Any good SEAMSTRESS to recommend ?

Just met Kim today and saw 3 dresses which she has completed. They are really beautiful. I am looking forward to my first fitting!

hi girl80,
Once you decided to engage her, you can request her to shop for material with you. It's better this way as she can advise you whether the material is suitable for your design or not. I have a gf who bought a lace material for Kim to MTM her CS but Kim found it too stiff. Nonetheless, in the end my gf is still very happy with her MTM CS but then i think it'll be even better if the lace is not that stiff..

Kim only charge for her workmanship which ranges from 100 - 200+ depending on the material. Full beaded material will cost around 200. Organza or chiffon or normal material probably around 100-150 depending on your design lah..

For pixs, you can go to the Nov03 archive to view an ex-bride MTM dresses by Kim.

I am interested to know more about Kim's prices...how much does she normally charge for EG? I haven't quite decided on materials and such, but would like to know what kind of range you ended up paying for your various EGs...hopefully it won't be above my budget!!! :P

Btw, I called Kim to make an appointment and she was only available to see me end of September!!!! How long does she take to complete the gown coz' my PS is in early Dec!

Hi Yuuri

What's ur max budget for your dress? Will be collecting my dresses tomorrow. Then I'll be able to advise you cos now I "agak agak" only.. My material is the full beading kind, so Kim will charge more for her workmanship..

Let Kim know ur AD and then only then she'll be able to tell you
A gf who went to kim late july managed to get CS before her AD, Sept 13th! Think Kim needs 2-3 days only to make a dress!

Hi Marilyn,
I am hoping and crossng my fingers to work on a $200 budget....but not on the full beading kind, prolly partial beadings....let me know how it goes! Hope your dresses turn out fantabulous!

hv made 2 dresses with Kim & found her attitude not so customer obliging leh.. may be artistically skilled pple are like tis.. there is a fine line betw straight forward & rude.. so we really 'tahan' her when we were there for design consultations.. the dresses were for my mum & FMIL.. i recommended them there..

now my mum she had found another seamtress to do her 2nd dress, dat streamtress is charging $30 cheaper than Kim for the same design/material.. am happy for her.. also Kim is super busy now, cant take extra design within a tight timeline..

she is fine but u muz be able to able her straight straight attitude.. juz personal comment.. dont mind hor.. urs may differ from mine.

yuuri,

i called kim too and she only free to meet end sept. think she really busy now and everyday she only sees 4 new customers. My PS in nov so not sure if she could manage it in time. think will just meet her and hope she can manage her time properly.

Wow Rally!
Yours is even more rush than mine! Mine first week of Dec and I very kan cheong already....I'm scouting around for others, if all also no good then bo pian, have to see if Kim can rush out...

hi DL,

actually i have called kim b4 and must say she is not very customer oriented and don't really have good attitude. That held me back from using her service.

okay rally & yuuri,

i check & email u both again..

yalor zann,

we need it for oct 04, so no choice 'tahan' her becos at dat time in hurry to find some1 who can do tis..

hi DL,
She's a seamstress lah, not a designer. So far, most of her customers brought the design to her and just ask her to sew. She will point out things like suitability of a material, whether the design will look good on you, what kind of cutting is more suitable, etc, not to design the outfit lah.

Quite suprise that some of you have encountered unpleasant experience with Kim. For me, nothing like that happened when i called her. When I called her, it's about 3 1/2 month before my wedding. I did my work. I flipped thru all the bridal magazines and came out with my own design, drew it out and bring all the cuttings to her. I guess may be this help to give Kim a better idea on what I wanted and save her time. Yes, she's super busy from now till dec. Oct seems to be a hot month to get married and she has to rush out a few gowns!
Well, it's good if some of you have some other contacts cos she might not be able to rush it out for you.

Yurri,
I had my fitting yesterday and you know what, I love my evening gown!! It fits me to a tee! and the train looks so lovely and just like what I've wanted it to be. I think the most crucial part of the gown is the material. Think I bought the right material. It give my gown a good drape
Oh, i went to buy them with Kim at Arab Street..The whole gown turn out be a bit ex, may be come out to ard $400, but I think it's worth it! I'm so excited abt wearing it on my wedding dinner..

Kim is quite stress lately. So might be because of this, she sounded very stern and not customer oriented. Why don't you just give her call, tell her abt ur wedding date and see whether she can make it for you.

Hi gals! have emailed the pix.
have also given Kim my pix.. some of the other brides have also given hers theirs. can ask her to show u when u r there for fitting

marilyn, i saw your dress. very pretty!

yah.. think kim is very stressed coz tight schedule..
i brought a fren there who wanted to make a cheongsam but Kim really couldn't squeeze her in.. but she wasn't stern... just frank n direct abt not being able to do the CS for her.

Hi flotan,
You've seen my dress?? heheh..thanks...I'm a bit hiao one..like beads and glittering things..heheh

You've emailed me the pixs? Did get it leh... Can you pm me again?

hi gers...

does anyone haf a clue if kim get a gown out for my mum by Nov?
its for my sis's wedding...

Hi DL, can you advice on your mum's other seamstress? location and contact no.

Hi ladies, thanks! the feeling is always good with MTM dresses coz it's not mass-produced

Marilyn, i already emailed you.. nvm i email again...

bei bei & Iros, emailed u already

Hi Flotan, Hi Marilyn

Can I have a peep at your dresses by Kim? [email protected]

Anyone knows of other seamstresses gd and reasonable? Sounds like Kim might not be able to help my mum tailor one by early Nov

Please help

mehmeh,

u want to try my seamstress? She is at people's park complex. I have her done my CS and she charges abt 120 to 160 for workmanship but you have to get your own fabric. I don't have a pic to show u though cos i havent taken any pic of it, my AD not here yet.

Marilyn, I will be seeing Kim this Saturday to discuss my wedding dress. Im rather particular about dress cut, no extra material bulges etc. From the sound of it, you are satisfied with the cut all in all. Kim's good then huh? Could I be a bit nosy and have a look at the pic of your dress? Will swap

Kim sounds really nice and helpful on the phone. I did ask her politely first whether she has time to make a dress for the wedding in Jan next year. And I know what I want from pics in magazines etc. Cant wait to see her on Sat!

Hi Zann..
Does your seamstress do up other types of dresses or recommend designs?
My mum wants to steer clear of CS, but does not have any other ideas. So she's really clueless, and it doesn't help that I am clueless as well.

What's the unit no. of your seamstress?

mehmeh,

Yes, i saw she does evening dress for people too not just cheongsum leh...but she used to make cs and sell...she also does other dresses...in fact i have also recommend some people here to go there do their ROM dress...

i dun think she design but believe she can give opinion. She is more a seamstress than designer..but of cos the normal ideas she should have...but if u have some specific requirements probably is better to show her the picture...

i got to go find her address at home then i email u?...dun have her card now...whats yr email?

Hi Honeygem,

If you're going down this saturday, 18th Sept, you should be able to see my dress.. Will only be collecting my dresses next thursday. Just ask kim for it. It's the pink one..
And there's another white short modern CS. It was 70% done when I had my fitting, so, may be you can see it too. Hopefully, it's fully done now.

Well, yes, I'm very satisfied with the cutting. I think the material used is extremely important. I bought a silk chiffon with full beading and it gives a good drape bcos the material is heavy.. Boy, it was expensive, $195 just for a meter but no regret bcos the gown turns out beautiful! Initially, wanted the whole gown to be that material but I would need to buy 3 m just to make that! So, dropped the idea.. It's just too expensive.. So, Kim suggested that I only get a meter for the top and the lower half another material. She helped me to save money mann...

Oh yeah, since you need to dress only in Jan, may be you ask her to go shopping for material with you. And remember to bring your magazine cutting to her this saturday..

Hi Caitlin,
Have you gotten Kim's number? Anyway, here's her mobile - 96478146. She works from her home..

Hi Meh Meh,
Think it's tough cos she's will be very busy. Nonetheless, just call her and check with her. If Kim's not free, then you can check out Zann's contact. No harm right?

Sorry, din take any pictures so far. My wedding is going to be in early part of Oct. So, I'll share with you after my wedding, ok? Must put on make up, nice nice, then show you all mah.. heheh....

Hi honeygem,
Don mention it
Oh yeah, the feeling of working with Kim is like roller coaster..hehehe....it reach the peak the few days before meeting kim, then down down to low peak (cos it take a few weeks before you have your fitting) and then started to build up when your fitting is nearer, then stabilize and peak again when you see the final gown..heheh...

oh yeah, the day before my 1st fitting, a gf of mine went to collect her CS at Kim's place and I asked her to check out Kim's progress on my gown.. A bit sneaky of me but I was very "gan jiong" mah.. then turned out that Kim had only cut out the fabrics... I was so worried that I will not have my fitting but you know what, the next day when i reached Kim's place, voila, the gown is there, 80% done! I was really impressed! Tried it on, and it fitted nicely on my body

Hi honeygem,
Don mention it
Oh yeah, the feeling of working with Kim is like roller coaster..hehehe....it reach the peak the few days before meeting kim, then down down to low peak (cos it take a few weeks before you have your fitting) and then started to build up when your fitting is nearer, then stabilize and peak again when you see the final gown..heheh...

oh yeah, the day before my 1st fitting, a gf of mine went to collect her CS at Kim's place and I asked her to check out Kim's progress on my gown.. A bit sneaky of me but I was very "gan jiong" mah.. then turned out that Kim had only cut out the fabrics... I was so worried that I will not have my fitting but you know what, the next day when i reached Kim's place, voila, the gown is there, 80% done! I was really impressed! Tried it on, and it fitted nicely on my body

Hi Zann and Marilyn

Thanks alot for your advice. Prob I have to look out for nice designs for my mum (provided she's agreeable)
Zann: Pls email me at [email protected]
(Does she have any particular working hours)
PS: Can you send me pix of the CS or gowns u've made with her?

Thanks so much!!

Hi mehmeh,

i have emailed you my seamstress contact number.
As for her working hours, have to check with her cos so far b4 i visit her i call her. think sometimes monday she off sometimes tuesday.
hope you found what u like! cheers!

Hi Marilyn,

Thanks for giving me Kim's number.

I called her yesterday. As I needed me ROM dress end of November, Kim said it's a bit rushed. Guess I have to go to another seamstress instead...

Hi Felicia,
I don't have the pixs yet. My wedding going to be in 3 weeks time. I'll definately share it out after my wedding

When do you need to MTM your dress?

Hi Flotan,
Got it! oh..so that wedding gown is yours! Was it pinkish in color? I can't remember but i saw it while it was still in progress :P

Anyway, sweet and nice
Have replied you. Check you email allright?