Anyone has started a relationship wif a YounGer man?

Ahhh... my HTB is a year younger than me too.

Another way to look at it is, think if you are 83 years old, he's 76? Does it matter then?

I have a few gal frens who are much older than their husbands.

One of them is more than 10 years older (maybe ard 13 or 14) than her hubby.. Initially everyone ard them objected and tried discouraging them including me.. BUT they are so loving and happy now. They didn't want to have children so the issue of kids is not a problem.. Their parents objected strongly so they moved out after their AD. But as time goes by, their families started to accept them. They got married in 1997 and my fren was in her late thirties at that time and the husband was ard mid twenty.

My another gal fren who is 8 years older than her boyfriend. And they are going to get married soon. This couple had quite alot of problems in the beginning but as they understood each other more, the more certain they are about their marriage.. Again, this is another happy couple.

Hope they stay happy forever.. three cheers for them.. they have reali been thru a rough journey to reach where they are now..

Hi Hi, my husband is 4 yrs my junior. I fessed up, I am a craddle snatcher. Then again, no one really could tell that he is younger than I though.

You may want to catch a glimsp of us at our wedding site: http://simpleartsplanet.com/MikeLisWedding/

No one objected though. Personally younger male partner works out well with older female partner when they are both at age of maturity (I am not giong to say my age though), but it may not work out fine if both are still at very tender age.

Have a gf whose hb is 4 yrs younger and they are happily married. But i feel that most of the decisions are made by my gf and her hb seem to be quite scared of her.

I am 27 and in love with a guy 24.. I am working and he is still in uni...

THink it's possible? I feel like a old woman...

Erm... for me right, I'm quite materialistic lor. So if he still can't afford to support me, I wouldn't go out with such guys. I kena those younger guys tell me they love me so so much, but in the end take money from me. YUCKS! Unless this younger fellow is financially stable on his own, wouldn't take money from me, I don't mind going out with him. If he is financially sound, that means he know how to manage his cash well, that means he is mature. You can find out alot from the way he manages his finances.

Peishan, I am sorry you've met this kind of guy. I would feel insecure if a man treat me like that too.

Jazz, its really difficult for us to comment to say its possible or not. I've also seen 27 yrs old guy behaving like 24. So, its really up to his character and many more. Who knows when he graduates from Uni., he might earn more than you! Afteralll its how deep the feeling for each other is. Time will tell. If you think he's worth the time wait and try, go for it!

Hi lissy,

Wow I am in the same situation as you.. We are getting married this month, he is 24 only but I am 28 already..haha.. I find it quite okay as long as we both are happy with it and don't really think age is a problem.. Although for my case can tell obviously I am older... can view photos here.. http://www.mywedding.com/winsonandfelicia

We've been together for nearly 7 years and no quarrel at all, which i think is all because of the age difference.. and i heard this from one korean show "女大男4å²ï¼Œå…«å­—ä¸ç”¨çœ‹", haha very funny right?

Hello everyone~

Have read thru every thread here and found out that there are also similar cases as mine.. *phew* but.. what about his height? think most or all of your HTB is taller or same height as you, and my HTB is 8 years younger than me with the height of only 159(maybe or 161) and small size while I'm at 171. lol.. funny feeling right? in the first place cannot accept coz he's really too short for me and I'm afraid of what others see and think too, but as times goes, I finally let go and accept him, we have been together like 7 years now and still counting..now we a loving couple! hehe..

Hey Rebacca and Felicia..

According to the fengshui studies (LOL.... I am a true blue fengshui fan btw) the trend has set in some years back that there will be romance with older woman and younger man.

I agree with you, Fel, that the age difference could be the main reason of reduced conflicts. Personally, I do think when I was younger, I was the main conflict starter..LOL..As we age, we grew to be more mellow (hopefully), we are more independent, more occupied, more emotionally secured etc, we really have lesser time and effort to pick a fight on the small things. Agree?

Men do appreciate women who can manage themselves emotionally.

My husband has always been saying that there is no need to fight with me, if there is differences, he is willing to listen. In addition, I am trained in counseling, I have all the senses to support my stand, it's just futile for him to challenge that point of view, really. Am I a bully then, like many outsiders may think, well, that's very subjective to what they think. For us, we are happy with the state we are now, and look forward to many years to come.

Gosh, Rebecca, really, we probably have not dreamt that we would marry younger man, have we? I ended up marrying what I used to think 'out of prerequisite' qualities. He is younger than I am, shorter than I am, slimmer than I am, and in an occupation I once said 'No Way!'. Cheerios to us!

Hi Lissy!

Yah man! never would I tot that too! lol.. but is all fated..
sometimes will wondering why would I choose someone like him, as you've said.. younger than me, shorter than me and slimmer than me! lol*.. there are also sometimes that he will look at me and ask 'why would I choose you leh?' and both of us just laugh away.. lol..

LOL.. My story goes beyond that though. I have no doubt that I was cursed by his family. His sister is my buddy for decades (oops, does that give you an idea how 'young' I am?) and that goes to say that I have known the family for decades too.

His distant relative was my secondary school best friend, then came his snobbish sister who bugged me for life, and we hated each other at first, and then became good friends.

I have to concur with you that it must have been fated. WE happened just at the right time. But if you ask me, I would just say, I am so cursed by his family!!! LOL.. Just kidding, but it's been a wonderful relationship and we plan to keep it that way.

Hi hi

I am getting married to my HTB this yr. He is also 4 yrs my junior. Lately I am getting cold feet and wonder if i should proceed with this as I feel that the age gap seems weird.... anyone out there has simlar feeling ? how to overcome?

I am 32 and he is 28....

Hey lin, I don't remember that I had cold feet though. That said, I guess I did a bit of 'pre-mental loading' before the wedding. I would jokingly tell the world that I am a cradle snatcher, the next thing that normally happened would be people trying to be nice and told me that 'oh, there's no big deal, it's rather common these days, moreover, you don't look older'..LOL..

You would need to determine what really bother you, the age gap? or what people may think? I reckon it could be the latter, since the age gap issue would be long considered the minute you decided to date him eh?

Personally, no one dares to say anything to me in my face, and I am never bothered to find out what they say behind my back.

I hope after reading this thread, you would find more confidence in your relationship with a younger guy, we all have younger husbands..LOL..

Hi Lin,

I had my ROM last Oct, and Customary next yr. Hubby is 1 yr younger but since we are together i've never feel he is the younger 1. Infact he is the one who have been caring for me.

Likewise, if you realise some of the older guys around you maybe be equally childish or worse.
So personally i feel, age is not the important factor but rather the state of mentality.
No point getting a older hubby and childish in mentality, end up you be caring for him your whole life.

If you have come to the stage of marriage , i believe the love betwn both of you are quite mature and stable, so RU getting the pre-wedding jitters?

new to this forum, hmmm i m one yr older than my HB, but my HB is much more mature than me.

Haha but no one knows he is younger than me if we go out as he a bit "smelly Old" look.

But according to old saying, if wife is one yr older den the guy, den hor the guy will be super rich...

Hi ,

Am new to this forum . May I know if the family of the guy will be unhappy with the girl older than him? If they are unhappy what should the girl do?

p.s. Am 2 yrs senior than my bf - 1st time encounter such situation nt sure hw to handle it

Hi I'm also new to this forum. My HTB is 4 years my junior and we're getting married next October! I'm really heartened to come across this thread and see that I'm not the only one! =)

Jennifer, when my HTB and I first started going out (he was turning 21, and I was 25), his family also had many doubts about us. Other than some other personal circumstances, they were concerned with what my true intentions were, what sort of person I was etc. After all, they are just trying to protect their son from getting hurt.

How we overcame this.. well, my HTB had a good talk with his parents and convinced them that he and I were really serious about each other, and I guess, God bless, his parents were open-minded enough and we both made the attempt to get to know each other better. And when they finally got to know me as a person (and not just as "someone older dating their son") they accepted us as a couple.

If both you and your bf are serious about each other and committed to making this relationship work, at the end of the day, without sounding unfilial, that is all that counts. I'm sure your sincerity towards their son and seeing how you care for him and treat him, they will ultimately be won over.

Like many of the gals here I'm sure, I too had internal issues (maturity levels, finances, social stigma..) to reconcile at the beginning of the relationship. But once you've put your heart to it and are convinced he is right for you, you stop worrying about such things and let the relationship take its course.

Good luck Jennifer!

Hee...so many people are like me..my HTB is 4 yrs younger than me...and I changed my views abt younger partner as he is mature enough to help me consider about my finances and able to help me share my stress..

hmm. Apparently his parents hates me. . Say i look v.lian. . -sigh- hw can i resolve this issue with his parents.

Hi everybody!

My HTB is 26 while I'm 32. Quite a big age gap but luckily his mentality is quite mature. Otherwise, I may go crazy cos I can't stand childish pple :P I was quite skeptical abt having this relationship in da beginning cos I had 2 failed relationship before with younger guys but my HTB has proven me wrong and changed my perspective abt this. I'm glad I've found him and we're getting married in May 2010!

my hubby is 4 months my junior.
We got no problem with each other, maybe our age gap is not big also. Both parents don't seem to be bother on the age gap things as well.
Mostly impt he dun behave childish and have responsiblity attitude.

my dear dear is 6.5 years my junior ... though abit cute & childish @ times but does a great job at pampering and loving me .... and most imptly, he's doing his best for me and for our future... we are getting married this dec and he's paying for the whole wedding & our honeymoon... =)