Any good SEAMSTRESS to recommend ?

wong

I'm looking for a good seamstress to sew a strappy evening dress for my sister and ah yees.
Anyone has any recommendation ?

rabbit pie

Hi wong

My seamstress at Bukit Timah Plaza is pretty good. Her name is Nancy and her shop is called Vega Tailoring. Her prices are v. reasonable. You might want to give her a try.

sue

Hi wong.

I used a tailor at the adelphi for my tea dress (a cheongsam) and my bridesmaids'dresses - I loved them all! She's also done some dresses for me, usually for evening. Her name is Kim at Adelphi (the one near St. Andrew's Cathedral).

humme

hi sue,

What's the name of the shop at adelphi? And how much did the cheongsam cost you? what material? Sorry for so many questions.

sue

hi humme.

the shop is called house of obsession. the cheongsam cost $150, but that's only workmanship, i used a piece of maroon thai silk that i already had. hope this helps.

linda

Sue,
Do you have any numbers I can call? Is your cheongsum long or short?

sue

Hi, Linda.

Sorry, I seem to be so scatter-brained - keep leaving out crucial information. You can try 337-5182.
And mine was a long one, with the option to cut it short later so that it's less formal. Kim's quite good, you can tell her what kind of style you want and everrything.

Btw, if you happen to be travelling to Thailand any time soon, going there to get Thai silk for either tea dress or evening gown is a really good idea. They have such lovely colours!

linda

Thanks Sue,

But the cloth in Thailand not exactly that cheap too.
I was thinking of getting the tailor to recommend me cloth....

el

Try Christine of Elements at IP, 2nd Level..errr..i forgot the unit no..
she very good...i had my ROM dress made by her..
initially wanted my gown mtm by her..but decided not to...budget constraint..

veil

Hi..all

don't think me weird but anyone knows if these or any seamstress sew lingerie slips? not really the skimpy ones lah.. just one with lace patches and satin.. me ve this night-dress in mind for my wedding night and need some one to sew and help me get the materials.. any recommendation?

Thanks a lot...

Veil

notabride

I find this discussion interesting and informative.Don't laugh---but I am searching for a good tailor for my daughter ( when she gets married ...she is in her late 20's ) and for me, should I need to sew something for her wedding in the future!

notabride

notabride

I forgot to thank the people for their the information given above.I hope the 2 tailors mentioned do good tailoring for future mothers-in laws as well.

melissa

I used Kim at Adelphi too.

She's very friendly and very easy to get along with. But on top of that, she did a wonderful job with my bustier, and her prices are very reasonable too.

I highly recommend her.

Melissa

huakee

How about trying this aunty who did my evening gown and cheongsum ($250 for thai silk and workmanship). I can email her contact if you want.

lynn

hi huakee, i am interested. can you send me the contact? You mean $250 for the material (gown and cheongsum) and workmanship?

julia andrew

This is the tailor I used for my brides maid & ROM gown

De Art Hi-Fashion Specialist
Tailor

Work: 4753969
Fax: 4760238
Mobile: 96623167

Address: 2 Leng Kee Road
#05-10A Thye Hong Centre
Singapore
Felicia charges only $185 + for material + workmanship. I've used both duchess satin for my bridesmaid & my ROM gown. I think the price is quite reasonable.

julia andrew

Hi okeanosmao

No scanner so can't. Why not give felicia a call. If I'm not wrong she does all kinds of tailoring. I even saw wedding dress.

lynn

hi julia,

Is there a lot of variety in terms of material provided? And how is her workmanship and attitude?

Thanks,
Lynn

shirlynn

My auntie used to be a freelance seamstress, also work in a bridal shop before. She would like to take up sewing as a part time again. I am just helping her to check if anyone is interested to sew dresses or gowns for dinners / ROM / wedding / funstions...etc..( She will also be able to design for you if you do not have any design in mind yet)

Please e-mail to me if you are interested. My e-mail : [email protected]

julia andrew

Hi Lynn
sorry for the late reply. Not sure about the variety of material she have but I specifically requested for duchess satin. Didn't check on others. Felicia is patient and workmanship is satisfactory.

ckhoo

I've been reading the reviews on Kim from the House of Obsession, she seems quite good and price quite reasonable. I'm also looking for someone to sew an evening gown with the Thai Silk tat I have as well. Used to get Patrick from The Wedding Present to tailor for me, but his price is at least above $200. I'm trying to cut cost becoz I've got lots of gowns to make.
Anywaz, was wondering whether Kim does embroidery or crystal beading on the gowns. Does she charge extra for that?

diy girl

FYI, just bought material from Arab St Royal Brothers and was chatting about workmanship costs. The sales said the seamstress they link with is expensive, cos that seamstress has to give 30% commission to Royal Brothers. So if anyone is watching their budget...

squareeyebrow

I have used Kim for my bridemaids' dresses.
Workmanship is okay and price is very reasonable.
Heard from one of my bridemaids she saw 3 very beautiful dresses (one lace, one sequins, one plain) Kim made for a client. Anyway, had wanted to tailor a dress and also bring a friend who wants to make a ROM dress there. Visited the shop 2 wks ago but the whole shop is empty! Checked with the security but he does not know where they have moved! Anyone knows Kim's new contact and address?

okeanosmao

hi sqeareeyebrow,

kim has shifted her office to her own hse..now she is working from her home.
address wise i'm not too sure. she is staying in tampines now.

cody

Kim's tel number has changed.
The above tel number belongs to her mum.

Pls call her at the following numbers:
Home: 6783 1963
Mobile: 9647 8146

female

i just to want say that while i really like kim, and trust her workmanship, she's taking very long with my gowns & in all honesty, im worried. she says to give her 2 weeks, but its 4 weeks now, and she didnt call me back as promised. think shes a bit busy now coz she just moved her shop over to home 1 month ago.

if anyone shld speak to her, pls do not mention this, coz she'd then know who i am, and i cant risk my gowns - i need them in 1.5 months'time! just a note of caution that she may be busy this period.

cody,

so kim finally moved liao har??

okok...i am thinking of sending her a photo of my ROM...i promise her that...

Ladies : kim's really not bad for workmanship...those thinking of doing MTM for ROM dress or evening dress, she's a safe bet...

cody

hi female,

that really doesn't sound like kim at work.
why dun you call her?
i rushed her to do an urgent job for me and she DID finish it within the 2 weeks that i gave her...

kim won't mind a gentle reminder i'm sure ...

septembre

Yar just wanna hear if any girls did their wedding gowns with her and how is the workmanship. Cos I think evening gowns and wedding gowns diff.

female

i did call her last week, but she sounded quite hassled, so i didnt want to rush her too much. she said she'd try for last weekend, but she didnt call back. in any case, i just called her, and she say to go fitting this friday (only gown is ready). yippee! im worried, nervous & excited at the same time. im glad to hear u girls were very pleased with her.

gingerale, she's doing my wedding gown for me. its a skinny column drape, but she did tell me she can do the "big skirt" can-can type too. if u like, i can send u pixs of my gown when i go fitting this friday. or, just call & meet with her. she's very nice. bring along pixs of dresses u like.

shell

Hi huakee
Can I have the contact of that Aunty you mentioned ($250 for thai silk and workmanship)?

Hi DIY Girl
How much does it cost to buy Thai Silk? Does Arab St Royal Brothers has got good selection? Other than there, any other place sells Thai Silk too?

Hello female,

so have you contacted Kim yet? Have you seen your dress?

I'm quite sure it turned out well...

female

yes, postpet2, u're right! very pleased with the dress. for a 1st fitting, i must say it fitted pretty well, just minor alterations needed. design aside (this is subjective), she followed my magazine perfectly, and workmanship is good. but she's really busy this period, and turned down my mother & bridemaid's job. my 2 other dresses can only be ready for 1st fitting in 2 weeks - a bit close to wedding liao. but i got confidence in kim.

gingerale, sent already. winnie & musicgal, will send now. no worries, kim is good! so relieved...