Any good SEAMSTRESS to recommend ?

Hi. Thanks Zann and Marilyn *Muah*

Hi Marilyn,

I had saw your dresses from the previous postings. Very nice!

Just to confirm, is this the contact of Kim?
Blk 246 #11-359
Tampines St 21
Tel: 67831963

hi skyblu,

yap, that's her address. But better to call her to check her schedule and to make an appt 1st. Her mobile 96478146.

thanks marilyn, will try to call as asap cos my ROM is in March next yr. I hope there is sufficient time for her to make the dress.

Btw, do you gals have any gd MUA to recommend? My ROM time is quite early 10am... hence i need a MU to do makeup and hairstyling at my place...

hi skyblu,

You're welcome. Hope Kim will be available for you..

10am is not very early lah. They're many ROM MUA that charge like $150 to come to your place. So, look around. You may search for recommendation in this forum too. Good luck!

<font color="aa00aa">Sweet</font>,
<font color="aa00aa">You're welcome! Have fun shopping! </font>
233888.gif

hi skyblu,
not really. Mine is not that good. So, don't really want to recommend you. I requested for smoky eyes and ended up looking like panda and puffy eyes in all the pictures..keke.. may be it's the photographer, not too sure.

But then my gfs did commented that the makeup was nice. Unfortunately, the pictures are horrible!

So, I would recommened that you go for the norm - natural makeup..

hi hi zann!!!
is judy your seamstress? im thinking of doing a CS as well but really want to find a reliable seamstress to do the CS for me. Could you also share Judy's contact with me, and your CS pics as well, so that i can have a look at her design/workmanship? thanks so much! my email: [email protected]

and marilyn, i really like your CS and EG!!! very nice leh!
can i ask how was working with kim?

hi rokko,

mm...the feeling of working with Kim is like roller coaster..hehehe....it reach the peak the few days before meeting kim, then down down to low peak (cos it take a few weeks before you have your fitting) and then started to build up when your fitting is nearer, then stabilize and peak again when you see the final gown..heheh...

the day before my 1st fitting, a gf of mine went to collect her CS at Kim's place and I asked her to check out Kim's progress on my gown.. A bit sneaky of me but I was very "gan jiong" mah and i read abt unpleansant experince from someone in the forum.. then turned out that Kim had only cut out the fabrics... I was so worried that I will not have my fitting , so called her immediately but she reassured me not to worry.

and you know what, the next day when i reached Kim's place, voila, the gown is there, 80% done! I was really impressed! Tried it on, and it fitted nicely on my body

at times, she tend to appear not customer oriented but it's usually when she's under a lot of pressure to come out with gowns for a tight schedule...so, must be tactful with her lor... also, a lot of us find that she's better at improvised on your design rather than asking her to design something from scratch for you cos afterall she's only a seamstress and not a designer..

hi sleepysleep,
a lot of gown?? The Bali pixs gowns are not made by kim but provided by my JB BS. Only the actual day ones are which is the peach-pink EG and the short CS

oh marilyn,
hehee oh i see.. that time u made ur gown how much huh? actually a little tight budget coz me n bf actually just starting saving last mth..
then intend to have rom+customery together heeh!
ur bali package ex? was thinking of having those honeymoon aka photoshoot ehhe! but need to go find oversea bridal shop better?

Hi Zanne,
Thanx for the pic =) did u tailor make ur cs too? but i dont think i can wear cs leh.. had short and fatty leg haiz! =P

Hi Marilyn,
pm u le =))
242918.gif

hi sleepysleep,

yes, the CS in the pic was made by my seamstress Judy. Hmm, you can try different designs and see which suit you then can ask the seamstress to follow that design

In case anyone is still looking, i have a contact for seamstress. She charge ard $80 for long dress (e.g. normal fabric and simple cheongsum) but more if the design is more complicated and fabric is beaded. I made mine from her and workmanship cost ard $160 because my fabic is silk organza with embroidery and beads and design is bareback cheongsum

Susan - Tel : 67757422, Clementi

Hi gals, I have not got a chance to take any photo, will try to get one these few days.

Thanks. Actually got the inspiration from Zann and Marilyn. Thanks Zann and Marilyn.

Hi, I have a contact for seamstress as well. It's a shop in chinatown just above sheng song supermarket. Actually my mum works there, and during my wedding in Nov 04, my wife last minute decide that she didn't like the MTM EG by the bridal studio, so in a period of 2-3 weeks, managed to churn out wifey's EG and her two "sisters" EG also. The workmanship is good and the prices are very reasonable. About 100-120 depending on material and design. The boss is also quite nice when it comes to fitting and she would give many suggestions on how to improve the design during the fitting process. My mum also made a CS for my wife and it really fitted her well. The shop name is Bamboo Fashion House and the number is 65332277. Ask for Yi Lan(Boss) or if you want, can contact me at 91091168 for further details.

Can anyone who has custom made their dresses with tailors please email me the pix of the dresses plus the contact details plus the costs of tailoring. I actually am happy with my gowns but unfortunately both r white and I am a bit worried that it will not turn out well in photos. Please help as I am hoping to wear that for my photoshoot so that I make use of the dress fully. My PS is in April... Thanks.. My email add is [email protected]

Hi Yorkie

Materials for CS, is dependent on the design u are looking for. Some use organza with satin; thai silk; indian silk; lace over satin etc... I personally got Shantung silk (with embroidery), though polyester.

Check with your seamstress/ tailor and get her/him to advice. Basically Arab street has gd laces and lotsa materials to select from. Chinatown also has many shops tt sell great materials too. These 2 places shd suffice ur search for materials.

Have fun!

Hi gers

Just to boost Kim's business even further &amp; aid ur burden in ur wedding preps, here are the pix of a simple CS she did for me

245565.jpg

245566.jpg

hi sleepysleep

I got my material myself. Basically kim is pretty bz these days, she wld advice u to go get ur own material, but with her recommendations on the correct type, length and shops to get fr.
I bought my shantung silk fr chinatown. about 1.5m (don't rem the width), about $15. Kim's workmanship costs $100 for a short CS. Give her a call to find out the details.

hi mehmeh,
i think i will really request kim to make my cs,wg,eg etc etc ehhehe =) but still have many stuff to settle still.. hhehee so excited! btw, the flower izzit embroidery or beads?? should be embroidery hor? me quite suaku.. still need to learn alot hehee

hi sleepysleep

if you intend to get kim to make the 3 gowns, then u must give her ample time k? when's ur AD? actually kim mentioned tt she doesn't really like to make WGs, as if you intend to have a ballgown or puffy A-line, she wld have to make the crinoline (otherwise known as can-can), which she finds very time consuming. If it's a simple WG, she is still quite comfy. In any case, do give her a lot of time...

also bring her designs tt u fancy. she wld only give u opinions to suit u best, but not so much on designs.

my CS material oredi had embroidery on it. there's a similar material tt also had beadings on top of the embroidery.

during wedding preps, u get to learn soso much! enjoy this process!

hi mehmeh,

hehe my wedding still quite far away hehehe =P in '06 should have lotsa time for kim =)
coz now also still researching on the design and etc stuff hehee =D
will pass the wg design to kim to check if its too time comsuming for her hehe =)
but izzit possible to take the design and check out the price with kim 1st? but my wedding still quite far very paiseh.. but hope to check out the price and have a est budget hehee

hi mehmeh......find ur CS very nice....how long does she take to make one? my AD is in June so itz abt 3mths+...wondering enuff time if i wan to make one.....m i rite to say tat it cost less than 200 to make a short CS?