Any good SEAMSTRESS to recommend ?

hi girlfriend,
the material is very nice and can see the beadings and some emboidery. I'm looking for transparent colour organza with obvious emboidery. will go and look around.

Hi Eggie,

This material is supposed to be transulcent. Anyway i folded many layers before taking a pix.

Hi poox,

I bought it at $30/ m. Initially was $35/m. Kim helped me to bargain wif the shop owner.

Eggie,

Btw the metres of material to buy also depends on the width of the material.

If the material has shorter width(like mine, ard 44inches), will need to buy more.

poox,

any pix of your material to show?

btw who are u getting to do yr dress?

U bought it from Royal Fabrics issit? Initially I wanted to buy a purple netting fabric with lotz of beadings & embroderies. Itz at $48/m too but it made me look mature.

hi girlfriend

i dun have a pic now but can try to take and share it with u.....maybe tomorrow

i'm getting my church friend's mum to do it for me. hope it'll turn out nice.

u may be referring to the same cloth....oops....i hope it didn't look too oldish....my mum said it was nice :P too late now!!

has anyone seen kim do a WG with ballgown skirt and corset top? Any idea how much she would charge for something like that?

Hi Grin,

I went to her place, browsed thru a foreign bridal mag and anyhow pointed to a gown which is quite grand looking with big ballgown and asked her how much she charges (out of curiousity), she quoted about $900 onwards.

Hi Grin,

I went to her place, browsed thru a foreign bridal mag and anyhow pointed to a gown which is very grand looking with big ballgown and asked her how much she charges (out of curiousity), she quoted about $900 onwards.

hi chicory,

thanks for ur help. That's quite a reasonable price. Wonder if she's ever done it before n how it turned out.

Hi Grin,

Not sure if she has done it before but she says she enjoys doing wedding gowns cuz' they are different from the dresses and CS she always does
. Actually, i got her to do a dress cut out from one of the bridal mag as my teadress. She hasn't call me for fitting yet, can understand cuz' she has so many orders...

hi female
your gowns are all very nice :P my fav is the pink EG. how much did KIM charge u for the workmanship?

Hi female, so that CS is yours!
I saw ur CS when I first went to meet Kim to do my CS! hee hee...

your gowns are so beautiful!!

just a curious question, does it mean tat u didn't take up any wedding packages since if you've got Kim to do ur gowns?
did you save alot bcoz of tat? I'm contemplatin
thanks! flo

hi poox, sent you email.

hi flotan, so u did go kim! hahaa..which one is yours? whenever im there, i always "shop" & kaypoh look at other girls' dresses

nope, i didnt take any wedding packages. and yah, saved a lot!! less than $700 for all 3, can keep somemore. bridal shops' rental for gown alone $1000++, pushy somemore.

are u happy with ur cs?

Hi female, thks for sharing the info. totally agree tat it's so much worth it to tailor own gowns, esp own design & can keep.

I also kpo, like u.. hahaha.. anyway, try clicking the link below n see whether u have seen it when u were at her plc.
my mum didn't really like the colour. but most imptly, i like it!

thanks to u and the other gals in this thread for recommending Kim! I'm another satisfied customer

Kim was saying that she's going mad with so many ppl going to her after u n the other gals posted on the forum!! She has requested for those interested to look for her in Jan 2004 coz she got many orders now.
When i was collecting my CS yesterday, someone else was right after me,waiting to try her dress.

Will definitely look for her next yr when i need something for my customary! have full confidence in her!

http://www.ofoto.com/BrowsePhotos.jsp?showSlide=true&Uc=zfqx2kr.9apdfgov&Uy=czg12i&Upost_signin=BrowsePhotos.jsp%3FshowSlide%3Dtrue&Ux=0

Female,

Thanks for sharing your pics! Both u and your gowns look very nice!!! I think u look very sexy in that purple evening dress.
Saw your bridesmaid's dress, but too bad, the pic is too small,can't see very well. I also want to make bridesmaid dress, dun mind tell me how much it cost? both the material and the workmanship cost, thanks! my email is [email protected]

hi flotan, i like your cs...indian silk, nice. i think i saw the fabric in its plastic bag. i totally agree that own-self like can already!

hi fairymoss, thxs! u know wat, i just realise i dont hv a single good pix taken together with that bridesmaid
its a copy of what Hilary Swank wore to a Hollywood function - for $120

hey female, that $120 is the material cost or everything in? does it include workmanship? if everything in, ie. workmanship and material cost, then it's very worth leh!!! or issit u order several gowns from her, that's why why kim give u big discount?

If that's the total cost, then I'm more relieved, coz i still need to do for mother-in-law and mother. Got budget, cannot splurge on these.

hi fairymoss,

it includes everything. the material is satin, quite cheap. very worth hor, i saved a lot. she did give me slight discount, but still nice price.

Female,

Thanks! It's really cheap. How long u need to get it tailored? I probably get it done early next year, but then with the new GST factored in, it's gonna cost more right? But now my parents reno their old house, so mum is busy and cannot do her homework for the design. Does Kim have a book of designs which we can choose from? Really appreciate your help, Female. Thanks in advance for all your info.

Hi female, congrats, you looked fantastic and all the dresses turned out great! I love your WG, it turned out perfect (your figure and looks help too heh)!

Hi girlfriend, your material looks lovely, I'm sure it'd turn out great. Pity I can't do my CS anymore
(mel in SB)

hi fairymoss,

no prob, now that u know im an idling "housewife" in HK
it took abt 4 months for all, but it was a busy period. she say Mar-Apr that time most free. and shes a simple one-woman show, no GST lar, no worries.

hmmm..i researched my own designs, but ive seen tons of magazines there. she does a lot of bridesmaid & mother's dresses, so sure got ideas one. kim didnt hv time to do for my mum, so she bought OTR fr Mico for abt $150. also quite cheap.

thanks v much, MTMTMT, u're too kind

hello.
I've a good seamstress(alterations & custom-made) to recommend.
She's very good with modern cheongsums.
She did my cheongsums and i love it. very fitting.
Her workshop is in Yishun.
Not very sure abt her charges
Tel no: 67520036

hi pok,

just click on the link i posted on oct 22, in this thread. flotan also has a link on oct 24 of her CS.

kim's tel: 6783 1963. shes a v nice lady.

female,

U got Kim's address or not? does she speak mandarin? my mum only speaks mandarin, afraid that Kim dun get my Mum's requirements if I translate into English for her.

U really enjoy life in HK, so did a lot of shopping?

ah, so you decided already issit. she stays at Tampines. she works fr home, so better give her a call before dropping by. she speaks both lang, very chatty one, sure like her.

haiyoh, shop until no more shops to go already

singapore still better.

yeah, more or less decided after seeing your beautiful pictures. Maybe u pretty pretty and figure good that's why carry her gown well? Anyway, would pay a visit to her if got time in December. But a bit far lor, coz I stay at central part of Singapore. But see her gowns so nice and at affordable prices, so can't resist liao. I think no one can match Kim at that price?

Thot HK shopping paradise? But u still not far from home, come back during this X'mas season to shop lah.
SALE SALE SALE leh...

dear, i stay in Jurong!! isnt that worse, literally fr one end of island to the other! but i thot it was worth the "pia". well, i certainly hope kim wont raise her prices becoz of all the business fr here! until someone else makes a good recommendation, kim's price is the best?

actually, im coming home for xmas & CNY. the fashion here a bit quai-quai one, sometimes quite OTT. and nobody wears slippers & shorts, even when hot! if you wear spagetti strap/tube top, men will look one, u noe. strange rite.

hello all,

I juz came bck fm cs fitting at Kim's place.

The cs is gorgeous! I love it!

After putting on the corset, it looks even better!!

fairymoss,

Dont worry! If my water barrel figure can take the cs cut, I am sure you can!

hi girlfren,

glad you're pleased! im curious, what do u mean by corset? the type u wear to push up boobs & make waist smaller? for me, i wore a girdle (aka shaper) - it really makes a difference.

the cs is actually a very sexy cut for asian women - flatters our boobs & slim the hips, no matter what size u are..its all in the cut

hi female,

corset is the one that "bao" almost the upper part of your body, including the breast.

I had a girdle too but I decided that corset will be a better choice for me.

I mite ask Kim to make one more dress...

huh? wah..I got confused with all the girdles and corset. BTW, my wedding gown comes with the cups already, so no need to wear any corsets right? I was thinking of wearing NuBra inside but tailor says no need, but somehow feels insecure leh.

BTW, what kinds of undies u all wear inside the wedding gown ah? girdles like too tight for me, i still wear the normal undies, but it will show when I wear my evening gown coz the material maybe too clingy, and u know u would get those VPL.the tailor said get those plain ones that you wear till your waist, ie. those high waist type. Think mine is too lacy, such that the lace is visible if not for the layer of chiffon on the satin.

girlfriend,

are you the one from the june thread? i also thinking of making dresses from kim leh. just called her, too bad she doesn't entertain clients on sunday. hmm..made an appt for sat instead. I hope won't cost a bomb coz making a few dresses for MIL and mum and bridesmaid.

Have been trying to get hold of Kim for the past 2days. but there's no answer on her home and cell phone. Wondering if anybody knows where's she been? Off for a holiday perhaps?

i've tried calling kim for the past 2 days but there's no response from her home and cell phone. Wondering if anyone knows where she's been? Is she on holiday?

hi fairymoss..

yeah gf frm june thread.

I will b getting my sister's dress from Kim too but I havent called her for appt.

Dun worry Kim's price is very reasonable.

hi fairymoss, juz went to see kim, me aso making a cheongsum. she's very nice,i am sure u will like her.will be going arab st with her next sat to buy cloth.

Hi Cawaii,

Yeap, just to see Kim today, she's very petite, I thot I was already very small, but she's even smaller. Saw a gown with french lace, very nice. Wonder whose gown issit...

Seems like Kim likes to recommend cheongsam to people, you got any pics of your cheongsam or not? She also recommend cheongsam to my mum and MIL, but they dun dare to wear, but Kim said their figure is still good, should be able to wear, so dunno how lah.

I think Kim is very friendly, and her price also reasonable. I would be getting bridesmaid dress from her as well. How long do you think it will take to make ah? I'm worried that won't have time leh. see her biz so good, today we waited for very long even though we made appointment.

hi fairymoss, she havent started doing my cs yet. will be going arab st with her tis sat to buy material. roughly tell her what kind of design i wan.
dun worry she wont have time to make, told her i need the cs for my ps which is in early apr, she said she will rush.

cawaii,

oh...sure ah? ok, then i more assured coz I still got bridesmaid dress to make and won't be going so soon, prob in mar then go. so 3 mths for her to do. how much she quote u for the CS ah? BTW, those arab street shop got accept credit cards not? i do not know how much cash to bring leh, coz got a few dresses to make, not just one.

hi fairymoss..

Dont worry most big establishment in arab st do accept c. cards.

I paid my material using c. cards.

When r u asking Kim to go Arab st wif u?

I am asking her to accompany me & my sis to buy materials in Mar too.