before taking the big step.

Hi Blueblue

melbz is right, i think the feeling is quite different. Personally, i prefer Aus coz the city is more compact and somehow seems "friendlier"

Hi apple, accountants are in demand. But if you qualify now, better to quickly apply coz the points may go up again.

Hey sorbet, thanks for the info, I have tried seek and careerone so far. I have just tried sending some yesterday and today.

There seems to be plenty of jobs going around. I was in a sales and marketing job (manufacturing industry, and not in accountancy unfortunately...
I would really like to branch out into some accounting related stuff like payables/receivales, payroll.
I pray that some firm may give me a chance to start a job here in Australia. So far I have 5 years working experience in Singaoire but none in Australia.

Hi blueblue,

How's life in Aust so far? Lots of space....
which I love. Otherwise I think my life have changed 360 degree. :p

Melbourne is good but I still love Sydney because I spent a few good years there and many good memory. Both in Australia but different lifestyle.

Hi Fern,

Goodluck, first step is always difficult. I am not sure of the accounting field. But in engineering field, they consider foreigners as "freshie", start with pretty low pay for the first year. So I guess there are a lot of sacrifices...

Hi sunnygal,

ya i also want to apply PR ASAP if I can.. apparently although accountant is 60 points, that is provided you are a certified public accountant. I am not one yet. I can only apply for CPA next May. Once I get it, I will apply. I received an email saying that cos now accountant is on priority list, got extra 15 points. Not sure whether this applies to CPA or any other accountant. sigh... *headache*.... I am also worried that the points go up again especially after the election this yr end... *cross fingers*

hi apple

did u get your degree in aus? how many points did you get? coz if you can meet the cutoff using a 50 pt profession then it will be easier. Generally, I think young couples with 1 of them being a professional worth 60pts, can definately meet the cutoff. My HTB is the main applicant coz he is a 60 point profession, whereas, for me, although i am also 60 pts profession, the assessment agency is very strict, so in the end i settle for 50 point which is easier.

melbz,
i managed to get my M&W dishes. actually i saw alot more designs than expected and price was rather ok! yeah, i can't find any UGGS store anywhere. i asked around but nothing. i have see many UGGS lookalikes in Canada but i don't like them coz they cost like $150-$200 so i figured that i might as well pay abit more and get the authentic UGGS. i guess i just have to order them online. i really like them, it will be good for the winter, in or outdoor.

blueblue, i agree with melbz, living in the states and aust has a totally different feel. it is hard to explain.

Sorbet/Fern,
Well apparently they penalise you if you do not have Aust work experience. Its happened to most of my friends who migrated here.

Lafleur,
Thats great! M&W had a sale about 2-3mths ago, and I got alot of my dishes for half the price. Its the plain white ones though. Anyway the full prices are not too bad, still affordable. Yah authentic UGGs look much better. Haha!

hey Apple Lee,
you dont have to be a CPA just a associate CPA will also scored you 60 points if your current is in accounting.

when i was applying for PR then, i'm only an associate CPA member. but i had to get a letter from CPA Australia (since i'm their member) to prove that i'm currently taking their CPA prgram. i've converted to a CPA not long ago.

Yeah... I also agree with Melbz... since physically I'm not in OZ they have let others have the chance

thanks sorbet for all the website.....

i'll be in melb for 2 weeks in nov, will pop by these agencies to try my luck!

Hi blueblue

yah...you should visit Mel..so shiok..can eat and shop and enjoy the laid back lifestyle...aiyah..really miss Mel.

Just found out my neighbour also migrating to Mel..they just got approved so moving out soon..so lucky..

i am hoping to go over Mel in the next 2 years..hoepfully the PR will be processed quickly.

I'm oso in midst of the PR processing, intending to move over to melbourne next year..
I'll be going to melb for a week's holiday in nov...any advice on what research I can do while there to prepare for next year's moving over?

hi freesia

Have you rec your skills assessment yet? I have submitted to Vetassess , still waiting for reply.

Like you, I hope to move over in the next few years, so have been doing much research.
I went to Melbourne in May to recki as well as for my photoshoot...you should check out the suburbs that you can stay in as well as look in the local newspapers for job and business opportunities. I must say, Mel does offer many opportunities for business. I spoke to some locals there and am amazed at their "home businesses" .

Hi jojok,
I went to Forefront migration.

hi sunnygal,
my hubby is the main applicant, think we are done with the skills assessment stage...now is into 2nd second phrase processing
thanks for ur suggestion...I'm not sure what kind of home business can be done melb...can u enlighten me?
U mentioned that u went there for photoshoot...so u must be getting married soon? Did u consider the issue of setting up family over there?

sunnygal> i got my degree locally. i have a higher chance of getting my PR compared to my dear as his occupation is in mass com, not in demand. so most prob i am the one getting the PR and then he get PR via additional points from being my spouse

mspiggy> currently I am not even a provisional member of ICPAS. For ICPAS, to be a CPA just need to attend 5 days seminar upon working for 3 mths in accounting field. The reason why i am not applying for provisional cos i don wan to pay the annual fee :P.. hehe.. thot i only start paying once i get my CPA, more worth it. So are u saying that if i get my provisional member, I can start applying for PR?

Help Needed:
Sorry gals, I need some advice from you guys.

Backgrd: I have been working in accountant for 2 yrs. Not a CPA yet. So I can't reach the 120 point system.
Language : 20 pts
Occuaption : 50 pt
Working exp (> 3 yrs) : 0 pt
Total: 100 pt

That's why I have been waiting till next May where I will get my CPA and then start applying PR.

However, recently I read that the accoutancy is back in demand list (last updated 8th of Sep) and can get addtional 15 pt. (http://www.immi.gov.au/migration/skilled/modl_trades.htm) However, I am unsure whether this additional 15 pt applies to non-CPA holder.

Thus, please advise me whether I should go ahead and apply now or should I wait till next May and risk losing the additional 15 pt (if the demand list changes next yr) or increase in point system requirement.

Freesia> I understand u ask an agent to help you process. May I know how much you pay in all for hiring an agent to help u?

THANKS GALS (IN ADVANCE) FOR UR ADVICE

Hi Apple,
I'm in accounting too (see earlier posts). Are you a member of CPA Australia? You can be a assoicate member of CPA Australia by taking their CPA program. Or are you member of any recognised Accounting bodies? You just need to get the letter from them (skills assessment).

I do understand that if you're above 30, u will lose some points too. But if you can't meet the 120 points now, you also can't apply now. they are quite strict abt it.

I have migrated to Perth from S'pore for over 20 years, since a kid. My wife has just migrated here last year after we got married. Just wondering anyone migrating to Perth or already here?

Hello bikki,
My hubby and I will prefer Perth, but just worried abt the job opportunities there.

We are still deciding... we need to be in OZ by Yr 2006 else we can't clock 24 mths.

Hi Apple

you can check out cpaonline.com.au

this is the assessment body for Accountants. Take sometime and read through the requirements needed to be assessed as an accountant, that should help you.Based on your work expereince, it does seem that you do not have enough, there other ways to earn points, such as if your HB is also a skilled person and if you have 100K to place as a bond with them