Any good SEAMSTRESS to recommend ?

Hi Female!

was wondering if you still read this thread, I have seen your actual day photos and thought that your makeup is very natural and pretty. may i know who is your makeup artist and what is his contact no? IS he expensive?

I have made an appointment to see Kim on 25 June... will let u all know how it goes.

CT... u can go up to one of the threads posted by female on 22 Oct 2003. There are fotos there.

Cheeers

Hi people.

I just discovered this forum..been reading about seamstress as i'd like to have a dress made for ROM.

What's the price range for a simple dress by Kim? Does she do "normal" dresses? Dresses that dun belong to 'evening gown, wedding gown, cheongsum...'

Hi greenie9th,

I have replied your email regarding Dawn Lim.

I have met Kim last wednesday and have decided to engage her. She has no customer on that day and i had such a long nice chat with her (till pass 9 pm!! think almost 2 hours) on my designs and material to use. Also spend some time to kpo other people's gown :P

Hi Greenie,
Yes, she does normal dress, tops, pants,etc..i saw one lace top that she make for one of her customers, very nice!

Hi Marilyn..

i gave kim a call the other day and will be meeting her on the 3rd..

hope i'll be able to get my idea across to her.. i quite confused abt the materials and designs..

Hi gals, does Kim make gowns or cheongsam for mothers?
COnsidering tailor made evening wear for my mum on my wedding this Oct.
Will Kim be able to complete since her business is so good?
Does she operate on her own?

hi, i tink sum1 here mentioned b4 a seamstress in tampines or sumting like tat.... can re-post her details again? i tink her dress typically costs abt 100+?

tks !

hi gals, i also see above tat many of u had dresses custom-made... by various seamstress... anyone care to share yr dresses pics with me?
i'm oso looking for a seamstress n running out of time! pls help me. tks so much.

Here are kim's details:

Kim
Blk 246 Tampines St 21 #11-359 (S) 521246
(walking distance from Tampines mrt station)
Tel: 6783 1963 / 9647 8146

Please call her home tel first to make an appt.

Hi Greenie,
Ur appt is on a sunday. Well, hopefully not too many people on that day so that you have all her attention!
Don't worry abt material and design. She'll know which material is suitable for your design. Try to bring some pictures for her to see or draw the design out for her.

Hi CT,
Yes, she operates on her own and she's staying alone too. My wedding is this Oct too and have made an apt to meet her to buy material next saturday, 10th July. I came to know of her service thru this forum in mid june, chop chop make an appt to see her immediately, chop chop settle a date to buy material with her..hehe..so, if you really interested, just do that...
By the way, i think is best to buy the material with kim. She'll know what kind of fabric is best for your design.

Hi No time,
An ex-bride by the nickname Female has posted a link to show her gowns made by kim. It's in the archive november 03 archive.

Hi Marilyn, thanks for enlightening!

Actually, I need a tailor to do a gown or elegant evening dress for my mum.
Called Kim, she said she don'have a collection of design for me to choose.
Also, I need to provide fabric unless normal ones.
Any idea if she only do gowns for brides-to-be?

Hi CT,
She's not a designer lah
So, you have to provide the design for her. It's best you provide her the pictures cos if you just describe she might not get it right.
For me, i draw some designs to show her and also provide her paper cuttings from magazine. Then we discuss the kind of material to use.
She does tailoring for everyone lah, not only brides. She has regular customers who went back to her to tailor nice tops, cheongsam, cocktail dresses, pants, etc..
If you really interested, i suggest you make an appt with her, bring all your designs to show her. And if you feel comfortable with her, then make an appt to go shop for fabric with her.

Hi all..

Went to see Kim today.
Was actually quite impressed with what i saw... the dresses that she already completed and the 2 gowns hanging up there... very very nice looking..

But i did a dumb thing today. Forgot to ask her the price for my dress..

Hi greenie,

Wat will you be asking Kim to do? I'm thinking of doing 2 cheongsam 1 formal one and 1 casual one a low back line knee lenth dress but no know how much will it cost for 3 lor... wanted to meet her but no time call her yet

Hi bei

I got her to copy a dress frm Victoria's Secrets and made some changes to the design..

Wanted something simple.. so i'm hoping the 'chiffon + satin' dress won't turn out to be too long2 zong4..

I saw her calender when she was fixing a date for my 1st fitting.. very packed..
Think you should call her soon if you need the dresses within these few mths..

hi greenie,

may i know how much does she charge for a normal dress (estimated)? cozs really love a dress from delias... hope she can tailor made for me.

hi katherine

it's my 1st time going to her..
and i actually forgot to ask hw much she is charging for my dress...

but from what i read from forum threads, her charges seem reasonable..

harlow gals... Kim's doing my wedding dress too.. she's so stressed last week coz got many clients at the same time.. so i don't wanna rush her

shld be collecting my dress this week.. can't wait to get it

If i don't remember wrongly, she charges for workmanship only. More expensive for embroidery fabric cos it's diff to sew. I think she charges like $200 for embroidery fabric. But then the fabric could cost you like $300-500! The whole dress ended up to be $500-700!!
According to her, if the design is too complicated, she might charges higher but so far, i think she charges like $150 plus for a dress made of chiffon, organza,etc..
If you read thru the archive, an ex-bride by the name Female got all her 3 dresses below $700! There's a link to her pictures in Nov 03 archive. So if your gown is something like that, simple and sweet, it should cost around there lah...Actually, fabric plays a big part on the cost of your gown..
If you want simple beadings on your gown, she might do it for you for free but if you wanted more beadings and very complicate design, she might charge more for workmanship..

Hi Greenie, Tks for your advise I need the dress only in Jan 2005 think I still have enough time now heheheh...

From all your recommendation I think I will purchase the cloth I wan from Arab street (which I saw the other day) and bring it down to her lor can save time

Can you let me know how much she is charging u after u find out from her? Tks in advance!

hi hi marilyn, will show u pix of the dress if i manage to download.. now no time.. coz one more week to wedding day

bei bei, think it'll be good to chk with Kim if the material u want to buy n the design u hv in mind can be done before u buy material..

i went arab st last wk to buy cloth to tie the bridal car... there were so many beautiful fabrics..

tks flotan for the advice!

Maybe lor, ermmm... btw if we go with Kim would there be better discount when we buy the cloth fm Arab st?

Hi Marilyn,
Do we need to provide our own cloth, r does she get it for us?
Does she do alteration for clothes that r not made by her?

anyone tried to ask Kim to tailor make work dress? just a simple one. me thinking of trying her workmanship b4 gettin her to do my ROM dress
And any idea how much a normal work dress will cost??

thanks ah...me so many qns....

Hi Flotan,
Take your time...show us after your wedding also nevermind..May you have a wonderful and memorable wedding ceremony!!

I just went to Arab St with Kim this afternoon. Spend 2 hours there just to choose my cloth. I strongly recommend all who is interested to engage her to buy the fabric together with her as she's very familiar with the shopkeepers there and also she give good advice on what type of fabric is suitable for your design.
And also do remember to bring along your design and magazine cutting. You don't want to buy to wrong fabric, do you?

Hi Jus_me,
I think it's better you go shopping with her cos if you ask her to get for you, what if the fabric doesn't turn out to be your liking? Futhermore, you'll get better discount when she's around.
She probably does alteration but then it's best you check with her..

Hi Yami,
Not too sure if Kim makes working clothes. Anyway, if a seamstress makes nice working clothes doesn't mean she'll make nice ROM dresses/evening gowns right? And vice-versa also. That's my thought lah. Cos working clothes cutting is very different from dresses cutting..
To me, it's still better to see her actual work on dresses before engaging her.. You can check out the Nov 03 archive where an ex-bride by the name of Female posted a link showing her gowns made by Kim. I like her bridal gown, very flowy with nice cutting..

Another thing I like abt Kim is that I can sense a passion in her for tailoring... I hope I make the right choice by engaging her and also my gowns to turn out beautiful!

Female,
If you're reading this, hope you don mind me recommending you link to future brides..

It's me again! hehe ...Will not be around to surf the net as I'll be outstation for the entire week. Just to let you all know in case you ask me something urgent and I din reply you..

Hi Marilyn,
Thanks for ur well-wishes!
so u were the one mtg Kim on saturday!!

i went to pick up tat very morning and drop her off at arab st coz i was going down to concourse to buy car deco stuff... heehee..

thanks marilyn,

i saw those pics of female b4 - v nice!

will contact kim once i have day off. think sats & sun must be v crowded..

Hi Marilyn,

i was also with Kim on sat! there was already one bride with Kim when I arrived and she's wearing white. hmmm, are you the one?

and then when I was leaving, another lady in black came. haha! Kim was super busy that day!

i'm so glad to have selected my fabric with Kim. I'm was pretty clueless and it was great to have Kim around to advise me.

Wow ladies you gals really made me so excited!!!!

Can I ask all your advice if I only need my dress in around late Dec or Early Jan, when is the rite time for me to meet Kim?

I tot now maybe too early and if i c another design I will regret so rather collect more pics first... hmmmm.... should I go now or should I wait?

Hi Bei Bei, think it's good to give Kim a call first to find out her schedule. then she can advise u when u shld meet her to discuss the design, buy cloth, etc.
her schedule may be very packed during year-end or chinese new year period.

Hi Flotan,
Think she has afew customer buying fabric on that day as well. I met her only around 12.

Hi Kysha,
Don't think I'm the white lady. I was with my hubby. Kim met up with the lady in black and also myself. We went shopping together. We bought the same material, she bought a lime green and i bought a peach pink color one.